Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Toyota MR2 Reviews

Useful links:  17 Used Toyota MR2 in stock
Toyota MR2

Welcome to the Toyota MR2 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Toyota MR2 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£2,290
MPG
38.2
CO2 (g/km)
178
Tax Band
I
Noise Level
72.0

Toyota MR2 | Nice little sports car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
1/5
  • 2002
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Where many sports cars are best pictured in the south of France with a lady behind the wheel, the MR2 is definitly a mans car. It lacks unnessary adornments to the point of starkness,a suspension that borders on discomfort and a hood which requires skill and muscule to raise.

The vvti engine is economical if driven carefully, but a heavy foot produces more than a lot of noise. Definitly a car with character.

Pros: Fast and fun to drive, especially with the roof down.

Cons: Noisey, especially with roof down on motorways. Lacks luggage space (small area behind the seats), worth considering jettisoning the spare (carry a tyre sealant cylinder)to give extra space.
Mechanical failings are the aluminium radiator, being so close to the road, tends to rot, especially if driven on salted roads. The other problem that I have encountered is rattles from the exhaust, usually caused by one of the many heat sheilds.

Toyota MR2 | Rubbish... This car gets high reviews? Why?

Added: 10th of August 2015
Performance
1/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
1/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
1/5
  • 2004
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

I bough this car a year ago because it looks fantastic and on initial test drive seemed nippy but after owning it, that's all it's got... That nippy around town feel. Out on the open road it's completely gutless.
The tyres are ridiculously fussy, mine was getting slightly old on the front and the car was scary as it flinched and twitched.
The seats are not supportive at all and any longer than 20 mins driving gives me neck and back ache.
Only good thing with the car is the fuel economy seems good how ever you drive it.
Summery: The car that fronts a sports car just isn't. I'm glad of the reliability as I can just get where I am going and can get out of it.
Avoid if your looking for fun!!!

Toyota MR2 | Best car yet.

Added: 15th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2001
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

My little workhorse is totally impractical for me as a Grandmother of a 3 and 6 year old, ( so we take the bus or borrow Grandpa's car) and as an avid crafter and Craft Fair attendee I pack the car like I play Jenga.
The car is comfortable and reliable, reasonably economical, a joy to drive, and when this one finally succumbs to age, I fully intend to buy a newer model.

Toyota MR2 | MK1 MR2

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 1987
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

For an old car with a small engine and 169,000 miles on the clock I am very pleased and often surprised at how little it asks of me to keep it happy. It is the most reliable car I have ever owned, and one that I have spent the least on having repairs despite covering an annual mileage of 25,000+. If they were still available new I'd buy another without hesitation

Toyota MR2 | MK1 MR2

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1989
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 2

A wonderful little car I've owned for 3 years now. Classic 80's styling combined with good build quality and reliability, that I often forget it is 24 years old. It eats the miles up that I put on it every year (20,000+ miles). Its fun to drive, I love the styling and if they still made them I'd buy one brand new.

Toyota MR2 | Fab little car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1990
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

I love this car more than any other type of car I've owned. It's not the most practical in terms of space but is heaps of fun. It's also the most reliable car I've ever owned - much more reliable than my 8 year old Rav4. Also, people look at the car when you drive it because it's such a classic, beautiful car

Toyota MR2 | Brilliant Car

Added: 27th of May 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1992
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

I've owned the car for the last 16 years and it has been hugely reliable and great fun to drive. The boot is remarkably big for a sports car and the car's styling still turns heads. Can't find anything new that could replace it so will be keeping it going for as long as I can. Wish they still made them.

Toyota MR2 | MR2 Roadster

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2006
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

This is an excellent car - for those who want a true two-seater and can manage with no boot or storage space. It's fun to drive although prone to side slide in wet or icy conditions. I think it could be considered a pooorer man's Porsche.

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.