Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Volvo XC90 Reviews

Volvo XC90

Welcome to the Volvo XC90 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Volvo XC90 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£36,045 - £44,845
AA Cars Average
£30,659
MPG
20.9 - 34.4
CO2 (g/km)
215 - 322
Tax Band
K - M
Noise Level
70.0 - 76.0

Volvo XC90 | ride in comfort

Added: 13th of February 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Just purchased this car so not a lot of miles under the belt but I guess first impressions count. There is a serious amount of space in this vehicle; if the kids get bored with the DVD built into the back of the seats they can go run around in the rear until bed-time. The wife just puts her feet up stretches out and switches on the back massager and goes to sleep with a smile on her face. Its beautifull on the motorway in cruise [faster than you should] at 3000rpm, lots in reserve and as quiet as a mouse. Visibility is brilliant and the BLIS system is a god-send as it picks up the motor bikes sneaking up alongside long before you would have noticed them otherwise. In a steady cruise it seems as economical as my old V40 so no gripes on that account. Havent got used to the rear view camera or the forward looking radar but they certainly give you time to think about what you are doing. Not so impressed with the SATNAV and you have to buy the disc updates if you want them [don't know how much] so sticking with TOM-TOM for now. Its an automatic but you can break out into a manual mode for off road; still getting the hang of it but works OK. No problems with fields or tracks but its more for roads than swamps. In the areas I have marked it down its purely because I haven't had the chance to test it for long enough but it is definitely 5* for space and comfort. Its like the TARDIS as its seems bigger on the inside than it is on the outside.

Volvo XC90 | Volvo XC90

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

The Volvo has an excellent reputation for safety features and was bought with this is mind but mainly to tow our caravan whereby the caravan club recommendation is that the caravan kerbweight should ideally not exceed 85% of the towing vehicle kerbweight and this fits the bill. The fuel consumption has been excellent throughout the time we have had it returning between 30 and 35mpg around town and commuting to work, however on longer runs (100 miles +)we have always got around 42 to 44mpg and that is not driving at 56mph. Another advantage with the Volvo is that as a driver you are sat slightly higher and this enables you to see the traffic further ahead which gives you marginally more time to react to circumstances rather than looking at the vehicle in fronts bumper and brake lights. Against is the vehicle size which is not exactly easy to park in the town and city car parks, however we use my wifes Smart car for these outings which is ideal and convenient.
Downside is the cost of spares and labour costs at the Volvo main dealers.
As a summary the Volvo XC90 has been everything we wanted and we will certainly be looking to buy another XC90 when we change it.

Volvo XC90 | turbo lag a problem

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Lovely comfortable, spacious and practical car, but it has terrible turbo lag such that getting away from difficult junctions can be heart-stoppingly alarming. Also a bit rubbish at hill starts ( tends to roll) and parking brake pretty ineffective - it's the transmission that stops it rolling away eventually.
I would say that it's a 4x4 which gives you extra confidence on the roads ( in water, snow and ice etc) but if you need an all terrain vehicle I expect there are better. It makes me laugh that it's called a 'Sports Utility Vehicle' as sporty is not a word I would use to describe it - I rarely attempt to overtake the tractors as the turbo lag just makes it too scary.
It's lovely on the motorway and very comfortable if you have to spend hours sitting in it with children whilst parked up at football etc.
It averages 31mpg according to it's on board computer which I think is pretty good for a big 4x4.
The 05-07 models have a recognised problem with water ingress, either on a large scale from sunroof area and base of windscreen, or on a small scale rusting the CEM which costs over £1000 to replace. I've had both problems!

Volvo XC90 | XC90 old model - still valued for great space and flexibility

Added: 19th of September 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

The now-superceeded XC90, made for over a decade, is still commanding high prices, especially for low mileage well kept examples. Partly this is because the new XC90 is a big price hike over the earlier one, a move which has apparently caused many owners of older cars to hang on to them, and also because the build quality is good enough to command strong prices. The later models from 2012 have a bit more power and a bit less thirst as well. Combined with Volvo's solid reputation it's a recipe for good residuals. The car has always appealed to busy families, dog lovers and other needers of internal space. Running costs are not cheap and parts are expensive but you probably get what you paid for. I bought my 2012 from Lex Direct and am delighted. Had my previous one, a 2007 for five years and it never let me down once , plus I got 40% of my original purchase price back on a quick sale into the trade.

Volvo XC90 | Big Safe and Secure

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

We chose this car primarily for the usable seven seat option it offers which is extremely flexible and a highly practical feature. The safety aspect of the Volvo was also a very reassuring bonus. The car is easy to get in and out of and the cabin space feels very good quality but lacks any excitement or interest. The drive is akin to lugging around a large shopping trolley but if you ignore the tractor like quality of the engine at low revs and press the peddle to the metal, then after a brief turbo lag you will be whisked along at a relatively rapid crack. Long journeys and colossal amounts of cargo are dispensed of with ease and an average of 25mpg for general use is not the end of the world when it comes to fuel consumption, with the bonus of 40mpg plus for an extremely comfortable high speed motorway run.

Volvo XC90 | Love it but...............

