Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Volkswagen Golf Plus Reviews

Volkswagen Golf Plus

Welcome to the Volkswagen Golf Plus review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Volkswagen Golf Plus cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£16,560 - £23,200
AA Cars Average
£5,536
MPG
32.5 - 65.7
CO2 (g/km)
114 - 209
Tax Band
C - K
Noise Level
68.0 - 74.0

Volkswagen Golf Plus | VW Golf Plus 1.4 TSI

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I've had the VW for just over four years now. I use it mostly just for running around locally, around 120 miles per week, with only a handful of long runs each year. The vehicle is comfortable and internally spacious, taking into account its fairly limited external dimensions. The luggage compartment is not massive but the rear seats are adjustable to provide a little extra load space where necessary and, in those cases where I've needed much more, folding down the rear seats provides a useful cargo space. There are also plenty of useful storage spaces dotted around the car.

I've had no significant mechanical problems with the vehicle. Two minor defects: an intermittent rear-light unit and a faulty warning light sensor, were both sorted out under the 3-year warranty, with no fuss.

The car has features which I find really useful such as the cruise control and the self-parking. The in-car entertainment is of decent quality, with the optionally-upgraded system providing DAB radio, a 6-CD player and the ability to play music stored on SD cards. The air-conditioning unit is not over-powerful but just about adequate on the hottest days we get in this part of the World.

My one real area of discontent is fuel consumption. I tend to buy my cars new and keep them for a long time. My previous car was a 12-year-old 2-litre Renault which I replaced under the scrappage scheme. One of the aims of that scheme was to get old, fuel-guzzling cars off the road. Annoyingly, I find that the fuel consumption with my 1.4-litre VW is noticeably worse than that of the 2-litre Renault.

Volkswagen Golf Plus | VW Golf Plus Blue Motion

Added: 17th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1598cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Golf Plus is a roomy car with plenty of space and different configurations of seats. Its 1598 1.6 Diesel engine has plenty of power and is very frugal, returning an average fuel consumption of 62 mpg during a 2000 mile round trip to Europe. The stop-start technology is good as is the balance of the BlueeMotion features.

The instrumentaton in the car is very good with plenty of choice as to what information is displayed. My car has a Kenwood multi-media system in it, which is outstanding. There are nice touches such as wing mirrors that learn the position you like them in for reversing and adopt this position when selecting reverse gear and return the mirror to the normal position when deselecting reverse gear. It is a shame that this model does not have automatically folding wing mirrors when parked.

Roadholding is good; however, ride is a little harsh as it has the underpinnings of the GTI - too harsh for me.

The front seats are not very comfortable and I would change them at the drop of a hat if I could find a suitable non-sporty alternative. They seem to have been designed around a Mesomorph and I am an Endomorph!. People with a wide frame will find the width of the seat limiting and, in my case, I can feel plastic mouldings around the periphery of the seat.

Overall I am pleased with the vehicle and would like to replace it at the end of its life with another, more refined Golf Plus BleMotion Technology

Volkswagen Golf Plus | Golf Plus

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have done almost 100,000 miles in this car and it has performed impecably without using any oil. There is no sign of rust and the paintwork is still bright if cleaned. The interior shows signs of small children but there are no tears to the upholstery. Stains are difficult to remove. Its economy means fuel costs are 13p a mile (based on £1.42 per litre fuel.) Service costs are reasonable. The only fault for several years has been the appearance of the air bag warning light which happened twice and was due to a bad electrical connection.

The car is quite fast enough for me and is easy to drive round the country roads here. I find it easy to park but my wife does not. Steering is light and positive.

On the down side the boot is a bit too narrrow for a guitar. For the passengers the ride is on the hard side and there is quite a lot of interior noise. The buffeting when the rear windows are open is unbearable.

I will almost certainly buy another VW when I replace this car.

Volkswagen Golf Plus | Golf Plus

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Bought just short of two years old. Very good value secondhand compared to standard Golf which offers less practicality at a greater cost. The sliding rear seats make it so much easier to carry bulky items such as baby buggies and large luggage. The driving position is good and while the dynamics are not quite as engaging as our previous Golf it is good to drive and very comfortable. Back seat comfort is much improved over the standard Golf. We had our standard golf for 12 years but our next car will be another Golf Plus.

Volkswagen Golf Plus | A VW to suit

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

This car was bought after a hip replacement mainly because of the higher position for driving and the ease of entering & Leaving the car.
A reliable car with the power there when needed
Comfortable but the heater (unlike some other cars I have had)is slow to heat up - 3 to 4 miles.
A spacious boot which will accommodate golf gear with ease and the convenience of let-down seats for excess luggage.
All in all a car which suits my needs completely.

Volkswagen Golf Plus | GOLF PLUS 1.6 DSG BLUEMOTION

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1598cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Ihave only had this car from september 2013 as a replacement for a golf 1.6 es dsg, to date i am very satisfied with all aspects of the vehicle with one exception and that is the STOP/START facility (on bluemotion) i find the delay in START UPand pulling away into traffic a frustrating worry .I tend to press the overide button in town situations, I also wonder what fuel this stop/start really saves

Volkswagen Golf Plus | VW Golf Plus

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Had the car 12 months now purchased low mileage. Battery problems replaced. Exhaust gas valve had lots of carbon repaired and replaced. Clutch bit lumpy and will be expensive repair if it goes. Not a very good advert for VW. Good fuel consumption and comfort.

Volkswagen Golf Plus | obscured vision

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A very good car but unfortunately the substantial pillars between the windscreen and side windows obstruct my vision when driving around right hand bends meaning that I find myself driving blind on these occasions.

Volkswagen Golf Plus | Golf SV

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2016
  • 2000cc
  • semi-automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Excellent car except for the "radar" system interfering with cruise control which is dangerous and the rather uneven throttle response/gear change compared to previous VW cars with DSG Gearboxes.

Volkswagen Golf Plus | golf plus

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Plenty of headroom.

Enough power.

Comfortable for both short and long distances.

I will consider replacing it with asimilar model asit has proved to be both economical and reliable.

Volkswagen Golf Plus | A car to rely on.

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2007
  • 1906cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Reliable and comfortable. Has taken my wife and me touring in Europe for each year since 07 with I trouble or malfunction. Will probably replace with a similar model.

Volkswagen Golf Plus | Need for better reversing lights

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1390cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Very satisfied with the GOlf Plus but one major drawback is the poor reversing light as I drive in unlit areas and need to reverse into an unlit driveway.

Volkswagen Golf Plus | Plus 1.6 TD

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

80000 IN TWO YEARS WITHOUT A HITCH. Returning mid 50s fuel consumption mainly motorways and B roads.

Volkswagen Golf Plus | VW Golf Plus TDi

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have only just got this car so not able to say much yet other than we are very pleased with it.

Volkswagen Golf Plus | Golf Plus review

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Would prefer a Golf Estate and a more economical model

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.