Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Toyota Yaris Reviews

Toyota Yaris

Welcome to the Toyota Yaris review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Toyota Yaris cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£10,700 - £17,300
AA Cars Average
£7,619
MPG
39.2 - 80.7
CO2 (g/km)
79 - 170
Tax Band
A - H
Noise Level
67.0 - 74.0

Toyota Yaris | Tardis on wheels

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 1300cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

My Yaris is quite amazing, a modest, small, unassuming car that only really stands out from the crowd because it is pillar box red.
But, open the door and the suprises begin. It is spacious, I am over 6' tall and it is perfectly roomy for me with good leg room and headroom. Most often I drive alone but sometimes have one or two passengers and there is plenty of room for all of us; it might start to get cramped with three or four passengers even if the back seat does have belts for three. The back seat can be moved forward to make the boot bigger and of course it will fold down in various combinations to swallow up luggage.
Turn the key, the engine starts instantly and runs very quietly even when cold. The automatic gearbox is smooth. I drive an automatic through choice, driving a manual car around London can be very tiring. Around London the car is economical and performs well, pulls away smartly when needed and being small can be manoevered through some very small gaps. When I get away from London and onto clear motorways it continues to perform well, accelerates hard when called on to do so and still returns good fuel economy; if I drive with a light right foot I can get as much as 55mpg.
I realise a newer car might be even more economical, greener, have more clever gadgets but I think I'll hang on to my Yaris for another couple of years, I really am very happy with it.

Toyota Yaris | Toyota Yaris

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Very good value for money for some one on a budget, economic to run and relatively low service costs. It has been totally reliable. The flexibility of the space inside is really great. The folding seats turn it into a mini estate quickly and effortlessly. The height inside allows for additional useful space when moving or transporting larger things - you can get a bicycle in the back, with the front wheel turned at right angles with no effort. I also love the high seating position, good viewing angle when driving and excellent when transorting elderly passengers. Easier for them to get in and out of the car with the raised height.

It isn't the most glamorous car I have owned but it is fun to drive, economic and has given me stress free motoring for thirteen years - I'm on my second Yaris!

I have only two criticisms. Reversing can be a pain as the shape of the car does not allow a good and precise view of the rear end. The boot is a bit small if transporting people and suitcases, but I think the next model has improved on this.

Will definitely consider replacing this Yaris with another when the time comes.

Toyota Yaris | Excellent Small Car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1300cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I had this car 2nd hand in 2007. Mileage was low and running costs have not changed since I bought it. Except for Road Tax and petrol charges. I have had it serviced regularly by the same garage and they, and the car, have never let me down.
I have used the car for work, which takes me around the country, voluntary work with older people and as the back seats fold it's used as a carrier for logs, bags of peat and numerous plants and flowers and it copes well. Good suspension.
I have found the car extremely reliable and have never had to take it into the garage between services.Performance is sharp and powerful enough to accelerate you out of the odd tricky moment but will cruise effortlessly in and out of traffic. Parking is a doddle. Even reverse parking.
The only problem I have found is with the fabric seats, they do attract fluff and lots of bits stick to it. The seats are a little higher than other cars I've owned which makes getting in and out easier for older people. So I'm told! But overall it's a very comfortable drive and when I buy again I will definitely go for the same car, but will be sad to see this go.

Toyota Yaris | Little tardis

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I chose a Yaris due to its really clever design and use of space, the split back seats fold completely flat and there are two flaps in the boot that also fold over so there are no gaps in the load space. It was the only little hatch I could fit my large dog cage into in such a way that the cage door could fully open allowing my two dogs to easily jump up and straight into it from the floor whilst STILL being able to use the smaller of the split rear seats! I also packed in a huge amount of car boot stuff into it. Now I only have one dog (but two toddler nieces) I can just about fit the smaller dog cage sideways in the back with both seats up and two toddler seats in. There is lots of storage in the glove box etc and a cunning little slide out shelf under the passenger seat. It is so easy to park. Seats four big people comfily, altho leg room a bit cramped if the front seats have to go right back. It is nippy and also no trouble to drive at top motorway speeds for long runs.

Toyota Yaris | the little flyer

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1999
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I fell in love with the yaris when they first came out, mine was my lease car for my job as a community nurse, it filled all my expectations, after three years I bought it as I knew i would be retiring within the next two years, it has been serviced every year by my garage that used to be a main dealer for toyota, it has sailed through every MOT needing nothing more than bulbs, wiper blades, brakes, nothing serious. It has had one battery, one exhaust,one windscreen, I'm sure I might have missed a couple of things but I think that little car has cost me very little in 14 years. I keep saying to the head mechanic it is time to change it but he says why, I know my car I've had it from new, so I continue to drive it and I'm very happy with it and if I bought a second hand one it might be younger but would it be as reliable as the one I've got, I'm not prepared to risk it unless it starts costing a lot of money. I love my little car.

