Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Vauxhall Insignia Reviews

Vauxhall Insignia

Welcome to the Vauxhall Insignia review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Vauxhall Insignia cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£18,000 - £34,500
AA Cars Average
£11,285
MPG
23.9 - 65.7
CO2 (g/km)
115 - 277
Tax Band
C - M
Noise Level
70.0 - 75.0

Vauxhall Insignia | Smart, reliable and very frugal

Added: 12th of August 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2015
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I was motivated to write a review on my Insignia SRi 2.0 CDTi as I have been truly surprised by it so far, despite having owned it for only a couple of months.
I have driven Audis and other prestige brand cars and historically always thought that Vauxhalls were inferior. Yes BMWs feel more solid and insulated, and Audis are very luxurious and smooth. But these days Vauxhalls are really worth a look. It is a contract hire vehicle for me and I do reasonable mileage. And this is where I am really impressed. Since I have had the car, 7 weeks, I have through circumstance needed to travel nearly 7,000 miles in the course of my work. This is mainly motorway long distance, but I live in the Yorkshire Dales so there is a bit of both in there. When trying to be economical I have been reguarly achieving a tank average of 62 mpg-and that's over a long distance-my best is 850 miles from an £80 fill. Put with this the well put together interior and the revised body shell, this car looks upmarket and behaves it. The ride is stiff but comfortable and the equipment is solid and reliable. Even the hatchback boot is huge, as is the space everywhere. I never thought I would be saying this, but this Vauxhall has really changed my mind. I am paying £360+VAT a month including maintenance for 25,000 miles a year for 3 years, and that is very good value too. So if you are thinking to yourself 'I could get a Passat or a BMW but not the right spec' take a chance and have a look. Well worth it.

Vauxhall Insignia | Vauxhall Insignia SRi Nav Sports Tourer, automatic, 2.0 CDTI

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2015
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Excellent car. This is the second one that I have had (the first was a manual transmition). The car is fairly nippy for a diesel and handles precisely. Apart from a routine service, the car has never been back to the garage since I took it over, from new, around a year and three months ago. My previous Insignia I had for three years. This was relatively trouble free - apart from the turbo-charger release valve failing twice (fixed under guarantee), and the satnav occasionally speaking to me in kilometres (which was annoying - but only a minor intermittent irritation).

In practical terms, the car can carry a lot of without without affecting handling. There is a very useful false bottom in the boot, which is great for storing all the small, occasionally used motoring items without them rattling about - and aditionally provides a completely flat cargo area. The car also has an extra set of rear lights inside the boot - which is very useful when loading/unloading in the dark. The vehicle lights are switched on automatically, which is another plus. Satnav comprises a large touchscreen, which is very easy to use, and gives wonderfully precise directions. The sports seating at the front is very comfortable, even on a long journey.

Rather than look like a semi-commercial vehicle, The aesthetics of the Insignia Sports Tourer are very pleasing - and, yes, I would have another.

Vauxhall Insignia | insignia tourer.

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

I have had this car for nearly two years, and im still happy with it.
it easy to drive, sat nav built in is a biggy for me. it uses less fuel than my old transit connect. I find its a great car for the family days out. cruises well on the motorways with its sixth gear, and can be nippy off junctions when you need to into the flow of never ending rush hour traffic. found going from a small van to a longer car did make it a little harder to see behind when reversing but had VALO reversing sensors put on front and back, basically to stop me scratching the paint work, did the trick, best value on the market and I don't even notice them on the outside anymore.
I like the big tail gate as it will keep you dry whilst you search for something in your boot and it is very easy to close. just allow it to touch the lock without slamming it and you will hear and see the lock motor pull the boot lid in. I watched a lot of reviews on utube when I chose this car for its looks first, I was looking for somebodies criticism about it and all I found was that a lady reviewer did not like the lack of rear view when looking over your shoulders. I can say that I don't find this an issue but coming from driving vans, you get used to dealing with blind sides of the vehicle. hope this helps conkers

Vauxhall Insignia | A step down company car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Having parted company with my last company car (Mercedes C220, the choice of new cars was very limited due to the deals my employer had struck with its lease provider (i.e. another Mercedes was not an option).

