Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Volkswagen Polo Reviews

Volkswagen Polo

Welcome to the Volkswagen Polo review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Volkswagen Polo cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£10,400 - £21,000
AA Cars Average
£8,168
MPG
32.5 - 83.1
CO2 (g/km)
89 - 209
Tax Band
A - K
Noise Level
69.0 - 74.0

Volkswagen Polo | Good small car

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Polo is a great wee car for economy and the 1.2 engine is surprisingly responsive if you use the gears effectively. It feels safe and stable to drive, even at speed or in wet or windy conditions and grips the road well on bends.
I live in a remote, rural area and make lots of short, local journeys with occasional longer journeys of 120-250 miles so the petrol engine is ideal. I get 370-400 miles out of a full tank.
My basic model is short on luxuries but starts well in winter and seats 4 comfortably with reasonable leg-room in the back although it feels much heavier to drive when fully laden and is a squash for 5 adults.
My last car was an estate and if I'd had more choice when looking for a second-hand replacement, would have preferred another estate as the boot area in the Polo is limited. My large labrador dog only just fits in which means luggage has to go on the back seat when I visit family. If I didn't have the dog, it would be adequate and is more spacious than most small cars.
It's a great size for easy parking and I would recommend the Polo for either urban or rural use but it's more suitable for a single person/couple than a family unless children are young.
My car is 9 years old but there's not a spot of rust on the body and I've only had to spend around £200 on it in the 2 years I've had it.

Volkswagen Polo | The Volkswagen Polo 1.4

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2010
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Polo is only a compromise and, for me, no more than a comfortable, moderately economical runabout. I would not recommend it for touring.I only exchanged it for my Passat because I wanted a later model car with the traditional, braking system, instead of the Passat's gimmicky electronic system which, in my view, is change for change's sake,and makes driving less enjoyable and less safe on the road, particularly when parking and manoeuvring in small spaces. The styling and other features of the Passat is fine, but I felt that the car was trying to control me, rather than letting me be in control. Over a period of more than fifty years, I have successfully driven everything from the Austin Ruby,and a vintage Bentley 3 litre to the Mercedes S Class. And who on earth at VW, with its worldwide reputation, designed and gave the go-ahead for installing this new braking system, I do not know. But I will think very carefully if I ever buy another car, but it will be unlikely to be a VW - such a pity after owning about 10 VWs and VW egined camper vans in the last 40 years, with all of which I have been very pleased. J.A. Burrows-Watson

Volkswagen Polo | VW Polo 1.4 SE 2000

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Performance: Not much. Only 60bhp from its 1.4 petrol engine. You really have to work the engine hard to get any kind of performance from it. If you have a couple of passengers in with you, you can really notice it struggling to accelerate.
Running costs: Not bad, but not that good for such a small car with a small engine. As it's quite old now, it's getting more expensive to run. Group 4 Ins, averages 41 mpg.
Comfort: Seats are comfortable and you can adjust them to get a good position; steering wheel hight only can be adjusted. Suspension seems quite firm. Crashes over the many bumps and potholes on the roads.
Reliability: Many faults over the years. Most haven't been that serious, but a huge inconvenience resulting in failure of MOT and requiring lots of money to put right.
Space and practicality: Not the biggest of cars out there, but it provides just enough space for what I've needed. A bit cramped with 4 passengers though. It has a fairly large boot.
Overall: Decent little car, but a bit outdated.

Volkswagen Polo | Could do better

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The car is quiet and performs well, especially through the mid-range i.e. acceleration for over taking. Running costs are low, although the fuel consumption at an average (all driving over 1 year) at 51 mpg is short of what I was led to expect when purchasing it.

I have come across one or to niggling faults, such as a defective light warning indicator, which come on and goes off when it feels like it and has me running around checking that all the lights are working properly.

There is plenty of leg room and I have recently loaded it with three large suitcases, two large soft travel bags and two briefcases and could still see through the back with the rear view mirror.

I like the false floor arrangement which enables me to keep the dog's kit out of the way together with umbrellas, shopping bags, spare bulb kit etc.

Radio reception with the fitted double DIN CD/FM radio is poor and the overall sound quality is not great, even though I had the speakers replaced with better quality units.

Volkswagen Polo | my polo

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1098cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

We bought our current car this year as a 1 year old ex hire car. We upgraded from a similar sized ageing Fiesta. On all areas, with the possible exception of luggage space, it is a vast improvement; more comfortable, safer, better designed seats, more reliable and more robust. The one big thing that I like is the small raised step in the floor panel on the driver's side. This may sound daft but it makes for a more comfortable driving position on long journeys.
My only slight niggle is that the boot is slightly shorter, front to back, than the Fiesta. (I sell cakes and my carrying boxes don't fit in so easily.) The advantage over the Fiesta though is that the floor is almost level at the back making it easier to slide things in, plus the seats go down flat.
On the whole I would definitely recommend this car.

