Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Toyota Land Cruiser Reviews

Toyota Land Cruiser

Welcome to the Toyota Land Cruiser review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Toyota Land Cruiser cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£32,765 - £63,599
AA Cars Average
£27,553
MPG
17.0 - 34.9
CO2 (g/km)
213 - 405
Tax Band
K - M
Noise Level
69.6 - 76.0

Toyota Land Cruiser | Landbruiser

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1998
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Originally a 6 times VW Golf owner, I bought the Landcruiser to get through the recent heavy winters we've had. Living out in the sticks made the journeys in the Golf problematic to say the least. Although we coped, the poor Golf just wasn't built for it so I got an old cruiser for 4k plus about £1000 repairs (shocks, brakes, tyres, servicing etc). Winter snow doesn't trouble the landcruiser one bit. The only things getting in the way are the piles of BMWs and Mercs stuck at the foot of every suggestion of an incline. I don't drive off road for fun so I'll not comment on the car's capabilities as they are greater than my own.
Since that time I've added 50,000 miles in four years and sold the Golf.
The cruiser is a bit agricultural, despite the leather seats and electric everything. But its such an old gentleman of a car its difficult not to love it. Its very, very strong and so reliable. And solid as a rock. Fuel consumption is a little on the heavy side, never getting beyond 25mpg, but at nearly 3 tons, its not too suprising. The seven seats are a huge bonus with kids and friends to ferry about. Folding the rear seats away is quite easy, if a bit heavy. But the space you get is amazing. We've been on holiday to France three times : 2 adults, 2 kids, and a week's worth of luggage. The cruiser can handle that and more.

Toyota Land Cruiser | Brilliant vehicle

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1996
  • 4200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

My 1996 Toyota Landcruiser is quite simply the best piece of mechanical engineering I am ever likely to own.

At 17 years old and 185k miles it is on the original engine, clutch and gearbox; the engine uses no oil and everything made in Japan still works. (Bits added in the UK are another story...)

It has 8 seats, will easily pull 3.5 tonnes, and with diff locks all round + all terrain tyres will go anywhere that you could reasonably expect it to go. Snow and ice are also no problem - just as well as we live 1/2 mile from the public road and would otherwise get snowed in in winter.

It's a bit ponderous and agricultural to drive, and very ill-suited to town life - why anyone in Chelsea would want a "chelsea tractor" is beyond me! However we live in rural Devon and we bought it to carry 4x children and 2x dogs while also towing 3x horses, which it did with consummate ease.

It's also, unlike a Landrover Defender, comfortable and reasonably quiet. I happily drove it to Italy and back - not something I'd contemplate doing in a Landrover - and the aircon was great.

The children are now grown, and the horses retired, but the LC continues unabated. It will be sad day when it finally dies.

Toyota Land Cruiser | Practical but thirsty...

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I bought this diesel LC4 model when it was about 3 years old, to replace a much older (1997) petrol Landcruiser Colorado. That had been bought to replace a classic Range Rover when I couldn't stand the repair costs any more!

Both vehicles have 8 seats and a very high towing capacity.
The petrol model had (or certainly felt as if it had) better performance and did (in my hands) between 18 and 21 mpg.

The diesel, which should do over 30 mpg, actually does around 18/20 mpg, reaching 25 mpg only on long steady runs.

It will cruise at the legal limit all day (or at the higher continental limits).

Reliability is exemplary, although I have had a few problems when folding forward one of the middle row of seats.

Comfort is good, though there is some roll when driving enthusiastically on curly B roads.

My only real criticism is the over-vigilant Brake Assistance system which (a) delights in trying to put you through the windscreen if you brake sharply and (b) apparently can't be disabled. After 40 plus years of driving, I feel I can make my own braking decisions!

Toyota Land Cruiser | Toyota Landcruiser D4D 2005

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This is the 3 litre diesel model with air suspension & top spec interior. Comfort & driveability are excellent provided you don't demand rapid acceleration and/or taut handling. The high driving position gives excellent visibility and the vehicle gives an impression of competence in all driving conditions & security in the event of a mishap. Economy at 30mpg+ is good for a vehicle weighing over 2 tons. Its bulk means you have to take more care parking - reversing sensors are a useful aid to this. The Landcruiser seats 5 in great comfort plus three more in fold down seats in the back - though these rearmost passengers would need to be children or small adults to feel happy with the knee-room available. Only one niggle - make sure your model has had the original copper injector seatings replaced with aluminium (a Toyota recall)or you may have problems with diesel residues building up on the injector nozzles causing erratic running. Overall - an excellent vehicle.

Toyota Land Cruiser | Versatility

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2990cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

The Land Cruiser Invicible serves as a caravan tow car, dog transport, 3 golfers & bags/trolleys transport, 7 people mover, waste & large objects shifter- very versatile!

Rides well over pot holed roads and is ready for winter conditions all the time.Can cope with flooded roads. Drive positon/view is excellent and ride can be adjusted to road state to make a smooth journey.

Service & parts costs acceptable, road tax , insurance and fuel high.Reliabilty first class.

Not a shopping car or school run vehicle - use something smaller for heavens sake!

For all the other uses listed above highly recommended.