The Insignia looks smart and has a lot of nice gadgets, but disappoints in a number of ways. It is far slower, it sounds and drives more like a van than a car, and some of the gadgets are not very well thought out, such as:

- The electric handbrake is a real pain and takes some getting used to
- Phone Hands free is almost impossible to use, as there is no dash keypad - i.e. you would have to use the phone handset to dial a number you have not previously stored, and entering numbers using the menu wheel whilst driving would be suicidal, which defeats the object....
- If you are considering this car, you really need parking sensors, mine came without, and its shape makes it a pig to park!
- The chrome around the instrument dials is at an angle where it picks up reflections from street lighting, which keeps you glancing down to see what light has come on!
- Rear visibility is very poor
- Quality and shape of the wing mirrors is very poor, both in terms of the glass quality and the size of the mirror glass itself

Vauxhall Insignia | Insignia 1400cc Turbo

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

A grossly underpowered car: the "turbo" doesn't make up for lack of engine size. This car cannot perform well under 150bhp and could do with around 170-180 bhp.
The gears are set too low. I hardly use 2nd or 3rd. By 50mph the car is in top gear - i.e. no reserve.
The engine when stationary automatically drops its revs significantly so stalling is common.
The electric "hand" break is a mixed blessing. One has to get used to not revving the engine up in reediness for a hill start - one just rolls backwards!!
The radio is a disappointment. It was sold as having a DAB radio, but didn't. The conversion is clumsy and inconvenient.

However, once the car is up to 60-70mph, the going is good in spite of having no further gears at that speed (though there is nothing to get you out of a tight spot.
The ride is very good - comfortable on a long journey.
Access is easy. The interior roomy.
The boot is generous, though not quite as generous as the old Vectra.
The flexibility of the bumpers is welcome. The car is easy to clean.

Vauxhall Insignia | VAUXHALL INSIGNIA

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Every year despite travelling less than average mileage I am required to top up approximately half a litre of oil around the 10th month following last service and about a quarter litre of coolant during same period.
I have never experienced such an oil burner with any previous car.
I also had to replace the rear brake discs at 24000 miles due to excessive scoring and despite this being a known fault for Vauxhalls they refused to reimburse me trying to cite my driving manner. I have managed 36,000 miles from my rear tyres and they had 3mm of tread when replaced so I'm hardly a boy-racer.
Car is severely under-powered and labours considerably upon even the slightest incline and has a tendency to misfire ( found to be caused by badly corroded spark=plugs)
Interior build quality is extremely nice with none of the squeaks I experienced with my last vehicle a Nissan 350z GT.
would I buy another Insignia........probably not.
Would I buy another Vauxhall........Not unless the offer was too good to refuse!

Vauxhall Insignia | Cruiser

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2015
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Like every car on the market, I can't achieve the mpg as quoted but my car has now done 10k and still feels new and stiff but returns a constant 62mpg on my 100 mile round daily trip to work over the ups and downs of the North Yorks Moors. It's a comfortable cruiser that turns to extremely comfortable and quiet when motorway cruising. I had one of the first Insignia's in 2009 with mixed feelings. Replaced it with a competitors equivalent and regretted the choice within months. This face lifted model is far superior to both previous cars and I'm pleasantly surprised by the smaller 1.6ltr engine Service interval at 20k means half the servicing of my old car. So far there hasnt been a single fault worth a mention and hasn't been back to the (friendly) dealer since delivery for anything more than a complimentary check up. Still has a body line, looks and stance that makes some newer designed cars look boring. Don't knock it till you've tried it

Vauxhall Insignia | My Vauxhall Insignia

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 4

This is my second Insignia, my first being a 59 plate. My current is a 13 plate. I did have a few issues with the 59 plate and often found in cold weather the battery ran flat quite often. My current car is an ecoflex version and I must admit I`ve found it to be quite a lot better, the engine is more responsive and starts a lot quicker. It has an updated sat nav which is a lot better and feels altogether a better car. My only niggle is the stop start technology, its ok in normal traffic, where you are up against traffic lights & round abouts with little traffic, but in slow motorway traffic & heavy queuing traffic I tend to switch off the eco button as the engine could be stopping & starting up to 10 - 15 times before I get through the traffic, and I fear what effect this will have on the battery & starter motor etc. coming into the cold & dark weather.
In summary I'm quite happy with my Insignia.

