Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Volkswagen Golf TDi Reviews

Volkswagen Golf TDi

Welcome to the Volkswagen Golf TDi review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Volkswagen Golf TDi cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£16,285 - £24,380
AA Cars Average
£12,947
MPG
42.2 - 74.3
CO2 (g/km)
99 - 181
Tax Band
A - I
Noise Level
68.0 - 74.0

Volkswagen Golf TDi | Volkswagon TDI

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The VW TDI has been around for a number of years new gadgets appear from year to to year. This one I have now is a company car, would I purchase one if I had a choice the answer is yes. Good MPG whilst it is in ECO Mode, but can be a bit gutless, switch to Sport mode different animal, boot space small, not as big as my wifes Ford Focus y reg. Yes you can put two suitcases in it but one has to go on the back seat or split the seats and push through. Good dash panel easy to understand hands free easy to use, for a techno phobe like me thats important.

I didnt think I would like a car that turns itself off every time I stopped but I do, also never had a car with cruise control, do I use it yes, at a steady 69 mph I het well over fifty to the gallon on a run, nearer 55 upwards.

As I said the proof is would I spend my money if it was my car and the answer is yes. As a complete petrol head and someone that has owned nearly 300 motor cars I enjoy my cars indeed and I enjoy this one.

Volkswagen Golf TDi | A bit of a disappointment

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

As only the 90PS version of the 1600 diesel engine, this was never going to be the most exciting car to drive, requires more changing up/down gears than I am used to, although good on motorways, at 70mph still plenty of power in reserve for overtaking, etc.
Biggest problem is "flat spot/power dip" when moving off from 1st gear,making it VERY easy to stall, could be quite dangerous when pulling out at junctions etc. Often needs revving and "double take" on clutch to prevent this. I expect therefore that clutch may need replacing sooner rather than later.
These issues may be resolved with the 105PS version of the same model, I don't know?
Some reliability issues, notably failure of the EGR valve which dealer failed to diagnose when engine became rough and difficult to start, also the thermostatic fan comes on for no reason making car very "sticky" to drive, and which dealer won't take seriously.
Not the rock solid German reliable product which I had hoped for!

Volkswagen Golf TDi | Vw Golf 1.9 TDI PD GT

Added: 26th of July 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Amazing car, comfortable & great performance. Great on fuel. Handles very good. Only issue is that leg room is a little bit tight in the back if you have a long legged driver/passenger in the front & you have long legs & Sat in the back. Has everything you need in a car, I highly recommend this car. For me & my young family it is the perfect car! It's also a cool car to look at. Sound system is amazing quality unlike most other cars that have cheap speakers that normally break after a short period of time & don't sound that good. Vw cars for me are the best all round for quality, comfort, performance, reliability, low cost running & they hold there value, so you will pay more for it than a competitor car that's similar spec but you won't regret it if you brought a vw. I've owned Vauxhall's, Seat's, Ford's & Peugeot's & none of them even come close to being as good as volkswagon!

Volkswagen Golf TDi | reliable workhorse

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Bought as an ex demonstration car it would not have been my first choice of colour(metallic grey!), but the new choices available didn?t make that too much of a hardship. I had a longstanding issue to get the service interval indicator set right on the car, quite why it was wrong to start with and then took several more attempts to get right I never had explained very well.
But in all fairness these are minor issues and the only ones to note in well over 40,000 miles of driving. The car is reasonably efficient, low tax, comfortable and spacious. An exciting, sporty car it is not, but as a reliable workhorse to carry considerable quantities of work equipment up and down the roads of Britain it is ideal.

Volkswagen Golf TDi | I love my Golf!

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

This Golf gives me everything I need in a car.
It has enough power to get me out of trouble, or to cruise at a mile eating speed using very little fuel. It is extremely reliable and starts in all weathers.
It handles very well in every driving condition and I feel very safe driving it. It is smart and sporty to look at and hasn't dated although now 8 years old.
I can fit the grand children in, though its a bit of a squash when there are five family members (3 adults and 2 under 10), but this doesn't happen often.
I would certainly have another one of these and willingly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a reliable, economical, fun to drive, good looking all round car.