Toyota Land Cruiser | Toyota Landcruiser 4.2 TD

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 4200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

The landcruiser gives a sense of almost total security and confidence. It is practical and for it's size and weight is reasonably economical, especially when towing a 1.7 tonne caravan. Over 200,000 miles it has broken down once with a faulty alternator, I've just replaced one section of the exhaust, not at all bad for a thirteen year old vehicle with over 200,000 on the clock. It looks almost as good as new and starts first turn of the key every morning without fail. It is true to say that if I won the Lottery tonight my first purchase would be a brand new Landcruiser Amazon.

Toyota Land Cruiser | one of the family

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1994
  • 4200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

We have had our toyota landcruiser for nearly 20 years and have thoroughly enjoyed having it. We have had many, many holidays in it. we are a family of 3 but the 8 seater capacity has been well used to help out with school trips, transport children to and from birthday parties and share journeys with friends and family. If we could afford a new one that would be our next choice of car but with retirement looming we will have to give running costs priority. I do not want to sell our landcruiser but would prefer to house it in our garage as a one car museum.

Toyota Land Cruiser | Built To Last

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2998cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Toyota Landcruiser. Whilst not being the most economical on fuel it equals any similar 4X4's. Also, it's reliability beats the competition.
High driving position = excellent all round visibility, therefore enabling one to avoid possible dangers = safety.

Extremely comfortable long distance cruiser enabling you to arrive fresh after a long journey.

Excellent for towing and in snowy wintery conditions in the countryside.

The best vehicle I've owned in over 40 years of driving.
Downside - the government robs one of £475 just to sit on the road!!

Toyota Land Cruiser | LandCrusier Amazon

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1997
  • 4200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Bought it new back in 1997. Great for traveling long journeys as a family of 6. Parts and running are expensive but it's a big, solid car, so hardly surprising. With fewer kids at home now I was thinking of finally getting shut of it after 16years and getting something more economical to run. Took it to WeBuyAnyCar at they offered £4.5k. I decided that if it was worth that much, then it must still have a lot of life left in it, so I'm keeping it. It's such an easy, comfortable drive.

Toyota Land Cruiser | Outstanding family 4x4

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 3

The Land Cruiser's strength is that it does what it says on the box day after day, month after month, year after year. It is totally reliable, provides great confidence in every road condition and is fully supported by both manufacturer and dealers alike. Whilst other makes may shine on a road test when launched this Toyota maintains its aplomb over time and this results in a high residual value long after others have been consigned to the repair shop (again!)

Toyota Land Cruiser | Does the job

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2982cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

A good practical car for our family of 6 + dog with built in TV to keep kids amused. Comfortable with all the modern toys and a good cruiser for longer journeys when on the Continent. Great in the snow and bad weather. Feel very safe. Suspension/ride I find a bit hard and steering a bit flat and loose. Heavy on the diesel - getting about 22.5mpg in Jersey which is mostly urban-like driving.

Toyota Land Cruiser | landcruiser 2000 colorado manual

Added: 21st of September 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 3000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I should say,Not one of the Best,BUT,The Best 4x4 i have even driven,went through discovery,defender,and other japanese 4x4,none come close to landcruiser,
It might not be the prettiest,
but it compensates all other expectations and far more then you expect,
Not a slow turtle as some one imagines,
once driven,not sure if you will ever go back to any other vehicles,
5 star's

Toyota Land Cruiser | my colorado

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1997
  • 3000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This vechile i bought 7 years ago as a used 4x4 i feel safe in this as it is higher off the ground and excellent in all weather conditions. It has loads of space and very comfortable it is great to drive. Running costs if you keep the revs down are around 27-28mpg plus it is good for towing a caravan.

Toyota Land Cruiser | Tough reliable luxury

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2982cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

You can rely on a Toyota. Never had the same confidence with my expensive Land Rover(s).
32 mpg. Long journeys a pleasure. Extremely comfortable. Long service intervals. Fixed pricing of services and parts. A car that will cover > 100,000miles no problem. Auto box. Great car.

Toyota Land Cruiser | Untitled

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

First experiance with a Toyota Land Cruise. Vey impressed with the drive position, reliability and capability. Used for caravan towing, 8 people occasionally, 2x golf bags/trolleys or dog! Confident in winter conditions.

Really good experience and would recommend o others.

Toyota Land Cruiser | Rear door

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

This vehicle is superb in every way except for the one piece tailgate. They should have made it a split rear door or even an electric window to gain access. The rear door opens out & you do need a bit of space to open it especially in car parks.

Toyota Land Cruiser | Toyota Landcruiser

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

9 years old 135,000 miles but very reliable so no plans to change it. Excellent for towing horse trailer. Lots of space for passengers and horses' tack.

Toyota Land Cruiser | Spacious and powerful

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

This is a spacious and powerful car, great features. Fuel economy isn't great though. A Hybrid-version would be welcome.

Toyota Land Cruiser | Landcruiser 4.2 TD

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 4200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Simply the most reliable car you could ever hope to own. 210,000 miles and just had to replace a silencer, unbelievable!

Toyota Land Cruiser | toyota reliability

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
1/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2006
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

most unreliable vehicle I have owned in 50 years of driving

Filter Toyota Land Cruiser Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.