Toyota Yaris | Bought for comfort

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2010
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought this car as the seat was more comfortable than other cars, which have very low seats where your knees end up above your seat. But I have regretted it. I drove a VW Polo and it was nippy and engaging to drive. This car is sluggish. It has a problem with 2nd gear which comes and goes, and usually comes when you need a bit of power to overtake, or when you are slowing down for a junction and it will jump out and not engage, which is very annoying. Also the visibility is limited by the thick bars at the sides of the windows, and the bonnet just disappears so that you can't see the whole car from the drivers seat, which makes it hard to manoevre into tight spaces.

I would like to change it for a more boxy shaped car which has better visibility, a more upright seat which would suit someone with backache, and a decent gear box.

Toyota Yaris | Great little car

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2004
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Fantastic value for money. Only £30 tax per year, very economical and is highly reliable. I have a very basic model so no electrical mod-cons (not even electric windows)...but that also means less opportunity for things to malfunction! It has never broken down on me. Only down side is cost of parts needed for wear and tear maintenance - these tend to be quite costly, but I know they will last and be reliable so it's worth it. One more point to consider is its size - perfect for me only being 5'5 tall....my husband who is 6 foot tall finds it uncomfortable as a passenger and to drive for long journeys because it is small. Back seats completely flatten down creating a deceptively large boot space when needed. I love my Yaris and will definitely be trading it in for another when the time comes!

Toyota Yaris | Toyota Yaris Stop/Start System

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
1/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2009
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought the car new and I am still having trouble with the Stop/Start system. This system causes the engine to stop when the car is stationary and out of gear. However, when you want the engine to start again you have to fully depress the clutch. This sometimes means that the engine stalls because the clutch is not fully depressed. When you have the radio on and the windscreen wipers working then the engine stops when the car comes to a stop but the engine may almost immediately re-start because the battery is required for the radio & wipers. I have been driving for over 35 years and have never had any clutch problems but have recently had to have a new clutch after only 4 years. I am unable to turn the stop/start system off and will not be purchasing any other car which has this system.

Toyota Yaris | Toyota Yaris

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2007
  • 1300cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought this car a year ago, second hand. Despite its age, it only had 27,000 miles on the clock and now has done just over 35,000 miles.

It does not have much power but is well designed, holds the road well and is light and affordable to run. The car is useful in town but also relatively comfortable on the long road.

The downside, apart from lack of power is that it does not have much packing space, so it's not an ideal family or holiday car, but it serves us well and it is a reliable little car. I can get up to 55 mpg on the open road and more than 40 mpg in town. If I had to upgrade it would probably be to a crossover (for the additional room and safety)but any new car would have to match or beat the Yaris on fuel economy.

Toyota Yaris | Good little work horse

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I've had this car for 8 years. I bought it second hand as my eldest boy was about to start learning to drive. Hence the small engine so once he and later his younger brother had passed their driving tests they wouldn't be able to go very fast! It's boot takes a lot of stuff (with the back seats up or down) - two adult road bikes, builders bags full of garden rubbish for the tip, eldest son plus two pals (all very tall) and camping kit for going to Rock Ness festival. I would probably go for another when replacing. It is mainly used for short journeys with the occasional longer journey about once a month.

Mine is a 5 gear manual, although it does sound like it's missing a gear when driving on the motorway only negative comment.

Toyota Yaris | Ideal small car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Since my first yaris, the design has improved slightly each time. They have all been particularly reliable.
To illustrate this, my son has my previous one, and a close friend bought the one I had before that, and all three have so far been trouble free. I don't know what happened to the previous two.
They are roomy enough for a tall person, and adjust well for a short one. They are easy to drive and park. The boot adjusts for a large package. Bodywork endures well.
I bought my original one because I needed a car to get elderly ladies into and out of easily. sadly, the old ladies are no longer with us, but I have found no reason to change car type - although I did try out several alternatives before buying my current one.

Toyota Yaris | Toyota Reliability

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1364cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is the second Toyota Yaris I have had. Both cars stylish, reliable, economical & comfortable. like the five door one more for ease of putting items in the back.

It does all I want and is easy to park. Comfort in the back seats may be a little less than expected but I have had no complaints from passengers. Would prefer a further 'separator' in the boot, like I had in my earlier model as it allowed one to hide items bought & was good use of the space - a minor gripe really.

