Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Volvo V40 Reviews

Volvo V40

Welcome to the Volvo V40 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Volvo V40 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£18,995 - £34,065
AA Cars Average
£15,893
MPG
27.2 - 78.5
CO2 (g/km)
94 - 227
Tax Band
A - K
Noise Level
69.0 - 74.0

Volvo V40 | The new V40 is amazing

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Well done Volvo, you nailed it.

It's an amazing car. The D2 is not my 1st choice of engine size (as I like a lot of power) but I keep forgetting it is a 1.6d as it pulls like a 1.9d. I personally think the D2 is the right balance between power (115bhp) and mpg (45 - 50). The start/stop is excellent and highly recommended.

I would say the Car is more of a city car than a motorway cruiser due to it's size and D2 engine. If you use motorways regularly I would go for a bigger engine, just for refinement at higher speeds. The D2 can be frustrating at times as you need to change up / down more often. But the mpg makes up for this.

This is the best handling car I've ever driven. It responds to every input directly from the wheel. The handling is that good you really don't need to put it in sports mode to have fun.
Sports mode stiffens the suspension up (a bit too much) and makes throttle response sharper.
The traction control system is excellent as it lets you have fun. It doesn't cut in suddenly if a wheel losses grip, it gently cuts in, giving you the feeling that you are in control all along.

The front scanning lasers are a good idea, but it really does stop you dead, leaving you thinking WTF and giving everybody whiplash. Also it doesn't kick in if anything approaches from off-centre. Also beware of parking marshals guiding you in from the front as this will set it off.

The stereo in SE is amazing and will rattle your teeth out with it's deep base. (The Harlem Shake really does shake the whole car) At half volume it is louder than most car stereo's.

I would say this is an excellent excellent car.

Volvo V40 | V 40 XC

Added: 7th of May 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2014
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

This is our seventh, and last, Volvo. If the interior was as good as the exterior then Volvo would have a superb car. But its not. There is far too much "gadgetry" on the vehicle. We should have realised this when the cars hand book runs to over 400 pages. Bringing it home from the dealers, a warning appeared saying Coolant low, STOP ENGINE. wouldnt it be better to see the warning "Coolant getting low, please check. You also have to fill it with Volvos own fluid. So if you are touring the wilds of the Highlands and you see this warning late on a Friday afternoon, I presume you've had it till Monday morning as the AA and RAC have told me that they do not carry this magic fluid.
The hand brake is on the passenger side of the gear lever and with wear will be awkward to pull right up. When you pull the sun visor down it obscures the road, unless you bsit on the floor. The rear demist button is with a plethora of other buttons to the fore of the gear lever and to make sure you push the right one, you have to take your eyes off the road. So much for Volvo safety.
At any road junction that is angled, Its pointless looking over your shoulder because the pillar between front and rear doors is too thick. So you move your head back towards the passenger side and you still cant see because of the head restraint.
We have had this car for two months and we are now selling it.

Volvo V40 | Volvo V40

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1996
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Sounds a bit boring but this is a sensible, safe and very, very reliable car. 135,000 on the clock and, touch wood, it goes and goes. It's serviced once a year and that's it. I bought it as a family car - I've three kids - there's plenty of room even now when they're all bigger than me! The two litre engine is a must - it needs it! (I couldn't imagine what it would be like with a smaller engine) - I do a lot of motorway driving - and appreciate its power. It takes a bit of time to get up to speed but cruises well and there's still a lot of power at the top end should you need it. It's comfortable and has a good 4-speaker sound system.

On the down side it's not really a driver's car - compared to other cars I've owned it's a bit of a tank to drive if I'm honest(I understand that later years are much better). Also the estate bed space isn't great - the wheel arches get in the way - and the tail gate is not flush to the floor so you have to lift everything over.

