Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Volvo V70 Reviews

Useful links:  191 Used Volvo V70 in stock
Volvo V70

Welcome to the Volvo V70 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Volvo V70 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£25,395 - £39,030
AA Cars Average
£13,404
MPG
20.8 - 62.8
CO2 (g/km)
119 - 274
Tax Band
C - M
Noise Level
68.0 - 75.0

Volvo V70 | Reliable old car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

I have owned this car from new and it hasn't let me down once in the last,nearly twelve years. Space is what every Volvo estate is known far. When the family come to visit for two months over the summer it can take all their luggage and still seat everyone in comfort making the run to and from the airport less trouble. With being an automatic and a fairly large car feul consumption is not a strong point but a lack of other running repairs compensates some way.
The car is very comfortable and long journeys are no problem and the climate control keeps the interior at a even temperature all year. With my family living in Saudi Arabia the individual temperature controls are vital as my daughter always feels cold for the first week. There is enough room on the rear seat to have the two granchildren and an adult all safely belted in. The air vents in the rear B frames provides clear windows which is essential when the children are commenting how green the country side looks compared to their hiome.
Car parking can be a slight problem, the turning circle on the Volvo is poor and a front parking warning defvice would be helpful.
The Volvo came with many helpful aids and so the twelve years don't make the car short of the devices that many smaller cars now enjoy.
If you need a large estate car the Volvo V70 is something that you must consider. These days you would probably opt for a diesel engine but this car is going to last you many trouble free years of motoring.

Volvo V70 | Volvo's are the BEST

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

I've had five different types of big Volvo's over the past 20 years, and can't fault any of them from the 740, 850, S80 and now V70. I chose the first one on recommendation and have never looked back. Most of them have been Estates because I've wanted the space for babies, children, grandparents and subsequently business use. The running costs aren't cheap, but I don't mind paying for it, as I really never have to have anything done to them, apart from yearly service and tyres. My only complaint is about the light bulbs which do need to be replaced on a regular basis and there are so many of them. I've travelled all over the continent and the UK from top to bottom in my Volvo's and have had all of them on average 6 or 7 years. I'm reluctant to replace my present one as I've had it so long, and it's still only got 55,000 on the clock as I have now retired and don't travel as far as I did when I used it for work. It's in perfect condition, bodywork, engine, wheels, the lot and I don't think the new ones are made as well as the old ones. Can't bear the day when i would have to be without one. My son in law always buys my old Volvo's, and is waiting patiently now for me to sell this one.

Volvo V70 | Old Volvo V70

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I transport large and small items around the country - from auctions etc.
I have the Volvo Diesel V70 D5 model.
It was registered in 2002, and has 167,000 miles so far.
Everything works. The car is comfortable, smooth and excellent on Motorway and in town.
On the down side suspension is too hard, the radio is not user friendly and the drivers seat is starting to wear out.
On the positive I get between 45 and 50 mpg all the time. I even got 52 mpg once on a fast trip to Heathrow and back. It is a big car, but surprisingly fast and economical.
I often tow a plant trailer (up to 1300 kgs). It dents the economy by about 5 mpg, but tows really well. the car is the boss, and heavy enough to handle a well loaded trailer. I find it smoother when towing with a full load to drive in 4th gear rather than full auto. I have tester this and it doesn't seem to adversely affect the mpg, but the car is smoother and quieter.

In conclusion - this high mileage beast takes everything I throw at it. I even lent it to my son for 3 months (now that's real abuse) and it is unaffected! I would definately want another when this one breathes its last.

Volvo V70 | Volvo V70 2.5T

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Practicality of the ever trusty V70 estate, impressive comfort, huge load carrying capacity with the performance of a hot hatch. Awesome!
Never under estimate the V70's ability to cover the miles. Drove from Brittany in France to San Sebastián in Northern Spain in approximately 10 hours, obviously with a few rest breaks, got to our friends home, quick coffee then out for an evening meal together! Try that in anything other than the V70.

So there must be a down side. Nought to sixty in 7 seconds, top speed of 145mph and the ability to drive all day means this really isn't a town car. On a run you can get 38mpg. Local 22mpg. ..... And not to many crazy starts from the lights or you'll eat front tyres! Expect at least 150,000 miles before anything major (not including brakes and discs). Previous model I had went on to do 150,000 on top of the 130,000miles I put on it.

Luckily had the opportunity to drive everything from sports cars, hot hatches to 4x4's...... And the Volvo is the best of huge bunch.

