Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Volkswagen Tiguan Reviews

Volkswagen Tiguan

Welcome to the Volkswagen Tiguan review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Volkswagen Tiguan cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£20,980 - £28,930
AA Cars Average
£16,821
MPG
28.5 - 53.3
CO2 (g/km)
139 - 234
Tax Band
E - L
Noise Level
70.0 - 76.0

Volkswagen Tiguan | Tiguan no 2

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This is my second Tiguan. I part exchanged the old one after 5 years use and 40k miles. The old car had been very reliable throughout. I received 47% of what I originally paid as a part exchange price as well as a good discount on the new one. So the residual value was very good. The new one is much improved in many ways. I now have the 177 bhp with DSG gearbox. The car Is much quieter and the ride much better (no sport suspension this time). The car comes with the basic SatNav RNS315. This is adequate in most respects and links with traffics reports. You cannot scroll over the map and it cannot be upgraded to have speed cameras. The DAB radio appears very good and overall the sound if fine and better than my old car. The SD reader is much faster now the old being very slow. The computer functions and steering wheel controls much improved.
The auto stop and stop start function are good but can sometime be annoying and need to be turned off in certain situations.
I bought the original Tiguan in 2008 as there was no other similar car around: diesel automatic.
The car is very compact and the boot quite small but the rear seat can be moved back and forth to get a good compromise. I went through my first pair of front tyres in 11,000 miles. The next lasted for over 20,000. The tyres are expensive and having to replace them slows you down.
My wife also likes the car with high driving position and feeling very comfortable and secure. Therefore when it came to replacement the Tiguan still seemed ideal even though there are now many competitors. I have found the VW dealers to be very helpful particularly Crawley VW on their service side.
Overall I would highly recommend the car particularly with the larger engine. We regularly get about 47 mpg on a motorway journey. The car has only done 1500 miles and overall the consumption is 43 mpg and getting better.
One gripe is the lack of standard equipment although as it has more competition and due for replacement in 2015 is has improved with SatNav, parking sensor with auto parking ( they do work but scary taking you hands of the wheel when parking) and dab radio.
I never expected to use it in ernest but it is great in adverse conditions and always gets through snow etc. just have to remember that stopping on snow is another matter.

Volkswagen Tiguan | 2016 mk2 VW Tiguan 2.0TSi SEL 4 Motion DSG

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2016
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

I've been driving for 44 years and have owned many cars in that time. This maybe the most expensive that I've owned, but by far the best. I decided to buy the petrol engined version rather than diesel, as my last car did roughly 8500 miles in it's 3 year life.
I wanted to upgrade my 3 year old golf as I'm 'portly', to say the least and having driven SUV's before, enjoyed the extra room and comfort as well as the higher viewpoint. The Tiguan gives me all of that, and much more. The engine is a very powerful unit, not that I'm a boy racer in any way.......not at 61 years!, and also very smooth with the auto DSG gearbox. The SEL model rides on 19" wheels which give a nice smooth ride, far more comfortable on my dodgy local roads than my previous golf.
Obviously this car is going to cast me more to run, with both tax and insurance costs quite a bit higher than the golf, but the fuel cost will only be marginally more due to my low mileage driving.
The car comes with all of the gadgets and gizmos that a gadget freak like myself loves. Not that they are there as gimmicks, on the contrary, every piece of electronic wizardry has a useful purpose.

1. Active 12" digital dashboard display.............able to display a wealth of info, which can be tailored to your individual requirements.
2. 8" Infotainment system.........including an excellent sat-nav with access to the most useful Apple Carplay, and Android systems.
3. Keyless entry and exit......with electric boot lid with remote opening and closing, and a useful flat load opening with little or no lip.
4. One of the best and largest load areas for cars of this class.
5. Full LED lighting, with auto lights.
6. All round cameras for excellent views in tricky situations.
7. Automatic Park Assist.
8. Tyre pressure monitoring system.
9. Head Up Display........allowing you to see important info (of your choosing) without taking your eyes from the road.

This car has one of the best 5 star crash test ratings of any car on the market.

Volkswagen Tiguan | A great all-rounder

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I wanted a comfortable and reliable vehicle with 4wd either permanent or intelligent. I didn't need a very large car having had 3 -3ltr 4x4's previously and no longer had the need for big heavy vehicles but wanting the all round performance. The Tiguan appealed firstly for its spec and looks as I detest those 'flashy' looking and very dateable Asian offerings available today. The Tiguan was bought new and built to my own spec so I have all the goodies and I am happy with them all. The selectable/intelligent 4WD is great in winter and off road, the load space is big enough for everything I need and the power available makes pulling a trailer or caravan barely noticeable. With the rear seats folded there is more than enough room for everything I need to take back and forth from our renovation house in France. The engine is quiet and smooth up to the legal limits in France (130kph) and the seven speed auto gearbox is brilliantly smooth to match.
A practical vehicle that is a real pleasure to drive and does not date.

Volkswagen Tiguan | I love my Tiguan

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Have had my Tiguan just over 3 years, normally change my cars before they are 3 but really have no desire to change this at the moment. Find it very economical especially on long journeys, am impressed with the way it moves (its my first 4X4 and diesel engine) and after long journeys I still feel comfortable. My previous cars have not been kind to my back on long journeys partly because I am no spring chicken and only 5ft 2in.
I also live in a very small village with narrow lanes for access and the Tiguan has dealt well with the bad winters, snow and ice of recent years.
I am also pleased that all of the assets as described above are packed in a not too big vehicle. I wanted the sturdiness and safety but as there are generally only 2 of us in the car did not want anything to large and this fits the bill perfectly.

