Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Toyota RAV4 Reviews

Toyota RAV4

Welcome to the Toyota RAV4 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Toyota RAV4 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£22,595 - £29,305
AA Cars Average
£13,390
MPG
30.4 - 48.7
CO2 (g/km)
154 - 224
Tax Band
G - K
Noise Level
68.4 - 74.0

Toyota RAV4 | Using a RAV4 2.2 cat

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2251cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

The car was bought for towing a 1.3 tonne caravan and for its automatic transmission mode. It performs extremely well when towing no vices at all it has been used on trips to the North of Scotland to the South of England. The current mileage after 2 years is 19000 it has had 1 service. My only concerns about the vehicle are its fuel consumption which ranges from 23 when towing with a kayak on the roof to 37 solo and the difficulty /cost of keeping the satnav updated which can only be done at the main dealer. The cost of updating is a one off purchase of a dongle at £160 the updates are then free at the time of servicing. Service costs are very reasonable when compared with e.g. Hondas CRV which we previously owned. The driving position suits both myself at 6ft and my wife at 5ft 2in due to the range of movement of the drivers seat. The centre rear seatbelt is a little difficult to operate when seated and it needs setting up before the passenger is seated. Oil consumption has been negligible even when towing around Scotland which on all other cars I have used has been very noticeable over the same or similar routes. I have had no problems with the vehicle and have not needed to use the warranty at all.

Toyota RAV4 | No other car is as practical or great for dogs to jump into

Added: 29th of March 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have had my car from new it has now done over 130,000. Miles. It has never let me down, it still has the same exhaust system.
Like the previous reviewer I am struggling to find something as practical, low for my dog to jump into and just fabulous amounts of space but not a massive car. I can wheel in two adult bikes if I take out the back seats, which is easy to do.
I have now been looking to replace my car for a couple of years, why on earth does every other crossover get bigger and higher all the time but essentially not really give you any more space??? or with things like the Nissan duke have tiny boots, and very high entrances to them?
I would dearly love the same model just updated with Bluetooth and everything else a new car has to offer.
I will be heartbroken to say goodbye to this car, but with ageing parents long distances away I need to know that my car is gonna always be ok. At 14 years old I think something has to go at some point. The new Vitara is probably the nearest thing in size (not too big) but offers a much less flexible space inside. At least they offer a fab colour though!,

Toyota RAV4 | Toyota RAV-4 (older 3 door model)

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1999
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 3

A very well thought out vehicle indeed.
Very good in town due to it's small size and exceptionally small turning circle. Good visability. Very flexible for load carrying. Also tows a 6' x 4' Ifor Williams braked trailer really really well. Been all over the UK plus France without any worries! Excellent in inclement weather especially ice/snow with the correct tyres. Why have a 4x4 and not have mud and snow tyres with some attitude?
Being totally truthful it is the best car I have ever owned and I intend to keep it until something really major means that I just have to change it... But it will be a sad day!
Slight downside is the road tax due to it's engine size and the fuel consumption if/when you put your foot down hard for long periods on trips, however these minor problems are easily totally offset by all the advantages that the older RAV-4 3-door models have to offer!

Toyota RAV4 | RAV4 practicality (2008 XTR)

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

'And you traded in a specialist BMW for this'!! Said by a work colleague on first seeing my RAV4. It was the cheap looking plastic dashboard that sealed it for him - but for me my choice was a matter of changing lifestyle and practicality in the shape of a tiny chocolate Labrador, sure to grow very large indeed. So first additional bit of kit was a decent dog guard. I immediately started warming to the car - it's space; surprising torque; fuel economy (BMW=22; RAV=50miles per gallon and on a long steady run up to 60); versatility for carrying people in comfort on long journeys or fairly large objects; even the plastic and materials which are easy clean and, while I am careful, no need to fuss over the odd dirty mark. So on a scale of 0-10 I have always rated it 10 - it's what a car does for you that counts...

Toyota RAV4 | Toyota RAV4 Invincible 2015 drivers seat is very uncomfortable!