Volkswagen Golf TDi | 1.9TDI Golf Etate - Mk III

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

It has been a good reliable car, returning between 46 - 50 mpg. I bought it in 2007 with 49,500 miles on the clock and has 6,800 on the clock now, because after 299,999 the odometer has reset to begin from zero.
During the time I have had it I have repld. lower frt suspn. arms (3 years ago, due to shocking road maintenance), battery, starter, alternator, track rod ends (these 4 in the last 2 years), 2 cambelts w/pump, 2 exhaust systems and 2 alternator / power steering belts. Tyres I would say some 32.
Now, it has an engine water leak and suspected turbo oil leak, but I find it reliable for long journeys 200 miles+ . I am generally satisfied with the car and its reliability.

Volkswagen Golf TDi | vw golf 4motion

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2005
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 2

You did not have the option for the vw golf 4motion so I selected TDi which it is essentially but with the option of 4 wheel drive. It performs well has plenty torque if needed and drives and performs well in snowy conditions. The things I find awkward are the bonnet catch is not easily accessible the fuel release is in an awkward position and it would be nice to have all the radio controls on the steering wheel. And the oil dip stick does not read easily, in this day and age Im sure car makers could invent a display on the console telling how much oil is in the vehicle. It would be nice to have a manual boot release on the inside of the car should the remote fail.

Volkswagen Golf TDi | Love my Golf

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

A really great car that does everything I need it to. It's very reliable, fast enough to get me out of trouble in sticky situations, not too big and not too small. Cruises effortlessly and economically at 70, and with the injection system still has extra uphill even in 6th gear. Engine size makes insurance reasonable. It is comfortable, but leg room in back is not huge. It looks good and hasn't dated as so many cars do, and is the sort of car that is just right for someone like me who very much enjoys driving but isn't a 'boy racer'.
I would recommend it to anyone wanting an all round, good looking, pleasure to drive car.

Volkswagen Golf TDi | 2011 Vw Golf 105 S

Added: 29th of January 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Excellent,small estate.Fuel economy is massive 70+ mpg.Comfortable motorway cruising,sits slightly over 2000rpm at
70mph.
Good ,tight handling on twisty Highland roads,suspension ideal.
This is 1.6 tdi version,so not the most responsive pulling away or sharpest acceleration,compared to 2ltr versions (have owned Golf GTI in past).However,when you take into consideration the fuel economy,load space and roof rail capacity,it all balances out nicely.
Interior is bit basic,well built and with all usual useful features.
Very happy with this car,will probably buy another when this one needs replacing.

Volkswagen Golf TDi | Love my car

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1999
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The golf is a perfect fit for me.
Enough space for everything I want to do including carrying passengers comfortably in the back and the large dog in the boot without being to big.
The ergonomics suit my slightly smaller size and is really comfortable even on long journeys.
It is super economical, always doing between 60-70mpg even with alot of motorway driving.
It is easy to work on so I do my own servicing and parts are cheap and easy to obtain.
I have had the car for 10 years and never had any major problems and it is super reliable and recommend to anyone looing for a car this size.

Volkswagen Golf TDi | Disappointed with performance

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Good points:

Comfort, reliability, £30 road tax, good build quality - solid feel.

Not so good points:

Underpowered; slow to accelerate particularly at motorway speeds. Gearing high and not suited to engine - need to drive in 3rd at 30mph as 4th is too high, regular gear changing is needed. Small boot compared to others in class. Unable to achieve manufacturer's fuel economy figures despite careful driving. Handbrake positioned to the left of the centre console, this would be suited for left-hand-drive vehicles but the design has not been changed for right-hand-drive for the UK.

Volkswagen Golf TDi | RUST RUST RUST

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Had the car from new. Been garaged. Both front wings started to rust 12 months ago. Only 47k miles. VW refused to repair them under their 12 year warranty scheme. They wanted me to actually pay more for them to repair them under there good will!? scheme than to get a local body shop to do the job.
Although the car has been very reliable and economical I would never ever ever buy another VW. I have owned nothing but Golfs for the last 20 plus years.
I did contact the AA who said they would get one of their legal team to contact me but that never happened.

