Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Vauxhall Astra Reviews

Vauxhall Astra

Welcome to the Vauxhall Astra review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Vauxhall Astra cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£13,100 - £25,300
AA Cars Average
£8,879
MPG
24.0 - 76.3
CO2 (g/km)
99 - 228
Tax Band
A - L
Noise Level
69.0 - 75.0

Vauxhall Astra | Astra 1.7 CDTi

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1700cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

medium family saloon, nothing special but comfortable reliable and long enough legs for good performance on motorway journeys. The base model has slightly odd electronics in that it has cruise control and flexible speed limiter but won't tell you MPG or range on remaining fuel - these are extra. Odd, to my mind CC is a more involved gadget that MPG. Quite nippy in the mid range of revs but runs out of go quite quickly as revs climb - typical of a diesel really. Turbo lag is barely noticeable. 6 speed box is positive and quiet. Stering is pin-sharp and precise, breaks are very responsive and the chassis while nice and stiff doesn't feel quite as rigid as the previous (2007) model - cornering feels more "wallowy" but not bad. No noticeable over-steer with good tyres. Annoying "bong bong bong" if you have the keys in the ignition (off) and the door open - does not stop after a while and I can't find a configuration option to turn it off. I like the window controls, send them to the top and turn off half way through they will keep going. Window switches are the nice "two clicks for all the way style". Lots of nice touches with te electronics... pop it in reverse with the wipers going and it will automatically give the rear a wipe without you having to tell it. Lots of configuration options when customising how the electronics work e.g. interior lights on or off when unlocking, one or two clicks to unlock the passenger doors. Generous dash pocket and well thought out centre console - plenty of space for drinks etc. Built in USB and AUX connectors for the music. Built in Bluetooth hands free is just perfect although doesn't always understand spoken commands if there is a lot of road noise or the window is open. Mirrors are excellent - The curve on the door mirrors is just perfect. As an over-taking car disappears in the mirror I can see it out of the corner of my eye. I have no blind spots for the first time!

Vauxhall Astra | Comfortable & Reliable

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1956cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Astra SE 2.0CDi Auto.
I've covered 40,000 miles in my Astra since new and it has been largely reliable and reasonably inexpensive to run. It averages 43 mpg and performance is more than adequate for my style of driving. I particularly like the automatic gearbox which is exceptionally smooth and makes the car easy to drive.

The seats and steering wheel have a wide range of adjustments making a comfortable driving position easy to find. This car has the standard suspension and wheel size setup which smooths out the rough roads well and at the same time gives a reassuring feel of security and safety on bends.

I've had a few niggles. Shortly after delivery there was a water leak into the passenger footwell from somewhere around the near side "A frame". The dealer sorted this after two visits. After 3 years and 2 months I needed a new battery ( a cell died). Vauxhall quoted a staggering £180 to replace so naturally I found a more reasonable deal on the High St. I suppose I should not have been surprised at the cost of Vauxhall parts due to a previous experience of needing an ECU and alternator on another vehicle. Both horrendously expensively priced items.

On balance though, this car has performed well and done everything I've asked of it. Right now, I see no reason to change it for another model or make.

Vauxhall Astra | Twintop

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2007
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Convertible
  • 2

Quite speedy, especially if you engage the facility which gives the ride quality a better feel.

Seating in front is quite uncomfortable, and seating in back is only slightly better, and can only accomodate two average sized people.But it is a smallish convertable.

Quite a solid car - made in germany under the Opel branding.
Like the facility of a a solid roof, which folds back quite quickly, and allows the facility of a convertable as the weather suits [ best in 2013] over the last few years!!

Completed 81000 + miles in 7 years, still have original exhaust - tyre, brake changes minimal in that time - and no major parts replacements.

Diesel fuel, with average 42 -44 mpg on daily useage / reasonable journeys, - can increase to circa 47mpg + on motorway runs.

Will be looking to change in 2014, as we are consolidating road car costs [ we have two cars] and need to reduce to one in retirement + family changes [ new babies].

Poor residual value - part exchange etc - will have to look far & wide for a good deal either from a garage or coupled in with a car purchase deal from a manufacturer.

All in all, not unhappy with this car over the last 7 years - just hope i can get a fair trade in price for a car that cost circa £20k - but i doubt it.

Vauxhall Astra | Astra SRi

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Only had the car 6 months, after leaving a company car scheme. So far very please. Would have gone for BiTurbo or Elite, but SRi had a price deal. Thought about Estate, but road tax difference persuaded me to have the hatch. Would include the DAB option next time.

