Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Volkswagen Transporter Reviews

Volkswagen Transporter

Welcome to the Volkswagen Transporter review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Volkswagen Transporter cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£21,642 - £40,152
AA Cars Average
£17,730
MPG
28.8 - 37.7
CO2 (g/km)
198 - 259
Tax Band
J - M
Noise Level
72.0 - 75.0

Volkswagen Transporter | My VW Camper van

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1971
  • 1584cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 2

I don't buy modern cars, anymore. If you want true happiness buy an old VW camper. I've owned the same camper van since 1988, it has been driven daily. I love almost everything about it. It is a 7 seater and a dormobile conversion. I couldn't tick those options in the boxes above It is slow has no modern things to go wrong on it so no power steering, electric windows temperature gauge and no coolant apart from fresh air, it is noisy, has horrendous petrol consumption so is great for encouraging less car use but so fantastic on holiday that it will often be the highlight of the whole holiday and sometimes it is great not to follow the herd and just sit in the slow lane turn the stereo (added by me) up and step out of the rat race. You will break down but you may well be able to fix it as unlike computerised components you can bash bits with a hammer (starter motor). I could give you more reasons not to buy one of these than to do so but it is like an extra child and you will grow to appreciate the work that you will need to put in to keep it going, improve it and you will treasure the memories spent in it long after the faded memories of hotel rooms. Don't listen when your other half suggests you get something more practical because of having children, (buy two car seats instead) don't fall for the old adage that it will drive the value of your house down sat on your drive (that was only true 20 years ago when zillions were rusting away) You will go to shows and meet other like minded people in their camper vans that will all look slightly better than yours because you are more aware of your ones faults for some reason but you will not flinch in your loyalty to this your greatest folly yet at the same time triumph. If you must drive a modern (ish) car get a £500 with MOT one every year or two to take the strain off your camper. Keep it under cover or it will produce more rust than the angel of the north but the metal is so thick you'll have years before you need to restore it (again) Finally if you do look after it, at least fairly well; resale values are rock solid and you will get more than you paid for it if you do ever fall on bad times. Even if you do fall on really bad times don't sell it because you can always live in it.

Volkswagen Transporter | VW Transporter Shuttle SE LWB

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Mine is an 07 registered, 2.5 TDI 130PS Manual vehicle, which I use for business, for airport and sea port transfers. It is capable of holding 9 adults, in comfort, along with 16 suitcases. Covering around 1200 to 1500 miles a week (mostly motorway!) it averages a combined 35 mpg (have achieved 46 mpg on a long run at 60 mph with the cruise control on). It has a good level of equipment, fairly quiet - even at motorway speeds (customers ask on a regular basis if it's a diesel?), I get no aches, pains, twinges or feeling of fatigue, even after spending 10 - 12 hours at the wheel! Now the bad bits! - week points: drive shafts (especially the o/s stub shafts); dual mass flywheels; egr valves; dpf's, gear boxes on the auto models; and electrics in general. Parts, servicing and VW labour rates are very expensive (even though I'm a VW Trade Club member). Overall - an excellent all rounder, quite, practical, spacious, comfortable, fairly economical and phenomenally reliable (despite mine having covered nearly 448,000 miles!. Would I buy another? NO - In my opinion, VW have priced it beyond my reach - new ones of the same spec. are around £38,000, even a 2 year old one (if I could find a white one - the only colour I'm allowed as a taxi where I'm licensed) averages £25,000 and for 25K I could buy a brand new top of the range, latest model LWB Ford Tourneo (parts servicing and labour rates all coming in well below VW's).

Volkswagen Transporter | VW Transporter Shuttle LWB

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

My VW is used for airport / seaport transfers. It's a 2007 model with nearly 452,000 on the clock. Generally, it's still in very good condition, very practical (with space for the driver, 8 passengers and up to 16 suitcases!), comfortable (even after several hours at the wheel), averages 35mpg (43 mpg if I driver carefully) and is very well equipped - a lovely car to drive!. As you'd expect with a vehicle of this mileage, it's had its fair share of mechanical and electrical repairs (but probably fewer than you'd get from other marques). Weaknesses - drive shafts, dual mass fly wheels, turbos, egr valves, very expensive parts and labour rates from VW. Would I get another? - probably not, they are now so expensive to buy and maintain, VW have priced themselves beyond my means!