Volkswagen Polo | Polo 1.4 Blue Motion 1

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is a small neat car that is very economical, if driven in an economical manner. Average combined fuel consumption (given that most short journeys are in a very hilly area) is 73.2 mpg over a measured 2000 miles. A number of regular longer journeys (on level roads) achieve over 85 mpg.

The performance is what you would expect for a 1.4D. There is not much low range power, but above 3000 rpm it is nippy and responsive.

Build quality and reliability are what you would expect from a VW; but in the interest of weight saving for fuel economy reasons it is not well equipped.

All in all, if you want a good, reliable and economical car that is not too big or luxurious this is the one to get. It is cheaper and more economical than a Prius and most other Hybrids.

Volkswagen Polo | Old Gold

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1997
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

The 1997 mark 3 Polo is an old-school piece of kit, but a surprisingly versatile one. It's small enough to be nippy around town and easy to park on crowded streets, while also having enough dynamism to easily take to long motorway trips or steep back-country roads. The fuel efficiency is good enough to do a London - Lake District journey without needing to stop; and the seats are comfortable enough, and the sound-system good enough (even in the stock CL model) to make a trip like that without wanting to stop.

The boot space is good for both shopping and camping-gear, and the three-door model allows things like bikes to be fitted into the rear-seat foot space.

From my point of view, it's close to perfect for a small car: compact but also capable and comfortable.

Volkswagen Polo | VW Polo v Ford Fusion

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2010
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

I also have a Ford Fusion, which I use for heavier duty trips, fishing trips, running the unicycling/juggling club, etc, anything which might get the car into a dirty horrible or smelly state, such as my wife might complain about.
What is very noticeable though, is that the Polo, although a model from the cheap end of the range, just feels more solidly built in every way, body, instrumentation and switches, and in fact all aspects of the car.
I just KNOW that it will do the job asked, whereas the Ford always gives my that small niggle. It still gets me there but I have on occasion worried as to whether anything might go wrong. Nothing has to date, but the feeling remains that the VW is of a far better build quality.

Volkswagen Polo | Vw polo 2003

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I 've had my diesel polo for seven years and it has been very reliable. It tackles steep hills and rough tracks with great stamina. I mainly commute with it (160miles per week) and weekend local shopping. Motorway journeys are less frequent..maybe five a year and the car goes like a dream. Boot size is ideal for shopping and the back seats fold down to give ample space for really large items. Seats are adjustable and comfortable, all round visibility is good. Servicing at local garage isn't too expensive and fuel consumption seems reasonable, topping up half a tank a fortnight. I have done a Motorway journal of 600 miles on one tank. Great all round good looking car.

Volkswagen Polo | My Polo

Added: 16th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2000
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought this car nearly five years ago from a private seller at 81k on the clock. It is now around 153k on the clock today. It is as reliable today as it was when I first got it. I sometimes skip the regular milage interval service to annual calendar service with no problem so far. It has out-performed it expectation many times. Going through floods successfully, coping fairly well in snow time than some hybrid 4x4 cars was a real surprise to me.

I'm hoping to replace it with another newer model, just because of the reliability and outstanding performance, low cost maintenance and easy of parking in almost any tight space for a standard car.

Volkswagen Polo | Excellent value for money and reliable car

Added: 20th of December 2012
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

It was a massive change to switch from Corsa to Polo. The VW Polo is a very reliable and responsive car. Driving it is very pleasant. The standard version comes with a rather high spec that makes driving the Polo very enjoyable. After folding back the seats there is plenty of space (I was able to transport all appliances for my kitchen myself). The dashboard is well designed and everything is easy to use. The car is not that good on corners when you drive fast, it's a slightly unpleasant feeling. I had this car for 3 years and I sold it for a very good price compared to what I paid and never needed to fix anything so it was very good investment.

Volkswagen Polo | the older polo

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2003
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Although beggars cannot be choosers I believe the beggar would choose the older and so more affordable polo. As a practical motorist I seek reliability and low running costs as reasons for choice. My older polo may not have the comfort of the newer or other models but I can handle that in exchange for the safety the polo provides.

The occasions when the 1 litre engine has me gliding past the Porsches and Ferraris are usually just before my alarm clock goes off.

I have never had a problem regarding attempts to steal my vehicle. This may be because the local car thieves realise the challenge they face or they just feel sorry for me.