Nice to drive, fuel efficient; selected options add some nice touches, essential for me.

Currently driving about 2000 miles a month and it uses half the fuel of the old one. Boot sufficient for our needs; takes everything for 2 week holiday in Europe.

It did breakdown at 12 weeks ( dead fuel injector ) but was very well dealt with by Vauxhall, who arrange a replacement vehicle in under 24hrs to take to Europe on holiday the next day - once I got hold of the right person. Local dealer, where car was AA recovered to, were useless. Instead supplying dealer were excellent and provided contact details used to get Vauxhall Warranty support. I now REFUSE to use local dealer ever again, preferring to drive the 15 miles to the supplying dealer.

Bottom line, buying and running a car is never going to be cheap and this suits our current needs very well. Still a bit nervous about the lack of spare wheel, but it seems to be the way everyone is going .....

Vauxhall Astra | Vauxhall Astra Estate

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

This is the first car I have bought as new. It's called a Sports Tourer rather than an estate which is bigging it up a bit more than it deserves. The 1600 engine is rather lacking so the car doesn't accelerate as quickly as I'd like. I'd recommend a bigger engine size unless you're happy to pootle around on the flat ! The front seats are comfortable, but I found the rear seats rather hard and unforgiving, although that's where my teenage kids sit so I'm not too bothered. However, there's plenty of leg room in the back. I'm not particularly expert in technical matters but even I was surprised there was no blue tooth, iPhone dock or mP3 port (or whatever it's called) that seems standard in most other new cars.There's plenty of room in the boot for the weekly shop, trip to the local recycling, or luggage for that holiday I'd like. Some of the choice of colours were pretty revolting so I stuck to white.The front passenger air bag can be de-activated which is useful if you want to put a baby carrier in the front - I expect that's probably a feature on most other new cars,though!

It's a sensible choice for a family car but not exciting.

Vauxhall Astra | 8v astra

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2000
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I've had this car now for 10 years and it has been the most reliable car I have ever owned. My previous car a Peugeot suffered with an astronomical amount of electrical faults so my choice of the 8 valve Astra was based on the fact it had very few electrical items on board. And I'm so glad I made this choice. It has never failed an MOT, its cheap to service and has all the performance I need.
No it doesn't have an array of electrical gizmos but that's why it's been so reliable and you can live without electric windows and mirrors and built in sat nav. Just think the next time you buy a car. What went wrong with your old one. I would bet 9 times out of 10 it was some electrical part that cost a small fortune to replace. Now days car body's don't rust like they did years ago. Engines last well over 100.000 miles but the little black box that controls everything will break some sensor that monitors fuel exhaust etc will fail and it will cost a fortune to replace.
My car is now 13 years old and a great number of newer cars have been scrapped because of an electrical fault that wasn't cost effective to fix.

Vauxhall Astra | Disappointing

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is the latest in a long line of Astra's that I have owned and driven.The immediate predecessor I had for 13 years/160,000 miles with no problems.
This latest model has one particular annoying design flaw with the indicators and their cancelling.When selected to indicate a turn the arm returns to the neutral position and it is impossible to tell from the feel of the arm whether it is in the indicating position. There have been numerous occasions after a turn where the indicator has not cancelled when expected,and where I have cancelled it manually and ended up selecting the opposite indicator because the arm has no 'feel'.
The fuel consumption is slightly worse than the previous car, I expected it to have been the same or better.
The car runs fine but the engine management light is on continuously and despite numerous attempts the garage is unable to cure this defect. This is the latest in a long line of niggles I have had with this car.
So although overall it performs as expected I am left wondering if it is going to let me down unexpectedly.

Vauxhall Astra | Vauxhall Astra 1.4 2013

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I have been used to driving bigger and more powerful cars in the past and only purchased this as I needed to economise for a few years. I have not been disappointed. Although it is a small car it feels like you are driving something much bigger. There is plenty of space in the front and enough space to fit 3 in the back. I was a bit concerned about the size of the boot initially but it has never hampered me and I have only needed to put the back seats down once due to impulsively buying a rather large tree! It drives very well and I feel totally confident and safe when driving in hazardous conditions. My only criticism would be it's difficulty in getting up big hills very fast. But this is such a minor point. This is the only time I notice that I am driving a small car. It also comes with 0% finance, unlimited warranty and you don't have to pay for road tax. It is pretty economical too as I can usually get 450 miles to a tank of petrol. I would definitely recommend this car.

