Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Volvo V50 Reviews

Useful links:  162 Used Volvo V50 in stock
Volvo V50

Welcome to the Volvo V50 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Volvo V50 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£2,815 - £22,110
AA Cars Average
£6,289
MPG
27.7 - 74.3
CO2 (g/km)
99 - 243
Tax Band
A - L
Noise Level
70.0 - 74.0

Volvo V50 | V50 SE D5

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

My previous Volvo 850 T5 expired unexpectedly after 300k miles and the agent had this V50 D5 at less than half list price, with all the options fitted.
It is very quick, supremely comfortable and so far has been completely reliable. I sometimes wish I had the space of the 850 - or V70 - but not enough to have the bigger car all the time.
The only downside with this car is the front tyre wear is high, because the engine has almost too much torque, but in the Pyrenees last summer it swept through the steepest climbs with no stress at all.
As a motorway cruiser it is very quiet and comfortable, returning around 45 mpg when loaded.
Ours has the sport suspension package fitted so handling is crisp on Pirelli or Michelin tyres, slightly less so on Khumos, but always very safe and a swerve is stable and easily controlled.
Brakes are very effective and the ABS does a good job of preventing lock up. Our first set of pads lasted 59000 miles and still had not worn out but were changed as a precaution.
On winter tyres handling in the snow and on ice is a revelation. they enable journeys to be completed confidently and safely.
The automatic gearbox is a geartronic, which I believe is shared with a few Audi and Volkswagen cars. It is smooth and relaxed when left alone, but I usually squeeze a bit better fuel consumption by using the manual option once out of town traffic.
Would I buy another V50 - YES but probably the 2 litre Diesel as the D5 is almost too powerful! I would miss the hill climbing and overtaking though.

Volvo V50 | Volvo V50 Estate

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1996cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Volvo have a reputation for building reliable and safe cars, with great customer service. The V50 certainly feels a good solid car. It won't give you an exhilarating drive, that's not really what family-sized diesel estates are about. Long journeys are very comfortable, much more so than previous similar cars I've had.

Good parts - comfort, economy (given it's the sports edition), space and superb customer service. There are lots of hidden features (eg if you're driving with the wipers on and you use reverse, the rear wiper automatically turns on) that makes you feel that Volvo have put thought into what would be good for the driver.

Bad parts - accessories and parts come at a high premium. £500 for a lead to connect an ipod to the radio is a classic example. There is also a design floor with the boot where the roll for the privacy cover is mounted in a position which wastes a significant part of the boot. The handbrake is also in an odd place!

Overall - Am very satisfied with my car, but I'm not sure it's necessarily worth it's price tag.

Volvo V50 | Volvo V50 - Company Car

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2011
  • 1547cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Great car. Comfortable, sure footed, quiet, good looking.
Reasonable miles per gallon but obviously not as much as Volvo would have you believe.
For a diesel engine of less than 1600 cc the performance is remarkable, all be it a little sluggish off the line.
Boot is not as big as it looks. Back seats fold down but not as conveniently as it looks like it should be.
No spare wheel is a major concern and big disappointment!
One small complaint is that the 3.5mm pin socket for Digital radio/iphone/ipod connection socket is weak.
Biggest fault is the lack of leg room for rear seated passengers, its just not big enough in that department.
2nd biggest fault is the obstruction to the drivers view, especially when looking behind (lifesaver, or some acute junctions - can be dangerous). AM radio reception is poor. Sound system is great.
Low head height is a disappointment for me.
Cruise control is brilliant.
Overall I really like this car and would buy another one.

Volvo V50 | Just about right

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

This is probably the fifth consecutive Volvo that I've owned over the past seventeen years so you can see that I'm both a creature of habit and that I like Volvos.
This car, so far, has been reliable, comfortable and somehow as it gets older the petrol consumption is improving (the fuel or my driving?). I like its over all design and the feeling of being in a solid, heavy car which is safe - proven by the crash that my son had when he went into the back of a lorry in my previous V50. Both he and the lorry were unscathed but the car was written off.
My one gripe is in the design of the rear loading space which is narrower than it was on the old V40. This has something to do with the wheel arch shape and the way that the body narrows towards the back, making it slightly less practical than it otherwise would be.
I shall buy another one when I want to change the car.

Volvo V50 | I Love My Car

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

It may be considered a Ladies Car ( and yes I am one ), but I truly love this smart estate. OK no good for a labrador, a load of kids and baggage, but its perfect for a single lady who travels long distances on motorways, north to south regularly. Its solid without being heavy, its great in a gale, it has excellent insulation, excellent pulling power, brake power, steering, excellent low fuel consumption on those long trips and a super audio system, interior lights etc. It is as safe as you can get. Buts its a bit big for parking in a narrow spaces and a bit big on narrow roads, and I wish it was an Automatic, but I love it and wish I could afford the very latest model, but heck, I am not complaining, Thanks Volvo - just the ticket for a country gal and I am a pretty experienced driver who was once a rev head in my younger days.

Volvo V50 | Solid Volvo

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Volvo's have a reputation for being rather solid and unsporty. That's precisely why I like mine; I always feel safe in it. And although not sporty I do like the styling.
Surprisingly the engine size of 1.6 is not a problem, despite being a heavy car, and it can be quite nippy when it needs to be.
Diesel consumption is very good; I have done around 50K miles in it over the past 5 years and average over 50mpg over that period and distance. I find servicing expensive, but so far it has been free of major trouble.
It gives a comfortable ride both in terms of seating and suspension.
Converting to goods carrier is a bit tedious and it doesn't allow for two seats down and single seat available at the back (but only one seat down and two available).
This is the fourth Volvo I have had and I think I shall stick with them.

