Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Volkswagen Touran Reviews

Volkswagen Touran

Welcome to the Volkswagen Touran review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Volkswagen Touran cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£19,050 - £27,300
AA Cars Average
£10,876
MPG
33.2 - 61.4
CO2 (g/km)
121 - 204
Tax Band
D - K
Noise Level
68.0 - 75.0

Volkswagen Touran | A family car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

The Touran is not a choice if you are watching your costs as the mileage is not brilliant and a tank of petrol extortionate as you would assume.

What it is though is a brilliant car for transporting elderly relatives, young children and a party crowd.

The elderly do not have to crouch down to get into the car which means they can get out without significant help from others lifting them up and out. The cab is quite high so they almost step out.

For young children it is perfect because the design space of the back seats prevents that endless kicking of the front seats that you get in smaller cars.

The option of two additional seats in the back when required allows you to transport parties up to six when required.

One flaw is that when the back seat passenger windows are open they create a very nauseating effect on the eardrums of the individuals in the front seats.

The car is a comfortable cruiser and a pleasure to drive.

Volkswagen Touran | VW Touran

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Have had 2 - both from new. For my needs this is almost the perfect vehicle; easy to drive (drives like a car, not a people carrier!), plenty of power, comfortable and very practical. Well thought out, roomy - regular trips to Southern France and Cornwall - loaded up with people / bikes / roofbox etc vehicle still pulls and drives as normal, and overall pretty economical under any conditions.
So far pretty reliable, although as the first one I had (an 04 model) got older I had some issues with the turbo.
On buying had considered all other manufacturer equivalents but none seemed as solidly built or as well thought out, or with such a good engine; 2L diesel is excellent.

Volkswagen Touran | Plodder

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • semi-automatic
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

I am not interested in a high powered car but the Sports Touran has good performance. I would prefer a improved mpg, I average 42 mpg. The DSG semi-automatic gearbox works well apart from the initial start. It is difficult to slowly pull away smoothly.
Initially the car came with seven seats which I reduced to five to accommodate a spare tyre. The tyre sealant supplied is a waste of space. Do not like the low profile (55) tyres, I have had three punctures in the five years of ownership compared to 1 puncture in fifteen years of ownership of a Land Rover Discovery.

Volkswagen Touran | Not the best

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

After having had four Renault Scenics from new, purchased a new VW Touran in desperation when Renault introduced the disliked the new Scenic model during 2004. The old Scenic was not the best, but the Touran didn't better it despite the hype over opinions generally believed of VW's. I have had this car in the garage, mostly unused with only 16,000 miles in nine years, preferring to drive another 2003 used Scenic now with 84,000 miles on the clock that we have had for 8 years.
In short I wouldn't buy another VW.

Volkswagen Touran | Touran

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 4

We love the height of the seats above the road which makes for ease of access and egress and very comfortable for all journeys, both short and long.

The "boot" is big when set for 5 seat mode, but when the set for 7 seat mode there is virually no "boot" space at all. The grandchildren love sitting in the rearmost pair of seats (7 seat mode).

The DFG gearbox is extremely smooth and the engine is more than powerful enough.

Since new we have average about 46 mpg, covering motorway and town driving.

Volkswagen Touran | vw touran 1.6 s

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

A great car, hampered only by modest power output and a mild thirst for unleaded.
Seats 5 in comfort and an occasional 6th and 7th passenger comfortably if they are of small stature.

The Car holds the road well and is economical to service being relativley light on wear and tear items such as tyres, brakes and suspension.

I would consider another (which would be my third) but would return to a mid range diesel model for more power and better economy.

Volkswagen Touran | Power is too weak

Added: 27th of February 2015
Performance
1/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1595cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Reliability is ok, not too comfy, space and practicability is not bad but the performance is very very very bad. It is too slow and weak to pick up, gear 1 and 2 is dam too useless. I can not wait to dispose it. It is my car that is always the last to pick up from a traffic light. I see other small small cars leaving me behind and no matter how I accelerate it does not make any difference. Poor touran.

Volkswagen Touran | VW Touran

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1896cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

A very easy car to live with. Very reasonable running costs and fold flat rear seats are great for carrying kids and their friends.
Performance is acceptable but 105bhp is barely enough with a full load on the A9 between Inverness and Scrabster (or any other road with big hills).
Only problem with the car in three years has been a leaking fuel hose which once identified was easily fixed.

Volkswagen Touran | VW Touran

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

My car was pre-owned and I did not want a high mileage vehicle. I was looking for The SE version but when I saw it and drove it I decide to by it as cruise control was a standard fit. So far it has been quite economical on fuel and it was also cheaper to tax than my previous diesel car. I would recommend it to anyone thinking of a medium size people carrier.

Volkswagen Touran | Family Car satisfaction guaranteed

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1896cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

We had a large family car from another manufacturer (French) that just didn't cut it. We swooped to the Touran and instantly noticed the difference. The blue motion technology is very efficient, the ride is very comfortable and the additional two seats to allow 7 people is an added bonus. We will definitely be looking at another Volkswagen next time.

Volkswagen Touran | Touran Sport

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1968cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

My Touran has been totally reliable, is comfortable, easy to drive, and is the most practical car I have owned. I am a gentle driver and have averaged over 52 mpg for the 42000 miles the car has covered. As it will be 10 years old next year I intend to change it but am struggling to choose a replacement. Looks like it will be another Touran!

Volkswagen Touran | Touran 2005

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Very comfortable and reliable on the road. Awful design is outweighed by comfort. Have had to pay out a lot of money recently to have electrical problems fixed,which has been a bit of a disappointment. My last VW went through to 120,000 miles with no problems,this one is proving costly at less than 80,000. Still,I'd buy a Touran again.

Volkswagen Touran | Touran

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 4

I've been v pleased with reliability and running costs.

although I've had serious issues with air bag faults even passed warranty. Volkswagen dealer has always sort to rectify the fault with minimal cost to me even replacing entire wiring after 5 years of use, free.

80,0000 mile and never any MOT failures

Volkswagen Touran | 2004 Touran

Added: 13th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Have had this car from new love how it drives and great useful size for 7 people.
Have been disappointed with having to replace springs, callipers abs pump etc. having only done 54000 miles thought quality of components would have been better from Volkswagen.

Volkswagen Touran | Versatile and economical

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 4

VW touran is reliable and provides flexibility between taking large load and up to 7 people occasionally. It is economical for most journeys whether with just 1 person or full to capacity.
We've had it 7 years and are still delighted with it.

Volkswagen Touran | Comfy Cart

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

A smooth enough workhorse with noisy wipers and an infuriating system of door-locks. Great in snow but it's no Landrover. The electric parking-brake can catch you out, no control.

Volkswagen Touran | VW Touran

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Excellent all round car. Especially after having a hire car for the last 5 weeks, it has brought it home to me just how much I enjoyed driving my Touran.

Volkswagen Touran | Touran

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 4

Comfortable family car. Not good looking but very practical. Excellent for long journeys and for carrying lots of children. Reliable and economical.

Volkswagen Touran | vw Touran good family all rounder

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Reliable and great for children runs and also picking up large items as seats all come out.

Volkswagen Touran | VW Touran

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Great car in terms of versatility space wise but unreliable and expensive to repair

Filter Volkswagen Touran Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.