Vauxhall Astra | I love my automatic

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

My automatic makes the whole driving experience relaxing and effortless. On the continent it has served me well on thousands miles of autoroutes and it cruises along their beautifully surfaced roads with minimum stress and noise. Why aren't all cars made this way?
It makes city traffic and congested routes less of a problem because of the lack of gear change. Also steep inclines and descents, in the Alps and Pyrenees for instance, are a breeze. Meeting obstructions requiring quick reactions are no problem; there's no risk of stalling. I wish they would do some research and development into making automatics a little more economical on fuel, in order to maximise the benefits, but service costs have always been very reasonable.

Incidentally, I've always wondered - what is it about French tarmac (or whatever their road surfaces are made of) that makes it such a pleasure to drive in France? Couldn't our civil engineers investigate?

Vauxhall Astra | Astra 1.6 Auto

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

My Astra is automatic which makes it very expensive to use in towns and cities, I get about 28 miles to the gallon around town. On longer runs using motorways however, it does about 38 miles to the gallon which, considering it's age, isn't bad, (my car is 13 years old this year).

The car is comfortable to drive and I have driven it all over the south of England and not felt uncomfortable or tired.

As I am a bit of a DIY'er I have used the fact that you can fold the rear seats down to fit things in on many occasions. I can fit timber of up to 2.4 metres in length in the car with no problem.

When my car is in full working order it has good acceleration and stops quickly. Unfortunately, at the moment there is a problem with it, stalling at idle, a half a second delay when you put your foot on the accelerator and rough running, still I suppose that you have to expect problems with a car that is 13 years old.

Vauxhall Astra | Astra 1.8 Design Estate

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1796cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

This car has sufficient space for a family and their luggage. Seating is comfortable for 4 but barely adequate for 5.
The engine provides sufficient power to move swiftly away from standstill and allows 70mph cruising at below 3000rpm. Sound damping does not work well against road noise. The automatic transmission gives smooth gear changes but has only 4 forward gears, making for high extra-urban fuel consumption; around 34mpg. Emissions are quite high at 186g/km, making the car expensive to tax; 12 months excise duty from June 2013 cost £260.00.
Instruments and controls are mostly clear and efficient. however, the air conditioning settings are impossible to read when sitting in the driver's seat and the indicator stalk may fully engage the indicators or, rather pointlessly, give only three pulses and disengage. This demands extra vigilance. I regard it as a hazard.

Vauxhall Astra | Vauxhall Astra ST TDCI

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1700cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Since buying the car, I have enjoyed driving the car and in every aspect I find it is up to my expectations. I would like to see a little more acknowledgement to modern gadgetry by the provision of USB power points front and rear in the car. (Sat Nav/hands free etc (front) games DVD's (rear). The one great failure however (as with many new cars nowadays is NO SPARE WHEEL. Where are you going to obtain a replacement for your shredded tyre on a motorway??? It is no use having filler compound for a tyre that looks like a tramp's underpants!
The economy and practical capability of the car is superb and the total package provided by Vauxhall from Demo to delivery and aftersales is excellent.
Oh, just one thing I don't like, the "Hill-start" assist handbrake, I don't need it and it distracts me when it "releases" after I've applied the handbrake. GRRRR!

Vauxhall Astra | Vauxhall Astra 2012 1.7 CDTi

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2012
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Generally good - performance good apart from engine cutting out when braking. Comfort good for short journeys, reasonable for longer journeys. Space is adequate for my needs (pensioner and seldom have more than one passenger - not so good when family visit. Boot space a little restricted - will not accept a set of golf clubs without folding down one of the rear seat backs. Currently in £30 pa. road fund licence - maintenance cost reasonable to date. Fuel economy a bit disappointing at ave. 50 mpg - seldom use car for short trips i.e. around the town - most journeys are between 50 - 250 miles. Forward visibility is partly restricted especially in the region of the wing mirrors - requires considerable care when parking. Lack of automatic dipping rear view mirror is a bit of a nuisance especially after haveing them on my past three vehicle.

Vauxhall Astra | Astra forever!

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I am now on my fourth Astra. I am especially impressed with the road-holding and find them very easy to drive.