Volkswagen Polo | Quiet and comfortable

Added: 14th of October 2016
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought my VW Polo 1.4 Match about a year ago, when it was 3 years old, to replace my X reg VW Golf 1.6 L which struggled to pass its emissions test for the MoT.
The latest Polo is about the same size as my old Golf, more fuel efficient, slightly lower insurance and significantly cheaper in vehicle road tax. It also has bluetooth for hands free phone use. It doesn't have great acceleration, but is comfortable and so far hasn't given me any trouble, though I did need to replace the windscreen wiper blades after the previous ones stuck to the windscreen one frosty morning last winter. It runs very quietly too. I'm very happy with it.

Volkswagen Polo | Second family car.

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 5

The Polo was purchased from a main dealer as our second car as we had recently purchased a new Vauxhall Meriva. It is used mainly for local and reasonably close journeys. AS we have a guarantee on the Meriva for 100,000 miles we use the Polo more than we did the previous second car.
The purchase price was higher than could have been paid elsewhere but the dealer gave me an attractive deal on a three year servicing plan There were problems with the rear washer which proved to be quite a major job but this was corrected with no questions asked and irrespective of cost to the company.
We are very happy with the car.
Chas Joyce.

Volkswagen Polo | Love my Polo!

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is my 3rd Polo and I love how safe they are for a small car. They are very reliable - my last 2 cars I sold at 14 years old, they both only failed MOTs on inexpensive items costing maximum of £30-40 and are still going strong! Love this model with the 3 full rear seat belts and head rests which is perfect as my family are growing up as their heads and necks are more protected. It's my first car with power assisted steering and that makes long distance driving so much easier. Insurance is cheap, tax a good price and it's economical fuel-wise too. I am a total Polo fan and don't want another make EVER!

Volkswagen Polo | join the Vee Dub Club

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1999
  • 1599cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Grreat little car, hardly ever lets me down. Had to have a few things done recently but for 3 years its passed its MOT with no advisorys and only just had a service! The mechanic said he was impressed for a car of its age that it was in decent mechanical condition.

Imlove this car. Its the perfect size for me, with enou room for grandkids and passengers but allows me tompark in small spaces. The engine size gives it some ooomph and its really cheap to run,dven thouh i do a lot of driving for work.

Im looking to get another VW when this one meets its maker. I want to stay in the vee dub club!j

Volkswagen Polo | Nice little car

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I've had several VWs, all Golfs before this, but the car immediately before the Polo was a Ford Fiesta, which I liked and enjoyed driving. When I went back to VW I decided to down-grade. The Polo was six months old when I bought it and while I'm generally pretty happy with it I was disappointed to find that the spec had been considerably reduced and it had fewer useful little conveniences (like a button on the dash to open the boot) than my 8 year-old Fiesta, and it doesn't feel as solid as the Golfs I had in the past. However, this doesn't effect my overall satisfaction with having a VW again.

Volkswagen Polo | polo 1.2 tdi se 5dr

Added: 14th of October 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1199cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

we bought a new polo 1.2 tdi se in 2011. It has been superb to date.Our dealer Barnards VW of Stowmarket are first rate in every aspect, great service, and very friendly staff. The Polo is a great car, strong, reliable, and if you run it on Shell V power diesel it pulls very well.It is low geared so don't put it in top gear under 60. It does 65 ish to the gallon and only £20 road tax. VWs are great cars, there is very little on the market to touch them in every aspect. They are a real drivers car, where man and machine work as one.Great road holders, and very stable on flooded roads

Volkswagen Polo | My third Polo

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2012
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Very good value for money, economical, stylish and so far reliable. Cheap to tax and insure. Boot space is small and getting a pushchair or buggy in is a bit of a struggle. Not much headroom in the back when trying to get a toddler into a rear child seat - and the front passenger seat needs to be moved forward a lot to make room for the child's feet. Having now got a grandchild and another on the way I wish I had gone for a Passat Estate, but having loved my last two Polos and keeping an eye on the £s I went with what I had been happy with since '02. Would definitely buy another VW.

Volkswagen Polo | VW Polo 2012 - great car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Polo is an excellent vehicle. The fuel efficiency/mileage is brilliant. The ride is comfortable. There is reasonable luggage space (rear seats fold) The only fault I can find with the car is a tendency for the brakes to bind a little on start up, after standing overnight in cold weather (even though kept in a garage). Once the engine is running - this problem disappears. I would have no hesitation in purchasing another vehicle of this type - and I am assured that the manufacturer has now fully resolved the brake issue. I will look to purchase another VW Polo in 2014.

Filter Volkswagen Polo Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.