Volvo V40 | Great For Years but Suffering Now

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

I have had this car for 10 years and for 9 of them, I have had no problems. It has never been the best as regards fuel consumption, but the extra weight it carries is due to Safety features and 1 has to be weighed against the other.
However in the last year, there have been a number of faults which has resulted in 2 breakdowns. Both were caused by the A/C pump seizing resulting in the main drive belt snapping, which also drives the alternator, power steering and 1 other system. Other niggling faults are engine management systems errors and the air bag warning light coming on. Also the alarm has had to be disabled due to it going off at the most inconvinient times (ie 3 in the morning). The car has done approx. 108000 miles

Volvo V40 | Ageing transport

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1998
  • 1998cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Recent trouble with starting and a broken coil spring thanks to metal fatigue and potholes, beside, I have had Stirling service from my Volvo. A new battery, the third in 15 years, has sorted out the first problem and a new coil spring has restored quiet steering and reassured safety. The car had been driven nearly 200 miles on the broken spring. A new allowance for my disability will enable me to take advantage of motability and a new car every three years with free maintenance and replacement tyres and tax disc. The outstanding difficulty will be to select a vehicle into which and from which I can regain the street with ease!

Volvo V40 | VOLVO V40

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

A VOLVO DESIGNED AND BUILT BEFORE THE COMPANY PURCHASED BY FORD MOTOR COMPANY. MUCH UNDERRATED CAR IN MY OPINION . VERY WELL DESIGNED , GREAT ERGONOMICS , VERY COMFORTABLE SEATS AND DRIVING POSITION PARTICULARLY FOR A TALL DRIVER (LIKE MYSELF) . HANDLES WELL AND GOOD RIDE QUALITY . ENGINE HAS SUFFICIENT POWER AND REASONABLY ECONOMICAL ( I GET ABOUT 38 MILES TO THE GALLON ) . EXCELLENT ON LONG JOURNEYS AND LOCAL SHORT TRIPS . GREAT VISIBILITY HELPS MAKES DRIVING EASIER . LOTS OF SAFETY FEATURES MAKE ME FEEL COMFORTABLE AND CONFIDENT . WOULDN'T SWOP IT !

Volvo V40 | Volvo finally produce a small hatchback!

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Over past 30 years we have had only Volvos (and only three of them) mainly for comfort, reliability, and safety. As a senior citizen now needing only a small car, the introduction of the new V40 with the above features plus excellent running costs in terms of mpg and zero road tax fitted the bill esp. if it lasts as long as our previous Volvos. On long runs for holidays we are averaging with the 1600cc diesel 70+ mpg, and average over last 9 months has been 58mpg for all conditions.
So far a very worthy successor to our previous S60.

Volvo V40 | VERSATILE VOLVO V40

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A perfect car with all mod cons. At the moment it's classed as the World's Safest Car, which is very reassuring.

Only two negative comments: The basic cruise control works fine on flat & uphill gradients, however, does not hold back the vehicle on a downward incline. One needs to upgrade & buy an "adaptive cruise control" in order to prevent the vehicle exceeding the set speed whilst going downhill.

Exceptionally poor dealership from my experience (two visited)- Volvo needs to check & review & raise the standards accordingly.

Volvo V40 | Volvo V40

Added: 13th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2003
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

The main criticism I have of this car is that it is described as an estate, but the lip of the boot is so high that it is not possible to sit on it e.g. to change footwear.
In addition, there is no elbow-room for the driver & virtually no storage. Much of the boot is taken up by the wheel arches! Previously I had Austin Montegos, which had really good, spacious boots & could be used for sitting. The door pockets were big enough to take e.g. a handbook, whereas in the Volvo they are not deep enough to take anything safely.

Volvo V40 | So far, it's met all expectations.

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Being as we've only lived with our new car since Sept this year we've not had long to get to know it. However it is extrememly comfortable to sit in, the ride is a little firm, fule economy is very good and equipment level is spot on. The exterior design is lovely and the interior ergonomics are spot on. We'll see how it continues longterm. I have pwned a Volvo previously which led to our decision to have another and other member of our family have Volvo's too so don;t expect any suprises.