Added: 4th of May 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
1/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2015
  • 1986cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Last week I bought a brand new RAV4 Invincible. I used it for 2 days but now I cant drive it anymore as I am too uncomfortable in the drivers seat. The problem seems to be the high bolstered sides of the sitting area and they are particularly high on this model. It is a sports seat shape and unless you are thin your hips gets wedged in between the sides and you sit awkwardly. My back, hips and coccyx get very sore and the sides of my legs go numb. I must stress that although I am not skinny I am not fat either at a 16-18 size. So beware when thinking about buying this model of the RAV4 .I'm expecting to loose money on this car as the garage have said they cant just take it back. The car is lovely otherwise, but comfort is everything so I really wish I had never bought it.

Toyota RAV4 | Toyota Rav 4

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

It's carrying capacity is poor as we feel it necessary to carry a spare wheel as we have had two blow outs which meant AA call out and relay home. The car could not be towed as the blow outs were both back tyres. Personally as I drive small mileage much of the time-approx 5000 a year- a diesel is not the best option, with hindsight a petrol vehicle would have been a better choice especially as after all the hype from the government about using diesel as it was less polluting they raised the price per litre and it has never been cheaper than unleaded petrol for several years. No incentive to use diesel, also in my opinion the performance of the vehicle is less than perfect using diesel fuel.

Toyota RAV4 | My RAV4

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1995
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 3

I love my rav4. It is very comfortable to sit in, and is nice and high so i dont have to pull myself up to get out.i feel safer being higher than the average car when i am driving. I can alter the seat and steering wheel. The headlights are good and clear.The only down sides are the runner costs in fuel. It is a 2 litre so uses quite a bit of petrol, and being a 3 door, hasnt got a lot of luggage space in the boot. But the good points outweigh the bad. I find it very reliable, starts every time whatever the weather, and even after its not been used for a while. The last 2 MOTs have been perfect even though it is nearly 20 years old. I would recomend it to everyone.

Toyota RAV4 | I wish this model was still available

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 3

Having owned my 2-wheel drive Toyota Rav 4 for 12 years (it was bought nearly new, being an ex-demo vehicle)I simply can't fault it. At 138,000 miles, it is still giving good fuel consumption, is on its original exhaust system and has never failed an MOT. Performance is not its strong point, but that's not why I bought it. For a short car, it's got masses of space, as, by removing the rear seats, which is really easy to do, you are effectively left with a small van. I have transported an armchair in it with ease. When the time comes to replace it, I really don't know what vehicle could meet my needs as perfectly as this has.

Toyota RAV4 | Towing

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

We bought an automatic Rav4 because of pain in my husbands knee when he tows our caravan. Expensive but a good choice.
It tows very well, powerful and stable.
It is also a great car about town, spacious and comfortable. Very good for the weekly shop. I soon got used to an automatic and love the roomy glove boxes and central storage box.
We live on a steep hill and in snow we can get out when others are stuck. Many 4x4s are too large and the parking sensors are a big help. It's well designed, for women as well as men.
It's never let us down.
Only snag, cost of fuel and maintenance.

Toyota RAV4 | My Rav4

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 2231cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

One of the reasons for purchasing this vehicle was that I use a touring caravan. I find it an excellent tow vehicle and am delighted with the economy and performance when towing - it does about 30 MPG when towing, which is a better figure than my last car, which was petrol driven and did not return that figure when not towing. My Rav4 is very reliable, very comfortable, very manoeuvrable, and a pleasure to drive, with or without a caravan. The service interval, 10,000 miles, means I need to get it serviced only once a year.

Toyota RAV4 | Toyota Rav4

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 4

My Toyota Rav4 is very comfortable with good back and neck support, easy to get in and out of because of the hight of the car. Good boot size which can be extended by putting the back seats down. Smooth and quiet drive. Robust body making me feel safer in an accident. Able to adjust seats, wing mirrors, steering wheel etc making it more comfortable to drive.

