Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Toyota Corolla Reviews

Toyota Corolla

Welcome to the Toyota Corolla review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Toyota Corolla cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£2,687
MPG
30.7 - 58.9
CO2 (g/km)
126 - 218
Tax Band
D - K
Noise Level
69.0 - 75.0

Toyota Corolla | Work hack

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1997
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought the car for cheap transport to work when the weather is too bad to use my motorcycle. So far it has been completely reliable, went straight through its first MOT fault free, is reasonably cheap to own, virtually rust free and still drives like a low mileage car despite the 75,000 miles on the clock. All equipment works as expected (unheard of in my previous bargain bangers) and I would confidently get in the car and drive across country without giving it a thought. My only complaint would be the incredibly low height of the seats when entering or leaving the car, it is comparable with a sports car. Many more modern cars are more economical in fuel economy and road tax, but with a purchase price of £700.00, I would need to run them for many years to get the same value for money. So far I am achieving 40 + mpg and insurance and road tax are reasonable. The diesel version may be more economical but the engine is noisy, more expensive to service and I don't know how to fix it if it breaks.

Toyota Corolla | Toyota Corolla T3 - Automatic

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have found this car to be reliable, economical and very flexible for loading. It is particularly good for transport of my mother, who is disabled as it gives plenty of room for wheelchair etc and is a higher seat position than most compact cars which makes it easier to get in and out.

Driving is comfortable and easy with no blind spots and I feel very safe in the vehicle. It is easy to park and has a great turning circle in tight spaces.

Fuel economy is great, I can budget for a normal month of fuel usage and it compares very well with similar cars that family and friends have in running costs overall.

I have had no major problems with this car since I bought it four years ago, the only expenditure (in addition to tax, insurance, and MOT)has been replacement of brakes and tyres.

A really comfortable and economical little car, if I have to replace it I will go for another compact and very probably a Toyota again.

Toyota Corolla | Y reg Corolla

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

2000 Corolla 1.4 vvti

I can not fault this car and would highly recommend it has a cheap second-hand runaround.

My Corolla has now done just over 168k miles and in the 5 years I've owned it, it has cost me the usual service and wear & tear items (couple of suspension links @ £8.00 each due to MOT advisory, tyres (when due), wiper blades, brake pads and a new timing chain at the recommended 90k miles) and that's it.

I do approx 20k miles a year in her and it takes me and my wife up and down the motorway on our weekday commute, and the car has no problem at all with keeping up with the flow of traffic. And being an older car, I'm still annoyed but not too precious about it, when people damage the bodywork whilst parked up in car parks or at the supermarket.

It also has electric windows (in the front), central locking, Air Con, ABS and power steering, so what more could you want?

Toyota Corolla | My old car is cute

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1998
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

In terms of value for money my car is tremendous. I bought this car second hand from a car dealership for approx £3800, and this was well over six years ago. Yes, it doesn't look spangly new....but I take great pleasure in driving a car which has ultimately paid for itself; as opposed to being over-concerned with a fancy looking (as perceived by the boring masses), but financed to the eyeballs 'sales person' car, as driven by the numpties of the UK ("look at me in my BMW/Audi/Mini....I think I am the dog's b's"). In addition I know that my car is far more comfortable than a number of new cars which I have driven or have been a passenger in; and the heating in my car kicks in much more quickly than some newer model cars (I'm toasty warm and snuggly). The only downside is that the rust on my car wheels means I have a few tyre issues....annoying. But ultimately my oldie car is COOL :)

Toyota Corolla | Love my Toyota

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1598cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

My Corolla is practical, easy to load and unload and very economical in all respects. It benefits from being the two door rather than four as the doors are larger and it is easier to get in and out. The load area is very flexible and easy to adapt for different shape and size loads.

It is comfortable for short and medium length journeys but I do fell a bit 'small' on motorways sometimes with larger vehicles and commercials.

Being the T3 model it benefits from a bit extra acceleration and is very light to drive, easy to park and has good all round vision.

If I change my car it is likely I will go for another Toyota as I have no real complaints about this one, although we do use my partners larger (4x4) for long journeys as it is high and bigger and therefore more visible in traffic.

Toyota Corolla | Corolla Colour Collection

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1598cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

As with most Toyotas, reliability is excellent. No major problems apart from normal wear and tear. Still on original battery; exhaust renewed 2013.
Bought at 3 years old the servicing is still undertaken by the same main dealer, only annually due to low usage. Costs are reasonable, made more affordable by availability of budget plan payment scheme.
A reasonably comfortable small family car which presents good performance due to 1600 cc vvti engine, reasonable economy (38-39mpg average) and reasonable luggage space.
Would I buy another one? Yes, but it would have to be the Auris (Corolla replacement). Would be very interested in the hybrid version but if not affordable would be inclined to go for a smaller engine than currently.

Toyota Corolla | Almost but not quite

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2002
  • 1497cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

It's reliable, it was a surprisingly nippy car considering that I was dreading the loss of power having 'downgraded' from a 2.8 BMW Z3 ! Halving the cc made an obvious difference to my annual fuel bill as well as the maintenance costs of BMW versus Toyota.

It's practical and I am very pleased with it

BUT...

The audio system is terrible and has an ancient style display in the shape of black lcd on a drab background screen. Even when it was new in 2002 it looked old fashioned.

I WISH it had a 12v power socket in the back compartment (Toyota used to put them in their Previas many years ago). Having a 12v socket would be really useful for my camping trips; after all, hatchbacks are supposed to be versatile.

