Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Volkswagen Golf GTi Reviews

Volkswagen Golf GTi

Welcome to the Volkswagen Golf GTi review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Volkswagen Golf GTi cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£25,845 - £27,915
AA Cars Average
£17,301
MPG
34.4 - 53.3
CO2 (g/km)
143 - 194
Tax Band
F - J
Noise Level
70.5 - 75.0

Volkswagen Golf GTi | MK4 Golf GTI 2.0

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Level of comfort is excellent with road and engine noise kept to a minimum. The plastic gearstick and handbrake surround start to creak after a while howvever an easy fix by adding some fabric tape between the joints. VW in their wisdom coated some of the dash with a soft touch finish which goes sticky and looks a mess after a while. A little elbow grease to remove the coating leaves a shiny plastic surface that can be left as is or recoated. The drivers seat suffers wear on the bolster nearest the door with most models suffering from tears.
The engine is sturdy if looked after however servicing is costly and with a new cambelt kit required after every 60K or 4 years it becomes questionable whether its cost effective to keep the car when other manufacturers can go upto 200K before such an expense is necessary.
There's two most common problems that appear to come up, one being crankshaft sensor costing £180 from approved garage and upto £300 from a dealer. The other being the wiring at the transition from roofspace to rear hatch where it flexes some of the wires tend to break sending the electrics into a frenzy of failures.
Mostly though the Golf is a good all rounder, from going to the shops to motorway travel the comfort and reliability(if looked after) is second to none.

Volkswagen Golf GTi | Mygolf

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Although the car is 10 years old and its mileage is 80,000 I have perceived no decline in performance of the vehicle, and it still looks good despite developments in design and taste during this period.

On more than one occsion I have been asked if I would be interesed in selling the car to younger people - (on one occasion I was asked if I would like to exchange it for a BMW of a higher spec.)

The bodywork is still rust free and the only downside is the fact that the alloy wheels are begining to corrode.
I love the car and feel that when I do replace it I will be lucky to get one of equal quality.

Volkswagen Golf GTi | If only

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The VW Golf has proved to be excellent. Ours has a TSi engine. Excellent. There are two small issues which prevent it getting 10 out of 10. Judging where the rear of the car is when reversing is hard, after several years we still leave much more space than we think we have. The newer cars probably do not have this problem. It does not have as good a turning circle as cars we have owned in the past. Sometimes parking between cars in a supermarket car park can be tricky.
We have always had it serviced at our local VW dealership and they too have been excellent.
Would we buy it again? Yes.

Volkswagen Golf GTi | Golf Gti

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Excellent Vehicle Good Quality
excellent ride & grip
Very good fuel consumption 33-38 average mpg over very long distance/time
Fitting a new set of 4 tyre's could be very expensive
excellent spec
a few minor niggle repairs turbo bypass valve & purge canister valve developed faults diy repairable with a fault code reager & a few basic tools

you could buy a LOT WORSE!!!!!

Volkswagen Golf GTi | Best car I've ever owned

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1999
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

The mk4 Golf is by far the best car I've ever owned in terms of reliability and comfort.

Parts are cheap and easy to come by (not that it's ever had anything more than service parts!). I think I've been really lucky with this car but would recommend it to anyone thinking of buying a cheap used car. You see plenty of them on the road still and that's got to be only a good sign!

Volkswagen Golf GTi | VW Corrado Vr6

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1995
  • 2900cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Great car and very comfortable. Averages 36 mpg. under normal driving conditions. 38mpg on longer runs. Can be expensive if one buys VW parts but there are a few alternatives available. Very stylish car and very nice to drive. Corners very well both in dry and wet conditions. Seats 4 adults in comfort. Does need to be driven daily.

Volkswagen Golf GTi | 3rd VW

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is my 3rd Golf 2 litre turbo diesel and have found them all to be extremely reliable, economical and comfortable easily fitting my 6ft frame. In between the 2nd and 3rd Golf we switched to a Honda which was a huge mistake finding it rather poorer quality than the Golf and nowhere near as economical

Volkswagen Golf GTi | Reliable Volkswagen

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is my first VW golf and it's the most well built reliable car I gave ever owned. It is comfortable, flexible, powerful and fun to drive. It has amazing brakes and a great auto gearbox. The garage are friendly, helpful and get 100% for customer service. The golf is a legend and now I know why!

Volkswagen Golf GTi | Golf GTI

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have owned Golf GTI's for 29 years from a Mark 1 through to a mark 6.

each one has been exemplorary in it's build quality, performance & reliability.

I believe that this car is all the car you ever need, suitable for anything from the shopping to crossing a continent.

Volkswagen Golf GTi | Golf Gti

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I bought this car new in 2007, and, depreciation aside, it hs been the cheapest car I have ever owned .. long service intervals, only 1 small thing has ever gone wrong with it. It's comfortable, fast when you want it to be, and extremely practical. Great car.

Volkswagen Golf GTi | New car purchase

Added: 3rd of April 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Found car on website salesman phoned next day spoke about car answered all questions & asked would you like me to send you a video clip of car happy with what I saw went to see car nice clean tidy good price now it is mine 90per cent happy with purchase.

Volkswagen Golf GTi | Golf gti

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Fantastic performance, practical too. Easy to drive with dsg gearbox. Very reliable. Great interior. Best car I've ever owned. I'm aged 62 and had over 25 cars. By far the best .

Volkswagen Golf GTi | Old Golfer

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
1/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1998
  • 1599cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Goes well as very simply engineered ie no on board computers or gizmos.

Awful MPG. But has passed MOT every time with tiny costs.

Volkswagen Golf GTi | my car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1998
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I have been driving 55years I would like to keep my car as long as I can . its done 185,000 miles I love it . need I say more.

Volkswagen Golf GTi | Golf GTD

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Notwithstanding its good performance , I have found this car to be safe, sure footed and reasonably economical to run.

Volkswagen Golf GTi | Golf BlueMotion

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Very pleased with the car it has returned 60MPG over 55,000 miles in 2 years.

Volkswagen Golf GTi | VW GOLF

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Would not change it for the world best car I have ever had

Volkswagen Golf GTi | Volkswagen

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Good solid reliable car.

Volkswagen Golf GTi | Vw golf

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Very reliable

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.