Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Vauxhall Antara Reviews

Vauxhall Antara

Welcome to the Vauxhall Antara review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Vauxhall Antara cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£19,535 - £28,550
AA Cars Average
£10,144
MPG
24.4 - 44.8
CO2 (g/km)
167 - 278
Tax Band
H - M
Noise Level
70.6 - 74.0

Vauxhall Antara | Vauxhall Antara

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Not the vehicle I would have chosen had everything else been equal.In fact, it was more by accident than design that I actually went to look at one. I knew its performance was mediocre and its running costs somewhat higher than other similar vehicles - the very reasons why I had no intention of buying one. BUT I have found it very comfortable, easy to drive, it meets my requirements in terms of load space, etc and , to date, it has been utterly reliable. Nor does it feel as claustrophobic as some similar vehicles with their very narrow side and rear windows - perhaps I should point out, however that I have been used to driving HGVs with their very deep windows.It is also well equipped, although I would consider no spare wheel a shortcoming together with the fact that it cannot be locked into four wheel drive - makes a difference setting off on very slippery gradients. I would also consider the warranty top class. The deciding factor, however, was the overall financial package which more than compensated for the higher running costs!!

Vauxhall Antara | SATISFACTORY

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

A comfortable quiet diesel 4x4 with many extras, bought as an ex-demonstrator. Perfect for eating up the miles on long journeys and most practical in this part of Scotland with winter tyres when snow's on the ground. The only downside here though, is the surprisingly low "spoiler" under the front bumper. Turns the vehicle into a bit of a "snow plough" and catches you out on some high curbs. Presumably, it is meant to aid some kind of aero-dynamic stability.
Equally, in the summer the climate control and tinted windows make it a pleasure on the rare HOT days we may enjoy.
Due to the high wheelbase and 19 inch tyres, the view all round is very good although as usually there is a blind spot caused by extra wire windscreen pillars.
On the downside, there is NO spare wheel and instead one is presented with a dual purpose compressor. This sports a change-over lever, between compressed air only (tyre inflation) and a puncture blocking liquid in a reservoir, pumped into the tyre in the same way as the inflating air.

Vauxhall Antara | Vauxhall Antara

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2016
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Originally bought for it's lower purchase price and caravan pulling power it seemed a perfect choice.
The cars performs well with good handling and reasonable turn of speed. The rode is very comfortable for both driver and passengers' making long journeys easy.
The main bad points are the fuel economy and the parking brake. When driving on a mix of open roads and in a city the MPG is a little over 30. On the motorway whilst keeping to the limit you can get 40 mpg and when stuck at 50 mph you can get 47 mpg. Maybe these figures are not so bad but the urban fuel efficiency is painful.
The parking brake - what a bad idea. When it fails it really does fail and is very scary. It is a bad reflection on the main dealer that they didn't see that it was important to fix the car as soon as possible. Pulling off on a hill with a defective parking break is almost impossible.

Give me a manual handbrake any day especially one I can fi myself.

Vauxhall Antara | Antara

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1994cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Fantastic all round car. Practical size - plenty of power to both tow large caravan and provide a thrill when driving solo. Great auto transmission with an fuel saving econ mode. Good off-road too - automatic 4x4 and hill descent when needed. Good sat nav system though position of screen is too low for quick reference. Good driving position - higher than saloons. Lots of other automatically adjusted things such as rain sensitive wipers, dipping mirrors and self levelling suspension.
Only real criticism - mirrors are not heated for quick removal of condensation and ice.
Note - engine is 2.2lt

Vauxhall Antara | thirsty

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

doesnt get anywhere near quoted mpg running local anything from 18 -22 mpg long steady run at very best 33 -35 mpg . wont go into 5th less than 40mph even selecting manually going downhill with no load and sixth gear 60mph . this is obviously a big factor in the very poor economy .. i have spoken to several other owners they have the same problems . love the car otherwise

Vauxhall Antara | Antara

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

I was one of the first in the UK with this car. It's a Great economical versatile car. I have travelled all over Europe long distances to Vienna Croatia The alps in the car without any problems. It's a great vehicle in all weather conditions, rain, snow and ice. No major costs after 5 tears will definitely look to replace with the same.

Vauxhall Antara | economy

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

very poor fuel economy . nowhere near the figures given by Vauxhall . local driving 22/4 mpg .steady run 33/4 mpg . 30/40 mile motorway trip 30mpg. love the car in every aspect but the fuel economy really lets it down . I have spoken to several other owners and all say the same

Vauxhall Antara | Vauxhall Antara

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

4x4 antara 13 plate 7 months old 17000 miles of trouble free motoring very happy with car.

Vauxhall Antara | Vauxhall Antara

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2013
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Not very economical. Performance not very good. Quite comfortable.

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.