Toyota Corolla | Toyota Corolla 1.6G6

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1999
  • 1587cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Owned this car from new which has now covered over 170,000 miles. It still has the original engine, gearbox (6 speed) and clutch. It has been totally reliable having never failed to start in 14 years. It regularly returns 42mpg but has been consuming a bit of oil since 80,000 miles which needs to be checked regularly. Service costs are reasonable, although some parts are expensive. The Michelin Energy tyres last for over 40,000 miles and whilst not the cheapest to buy, are certainly cheaper over the life of the tyres. A set of other branded tyres only lasted 25,000 which I guess is still good by anyone's standards. Overall, an excellent reliable car.

Toyota Corolla | Reliable Corolla

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I drive the Corolla because it's medium size. The small engine (1400cc) is reasonably economical and not overly slow. The corolla is expensive to buy but makes up for it in reliability. If things go wrong with a car not only do you get the expense but also the messing about getting it fixed and no car while it's off the road. The Corolla has enough gadgets and is easy to drive. It's not too small to be a pain on long motorway journeys but it's small enough to be nippy in town. I've had it 5 years now and expect it to last another 3 years. I have it serviced every year. Other than a battery and brake disks and pads I have had nothing done to it.

Toyota Corolla | Toyota dashboard lights

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The car is great, only problem is a very expensive fix of the Airbag/seatbelt dash board light of £800 in order to psas the new EU MOT laws. I still have an engine mangement light on since it came on a day after I bought it in 2006 from a Toyota dealer. I had trouble getting them to try to fix the problem , which they did not and fobbed me off, tried other garages so spent £100s over the years. Now I ignore it, but very annoyed with garages not being able to fix dash lights. I had to take it back to the main dealer who had previously fobbed me off to put in a new seatbelt pre-tentioner and airbag ECU.

Toyota Corolla | Still going strong...

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1999
  • 1332cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I bought my 1999 Toyota Corolla on 1 December 2001. It had done 48,000 miles. It has just passed the MoT test without any work needing to be done, and no advisory comments. It has done 208,300 miles.

During the 12 years that I've had it, I have needed to replace the gearbox (second-hand, £300 including fitting); nothing else other than a regular annual service and tyres.

Sure, it doesn't handle very well, and it lacks power, but as a "get-you-from-A-to-B" car, it surely must be unsurpassed. I'm now looking forward to another 12 months of trouble-free motoring!

Toyota Corolla | Toyota Corolla

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2001
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I've had this car from new and it has been consistently reliable and I have spent very little on it except for regular servicing, replacing worn tyres, battery, exhaust. It is easy to drive is quite comfortable and has an excellently sized boot for such a small, basic car. It's only drawback is that it is not terribly powerful and sometimes struggles to get up hills.

As a family, we've had a number of different Toyota models and have found them all to be incredibly reliable and not too expensive to service or when sourcing spare parts.

Toyota Corolla | Why I still have a 13 years old car.

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 1398cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have been unable to find a new Toyota that is as good as they were twenty years ago. The standards have fallen. I do my own servicing as I have been trained as a mechanic (5 years apprenticeship in the early fifties).
I have just bought a new Kia Rio 1.4 and am quite impressed with it. I has everything the Corollas has. Since my excellent Corolla is now almost worthless, I am keeping it as it is still in almost mint condition, it has been almost the best car I have ever had in over sixty years of motoring.
Gerry Judd.

Toyota Corolla | RELIABILITY - Toyota Corolla

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Nothing special but it's reliable. Less time off the road, less time spent trying to find a suitable garage for repairs. Less money spent on repair and less time making alternative arrangements to get to/from work.
What more do you need to say.
Reasonably comfortable. Reasonable performance. Good economy. More costly to buy but you more than make up with it because of not having so many (if any) repair costs and much less messing about.

Toyota Corolla | Toyota Corolla Review

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1500cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A nice practical, relaible car, which is comfortable and pleasureable to drive. Two weak points: 1) The Satnav system does NOT take postcodes and it is tedious to type in addresses. 2) The windscreen mists up very easily, however this is quickly resolved with front demister. However this causes cold air to be introduced into car which is not ideal in the winter. Minor issues, a great car overall. I would buy another if I could.

Toyota Corolla | Fine for my needs

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1398cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Bought second-hand five years ago. Car has done 70,000 miles. No major problems barring a replacement cv joint. Serviced privately by local technician using state of the art equipment plus top of the range parts and liquids. Fuel consumption poor, averages over 5-yeard 35mpg, mostly < 10 mile runs.
Good driving position, reasonably comfortable and adequate accommodation throughout. Reasonable insurance and Tax costs.

Toyota Corolla | Glad I chose it

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1598cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Bought second hand around 6 years ago, and given reliability is my priority, it has been a success. Pleasant to drive and pretty comfortable. Still nothing fundamentally wrong with it, but approaching 10yrs old, and despite relatively low mileage think probably approaching trade in time. Taxation and fuel costs should be lower with newer car. Still happy to recommend though, and have good opinion of Toyota.

Toyota Corolla | A trouper

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

My Corolla has clocked up 111,954 miles and, apart from a dodgy gearbox, is still a joy to drive. Given the miles it has done, the reliability and running costs are very good. It will be a sad day when I have to change it, as it is practical, comfortable and sensibly laid out. I am likely to go for another Toyota on the performance of this one.

Toyota Corolla | Still going strong

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

My Corolla has done 111,240 miles and apart from a dodgy gearbox is still running very well. Oil consumption is low, on long distances petrol consumption is adequate for its age. There are few signs of rust or wear and tear, and although in comparison with modern cars it has very few 'add-ons', it is a very good car to drive.

Toyota Corolla | Toyota

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have had this car since new, first as a 'company car' and then privately owned. The fact that I bought it when it was five years old underlines how happy I had been with it and nothing has changed that view. It is now worth very little, in terms of trade in value, but I will keep it until the costs dictate a change.

Filter Toyota Corolla Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.