It is quiet & smooth running in all road & weather conditions. Very economical to run & always amazes me with its fuel economy.

If I had to buy a car this is the one for me. It does all I want & I am very happy with it.

Toyota Yaris | Toyota Yaris

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
1/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
1/5
  • 2013
  • 1330cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

The design is behind the times, the display is antiquated and the digital display is so small it is difficult to read. There is excessive wind noise. Forward vision is restricted by the excessively wide supports at the side of the windscreen . The display is only illuminated when the side/headlights are on, making it difficult to read the display, particularly the fuel level display. The glove box is too small and falls open too readily. The audio warning associated with leaving the side lights on when exiting the car is practically inaudible, as is the audio warning associated with the indicators. As you can see I am extremely dissatisfied with this vehicle, and I have only had it a few weeks.

Toyota Yaris | Large enough for my family

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1329cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Having just purchase a 5 door hatchback Toyota Yaris, I can only say how pleased I am with it. My children are aged 5 and 8 and there is ample room in the back seats for them (there is also a third lap seatbelt in the rear for an additional passenger albeit they would have to be of a slight build to use it because each child has his/her own booster car seat). Safety features like having to have the clutch pedal depressed before the car will start are well thought out. The rear camera that comes on automatically when reverse gear is engaged is a great feature. The car comes with Anti Skid Control as a standard. the driving position is comfortable with a variable height seat, etc.

Toyota Yaris | bye bye toyota

Added: 4th of July 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2011
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

This was my third Yaris after having an excellent experience with them for the past 13 years. I should have listened to the "alarm bells" when I realised the salesman was making misleading statements, but after 2 outstanding cars I went ahead and made a purchase.
6 months later after returning from a week holiday I discovered a flat battery. This fault recurred every time the car is left for a few days after taking the car in to investigate 3 times. Toyota tell my its my fault as I only drive about 8000 miles/ year and the car is not faulty. Ive recently sold it after only 2 and a half years. Im afraid I consider it not fit for purpose. So Bye Bye Toyota

Toyota Yaris | Stop Start on Yaris

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I find the Stop Start feature very useful if ou are doing motorway driving and you find yourself in standing and slow moving traffic. However, for normal driving there is the possibility of stalling when moving off after being stationary due to you having to fully depress the clutch before starting. Another problem is that if you stop whilst driving with windscreen wipers working and the radio on then the engine stops and then almost immediately starts up again due to the battery giving power to wipers and radio. (That's the explanation given by the Toyota dealer).
It would have been better with basic sensors fitted front and rear to assist parking.

Toyota Yaris | Reliable Car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Like other Toyota`s I have owned this car is very reliable and I have had no mechanical or electrical problems with it.
I have a few minor niggles though. The main one is the on board trafficator indication which is neither loud enough or large enough to capture your attention when travelling at speed. Therefore one can travel many miles with it still on after changing lanes on a motorway for instance.
I prefer to see the instrument cluster behind the wheel but on my particular model of the Yaris they are mounted in a central position at the top of the dashboard. Apart from these I am happy with the cars performance and running costs.

Toyota Yaris | car in top ten reliable makes/model

Added: 16th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The toyota yaris/verso has a high place on recommendations from motoring sources such as the AA. This is one of the reasons we bought this model. The shape and size of bodywork with the ability to remove seats easily and quickly to make car more versitile in order to carry bulky items such as furnishings/rubbish removal. The car is also vesitile to put our family dog in back area with the gran kids seated comfortably. The engine size not the greatest but more economical to run. i would rate this in a 7 out of 10 for positive use and recommend to friends or those who wish to know.

Toyota Yaris | Yaris

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1296cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Now on my 80s, most of my driving is local runs only, but I drive longer distances when on holiday in the UK. I have owned this car for four years. It has never let me down, is comfortable to drive and reasonably economical to run. I particularly enjoy driving in the semi-automatic mode whereby I control changing up with a simple flick of the selector lever, but changing down is automatic (although it can also be done manually) as the car slows and stops. I shall run it for a few years yet until it becomes uneconomic to continue or I get too infirm to drive!

Toyota Yaris | Very reliable car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Runs well and is very comfortable for a small hatchback. Rather noisy on motorways and does feel the uneven roads, however it has good power for a small car. As it is top of the range it does have extras ie fitted satnav with Bluetooth and reversing camera. The only let down is the lack of storage space in the interior; only the glove compartment with no other compartment for coins, CDs, or other personal items that need to be kept out of sight. The boot has ample space and easily holds a set of golf clubs or two or three suitcases.

Filter Toyota Yaris Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.