Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Volvo S60 Reviews

Useful links:  178 Used Volvo S60 in stock
Volvo S60

Welcome to the Volvo S60 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Volvo S60 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£19,995 - £39,865
AA Cars Average
£13,673
MPG
21.9 - 65.7
CO2 (g/km)
114 - 266
Tax Band
C - M
Noise Level
68.0 - 74.0

Volvo S60 | My S60

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1975cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

This car provides a sense of quality and comfort as soon as you get in. The handling is superb, probably the best I have ever had, significantly better than my previous model S60 and also better than my A4 which was the best I had up until the current S60.
It could do with being a little more powerful (the latest version does provide greater power for the same fuel economy), but it is adequate for normal driving.
Fuel economy could be improved. I get an average of 46mpg which isn't bad but is around 10mpg less that the manual equivalent, which shouldn't be the case with a modern automatic.
Talking of the Auto gear box, it is smooth and rarely gets it wrong, even when going up very steep hills (not a problem for most people anyway, I suspect).
The seats are comfortable and the electronic adjustments smooth and refined. I find it very easy to make adjustments that suit me. It is very easy to go on a long journey in this car and get out the other end as if it were no more than 20 odd miles.
The most niggly thing about the car is the fact that the electronic handbrake does not come on automatically when you turn the engine off. Even my wife's Citroen does that (and this is NOT comparable to the Citroen), as did her old Renault Scenic.
The multi function screen is not perfect, it could do with the larger and more colourful version that comes with the integrated sat-nav (I didn't get that). However, I like the ease with which my mobile integrates with the audio system and the sound quality of calls is excellent. I also like the iPod facility.
The other (probably trivial) element I am not keen on is the fact that I have to put the key in the slot. There is an option to have the key detected remotely, I would take it if you get the chance.
Internally the feeling of quality is good. The materials are nice to touch (although there could be a little more leather in the SE version). The (digital) instruments are laid out well as is the centre console which is made of solid metal (I assume aluminium). It could do with an out of sight 12v supply in the space behind the consol for plugging in your mobile or SatNav (you can pay for the inbuilt SatNav of course, if it doesn't take you over your budget).
Some of the safety features are good. I like the idea of all the air bags. The brakes are excellent and the (self levelling) lights are very clear. The City feature (automatic braking if it looks like you are going to collide with the car in front) is a superb idea, but I haven't got the nerve (or desire) to try it out to see if it works. But I hope it does if ever I need it.
So, in summary, the important elements such as the driving, seats (in fact, overall comfort), smoothness, safety and quality are excellent and I really rate this car very highly.

Volvo S60 | Tyres for a Volvo S60

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Even with careful driving I found that 10000 miles was the absolute maximum possible tyre life. It seems that others (according to internet blogs) who drive this model are equally unhappy and it is a common experience. Tyres for this vehicle are NOT cheap.
Overall this is a well put together drivers car. I have the 6 gear manual version and it is both sure-footed and responsive. Turning circle is very limited even though Volvo did some work on the steering but the car is great for distance runs. Full of features and very comfortable even for a 6' 2" driver and it has the look of an expensive vehicle.
Diesel 'Exhaust Soot Filter' regeneration can be a problem if you do not indulge in longish runs and this can prove to be an expensive garage fix. The car does give a warning if you need to take action to ensure a distance journey is made to keep the filter clear however, you only get the message repeated at the next three engine start-ups which, if ignored, will result in a trip on only part power to leave your keys and credit card details with your local dealership and get the bus home.
Would I buy another Volvo - Yes, but I would want the sales person to be more focussed on matching the vehicle to the buyer and avoid the surprises I noted above.

Volvo S60 | Safe and solid

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

This is my 3rd Volvo S60 so that tells you I am happy with the model. Safe on the road and the drive is comfortable. My first was petrol but the last two diesel and the 2L engine packs a punch for a solid saloon car. Driver and front passenger seats are comfortable but the downside forvaclarge car is the lack of leg room in the rear seats. Boot room is good and the fold down back seats give extra space if needed. I am now retired so will have to change in the near future to reduce running costs on tax, maintenance,tyres etc although that said I get around 40mpg so for a large car with a lot of short journeys still reasonable. I know the Volvo has an image! I would still give it the thumbs up!

Volvo S60 | Best car purchase I made

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1998cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I bought my Volvo S60 9 years ago when it was only 2 years old and have never regretted the purchase.

It's the most reliable car I ever owned and running cost is very reasonable.

The car is solidly built, a few years ago a car ran into the back of my Volvo on the motorway, causing a 4 car pile up. The driver of the car that ran into my car was ok, but his car was a write off, the 2 cars in front of my car had some degree of damage but my car had only scratches to the front and rear.

The police officer attending the scene said after looking at my car and the other cars "This is why we drive Volvos".

Volvo S60 | Pretty good

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2004
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Many nice features in this car, and it handles well with a good punch for overtaking, etc. BUT the turning circle is huge which makes parking and manoeuvring in tight spaces a real bother. Front wheel drive may be a factor in this. As this is my first front wheel drive car, and I like other aspects of the performance maybe it's something I will have to get used to.

As to the interior, the front seats are very comfortable but access to the back seats is somewhat restricted, but manageable. The boot is large, but again access is awkward. I'll look for a hatchback next car.

