Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Volvo S40 Reviews

Useful links:  115 Used Volvo S40 in stock
Volvo S40

Welcome to the Volvo S40 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Volvo S40 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£4,637
MPG
29.7 - 74.3
CO2 (g/km)
99 - 227
Tax Band
A - L
Noise Level
70.0 - 74.0

Volvo S40 | Volvo S40 D SE

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I ordered my car new following the launch at the preceding Frankfurt Motor Show. Protracted delivery period meant I used two other equivalent models as courtesy loans opending completion of my own one.

I had problems on all three with the electronic parking brake - there being no advice in the manual how to use these, which are more common now, it was hazardous relying only on pulling it on. No problems once I'd had it explained about firmly depressing brake pedal before pulling handbrake on.

I had problems on all three due to the screen wash reservoir being made in two parts which leaked at the join, effectively halving the quantity it held, the surplus leaking out under the car.

Other than the above the only slight worry has been the recent onset of delamination of the exposed edges of the windscreen. The affected area totals about 2 sq cms but hasn't appeared to increase over the past year.

Servicing is expensive for me as I have had it fully serviced each year even though it has only done about 21,000 miles. The real cost of that servicing would not have been much greater had I been using it for 20,000 miles per year!

Volvo S40 | Volvo S40

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

A design. Diesel engine noise is well controlled, but at tick over it is obviously a diesel. The level of interior comfort is very good and the heated leather front seats excellent. I think the ignition switch is very awkwardly placed directly behind the steering wheel stork which controls the lighting. It can be awkward to get the key into the switch. Another uncomfortable feature is the positioning of the hand brake lever near to the passenger seat rather than close to the left side of the driver's seat. This has two consequences. If one goes to use the lever quickly ones hand tends, automatically, to fall where one expects the lever to be and so misses the lever. Also, when applying or releasing the brake ones hand tends to get brush on the passenger's clothing. I find this distracting. Although when pushed a little the car has very adequate performance at lower revs there is noticeable turbo lag in each gear. Steering is light and well geared showing some under steer, but not too much.
Altogether a very nice package.

Volvo S40 | S40 - 120K

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2004
  • 1997cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Driven 90k miles in 5 years - mixed conditions, both frequent motorway runs & local journey's to and from work. Car only let me down once in that period when the AA came to my rescue. Performance is still very good. Obtaining 56mpg (diesel)and I don't consider myself to be a slow driver, just not heavy on the right foot when pulling away from junctions or lights etc. The torque of the engine is impressive. Able to stick the car into 5th gear and not need to change down, even when driving as low as 30mph. The car still pulls away smoothly in the 5th. Also very good in the 40 - 60 mph range, picking up speed impressively to overtake slower vehicles. All the electrics work properly. Car sounds like a London bus when starting cold in a morning, but it always did. Have purchased 4 Volvo's previously and likely to buy the same again. I'm not really interested in cars, just want to get in, turn the key and know that it will get me to where I want to go. Hence not a lot more that I can say.

Volvo S40 | Clutch

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

My car is just over 6 years old and done less than 29,000 miles. I have it service regularly albeit now not through a Volvo dealership, basically due to the nearest being approx 20 miles away. The garage that. I use has got a really good reputation and has had several awards.

Within the last 8 months I have had to replace the alternator, ok sometime this happens so. I accept that, now though within the last few weeks I. Have had to have the clutch replaced, surely I. Shouldn't need to replace the clutch with so little mileage.
I did contact Volvo to see if they would contribute anything towards the cost of a replacement clutch, they refused due to the car not having had it's last service at one of their dealerships, they also wanted over £1100 to replace the clutch
I ended up going to a clutch and gearbox specialist to have the clutch fitted.

I have owned several Volvo's but I'm afraid this will be the last, to me the reliability and customer service has gone.

Volvo S40 | Volvo S40

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1980cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Compared to competitors the Volvo comes packed with features as standard. Value for money is high on the agenda and they don't fall short. If you're looking for economy, the diesel version easily delivers 60 to 64 mpg while maintaining good progress. No problems with reliability and service and repair costs are reasonable. Inside, the comfort levels are high, there's plenty of leg room and the controls are easy and intuitive. Plenty of room in the boot though the opening is a little restricted. The body shape and styling looks good and hasn't really dated despite the current trend for droopy noses and cut off rear ends. If you're looking for quality, reliability and something that doesn't sit in 8 out of 10 drives in the area then give this a try.