Volvo V70 | 13 year old Volvo V70 2.4SE

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

It's great for carrying large items and very comfortable for five adults, but because of its size it is difficult to park and to get through some width restrictions. It also has a large blind spot and one has to turn one's head to the right before pulling out or changing lane in order to doublecheck that no one is coming up next to you or literally next to you (as one cannot rely on the rearview mirror or wing mirrors). Petrol works out expensive as it requires Super Unleaded (which is about 5p a litre dearer), but this pays for itself in terms of improving fuel consumption in comparison to ordinary unleaded. Using Super in town it does 14 to 17 mpg and 28 mpg on motorways.The car is serviced annually and is reliable but lightbulbs are difficult to access to replace and the indicator bulbs need a garage to do the job. Other consumables such as tyres are also very expensive in relation to the market value of an old car.

Volvo V70 | Volvo V70 1999

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1999
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Generally for a car built in the last century and with 164000 mile on the clock this car serves me very well. I carry large loads of plants and preserves to Street Markets and plant fairs over considerable distances The car has great capacity and thoughtful internal attachment points for awkward loads. Some of the ancilliary have failed (rear window motors, radio ) but these are inconsequential. We like the space, quiet and general comfort and safety when using the car for long journeys to meet friends or on holiday. I also like the easy facility for replacing headlight bulbs ( when the warning indicator comes on.

Dislikes include cost of spare parts, door mirrors, suspension etc. I also find on a damp morning the car mists up in seconds and this can happen immediately when starting after a short journey which can be alarming and potentially dangerous.

Volvo V70 | My volvo

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 2600cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 4

our Volvo has now done over 200.000 miles although we are now having problem with the dashboard clock going crazy (it has been changed just over a year ago after never having giving problems) we have to keep it so as the garage does not want to intervene in the cost of replacement only want to cover 30% of cost and it is an expensive replacement.
It is still so far running very well we still get an average of over 44 gallons to the mile on long journeys and just under 40 on urban driving.
it is a luxury model and is still very comfortable, we did buy it second hand from a Volvo garage.
The garage has always been good for us and always very helpful hence we would be very reluctant to change make when it gives up on us.
We need a large car as we use it to transport big pictures.

Volvo V70 | Volvo V 70 much better than the SUVs. Boot capacity much better - google it!

Added: 18th of October 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

This car is excellent. It has a full service history and everything works well. It has now done 174, 000 miles and I am changing the belts and the water pump this week - just in case. Original transmission and engine still going well. Key is regular servicing and getting under the hood and making sure that all the things ion the owners manual are being addressed - every week. It tows like a dream and is such a comfortable ride. The white leather seats are still fresh looking and smell great after thirteen years. This car easily rivals the best out there. Audi/Mercedes/BMW hold the top position for premium cars and I have always been a bit surprised by this. Know one thing. It is only Volvo and Daimler-Benz which have high mileage clubs.

Volvo V70 | Comfortable smooth and economic

Added: 13th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

This car is lovely to drive, smooth and quiet I recently drove from Suffolk to Scotland,around and back to Suffolk and averaged 58.7 mpg (full tank to full tank not guessed or using trip computer).The only dislikes I have are the appalling turning circle,(my old Volvo 940 turning circle was 2m smaller) and the placement of the steering wheel switches (cruise control and radio etc.). To operate these switches you need to bend your wrists uncomfortably or take your hand off the wheel. I drive a Volvo truck for work and the steering wheel switches are excellent so why are they so poor in cars? Perhaps newer models are improved. If or when I replace this car I will probably buy another newer one of the same model.

Volvo V70 | My cars

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2401cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I have 8 cars at present but use the Volvo for the every day type journeys and runabout as it is reliable, comfortable and has great carrying capacity; safety features give reassurance too.
Cover up to 20000 miles per annum of which 60% is in the Volvo.

It is a Diesel and I currently get 49 mpg; my others are classics and heavy on fuel Silver Spirit, V12 E-type, Bentley Special, XK8, 1929 Phantom 1, all heavy petrol consumers; an SP250 and a 1.8 litre Replica 1934 Aston Martin which are reasonable at around 28-30mpg. None of the above barring the Volvo are what one would call everyday cars but are great fun to drive; to drive but the Volvo ticks all the boxes including the 'every day' one.

Volvo V70 | Durable Volvos.

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

This is my 3rd Volvo since 1984. My first 2 passed through the 200,000 miles with no trouble. I thought this one (V70 Classic) would not make it. It was not the engine that concerned me but some of the peripheral components were failing. Rear door lock, electric window switches, catalytic converter sensor. I would say Volvo's new owners were not building such a durable car. On the whole I feel the car more than beats many of its rivals. Motorway cruising at 70mph is still quiet and the engine can still pack a punch when required. I am now at 190,000 miles so I am looking at replacements. I don't need the large load capacity and I may consider a V50.