My previous one was a 1600 Estate with automatic transmission. I needed a large car for my 3 dogs and chose an automatic because I had been living for several years on a small Caribbean island and didn't fancy my chances of coping with the busy, fast, urban British roads and using a gear stick at the same time - a wise choice!

When my large old dog died 2 years ago I downsized to a Hatchback with manual transmission and the improvement in my
petrol consumption was dramatic. The rear screen wiper is also much easier to switch off than in earlier versions.

In between my Astras I have had a couple of Ford Escorts but didn't really like either of them, whereas I love my Astra - not quite as much as I love my dogs, but nearly!

Vauxhall Astra | Old Astra review

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1993
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I had this at 3 years old, following theft/vandalism on my Astra Estate. I was concerned that it would not be large enough as at the time we carried large loads and people. In fact, with careful packing it was brilliant. The wide inside space in the boot helps a lot.
It took a while to get used to the 5th gear, and we had to be careful opening the large doors.
The worst thing about it is the quality of the plastic inside fittings, which regularly drop off.
We were always keen on Astra models and this one is good. Of course it is now old-fashioned and does not even have power steering, but this is the only thing I would wish for. Compared to modern models, there is not a lot under the bonnet, but the simplicity means there are no huge repair bills (so far!)
Will be looking at the modern Astras soon.

Vauxhall Astra | Warnings

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Although I am reasonably satisfied with the car, I have had problems with the "Service Soon" warning light coming on for no apparent reason. The 1ST time was after a service and I presumed they had failed to reset the reminder, this was done and seemed ok. A few months later it started flashing on again. I took it back in, they said they had plugged in the computer but could find no fault, so had reset the warning and gave the car back. The light flashed on again the next day, and about 5 times in the next few weeks. I took it in again and this time they say, the computer had reported overheating.This was traced to a faulty sensor, and has now been replaced. Hopefully the car will now be ok, but I can't help wondering why the fault was not picked when I took it in at first.

Vauxhall Astra | Astra 1.6 Exclusiv

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I really like this car. It is the first of this model I have and it is far superior in most ways to the previous three Astras I have had.

In general, I drive around 9000 miles a year, and to date. since I purchased the car new in 2010, I have covered 30022 miles on 3876.78 litres of normal 4* petrol with an overall mpg of 35.20

I am happy with this,as, when added to my Insurance and servicing costs I feel that I am getting good value.

I have had mainly Vauxhall cars in my 41 years of car ownership and am delighted with my current one for its comfort, handling and style.

There have been three recalls over its life, as far as I remember, all of which were minor and completed by the dealership generally when the car went in for its annual service.

Vauxhall Astra | Astra J 1.4T SE model

Added: 3rd of February 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Mostly used by single driver for 70 mile round trip commute - mix of motorway and B roads.

1.4 engine surprisingly quick with turbo. Need to use revs to get the best which knocks the mpg down a lot - nowhere near the advertised figures.

Poor front quarter side view due to the A pillars - they obscure a lot of road when going through sweeping bends or roundabouts.

Very good driving position and extremely quiet at motorway speeds due to 6th gear.

Good instrumentation but be aware only the very top of the range has all the bells and whistles, although mine has the buttons and steering wheel controls for hands free via bluetooth its a non fitted optional extra and quite expensive as an after market fitment.

Vauxhall Astra | Vauxhall Astra

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Overall, this is a good, reliable vehicle which I have kept longer than any other car in the past (now done 60,000 miles). It has never broken down (touch wood!) and has passed all MOTs without too much needing done. Only problems have been with the rear screen washer which had to be replaced, and the air con which needed re-charged every Spring until this year when it gave out one week after being re-charged so I concluded that there was probably a leak in the system. Having read on the Internet that such leaks are difficult to trace, and therefore expensive for a garage to undertake, I elected to live without the facility and just drive with the windows open on the few hot days we get in this country!

Vauxhall Astra | Same again?

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I think not. Previous to this car, I had three Carltons (all 2000 cc) and a 1.8 Astra. All secondhand. As I had been happy with all these 4 vauxhalls, I decided to buy, new, my current 1,4 Astra Active. I think the performance is not what I had been used to - smaller engine - especially carrying passengers and/or luggage. Three of the four passenger doors and the high level brake light on the tailgate have let water in at various times. All have been fixed by the main agent, except for the driver's door which still lets water after three or four attempts to prevent this happening.
Cheap to run and reliable. My wife finds it slightly uncomfortable to get in and out as she says it is too low.

Filter Vauxhall Astra Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.