Volkswagen Transporter | 5 seat Transporter

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 4

This is the family's 6th VW Transporter window van in 20 years, so yes, we do like them.

When it came time to change after 3/4 years, the choice was obvious. The new version is smoother and quieter, but the controls are all in the same place.

At just over 5 metres long it can be a bit tricky to park, but the sensors help.

I like the build quality of VWs and the high level of reliability.

I suppose over 20 years I have got used to the differences in road holding and general driving, but I quite often use my wife's Golf, so while there are obvious differences, they are compensated by a high driving position and feeling of security.

When the time comes to change, in 3/4 years, it will be the same model and probably the same colour - bright red!

Volkswagen Transporter | VW campervan

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Coupe
  • 4

The van (a T5) is adequate as a campervan, though I suspect that the long wheel base version would be even better, as there might be room for a toilet. However it allows me to park in the space of an ordinary car, fit in an ordinary car park and be charged as a car on vehicle ferries.

Parts and labour tend to be a bit expensive unless you can fit non-VW parts. Fortunately the van appears reliable and trouble-free. I do my own servicing and appreciate the fact that things like the oil filter are easy to access. Fully synthetic oil is horribly expensive - oh for the days of Duckhams at £5.00 for a gallon - but by fitting long-life oil you can (so I am told) travel three times the distance for relatively little extra cost.

Volkswagen Transporter | Volkswagen Transporter

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2484cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

A great car/van when you need to transport large groups of people and/or dogs. Great for kids moving to and from university or new flats.
Down side is the mpg - 25 at the best - using in town is even worse. Wouldn't buy an automatic again - rather sluggish in town and moving away from being stationary. Front bench seat is a little tight unless the two passengers are fairly slim.

Visibility is not good with the number of head rests in the van and when coming out of a turning visibility on the left can sometimes be very poor depending on the angle of the road.

Great motorway car.

Volkswagen Transporter | Fuel costs

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Good on fuel however, due to such high prices at the pumps this has a negative effect on it's fuel economy. You certainly have to think twice now about making journeys, especially when family members live the other side of the country! The cost of fuel in England is shameful, and the fact that the Government chooses to ignore the facts about the impact of this cost shows how completely out of touch they are with the rest of society outside of London.

Volkswagen Transporter | I wouldn't be without it

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1896cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

I have owned my VW Minibus Transporter for 7 years and it has never ever failed me. It's a joy to drive and very comfortable. My local VW Van Centre provide an outstanding service. If you maintain your vehicle in accordance with the manufacturer instructions you can't go wrong, and of course the expertise of the local VW Van Centre. [Lister's VW Van Centre, Longford, Coventry.

Volkswagen Transporter | VW transporter

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 4

This is by far my best buy ever. We are a busy outgoing family. There is loads of room, mop clean floors ,so never a worry about wet or muddy days out. I was really surprised that the running costs are very similar to the Cabin I had and much lower than my rover 75. All in all I would highly recommend this as an alternative to any people carrier

Volkswagen Transporter | VW Camper

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1974
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 3

Great alternative to modern computerized nightmares thay you have to plug in at a garage.
DIY maintenance, multi purpose vehicle - great fun - oddles of character.
Keep classics alive - after all your recycling.

Volkswagen Transporter | Campervan

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1981
  • 1971cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 4

This old vehicle has given me many hours of pleasure for me and my sons fishing,camping and touring plus an absolute workhorse for carrying out large removals of gear or going to the tip.

Volkswagen Transporter | VW T5 Transporter Camper van

Added: 10th of June 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

I have not had the van very long but to date it runs very well. I have had little experience driving vans, but find the T5 very easy to drive, much like a car.

Volkswagen Transporter | Interior Design

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1948cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 4

The Manufacturers should learn how to make better use of storage in the cockpit. The Transporter is rubbish compared to others

Volkswagen Transporter | Caravanette

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

We love our caravanette and have slept for two months in it this year. The engine is great and reliable.

Volkswagen Transporter | Good van never let me down

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1895cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Excellent

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.