Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Volvo XC70 Reviews

Volvo XC70

Welcome to the Volvo XC70 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Volvo XC70 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£32,795 - £43,160
AA Cars Average
£19,253
MPG
24.6 - 51.4
CO2 (g/km)
144 - 272
Tax Band
F - M
Noise Level
70.0 - 75.0

Volvo XC70 | Decent and safe load lugger, but can be costly to repair

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2435cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

The XC-70 offers ample space, lots of comfort, a gentle ride and a lot of added safety. Driving it is a doddle, the view forward and to the rear is good, the A pillars on the front can sometimes be awkward due to their thickness. This car offers a high driving position with very good supportive seats. I drive the base model with D-5 engine (185 bhp). The engine has lots of spare power for quick overtaking. Clutch action is somewhat heavy. Cruise control allows for quiet and comfortable driving with added economy. For a 1,600 kg car an average fuel consumption of 37 mpg is very reasonable. On long drives with fully warmed up engine this may be as low as 44 mpg (driving under 70mph). Six gears allow for low revs at speed. Engine is not troublesome, but the components attached to it: the fuel inlet system, the pressured turbo and the engine output regulation (dust particle filter unit) are costly to replace. At 10 years and after 152k miles the original exhaust is still used, the paintwork is still strong and shiny and rust is nowhere to be seen. In winter it defrosts rapidly, mirrors included.
Unfortunate events may cost you time: changing a large heavy wheel is tedious as the jack lifts the car from the middle of the body. Changing a headlight bulb is almost impossible and needs a technician with an adequate tool. The H7 bulbs are fiddly compared to the straightforward twisting H4. Lastly, if you have a caravan then this is your puller. The rear suspension is self-levelling so that the car won't sag due to a heavy load on the tow bar.

Volvo XC70 | Workhorse

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

The XC-70 is not a very common model, but it is literally a strong contender on the road. In winter weather and when pulling a caravan you have a safe and steady workhorse, which is surprisingly comfortable in terms of seating, suspension and cabin space.
The car is higher, but not larger than other Volvo estates and very easy to park and to turn around.
The engine is quiet, responsive and economical on long drives with use of cruise control. The six speed gearbox gives it a supple accelaration.
Running costs are not excessive, consumption can be 45mpg on long motorway drives, just watch your foot and your speed. It has special traction tyres which are all-season and useful in the winter.
I never understood why families don't buy an estate. With this Volvo you always have ample spare room. The car is so durable that it is worth hanging on to for 10 years or longer, really. Once you have sat in that fabulous driving seat you'd think you belong in it....

Volvo XC70 | Comfortable and practical

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2015
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

The XC 70 I have found to be very comfortable, with the all wheel drive a necessity as Iive in rural Scotland. The engine is quiet, except under hard acceleration, and the car overtakes effortlessly. there is hill descent capability too. The load space is large and well shaped and easily accessible. Equipped with sat nav, MP3, cd, digital radio and internet access it is multifaceted.. The high safety factor is reassuring. Mileage seems reasonable at 38mpg so far.
The heated seats, front and rear side widows are a boon.
The car was delivered with a a compressor and a tub of 'goo' for punctures......I found that he wheel well will not accept a full size replacement tire and exchanged the 'goo' for a space saver tyre.....all well and good if you live in a town close to a 'quikfit'...........not good and ridiculous in a quality car.
Overall an enjoyable car to drive, with good road manners, if a bit 'bouncy' over recurrent road humps.

Volvo XC70 | Rugged Comfort

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2498cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

My XC70 is the first 4x4 I have owned and am very satisfied with it. Having previously owned many Volvo's including the V70 the interior was of no surprise to me, but am very pleased with the level of comfort in this model.

Fuel economy is obviously not as good as the V70 but this is the penalty for having four wheeled drive, and as my annual mileage is not great I am quite happy with the fuel consumption.

As previously stated this is my first 4x4 and when the snow arrived last winter with a vengence it had its opportunity to show its paces. It coped admirably with the road conditions which were pretty awful, without fuss, and I was very pleased with its performance.

All in all it is a good performer in all conditions, comfortable to drive, and feels very safe as with all Volvos.

Volvo XC70 | Volvo estate no longer the load lugger it used to be.

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2014
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

This is my second XC70 and you're right - it's my own fault for buying the second.

I had an old 245 that had loads of space in the back, but as I now live in the country I bought a 2005 XC70, nice, but at 130,000 miles produced more cloaking smoke than a RN destroyer and had to go.

The newer 2014 XC70 has loads of people room and is a big car but the cargo space seems smaller than the older 245, and I'm convinced much less than the old V90, in particular my old Setter cannot stand or sit up without his head hitting the roof. You can no longer fit a large piece of furniture in as the roof line is too low, particularly at the doorway which is lower than the roof of course.