Vauxhall Insignia | INSIGNIA 1.8VVTI SALOON EXCLUSIVE

Added: 2nd of July 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

From the first sit in the driver's seat,you know you are going to love this car.Classy styling,bold features,safe and secure environment.The dials welcome you,and at the turn of the key,the needles sweep over the faces aircraft style.You're already impressed,and you've yet to drive.Once you do,the lightness of touch impresses more.Move out on to the road.and at your first rearwards glance in the door mirrors,you feel even safer,like you're on Shrek's shoulders,such is the shape of the mirrors.Gaining confidence now,you increase speed,noticing the long leggedness of the car,and the seemingly endless amount of gears available.As speed accumulates,the sure footed ride and handling,firm but comfortable,fills you with contentment.Sadly,you realise you must return to the dealer to talk figures.Can you walk away from this car?You'd be a fool if you did. Pure class and joy at not outrageous money.

Vauxhall Insignia | VAUXHALL INSIGNIA

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1850cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

I bought the car because we need to accommodate up to 4 adults, one of whom, aged 92, has limited mobility. In that respect the purchase has been a success, and the enormous boot has been a boon (for example) when attending a wedding in mid-France with lots of fancy clothes or moving daughter to College in Oxford, or for dump trips.
However, in the 21,000 miles I have driven it (from about 5000 when purchased to 26000 miles today) I have had to spend £ 200 on a new tonneau cover and £850 on repairs to the engine - the latter unfortunately just after the Vauxhall Warranty ran out. £ 1000 repairs on a car under 26,000 miles is unacceptable.
Of more concern, however, is that despite having the engine tuned, despite normally driving with fuel economy in mind, and despite normally walking into town and thus avoiding short trips, it only averages 32-33 mpg.

Vauxhall Insignia | Great Car

Added: 17th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 5

Bought the car from new. A lot of car for the money. Wanted a car for travel to and from work and to have the comfort on long journeys. Performance, very quick for a big car and handling very sturdy, it seems to perform better when it has a bit a weight in it. Running costs, depend on how you drive. Goes through tyres on the front quickly (I am due my 3rd set on the front and second set on the back and I average 7000 miles a year).Had to Change the battery,(A lot of electrics on the car).Comfort,very comfortable for 5 people on a long journey. Reliability, have only had recalls when new. I have it serviced every year and so far been fine. Space and Practicality, Loads of space in the boot and when you put the seats down even more. Ideal if you do not want an estate car(Tourer).

Vauxhall Insignia | luxury on a budget

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

My Insignia Tourer is the Elite model. This means apart fron nice toys like electric hatch and driver's seat, satnav etc it has brilliant adaptive lights that turn when cornering, adding n/s fog lamp, but also speed adjust, giving a wider beam at low speed. No need for beam adaptors for foreign travel, just a simple sequence to change the light pattern - also to select kph on speedo. As a long distance cruiser it is very comfortable an naturally tows my folding camper effortlessly. Fuel consumption is regularly mid 50s . A 400 mile round trip to Scotland reeturned average speed 58 mph and mpg 56.8. Many features are programmable like folding the mirrors, auto main beam/dip, etc. Bought second hand at 12 months old and never regretted it.

Vauxhall Insignia | surprised !!

Added: 2nd of March 2014
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The insigna SRI TDCI for the cost second hand is an absolute bargain! Had the car only a short time,but so impressed with its road manners, power and it's expensive feel.
Paid only half the price of a new car for a 61 plate with 16000 miles! Never thought a vauxhall could impress me to this degree.

I achieve 45-50mpg in the real world. but for a car this size remains surprising.
I would suggest buying the SRI with 17inch wheels, for a balance between good road manners and ride comfort.
Would also recommend the font rear sensors, as rear view almost a poor as my honda civic.
Scope yourself a real bargain second hand, as the insigna seems to tick all the boxes.