Volvo V50 | VOLVO V50 2.0D

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1995cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Be careful when purchasing this particular model, the fuel economy is poor for a small family estate, and driven frugally, will only return at best 50mpg, coupled with a small fuel tank (45ltrs) it isn't the best for the long haul. There are also the mechanical issues, of which there are a few, even with a full service history, there are many problems. Diesel particulate filter is the main problem. However, the car has a solid build quality, both exterior and interior, its just a pity the mechanical aspects of the vehicle don't hold up with the rest of the vehicle.
My top tip if you were to purchase one, would be to get a AA vehicle check prior to buying, along with asking questions about what the vehicle was used for; was it used around town or blasted up and down the motorway.

Volvo V50 | Is this a Volvo?

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Had several Volvos but this has been the poorest.Clutch went at under 50,000 miles,(wife's Volvo 850 still on original clutch at 17000!)reverse gear linkage packed in,and on day after returning from a service at Volvo dealer it was dead and could not be started due to unknown electrical fault.Front wheel developed a grinding noise while towing my caravan on holiday in September.Air con also found to have packed in at last service.
That apart, seats are very comfortable, and it is a great tow-car with excellent acceleration for a diesel.

Volvo V50 | Volvo V50 2Lt Diesel Auto 2008

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1998cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Very pleased with the cars performance and reliability. Not quite as economical as I had hoped. Comfort - suspension a little hard and doesn't give a good ride over our severe speed bumps. Handling very good - holds the road well and corners very well. Load space is amazing - very practical. Storage at the front is not very good and the hidden shelf behind the centre console not practical to use. The use of aluminium as a trim is not practical either as a little knock dents the surface and then looks very poor.

Volvo V50 | Mixed but overall good

Added: 11th of December 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2011
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Fit & build are excellent. Spec on the SE Lux is good, especially if you add heated seats.

Feul economy about 40 mpg with mostly urban driving in rush hour traffic.

Seats are very comfortable & the car feels great & very safe.

Two problems: lack of storage space for cups etc & lack of space in the back. Both will cause you major problems especially if you need to accommodate 2 tallish people in the back.

Otherwise a great car & a fine alternative to a Series 3 BMW or C Class Merc.

Volvo V50 | Sensible is King

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 4

The V50 is a sensible sound solid model car. The estate version provides great load space whilst the passenger space has good all round levels of comfort.
The diesel engined 1.6L model gives good response for most road conditions with start/stop technology giving moderate running costs.
The V50 is not the most exciting car in the market but adequately fulfils it's role for the family mover.
Safety is paramount for Volvo and you get the safe feeling when using this model.

Volvo V50 | Volvo V50 eDrive

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I have the eco version which I thought would be terribly underpowered, etc - small engine - large(ish) vehicle. But it has proved surprisingly capable - especially on long haul journeys. Great fuel economy.
I have some concerns about its longer term reliability - but nothing has occurred to date.
Feel safe, solid, quiet.
It's also not littered with buttons and gimmicky technology and the systems you need (ventilation, air con, etc) are great.

Volvo V50 | Volvo V50

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

V50 is very reliable. The dealership gives excellent service. Car performs very well. Lots of space and comfortable. Gives readout of miles per gallon, average speed, next service due, any fault that develops is highlighted(none yet), etc, all on a screen. Climate control. Very variable seat position. Just feels good to drive will eventually buy another.

Volvo V50 | Volvo V50

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Fairly comfortable although not a great deal of space for rear passengers. Short gear range on 1st and 2nd gears and a little underpowered on 3rd. Not too bad on fuel about 30 in town and 33 plus on a run. To date no problems with reliability but I do service the car when services are due. Overall I am pleased with the car and would consider another.

Volvo V50 | can you afford a volvo?

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1798cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Have been a volvo driver for some 30 years. They are normally very reliable and comfortable but are expensive for spares and regular servicing.They are a safety first company and my favorite is the V70,however my existing car is the V50.This however has a problem. The first gear is too high a gear for crawling in heavy slow moving traffic.

Volvo V50 | Great Car but others in class have more space

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

The V50 2.0L Diesel is a great car with a very good engine. It;'s very comfortable the engine has lots of torque and pulls really well even when heavily loaded. The only negative comment I have to make is on space, the boot is not as big as you might expect from a Volvo. Others in the same class have much more space.

Volvo V50 | Volvo

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2004
  • 2400cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

I downsized from a V70. My score for "Comfort" and "Space & Practicality" and reflected in this and are not a criticism of the car per se.

I have driven Volvos for over 30 years and find them exceptionally reliable, spacious, comfortable and they always given a good performance.

Volvo V50 | Estate

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

I am all round very satisfied with the Car, it serves the purpose for which it was purchased, and has been very reliable.My only reason for changing from the S80 to this was to have Estate capability, If the S80 had an estate at the Time I most likely would have purchased that.

Volvo V50 | Volvo V50

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

A comfortable car but with restricted drivers leg room and rear passenger. A comfortable ride otherwise, with fuel consumption at an acceptable level. I take my car for service to an independent garage as Volvo appointed garages are far to expensive

Volvo V50 | Does what we want

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Big enough for a german shepherd in the back although I find the seats compact. There's not much foot space for rear seat passengers as we both have the front seats well back being 6ft+ tall. Also had the air con charged twice in 4 years.

Filter Volvo V50 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.