Volvo V70 | Volvo V70 D3 R Design

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Generally a solid, useful and comfortable car. I prefer the 2.4 D5 engine I had in my last Volvo to the 2 litre in the this D3 as it had a lot more torque. Fuel economy though is very good. The heated seats are great in winter. I don't like the electric handbrake and it's position. I would like a heated windscreen fitted as standard as the one in I had in my Mondeo was excellent in winter. The ride on the 18" wheels is good even though quite firm and the handling and grip is good even on wet roads. It is good car to use on long trips as it is quiet inside, has cruise control and will hold a lot of stuff with the seats down.

Volvo V70 | Suits my unusual needs

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1999
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

A large estate with upright back is ideal for transporting 1/8 scale locomotives! This car handles this heavy load very well on all road conditions, even though it is automatic. At other times, it is very comfortable for passengers and has about the right level of gadgets without being flashy! As with all Volvos, it has its peculiar faults, but none particularly serious (interior trims don't fit very well and the one on the tailgate has come off due to the intertia breaking the tabs when shutting the tailgate), but its reliability and comfort outweigh these niggles. This is my fourth Volvo and probably won't be my last.

Volvo V70 | Captain Sensible Car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

The Volvo V70 Diesel 2.4 litre is the best car I have ever driven - and safer than most as well. I can put a cubic metre of logs in the back to save delivery costs while on a different day have 5 people and two dogs + some luggage. It costs around 17 pence per mile (I check cost against mileage every time I fill up)and I'm not sluggish.
I have it serviced at a local garage so no expensive Volvo charges.
My last one was still going well at 12 years old when someone crashed into the back of me when I was stationary. The Insurance company wrote it off despite my request to repair - the guilty driver should have paid!

Volvo V70 | Volvo V70

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I have had this car from new, and have driven 107000 miles, it has been maintained by Marshall Volvo in Grantham. I am extremely satisfied with this car, apart from service costs the only item that has had to be repaired is on the car is a part on the alarm system.
Being a big diesel engine, to my mind it is economical, with the type of driving that I do, my overall average is 47mpg and this can be raised on long journeys.
My only criticism of the car is that it has low profile tyres and this restricts the turning circle, for a large car it can be a problem to manoeuvre in tight spaces.

Volvo V70 | Best Volvo I have owned

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Having owned a 740, then an 850, followed by an early V70 and now this V70 I can say this is the best one yet. It was bought secondhand and the number of fitted extras made it a good buy in my opinion. It has given very little trouble but genuine service parts can be expensive. It averages around 42 mpg on a mix of town and distance driving, on a long run on the motorway I have reached 60 mpg on the dash readout. The big fault with this model is the turning circle, which compared to the previous models is dismal, can be embarrassing having to do several shunts sometimes to park it.

Volvo V70 | Car - Great - Dealership - A Nightmare

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1995cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

The V70 is great. Comfortable and reliable. I have only broken down due to a flat tyre and again when the windscreen wiper blades became crossed in heavy rain on a motor way.

The problem is with my local dealership who treat you like a case and never like an individual. They are hugely expensive and due to their indifference I was motivated to look elsewhere and have found a much better ( and cheaper) garage that look after my car wonderfully.

I wrote to Volvo UK to express my concerns, but did not hear anything back.

So, great car, crap customer service.

Volvo V70 | 1994 Volvo 855

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1994
  • 2435cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

My classic Volvo 855 in metallic ruby red is not listed in the selection so I chose the V70 as the nearest equivalent. After 19 years it is still a head turner. Driven 'sensibly' it still returns around 35mpg on a longish trip and even around town it gives around 30. Very comfortable and one of the most versatile cars I have ever driven. On my model the best features are the ability of the front passenger seat to fold flat and the self levelling suspension is a godsend when driving packed to the roof. 155,000 miles and hopefully another 155,000 to go.

Volvo V70 | Good car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Clutch flywheel connecting to Gear box collapsed after 55000 miles. Engine good.Head Office Volvo contributed to new flywheel however Volvo Service Outlets too expensive with rude arrogant operatives. Very disappointed with not getting what was written on the tin.
Still love the car. Love Volvo Ocean Race. I got this car because of the long life reputation of Volvo. However Mercedes and Volkswagen seem to be more reliable from the 05-06 era.

Volvo V70 | long term tdi v70

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1998
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I now drive around 50000m a year, replace consumables (oil every 5000m, brake parts, tyres etc) and this car just go's on and on. It now has well over 250000m on the clock and other than a little more wind noise due to sagging seals, it's as comfortable as It ever was. It tows superbly, typically gets 45mpg, has a cavernous load area and plenty of space for the three dogs. Genuine parts are expensive but last and last. Fits my bill to a tee.

Filter Volvo V70 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.