Vauxhall Insignia | Areas I Dislike with Insignia

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Vauxhall Insignia is a very good car, roomy, comfortable and good value on the secondhand market. The only areas I have reservations about are:
The lack of a spare tyre and the use of an inflation/repare kit, the last time I had a tyre deflate while out driving the repair kit failed to seal the puncture and I had to wait over 1 hour for the breakdown van to tow me to a garage.
The use of electric hand breaks can also be a problem, sometimes they do not release smoothly when moving off and on two occasions the handbreak has released while parked on a bank. Luckely I parked with the wheel turned towards the curb and the car only rolled forward about 6 inches.

Vauxhall Insignia | MOTABILITY

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

THE INSIGNIA SRI CDTI 2.0 AUTOMATIC I DRIVE IS FITTED WITH PUSH/PULL HAND CONTROLS. THE INSIGNIA IS VERY RESPONSIVE IN THE STEERING AND IS ALSO QUITE QUICK ON THE THROTTLE AND EXCELLENT ON THE BRAKES. i DRIVE AT 60/66 MPH AND GET AROUND 45/49 MILES TO THE GALLON AND AROUND 42 AROUND TOWN. CRUISING ON THE MOTORWAY CAN TAKE THE CONSUMPTION UP TO LOW 50'S PER GALLON. THE CAR IS ROOMY AND LIGHT . THE ONLY DOWNSIDE IS NOT BEING ABLE TO SEE THE FRONT OF THE BONNET. THE CAR IS FITTED WITH PARKING SENSORS WHICH MAKE PARKING EXTREMELY EASY. I WILL DEFINITELY HAVE ANOTHER INSIGNIA SRI FOR MY NEXT CAR.

Vauxhall Insignia | Engine size.

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The only issue I have with my currant car is, the small engine in a quite large family car.
I do find that performance around my local area (mostly flat/rolling and on Motorways is very good and I get what I think for a Petrol car is very good fuel use, around 48 to 55 to the gallon.
However when I go to the more upland areas of the country, places like the Lake District it does find hill climbing hard so I find myself often crawling up in 2nd gear sometimes even 1st. So the Car I buy will be the same car but a larger engine, as I am very happy with the make and model of car.

Vauxhall Insignia | My Car Needs

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Use car for travel to work & Hill walking trips throughout Scotland mainly, also trips to visit family in Essex England & Dublin Eire. Costs for 2 litre diesel SRI are good with low emissions reducing road tax & diesel giving good range over petrol equivalent. Comfortable to drive, cruises motorway & handles single track roads of Scotland easily. Large boot means all hill walking gear can be easily stowed along with essentials when out in winter time. Have had no issues with mechanical failure even when outside temperature has read -18C in Ardgour on a winter hill walk

Vauxhall Insignia | My Car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1960cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought the car new over 4 years ago and it has been totally reliable since although there has been 3 or 4 recalls in that time.

It is roomy, comfortable, very well equipped, has a good boot, and has more than enough performance.

Much of my driving has been local so my average fuel consumption over the time of my ownership has only been 36 mpg which I understand is not particularly good for a diesel but I believe it is near the manufacturer's claim.

My only complaint really is that the road tax is high but that is not really a fault of the car.

Vauxhall Insignia | Insignia fan

Added: 13th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2014
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is my second Vauxhall Insignia. It is a very well equipped car with attractive body lines.
There is plenty of power under the bonnet for those occasions it is required, but not for "burning rubber".
The ride is smooth and the passenger compartment is well equipped.
To date my experience with both cars has been very good (touch wood).

My only complaint so far is the cost to update SatNav details. One can by a good SatNav with free lifetime updates for less than the factory fitted equipment.

Vauxhall Insignia | Turbo Insignia

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Purchased the vehicle as an ex demonstrator GM managers car. Excellent in all aspects as long as you are not concerned about fuel economy as it is thirsty by anyone's standard at 32mpg - 40mpg on a long run.The consumption is the greatest and only disappointment.
Really comfortable to drive and effortless overtaking capability with the turbo kicking in.
Would not want if people needed the back on a regular basis as the coupe makes their vision limited and a little claustrophobic.

Filter Vauxhall Insignia Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.