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have owned my XC90 since March 2006 when I bought it as a used vehicle from a Volvo main dealer. I love the car and find it very comfortable in all aspects of driving. However, you need shares in an oil company to run it - economy is not a strong point and I average 22-24 mpg on a long run and 17-19 mpg around town! Servicing, parts and repairs are very expensive. I have also had some very bad luck with gearbox and differential problems that have cost a great deal to put right.

All in all a perfect car for our requirements - two sons at university and need to carry wheelchair and mobility scooter for my disabled wife - but very expensive to run.

Still love driving it as it is so comfortable and easy to drive but.................

Volvo XC90 | Design Flaws

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

2003 car owned for 7 years.
Very good car for our all year round needs with a decent mpg despite all the small journeys to the school.

Bug bear is that it needed new wheel bearings and these were designed too small for the car. Lots of people have to change theirs.
Also bulbs blow all the time and that is despite buying Bosch and Lucas.
Currently looking at a new 4x4 as this one now had Sat Nav and door locking problems. But what the heck the new car looks almost identical inside and out so very dated. Plus side though is that a manufacturer discount of 10% and dealer contributions up to £4k which is keeping it in the running with the Q7 and X5.

Volvo XC90 | XC 90 Safety First!

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

Volvo XC90 - great car loads of room. Lacks storage spaces up front, Interior needs a serious revamp (who needs a built in phone these days!!!?)Fuel consumption is better than some 4x4 but the towing capabilities are poor (750kg)which compared to other similar is poor. The safety features are typical Volvo so many air bags, solid construction etc - just hope they never go off as the car would be beyond repair due to cost of these alone!!! XC60 and later XC70's have far better appointed interior and features. Volvo need to launch the 90 replacement soon or these cars will not be the vehicle of choice

Volvo XC90 | XC 90

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Took delivery of vehicle in July 2013 - already covered 6,500 and very pleased with reliability. Previous 4x4 "off roader" was just that - always in the garage and a large drain on the finances. Interior is showing its design age and many items on our 2010 XC70 are not found on the XC90 which is a shame considering the cost, and will look forward to the new model. Averaging 31mpg which is 10mpg better than previous vehicle. All in all a typical Volvo - Reliable, Safe, Comfortable, Traditional but regretfully a little boring.

Volvo XC90 | Simon's review

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 2800cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

Very pleased with the XC90, only minor gripe is the lack of storage space around the driver, my daughter's polo has more nooks and crannies!

Also, not a fan on the in built satnav, so prefer to use our old tomtom

Great to drive, especially on long motorway journeys, nobody complains if they have to travel in the seats at the very back as they are pretty spacious

This is our second, and will probably buy a third in a couple of years time

Volvo XC90 | XC90 R-Design

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2405cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Always liked the looks of the XC90, it is a great family car in which i feel very safe and feel as though my family is safe.
Need 4 wheel drive because of location that I live and need a large boot because of dogs and other interests.
We go on family holidays in the car and it is extreemly comfortable for all passengers.
Think the fuel consumption is fair given the size of the car.
This is my third XC90.

Volvo XC90 | A good car

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1996
  • 2473cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 4

I have had the Volvo 960 since new and has done 167,000 miles and it still purrs along. It is very comfortable at 70mph. Had it properly serviced every year and it has been worth every penny. Difficulty is now that the local Volvo dealer cannot provide certain minor parts for the car. No rusting although left out in all weathers. Only problem is that its replacement could cost £40,000!!

Volvo XC90 | Great family car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

If you are looking for a large 7 seated for a family this is hard to beat. Great for long journeys. Also very good on snow, never had a problem over several winters of snow.
Unfortunately relatively high fuel consumption, especially around town. I have also been surprised to have to replace 2 wheel bearings in a relatively young car.

Volvo XC90 | Volvo XC90

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

We bought this car for the 7 seats and space it offered. I wasn't sure how I would get on with it, however I really enjoy driving the car and it is invaluable for all the items we transport.
It is very heavy on fuel, however we do not drive an enormous mileage in it for that reason.

Volvo XC90 | Mr I harris

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
1/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
1/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
1/5
  • 2005
  • 2595cc
  • semi-automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

I have owned an Volvo xc90 since purchased new in 2005 since that time it has covered almost 150000 miles both on business and holidays towing a caravan and carrying a family o 5 people. it has been serviced regularly at main dealers and has been totally reliable.

Volvo XC90 | Volvo xc90

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have 150k miles on the clock and it is still very reliable and all round value for money vehicle that is very practical carrying 7 passengers or a big load of cargo. Opt for the manual as this gets much more MPG.

Volvo XC90 | volvo 940 estate

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1997
  • 2300cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Brilliant car, had a 740 estate before which was even better, had over 300,000 on the clock. The only thing wrong is high fuel consumption, 26 max, but you cant have everything!

Volvo XC90 | review

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

We live in a hilly rural area and use the 4x4 for transporting everything from people through dogs dead stock to hay. It's been excellent so far & looks good & is comfortable

Volvo XC90 | XC90 R-Design

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Great family car, very comfortable, large boot for all the belongings and travel and dogs. Feel safe and secure.
No niggles yet, no complaints.

Volvo XC90 | volvo XC90 T6

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 2900cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Luck to get 18 to the gallon around town, and 22 max on a run.

Filter Volvo XC90 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.