And another gripe - there's nowhere for parking monies.

Volvo XC70 | excessive use of micro processors

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Most of the functions are controlled by computers that tak a long period to boot up. Some functions, that fail to meet the Consumer Protection Act, reset each time you start the car so have to be disabled befor driving. If the stupid stop start function was fitted to my last car I would not be writing this review, A fast moving following car would have smashed into my car if I could not pull onto the grass verge as he stopped almost touching the car that was in front of me. Stop start means that the engine would have stopped and I have to press foot pedals to get it started befor I get into gear.

Volvo XC70 | Volvo XC70 from Signature Cars Yorkshire

Added: 12th of December 2014
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2400cc
  • semi-automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

We bought this to replace a tired 97 Volvo 850 Diesel estate with 220,000 miles on the clock. Really pleased with the purchase and good customer experience from the AA listed dealer we bought it from. We will need to get a tow bar fitted to tow a boat but the All Wheel Drive will make a difference on slipways etc.
AWD means 36mpg compared to the 44 mpg from the 850 so running costs will be higher, however the novelty of a geartronic semi auto gearbox plus improved safety features such as SIPS (air bags to the side as well as front)make this car a pleasure and reassuring to drive.

Volvo XC70 | XC excitement?

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Very competent and quite comfortable, especially on long journeys. For a large car, very economical in fuel use: up to 48 mpg maintaining 70 mph on a long journey. Not as reliable as previous Volvos, but possibly because there are a lot of Ford labels under the bonnet. Eats front tyres. Just don't expect to be hammering away from the lights.

Great towcar, though.

Volvo XC70 | Volvo XC70

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

A safe reliable car whose qualities far outweigh it's short comings. It is comfortable,safe, a good tow car, 4wd, quick (215 bhp), spacious and fully "loaded". On the negative side, the seats do not support the body during manoeuvres, it is affected by side winds and Volvo service costs and parts prices are high.

Volvo XC70 | Best family car which I have ever owned

Added: 13th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2015
  • 2450cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

This is an, all-wheel drive model, bought from new. The ride is superb, the build-quality excellent. It is poor on m.p.g (for a diesel it averages 35). But, it is by-far the best family car I have ever owned. I particularly like the safety features - excellent visibility; rear-sensor, and front sensor.

Volvo XC70 | New Volvo XC70

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I have just received delivery of a brand new Volvo XC70, D5 diesel manual, and I am very pleased with it so far. Good price from the dealership and very good quality of the delivered product. 1600 miles so far in a month, it is effortless to drive and eats up the miles at over 40 mpg. Very happy.

Volvo XC70 | good solid car

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Chosen as I live in rural area & used to work as a doctor, work included going out to RTI'S in all weather. XC 70 looks like an ordinary estate & not like a 4 x 4 to collect the children from school,but is comfortable, safer than many,spares are expensive, otherwise no problems.

Volvo XC70 | XC70 No winter driving issues.

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

My second XC70. Good looking estate lots of space and comfort, no problems in winter with the four wheel drive system. Feels safe and solid. Returns 35 mpg around town.
Could be a bit more reliable, some replacement parts are way too expensive.

Volvo XC70 | Volvo XC70

Added: 17th of September 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2014
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Outstanding car , great on the motorway , electronic panels for the model came in for the 2014 model is excellent. For persons of out door camping etc is perfect for high load and enough power in the engine to cope with any steep hills.

Volvo XC70 | A family car

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

The best thing of this car is space and practicality. Lots of space to load your stuff.
Variable 4x4 transmission makes the car quite safe when the road conditions are not good.
Combined consumption of fuel (diesel) is 6.7 liters.

Volvo XC70 | GOOD IN PARTS

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

reliable workhorse but silly design faults wheel obscures instruments horn not instinctivepoor end of tank estimate my lst car was a lexus 3l and although this is more economical Iiss it badly

Volvo XC70 | Volvo XC70

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 4

An excellent car, and totally fit for purpose. Extremely able in poor surface conditions. Excellent performance, economy (up to 50 mpg on longer trips) and load carrying.

Volvo XC70 | Not more computers

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

There is too much reliance on computers that reset on engine switch off. In particular the engine switch of when stationary in traffic.

Volvo XC70 | VOLVO XC70 MARK 1

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • electric
  • Estate
  • 5

A comfortable and practical estate which has proved reliable. However, repairs to the many electrical items can prove costly.

Volvo XC70 | great car

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

bought from new, never broke down, comfort excellent, sat nav easy and reliable plenty of boot space fantastic

Filter Volvo XC70 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.