Volkswagen Golf TDi | RUST RUST RUST

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Had the car from new. Been garaged. Both front wings started to rust 12 months ago. Only 47k miles. VW refused to repair them under their 12 year warranty scheme. They wanted me to actually pay more for them to repair them under there good will!? scheme than to get a local body shop to do the job.
Although the car has been very reliable and economical I would never ever ever buy another VW. I have owned nothing but Golfs for the last 20 plus years.
I did contact the AA who said they would get one of their legal team to contact me but that never happened.

Volkswagen Golf TDi | VW GTD review

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1960cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Bought the car nearly new when commuting large distances for work - proved comfortable, safe, good to drive and, particularly, economical. Have since retired so traveling less now. Initially it was reliable though VW main dealer servicing proved quite expensive. Now high mileage and several quite large repair bills over the past year or two - will look to replace soon, perhaps with new GTD or GTi. Angry re VW emissions scandal however, and though this model not directly affected, think VW should be offering compensation as re-sale/part ex value reduced.

Volkswagen Golf TDi | Mk4 golf gt tdi

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2001
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This car has been fantastic.I originally bought it around 6 months old,sold to a good friend after 18 months,then bought it back around 3 years later.Love it so much I owned it twice! the engine is bomb proof,never letting us down.Overall the car has cost very little to run,only needing the usual wear and tear items over 85000 miles,still feels good to drive,with fantastic fuel economy.The only problem I find is the doors can freeze overnight in extreme cold weather,and it feels a little front heavy when cornering,but generally a brilliant car.

Volkswagen Golf TDi | 'Old and Dated' but still going strong

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 2

The Mk4 Golf 130 TDI is a surprisingly fast and economical small family car. My present car has covered 139000 miles and with regular servicing is achieving 50 plus mpg. There have been the usual parts failure issues such as the drivers and passengers window regulators failing (small plastic clip breaks and the window drops into the door frame). There is also the replacement of the rear axle cross member bushes, which is another weak point on the Golfs. But that said if you keep on top of your servicing the car is pretty much reliable.

Volkswagen Golf TDi | golf gt tdi 130

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

best car i have owned. when it came from the factory it was quoted as having a combined cycle of 48 mpg' in the 3 years i have owned it i have never had less than 54 mpg and this year i am averaging 58 mpg and on 1 20 mile run actually got a figure of 72.6 mpg. i do put a lot of these mpg gains down to tyre choice (michelin pilot sport 3 average 54 mpg) (michelin primacy average 58 mpg)servicing and driving style (this does not mean i drive like a snail either)

Volkswagen Golf TDi | Golf 2.0 TDi

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Car is basically a GTi with a diesel engine, can't fault it as a driver's car. Excellent performance, yet still returns 53 mpg regularly, 60+ if driven sensibly. Handling, brakes, 6-speed gearbox all excellent. However car is let down by poor reliability, ABS / TCS faults, engine management faults, other electrical and electronic faults. Many problems require specialised equipment to sort, and VW dealer service costs are legalised extortion.

Volkswagen Golf TDi | Good overall, but not perfect by any means

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A very good overall car.
The general servicing costs are quite expensive (i.e. Tyres, brakes, oil, etc) and the odd repair is expensive (i.e. Radiator, brake calipers).
Uses a lot of oil (well more than I would expect) and bangs and crashes over potholes a lot, but then my car does have over 200K miles. The interior trim is poor quality (Mk5 GOlf).
Very good real world fuel economy of around 50-70mpg (on a 25-35 mile each way commute).

Volkswagen Golf TDi | VW Golf 1.9 tdi

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I love driving diesel (I am a coach driver) - the VW is a solid, no nonsense drive with stunning economy - averages 60mph even just going home to work.

Had to get a new car in a hurry when my Rover 75 blew its head gasket (!) and got this at a very good price.

We are expecting a baby next year and the Golf is probably a little small as a family car, but I'm confident we can manage for a year or two.

Would thoroughly recommend.

Filter Volkswagen Golf TDi Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.