The negative aspects are that it consumes too much petrol and my newer model has no spare tyre and no space to put one,just a repair kit which is a bit disconcerting.

Toyota RAV4 | They should make more of these

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1998cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 3

It is a fantastic car and one of the few small 4 x 4 types. It is brilliant in snow and ice, on hills and rough roads. It is very easy to fold down the rear seats or take them out completely, which is good because there is otherwise not much luggage space. According to the V5C, it is a 5-seater, but this model is a 4-seater with 4 seat belts. I shall be very unhappy when the car finally fails to pass its MoT because there is no other car currently available that I would regard as a reasonable replacement.

Toyota RAV4 | 2004 Rav4

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 3

Drinks too much petrol on short journeys. Cost of tyres and parts very expensive.

Like the fact you have a higher driving position than a saloon car.
Like having better grip / traction with 4 wheel drive.

Hot exhuast is too close to rear of car when unloading from back door (particularly in summer with bare legs).

Roof design allows water to drip into rear of car when wet and opening rear door.

Like the fact it has a foot rest to the left of driving pedals (very helpful for short drivers).

Toyota RAV4 | Toyota Rav4 Invincible.

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

When considering this car, take time to look at the reviews in countries where drivers travel long distances, such as Australia and USA. The reviewers there have a much better feel of why buyers would choose a Toyota Rav4 when spending their own money.
Too many cars in the UK are paid for by employers, which is why there is so much brand snobbery.
So far, I am pleased with my Rav4, despite the fact that it has not received a single admiring glance!
Discreet but hopefully reliable.

Toyota RAV4 | Toyota RAV4

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Possibly the best vehicle i've owned, last car was a Mercedes that had inferior build quality, such as mild steel brake pipes, Toyota has plastic coated pipes.
Toyota produce basic engineering to give dependable reliability.
the engine has one of the fastest acceleration I have experienced.
on the down side the comfort is Spartan, that it, everything else is built for the job in hand.
My RAV4 is a two wheel drive version returning 41 mpg.

Toyota RAV4 | Has everything I need in a car.

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

This is my second RAV4 and is of significantly better specced than the first one.
The Automatic Transmission is good and the addition of a "Sport" button gives you extra power when you need it. The ability to use the manual flippers gives you the extra control needed in icy and snowy conditions. The leather seats are extremely comfortable and the all round vision is good. In summary a relaxing car to drive in all conditions.

Toyota RAV4 | Great progress

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This is a replacement for my old 3.5 year old Rav4 auto. The old averaged 29mpg. This does 40 around town and 60 mpg on motorway @ 70. It is extremely comfortable with stacks of space, no wind noise at any speed. It is very easy to drive with my wife having no problems driving it and it is very responsive to steering and throttle.

It is so good I will have another in 3 years time.

Toyota RAV4 | great vehicle

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

if this is the type of car that suits your needs then I would highly recommend it, its spacious, loads of power if required, I get 42 mpg driving at max speeds plus on the motorway. loads of extras included all-round a great drive that if I can afford it I will renew in time. my wife has an older short wheel version that was reg in 95 its done 200000 miles and never lets her down.

Toyota RAV4 | 3-door RAV-4

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1999
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 3

Quite simply it is the best car that I have ever owned.
It is great around town as it is very short and easy to park.
The different options that the seats offer make it very flex1ble for load carrying and it tows a 6' x 4' 1.25t Ifor Williams trailer effortlessly!
I shall be very sorry indeed when it finally has to be retired but at the moment it is still in top form...

Toyota RAV4 | Toyota Rav4 XT5

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I've had this car for almost 3 years. It had 31,000 miles and 2 previous owners and was in mint condition.
It now has approaching 71,000 miles and regularly give 45+mpg.
In 30 years of driving and owning cars, it is the most satisfying to drive, certainly over my last 4 vehicles. thi s is primarily based on comfort, and inherent feeling of safety/security/reliability.

Filter Toyota RAV4 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.