Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Volvo S80 Reviews

Useful links:  33 Used Volvo S80 in stock
Volvo S80

Welcome to the Volvo S80 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Volvo S80 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£29,520 - £39,030
AA Cars Average
£10,565
MPG
21.2 - 65.7
CO2 (g/km)
114 - 293
Tax Band
C - M
Noise Level
68.0 - 75.0

Volvo S80 | Volvo 'value'

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I bought this car in 2008 as a second car, I travelled weekly from London to Northamptonshire and back on M40. Therefore comfort and reliability was essential. It has passed its MOT every year which included filter and oil change. Recently had to replace the front sensor at a cost of £90 and apart from new set of tyres that is the only expense I have had.
Not being very tall I have the driving seat fairly well forward.
So my only small criticism I had was that unless you have very long legs and build like a stick insect the seat belts were very restrictive, tight and uncomfortable, making them a distraction when driving. But this small problem was solved by the purchase of seat build extensions.
When I do change my car I will seriously be considering another Volvo

Volvo S80 | VOLVO S80 2.4d SE

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I purchased this vehcile in 2011 and have not been disappointed. It is my second S80 and whilst overall build quality does not appear to be as robust as my former 2002 model it has perfromed very weel with just over 102k in 3.25 years the vehcile is ideal for my daily commute of 1 100 mile round rip , fuel economy is typically 45 mpg and maintenance intervals at 18k. I have experienced no breakdowns in this period and servicing costs are reasonable via a local independent Volvo specialist. I use the vehicle for towing the family touring caravan and the car tows the load with ease with a 2.4 five cylinder Diesel engine and geartronic box. Overall I am pleased.

Volvo S80 | Comfort

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have owned three Jaguars but this is the most comfortable car I have ever owned. It is 11 years old and has done 150k miles but still feels brand new.

Once a year it has a MOT and a service and does not see a garage for another 12 months.

If you drove 200 miles and then realised you had forgotten something you would not think twice about driving back to get it.

But in no way is it an entertaining or interesting car to drive. I have owned the car for 5 years but still struggle to know what the front of the car looks like.

Volvo S80 | Great Value For Money

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2435cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have had this car for 11 years now. During this time this car has been remarkable. Apart from the usual replacements tyres , brakes, wipers and a regular service this car has cost me nothing. Still original exhaust, batteries and no rust on the bodywork.Averaging 44 mpg local motoring and 49 mpg on a long run. Comfort , air conditioning, heated seating , built in sat nav and leather seats what more could you want.

Volvo S80 | My Volvo S80

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have found this car to be the most comfortable to drive in my experience.
Although servicing costs are quite high particularly at a Volvo dealer I have found the customer service good.
The diesel engine performs well from the performance point of view and is quite economical for a large car.
I will certainly consider another Volvo when I come to change although I think that I will now go for a smaller model.

Volvo S80 | 2ND BEST CAR I'VE HAD

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Bought this in 2007 as a 2nd car, it has been reliable and extremely comfortable. A long journey is not tiring.
Maintenance has been relatively low. Regularly travelled on M40, journey of over 100 miles every week it never let me down. It is an easy car to drive and park. Handles well in snow and ice, heater very efficient. Over all a very good car and I would consider buying a newer model next time.

Volvo S80 | Great Volvo S80 T6

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1999
  • 2798cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I HAVE DRIVEN MANY CARS AND ALTHOUGH THIS ONE IS NOW OVER FOURTEEN YEARS OLD IT LOOKS AND FEELS NEW. I HAVE HAD OTHER CARS DURING MY OWNERSHIP OF THIS ONE HENCE THE LOW MILEAGE OF 95,000.
IT HAS A TWIN TURBO SYSTEM AND IS RATED AT 272 BHP SO THE POWER AVAILABLE IS ENOUGH TO GET YOU OUT OF TIGHT SITUATIONS ALTHOUGH I NEVER FEEL THE NEED TO CALL ON IT

Volvo S80 | Volvo Experience

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I've had this Lux model of this vehicle for seven years now.
It has clocked up 65,000 miles ( not a lot for a diesel engine I know ) and apart from general wear and tear of tyres and brakes etc. it has been trouble free. Although it is a big powerful car it is a real pleasure to drive particularly when motorway driving.

Volvo S80 | Volvo S 80 auto.

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Best tow car I've ever had. Solo very economical for such a big car. Motorway with cruise cont. on = mid 50's MPG !!!
Towing more like mid. 20's MPG. Comfortable on both long and short runs. A bit big to park sometimes in narrow spaces but overall, as above. Not happy with the road tax though.

Volvo S80 | Bi Fuel Volvo

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • hybrid
  • Saloon
  • 4

In Long run it is not cheap to use it for the city run. We use S60 2.4 T, Sport above average performance on the road, compact, good maneuverability and agility for Mountain Drive and Even in Rain or Snow drives... 10/10.

I Don't know about Engine size in CC....

Volvo S80 | Value for money luxury

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I am on my 3rd S80. I buy them at 1 year old and they have been excellent value, totally reliable and extremely comfortable.They may not have the same appeal as a Merc, BMW, or Jag,but in many ways they have been better.

Volvo S80 | COMFORT

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2401cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

2.4 D5 engine great after 100,000 all the car has needed is Tyres,Brakes Wiper blades and Exhaust bracket 44-52mph great DSTC control for snow keeps the car straight.Has outlasted many brand new company cars.

Volvo S80 | John Finch

Added: 8th of February 2014
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2401cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Just bought this 6 plate s80 2.4 Lux D5. Afetr much reserch this car is perfect for me.Drive,comfort and performance excellent. Its the 3rd volvo i have had and find them a great make of car to have.

Volvo S80 | service is paramount

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

These cars are really comfortable and reliable.
Downside is fast wear of the front suspension.
Volvo mechanics are bad. Take your car to trusted garage instead and it will thank you.

Volvo S80 | Volvo S80

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Front seats are less comfortable than previous model

Shape of backrest /bulkhead between car and boot makes it difficult to load some longer and wider objects

Ride is very smooth

Volvo S80 | Costly

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2007
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Volvo S80 is a great car from the perspective of comfort and easy driving. However the cost of diesel these days means I use the car less and less as it is expensive to run.

Volvo S80 | My Car

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

My Volvo S80 is an extremely comfortable, safe and reliable vehicle which has had need of no major repairs in the 15 years i have owned it.

Volvo S80 | Volvo S80

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Extremely comfortable, reliable and economic to run. Done over 100,000 miles and still as good as the day I bought it (from new)

Volvo S80 | Comfortable old bus

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Luxury at a fraction of the cost.Cheap to run,50mpg on a run...good starter,poor turning circle.so far so good

Volvo S80 | VOLVO S80

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Excellent car in all respects this is my third Volvo they have all be good but this is the best

Filter Volvo S80 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.