Volkswagen Tiguan | A Great Car!

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have a Tiguan Escape, 2.0 litre. It is a great car, good looking and at home in the town and in the country where the extra under body protection and the steeper angle of approach at the front mean that it takes a lot in its stride.
I love the leather seats and the necessary heating in the front seats are quickly effective and very cosy. The multi device interface means that I can use my ipod whenever I want and with the reassuring knowledge that it is completely invisible to anyone who might be thinking of trying to steal it.
Altogether this is a practical yet stylish car, I love it and will definitely get another one when it's time to replace it.

Volkswagen Tiguan | my car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I purchased this vehicle mainly for the height of the seats. It runs mainly in front wheel drive and changes to four when required. Very comfortable and quiet. MPG average in town and good on long runs cruising at about 65-70 MPH. Excellent gear box with barley noticeable changes. Plenty of room in rear even with a tall driver. Min range VEL and average 40+ MPG. More that enough room in the boot and the rear seats sliding forward is useful. Performance keeps up with traffic. No problems in the one year of ownership. Like the ling service intervals.
I am very happy with the vehicle so I got the wife a VW fox. another great car.

Volkswagen Tiguan | Tiguan 2.0TDI SE BMT 4Motion

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I chose this car after having driven all it's main competitors. It is good to drive, comfortable and refined. Fuel economy keeps getting better (15000 miles done so far).
There are just so many clever features built in as standard and some aren't even mentioned in the brochure.
It is a very good balance between size and weight.
Finish that off with the classy materials and tactile surfaces and it's not hard to see why there are so many of them on the road.

Volkswagen Tiguan | tiguan TSi

Added: 11th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 20000cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 4

owned a used model for just under a year & am impressed with every bit of the car,the seat height,panoramic sunroof & all the entertainment kit...the fuel consumption is lethal if heavy on the pedals,but the power is AMAZING!the bluetooth can drop calls(on iPhone 4s).& suspension is solid,but if i could have chosen i would have opted for adaptive chassis.
great car & have yet to hear anyone say anything negative regarding looks or ride.

Volkswagen Tiguan | VW TIGUAN

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

All round we are delighted with the Tiguan. Well built, quality materials, solid, reliable and well designed. Having considered all vehicles in the range there was a final choice between the Honda CRV and the Tiguan. Although slightly more expensive there is little doubt in our minds that we made the correct choice and look likely to go for the same vehicle when we next renew.

Volkswagen Tiguan | Reliability, Comfort and Costs

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1999cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

Volkswagen, though not necessarily cheap to purchase, have the ability to produce good solid vehicles that give reliability and good economic running costs. The comfort levels may not be as good as the high end manufacturers but is still a comfortable ride on a long journey and far better than many previous cars I have owned or driven.

Volkswagen Tiguan | My Tiguan

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have owned a VW Tiguan from new for three and one half years. It has proved extremely comfortable and reliable. My only criticism is that I wish the load area was a few inches wider so that I could fit my golf clubs in without lowering one of the seats. However, that is a minor issue.

Volkswagen Tiguan | Tiguan

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1999cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

A good reliable car with a comfortable interior. Many good features. Extremely economical but has a good turn of speed when required although, of course, this impacts on economy. A well made vehicle and the local dealership also supports a good servicing and after care provision.

Volkswagen Tiguan | German engineering

Added: 22nd of April 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

The car is very well put together, no rattles, sound proofing's good, interior oozes with quality. But this car comes at a premium, min £215+ for its services be it its first service.
Just hope it retains it value.

Volkswagen Tiguan | Tiguan SE 2.0TDI Blue Motion 4 Motion DSG

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1968cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Only had the Tig for a couple of months but it has so far met and exceeded my expectations. Build quality is excellent and I enjoy driving it so much that I never want the journey to be over. Best car I have owned.

Volkswagen Tiguan | VW Tiguan

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Good small/medium 4x4, comfortable, good driving position and drive-ability with average fuel consumption for this type of car. So far, after nearly 2 years, reliable and performing well.

Volkswagen Tiguan | My VW

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have just replace my passat after doing 170,000 Miles in it with a Tiguan,the only down side it a little small around the same as a Golf apart from that,I am very pleased with it

Volkswagen Tiguan | Short & Sweet

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

An excellent vehicle, reliable, comfortable, more than adequate performance with reasonable mpg. Maybe just a little overpriced but a good quality of build.

Volkswagen Tiguan | I want to buy the next generation Tiguan

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

It lives up to its reputation. I look forward to the new Tiguan rumoured to come out soon. The 7 speed auto gearbox in the current model is a dream.

Volkswagen Tiguan | Good car

Added: 19th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I chose the sport model as I like its look. The downside is a very hard ride, the upside is good handling for a SUV. No problems in 20,000 miles.

Volkswagen Tiguan | tiguan se bmotion4x4

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

comfy quick reliable cheap to run loads of power when needed and i always have a vw i cant beat them a good all rounder.

Filter Volkswagen Tiguan Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.