Volvo S60 | 7 years with this volvo

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Changed from petrol fueled S60 in 2006. Previous car had covered 70,000 miles in 5 years. This one has covered 125,000 in 7 years. Very few repair costs. Great comfort perception of safety features (never had to use them) gives confidence. Driving to Cornwall car returns over 50 mpg if speed does not exceed 70 mph. When spares are needed - e.g. at major service (drive belts etc) they seem expensive. With this car at low value can see no reason for changing it. Would probably consider buying smaller car at lower cost and reduce annual mileage on this one.

Volvo S60 | Always Volvo for Us

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1990cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Between us, my husband and I have owned 5 Volvo cars during our driving careers. Neither of us would ever consider buying any other brand. Their safety features are our primary reason for purchasing Volvo, followed closely by their reliability, comfort and overall driving experience. Service from our Volvo dealer has always been impressive (Wakefield, Harratts). For us, the after sales service team is very much part of the reason why we have returned to this particular dealership.
Would we recommend Volvo? - yes, every time.

Volvo S60 | Volvo S60

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1966cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I bought this car after years of happily driving Rover 75s (maybe I was lucky). The Volvo has so far been just as comfortable and reliable to drive. It is also just as economical in fuel but harder on front tyres. The only significant complaint I have about the Volvo S60 is the absence of a spare wheel and a place to store it. I bought one and it takes up space in the boot and reduces the space for luggage. The car is also more expensive to service but I've only had it for 18 months.

Volvo S60 | rate my car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2003
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

THE S60 IS A VERY COMFORTABLE CAR, BUT IT DOE'S NT REALLY MEET OUR NEEDS, AN ESTATE CAR WOULD BE BETTER FOR US. WE ARE ALSO LOOKING TO MOVE TO DIESEL TO GET A BETTER FUEL CONSUMPTION.
OVERALL THE S60 IS FINE, BUT OUR NEEDS HAVE CHANGED SINCE WE GOT THE CAR.
SERVICING VERY EXPENSIVE.
LIMITS TO WHAT YOU CAN DO YOURSELF.
ELECTRONICALLY OVER COMPLICATED, NEEDS TO BE HOOKED UP TO A SERVICE CENTRE COMPUTER TO SOLVE WHAT TURN OUT TO BE SIMPLE PROBLEMS, RESULTING IN HIGH BILLS.

Volvo S60 | volvo S60 D5 auto

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I bought this car second hand 2 and half years ago with 44,000 miles today it has 15/11/13...155707 miles it doesn't rattle, squeek and sits on the motorway with no problems, I get 56 average motorway miles and 38 plus around town. Services is done by a private mechanic.
Only had a new ignition, water pump and aircon compressor gone on it. It does eat a lot off light bulbs strangely which are a bugger to replace.I will keep this car for another 2 years.

Volvo S60 | Volvo S60

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Good overall performance, although a bit expensive to run particularly for short about town journeys.Very comfortable and easy to drive, particularly on long journeys. Good interior layout and boot. I have always serviced the car on a regular basis and have only experienced a few minor problems in between, eg bulb failure,leaking steering fluid container. Overall I am very happy with this car and expect to keep it for several further years.

Volvo S60 | My S60

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1989cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I am reasonably satisfied with my Volvo, although there are a few minor niggles:

Rear legroom. I am 6' 2" and when the seat is right back, rear legroom is very limited.

Bluetooth is not very good. When calls are interrupted, by loss of signal for example, the system locks up.

Performance is fantastic. Power is applicable through all gears.

Volvo S60 | volvo s60

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

A very comfortable car with good performance, a bit thirsty around town, great boot space, but because of my work as a designer maker, we really need to go back to an estate, we have had estates in the past. Much more suitable for our needs, but the S60 is a great car overall.

Robin Hunter

Volvo S60 | Enjoy driving

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have been a Volvo user for many years having driven many thousands of miles and the Volvo brand has never let me down.

I like to be one of the first to leave the traffic light and enjoy driving safely. My Volvo S60 enables me to that.
My only critiscm is a poor turning circle.

Volvo S60 | Old but good, just like me.

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have owned many vehicles including Ford, Vauxhall, Honda. The car I keep retuning to is Volvo. I have driven many models of Volvo's over the years and I have never been disappointed, each one better than the last. the Ford and Vauxhall cars were the least reliable.

Volvo S60 | Volvo S60D

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2005
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

In terms of performance, economy and reliability, very hard to beat. There are two weaknesses: the fact that it is not a hatchback (no hatchback version was made) limits ability to carry bulky items (such as golf equipment); and it has a poor turning circle.

Volvo S60 | Volvo S60

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

An excellent long distance vehicle, comfortable, very reliable, excellent local Volvo service garage, economic on diesel (45mpg average over 6 years of ownership).
Boot too small for family holidays so bought a roof box for use approx twice a year.

Volvo S60 | S60 STYLE AND COMFORT

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1560cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

The 1st Impression of the S60 R design is 'Impressive' The car is both spacious and economic with a deceptive turn of speed for such a small engine the controls are simple and easy to master. Overall a good motoring experience.

Volvo S60 | Fantastic Car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1987cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I love the S60 Volvo I only wish it was cheaper on petrol, but being retired I am not a high mileage driver. The pleasure of our annual drive through France makes it all worthwhile.

Volvo S60 | Volvo S60-2005-Auto

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1988cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Super comfortable quiet responsive and reasonably economical with a large boot and wide range of additional
features such as parking assist,electric sun roof,heated seats etc.

Filter Volvo S60 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.