Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Volkswagen Up Reviews

Volkswagen Up

Welcome to the Volkswagen Up review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Volkswagen Up cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£8,870 - £24,795
AA Cars Average
£7,422
MPG
60.1 - 68.9
CO2 (g/km)
95 - 108
Tax Band
A - B
Noise Level
68.0 - 71.0

Volkswagen Up | VW Up - surprisingly good

Added: 19th of September 2015
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2014
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I do between 500 and 1,000 miles a week for work and needed something cheap to run so settled on an Up. Having done around 4,000 miles in it so far I've been very impressed with the mpg, which has been between 55mpg (driving it reasonably hard) and a shade under 65mpg (driving it like every day was a Sunday and sticking to 60mph on motorways). The only downside I've found is that the clutch clicks every time the clutch is brought up and released. This is a common issue so I've read and having the radio turned up means you can't hear it anyway. The seats are fairly comfy, more so than the Fiesta I had previously and certainly more comfy than the BMW I had prior to that. I do extensive driving and although I was initially sceptical about this cars capabilities its managed to impress me so far. It's not exactly quick, but then it's only a 1 litre engine. It's very reasonable on acceleration all the way up to 50-60mph considering the low power output. I bought the spare wheel assembly from VW direct for £156 which is pretty expensive but I'm sure will be worth it if I end up with a puncture. Service intervals are every 10k per oil service and every 20k for every inspection service. The turning circle is probably the best of any car I've owned and it's so easy to park I can do it with my eyes closed. So far it's been money well spent.

Volkswagen Up | VW Up

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2012
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I bought a VW Up to replace my VW Fox last year. I wanted a small car as I do not require a larger vehicle these days. So far it has been good and adequate for my needs, although sometimes I feel that I would like a vehicle with a slightly more powerful engine. I would not use the vehicle for long journeys, although it is excellent for local trips and medium distance driving. It is cost effective to run. I occasionally wish it had slightly more boot space when transporting large parcels, etc, but on the whole I find it adequate for doing the weekly grocery shop, etc.

Volkswagen Up | Barb's VW UP

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 999cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Surprisingly good performance given engine size - even on motorway & quiet. Good turning circle, easy to slot into parking place. Large amount of laegroom in front, seats give lots of support, even with front seats slid back rear legroom is adequate. Achieving 55-60mpg with running around town and some motorway mileage. Boot space adequate for a reasonable family shop or 1 large suitcase, rear seats very easy to drop down if extra space needed.

Volkswagen Up | Volkswagen Up!

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

The Up is a great little city car, with excellent running costs & decent performance. However the clutch & gearbox is a weakness, lots of rattles & whines, & the clutch can become particularly frustrating to operate smoothly, especially between low gears. My car has also had 2 recalls, which is a bit disappointing for a manufacturer of Volkswagen's reputation. Overall though it is a decent city car

Volkswagen Up | VW Up

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 900cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

My job as a District Nurse means that my car needs to be reliable. The Up has not let me down so far and is very economical.
The only downfall is that the passenger side door cannot be opened from the outside, as there is no lock.
Apart from this I love my little UP!

Volkswagen Up | You can do more in an Up!

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 925cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Bought the Up! to replace a Mini Cooper and have never looked back. The Mini was bulletproof, but cost £1000 per month. The Up! costs me £200 :) Simples!
£45 for 400 miles it is a simple question of maths...

Volkswagen Up | Lupo reincarnated

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I love my 'Up'. It is the most responsive small car I've ever driven, including my Lupo of several years ago, which I thought would never be improved on. Perfect in every way ... and only £25 pa road tax!

Volkswagen Up | Best in class

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 999cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 3

A superb little car which is ideal for short hops and longer trips. More boot space that you would think and very comfortable to drive. Would recommend to anybody looking for a small economical car.

Volkswagen Up | Mike Norwell

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 999cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Car is only 4 weeks old and so far is proving to be an excellent motor.
Space and economy is certainly up to Volkswagens claims
averaging 50mpg in town no problem
very pleased with purchase

Volkswagen Up | Up gripes

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Love my up but it sounds like a tractor and every so often there is a knocking noise. From the clutch but nothing can be found under the bonnet,

Volkswagen Up | Up ruined by gearbox

Added: 2nd of March 2016
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Great little car completely ruined by the extremely noisy gearbox/gearshift gear rattle.
Really disappointed with the noise of the vehicle.

Volkswagen Up | Big small car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

More space than you imagine, really low insurance, good fuel economy, low tax.

Go and sit in one before you go and buy any hotw hatch

Volkswagen Up | Big small car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

More space than you imagine, really low insurance, good fuel economy, low tax.

Go and sit in one before you go and buy any hot hatch

Volkswagen Up | VW UP

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Brilliant little car, amzingly spacious for its size, even the boot fits 2 reasonable sized cases.
Reliable and vrey economic.

Volkswagen Up | VW Take Up

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Excellent fuel consumption on motorways. Easy to park. Poor braking in snow/icy conditions compared to the Polo.

Volkswagen Up | VW up!

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
1/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2012
  • 999cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Car ok but seat very uncomfortable and no adjustment possible to seat height. Also no spare wheel supplied.

Volkswagen Up | about up

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2013
  • 999cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 5

Very noisy car

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.