Volvo S40 | 1998 Volvo S40 - An Owner's View

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1998
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Having owned the S40 for 16 years It has proved to be a Reliable and Practical veheicle , if a little thirsty Best fuel consumption around 34 mpg about town. However this Drops to about 27 When the air-con is set to "Cold" during summer. Also the left - turn indicator Ceases to self - cancel with the air - con operating as described.
It is Now showing signs of rust in the wheel arches & Has had a little welding on the underside for the last MOT But ALL Essential parts (IE Engine & Gearbox) are perfect!
Overall it has proved to be One of the Best cars I've owned

Volvo S40 | Reliable, comfortable but not a driver's car

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2001
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I've had my S40 since new, and apart from a spell during which all of the springs needed replacing (one of them twice), along with 2 suspension struts, it has been very reliable. It's not the most engaging drive, but it's comfortable, relatively quiet, and is particularly relaxing to drive at motorway cruising speeds. The bodywork has remained rust free, and the leather interior is almost as good as new.

Overall it's been a good buy, and despite the suspension problems I have enjoyed owning this car.

Volvo S40 | My safe Volvo

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1590cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I feel very safe in my Volvo and find it a very steady and rather sedate car to drive which suits me at age 71. It has plenty of room for my friends and a very comfortable seat for me. Like nearly all cars it is designed mostly for men who are taller, I am 5 feet 2 inches, if I adjust the seat height too much I have problem reaching the pedals. This applies to all cars I have tried and tested. I find it easy to manoeuvre and park and enjoy driving it.

Volvo S40 | as requested

Added: 3rd of December 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Ipurchased the car on the 26th November I immediately drove it to my home 180 miles away it was a comfortable and easy drive. Today 3rd December I had it completely checked by my garage to ascertain if there were any faults. The result was you will require new rear brake pads in the near future
Ap-art from that the car was in an excellent condition thankyou.Running costs and performance to early to give a full and accurate answer

Volvo S40 | Best car I've ever had so I've kept it.

Added: 13th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1990cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

There were delays to it's delivery due to production problems, and there are a couple of design / construction faults, e.g. Leaking windscreen washer bottle and temperamental parking brake, but so what - it's been brilliant.

Getting more expensive now because of use of proper Volvo parts when replacing things (e.g. Xenon headlight unit) but it's still giving us a very satisfactory driving experience overall.

Volvo S40 | Volvo S40

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1590cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I like my Volvo for its safety factors. It drives well and comfortably and holds the road well. It accelerates well when necessary. It is a bit expensive on the petrol use but the on board computer helps me to try and get the best miles per gallon by driving as well as I can. I feel very safe driving my Volvo and it is very comfortable and has plenty of power for my style of driving.

Volvo S40 | Volvo S40 R sport

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

good mileage, 500 miles per tank 45 litres
Handles well. Lots of pick up speed.
Terrible lights, at night really need full beam to be able really to drive safely
Front seats rather narrow. Hand brake gets in the way if there is a passenger
Very safe, reliable, comfortable except for head rest which is awkward for shorter people, sleek aerial.
Love the cruise control

Volvo S40 | Volvo S40 Eco

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

The Eco element of this car makes for a very small power band, but if kept within the band can drive well.
It does not achieve anything like the claimed 80mpg but still returns a reasonable 50mpg.
It is a very comfortable car, but is limited in rear and boot accessibility.
Controls and dials are very clearly marked and easy to use.

Volvo S40 | Volvo s40

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1560cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Owned the car for 18 months initially there were issues with the electrics windows wouldn't open/close central locking would work intermittently and warning lights would come on for no reason. Once fixed (Not cheap) the car has been a pleasure to drive £105 a year road tax and well over 50mpg so cheap to run as well.

Volvo S40 | Sportier Than I Expected

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1950cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

This is my first Volvo automobile and I was pleasantly surprised at how sporty the performance is, particularly when accelerating. The turbo kicks in immediately without any lag. Gear changes are crisp and quick. Comfort is excellent and the various controls are all close at hand.

Volvo S40 | classy volvo

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

The s40 is well built,durable,safe and comfortable and has proved totally reliable.

The bad points are generally minor,such as imprecise steering,average ride and handling and gear selection,but for the money I paid for it £4995 it has been a superb buy.

Volvo S40 | Volvo S40 1.8SE

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2005
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Has proven to be an extremely comfortable and reliable car. The mileage return is rather on the poor side and the engine requires to be worked hard to obtain good driving experience. Overall have been well pleased with ownership of the S40.

Volvo S40 | 1998 Volvo S40 XS

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1998
  • 1793cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Overall A good reliable vehicle, if a little heavy on fuel compared to some other cars of similar engine capacity. Also, With the air-con on i)the fuel consumption increases AND ii)the left indicator wont cancel by itself after turning!

Volvo S40 | Volvo S40

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 2435cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Generally comfortable and reliable. However,it is less fuel-efficient than I would like and I would much prefer an automatic version. For the future I can see no excuse for continuing to drive a car which is fossil fuel dependent.

Volvo S40 | Volvo value

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Safe, good car to drive. Very expensive services and not very interested dealers.

Would not buy diesel again given price of diesel petrol.

Expensive to buy, poor resale value.

Permanent lights on an excellent idea.

Filter Volvo S40 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.