Volvo V40 | My volvo

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1997
  • 1998cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

A superb car, bought from new by my dad and passed onto me, dead handy for family holidays, loads of room and so comfortable that we drove back from loch ness to staffordshire with only one stop for fuel........sixteen years old and passed its mot first time....love it to bits...the only downsize is the running costs, although at my age the insurance is reasonable, the car tax and petrol is pricey. The bloke is a musician and the Volvo accommodates his guitars no problem

Volvo V40 | A proper car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Having owned an 850 T5 10 years ago and a number of different makes and models since then I have finally come back to the Volvo fold.

What a car. Build quality is excellent (so far), the level of comfort is fantastic, the ergonomics are spot on and the fuel efficency is better than my NHW20 Prius. And the looks are, as an R-Design, are great generating lots of positive feedback.

Looking forward to covering many miles and seeing how the next 4 years with it go.

Volvo V40 | Volvo V40

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2000
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Despite being over ten years old it still performs like new (I am the original registered owner)I have regularly taken it on lengthy foreign journeys Budapest (over 2000 miles), Prague Berlin Siena, Lugano San Sebastian Koblenz Croatia Dresden and am just back from a 1000 mile round trip to Heidelberg it has been immaculate in its performance on long high speed journeys as well in ascending some of the higher Alpine passes

Volvo V40 | Volvo V40 D2

Added: 13th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2014
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Bought this pre-owned Volvo 3 months ago after owning a 2 litre Volvo S60SE Automatic Petrol since 2003.
Engine lively but noisier than S60. Road noise more pronounced. Boot space much less that S60.
Much easier to park and turn.Very comfortable. About twice as economical on fuel than S60.
Still ploughing through the contents of the hand book. Most of the features and driving aids I have yet to discover.

Volvo V40 | great car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1997
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

I purchased my volvo v40 9 months ago it is by far the best performing car i have ever driven. Great road holding in poor weather very comfartable repairs are uncomplicated. As i live in the Devon lanes with very poor road conditions its the only car i have owned that doesnt have suspension problems i also feel very safe driving this car i am planing to update to a newer v40 in the next 18 months or so

Volvo V40 | Volvo V40 2003

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2003
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I am disappointed that this is not a true "estate" in that the boot is not suitable for sitting, having a lip at least 6ins deep. also the capacity of the boot is pretty poor when I compare with the Montego estates I had previously.
There is no elbow room and the "pockets" are pitiful - in fact storage is an absolute minimum.
I am pleased by the performance relating to fuel consumption.

Volvo V40 | A great car for the money

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1598cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

I bought a Volvo V40 for £700 a year ago and it has only cost me £500 to keep it on the road and get it through it's MOT. For the money it has been a great car, I get ribbed by my friends who say 'why do i run such an old car'? buut they spend £400 a month on a brand new BMW or Vauxhall, so with what they spend on their car every 3 months i have spent in a year.

So who is the fool?

Volvo V40 | Fuel economy

Added: 1st of April 2015
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2014
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The V40 D2 1600cc is the worst when it comes to fuel economy. it only does 43 mpg on a combination of motorway, country roads and urban when volvo states it can do 83 mpg. What a deception! if mine did 50 mpg even, i would be happy. i cannot wait to get rid of in another 1.5yr as mine is a company 3yr lease. the hand brake is on the passenger side what a shame.

Volvo V40 | Volvo V40

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Considering its size this is a very economical car to run. It is quiet and feels very stable on the road. The engine uses hardly any oil and the most expensive costs are the annual service.
My annual mileage is about 6000 since I retired from full time teaching.
I certainly hope the car will last me many years to come as the bodywork is in very good condition

Volvo V40 | Volvo V40

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

It's a good car and I really like it.

It doesn't achieve 78 mpg as claimed, but 61 mpg is not bad.

Its styling is excellent (to me) and while it's no speed machine, it should be powerful enough for most people.

It is very comfortable for four people, less so for five. Less mobile people sometimes find it tricky to manoeuvre in and out of the car.

Filter Volvo V40 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.