Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Toyota Hi Lux Reviews

Welcome to the Toyota Hi Lux review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Toyota Hi Lux cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

AA Cars Average
£16,132

Toyota Hi Lux | I love my truck

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 3000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

I bought my HiLux Invincible 2nd hand from a dealer when it was a year old with 12,000 miles. Since then I have put a further 20,000 trouble free miles on it including motorway hauls to the French Alps and frequent off-road use where the manually engaged 4 wheel drive is a boon. I swap tyres every winter, fitting more heavily treaded General Grabbers for the mud and snow then reverting to Bridgestone Duellers for the summer. It has been dealer serviced throughout my ownership except that I have the oil & filter changed independently every 5,000 miles.
The fitted load bed protector means it is easy to clean after use to haul logs for my woodburner or to transport deer after stalking outings. It is the perfect vehicle for my lifestyle and I intend to keep it for many years to come.

Toyota Hi Lux | Hi lux

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1999
  • 3000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

Loads of space and extremely versatile especially as it can be used as either a truck or van by removing the hardtop. Excellent tow car. Reasonably good of road except mine has the 15 inch wheels rather than the 16 inch wheel version which gives a bit more ground clearance than the 15's. lack of a centre dif is a disadvantage over the landrover i had previously. The landrover also had better ground clearance.
Low range 4 wheel drive is just as good as a Defender.
performance on road is fine, but it would benefit from the option of a overdrive or 6th gear as it revs at about 3200 rpm at 70mph, i feel it could cope with dropping 300 or so revs at this speed on the flat without a trailer. Tows extremely well at about 55mph at around 2500rpm in 5th.

Toyota Hi Lux | Hilux

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 3000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

Cheaper to run and purchase than most vehicles with excellent carrying capacity when fitted with an after market rear load lid. Bouncy rear seats due to live rear axle and can be a little rear end happy in damp conditions. Designed to carry weight the handling transforms when loaded. I fitted a power booster to give a little more responsiveness purely as I use it more as the main vehicle. Running costs are less than the previous Avensis.

Toyota Hi Lux | Toyota Hi-lux Vigo

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

Good towing vehicle, with plenty of room with the twin cab configuration.
Light on the back when unloaded.
Average mileage to the gallon. To maintain/parts is quite expensive,Heavy on tires.
biggest failing is the front windscreen, the demisting is a constant failing & has to be hand wiped continuously during cold weather.
Overall a good all round work horse, with an outstanding reliability.

Toyota Hi Lux | Toyota Hilux

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 3000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

Fantastic vehicle. Cheaper to maintain and run than some many cars and is finished to a high standard. The ability to select 4 wheel or 2 wheel drive gives increased fuel economy and the 4 wheel drive in snow and ice is impeccable. I have covered 85,000 trouble free miles and have just put on a second set of tyres.

I can see why Americans love their pickup trucks.

Toyota Hi Lux | Hi-Lux Invincible

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 3000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

We tow a caravan from time to time and my hobbies use a lot of equipment. The 4x4 pickup is ideal for our life style as it combines comfort and ease of driving with huge carrying capacity and total reliablity.
I am 71 years old and do not wish to have cope with breakdowns or lack of ability to cope with minor off-road excursions or extreme weather.

Toyota Hi Lux | The Toyota Hi lux

Added: 23rd of March 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

The Toyota Hi Lux is well known for its durability. I have driven them for over twenty years. My work truck is 14 years old and still doing its job so why would I not get another one for private use after all its is likely to last !!

Toyota Hi Lux | Toyota 4x4

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 2997cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Every aspect great car !!!

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.