Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Toyota Celica Reviews

Toyota Celica

Welcome to the Toyota Celica review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Toyota Celica cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£2,573
MPG
33.6 - 36.7
CO2 (g/km)
185 - 200
Tax Band
I - J
Noise Level
72.0 - 73.0

Toyota Celica | Toyota Celica VVT-i 2000

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 1794cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 3

I have owned and been driving my Celica for over 3 years now, it looks great and runs amazing for a 13 year old car! There is only 140bhp under the bonnet but it is how the Japanese engine uses the power via its Vaiable Valve Timing and lift Intelligence system that makes a diffence. There is no turbo fuel injection which means there is no turbo-lag, although a lot of the torque is in the high end of the revs, as with most Japanese cars.

The timing belt runs on a chain so there is no regular cam belt maintenance, but other running costs can be applicable. On long journeys the engine oil consumption can be a bit heavy and I believe the adverage MPG is about 36, typically better on motorway driving. Replacement parts can also be expensive but if you drive sensibly and economically it shouldn't be a problem.

The statistics state that the Celica VVT-i can reach 0-63 in 8.7 seconds although I have not tested this. I can confirm that there is plenty of power under the hood when needed, it has 6 gears!

As standard the Celica VVT-i comes with bucket style driver and passenger seats that are very comfortable. In the back are two additional seats that are comfy if you are not too tall, and the leg room in the back is reasonably good for a 4 seat coupe.

Overall I would recommend the Toyota Celica VVT-i as a very good compramise between performance and comfort. It is a very responsive drive, the wheel provides plenty of information about the road conditions, but it is not quite as sporty as the Celica GT or GT4 which has a very hard suspension but higher performance.

Toyota Celica | Celica T Sport

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 3

I have had this car for 7years now. The running costs have been the normal -tyres, brake's, servicing etc. no major expense. Although a bit 'thirsty' being careful can return about 33 mpg.
It has a generous boot space (including room for a full size spare wheel)and the front seat's have good leg room. The problem is the rear seat passengers leg room - the front passenger can move to give adequate leg room but if you are a tall driver then the person behind you has very little/no leg room. Also the head room in the back is a bit limited and you might have to tilt your head to fit in.
It is responsive to drive and handles well.

Toyota Celica | Reliable and great buy

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2001
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 3

Owned for over 8yrs and it's never gone wrong. Love it! Very sadly I will have to look at getting a bigger car as the room in the back isn't great for longer legs but that is the only slight negative there is and even in saying that there is no problem taking 4 adults but not for long journeys as tight. Overall would buy over any other car out there!

Toyota Celica | Fun but somewhat impracticable

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2005
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 3

This is a great car to drive at whatever speed. The engine is not that powerful but the road handling is among the best. The only downside is the size of the vehicle - fitting more than 2 people and/or lots of luggage is difficult. We love our Celica.

Toyota Celica | Toyota Celica T Sport

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

What's not to like? Sporty, comfortable, roomy, good looking. A great car to own if you want something sporty but don't fancy a Focus or Astra style car, or anything small, and like to be able to put s decent amount of luggage in it..

Toyota Celica | What's not to like?

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 3

Always wanted a sporty number and the Celica fits the bill perfectly. A little more thirsty than I would like and the licence fee is quite high but as I no longer do as many miles this is acceptable in terms of comfort and style

Toyota Celica | toyota celica 1997

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1997
  • 1999cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 3

the car is very reliable with an average petrol consumption if you do not rev hard, reasonable in bad weather with average stability on snow. damp weather does not affect it generally and does not rust quickly.

Toyota Celica | TOYOTA CELICA

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1796cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

I have had this car for nearly 11 years. During that time I have had to replace the exhaust, two front tyres and the battery. Although it is a high performance car I regularly achieve more than 30 mpg

Toyota Celica | My Toyota Celica

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

A really smart looking car which, although I do not do a great deal of driving, I find comfortable and enjoyable to drive

Toyota Celica | Best car yet

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

I have absolutely no complaints about this car. It goes where I want, when I want and how I want. It just won't give in.

Toyota Celica | My Jeff

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1999
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Design good, performance good, reasonably economic, comfortable, very reliable (so far).

Toyota Celica | Nice car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2005
  • 1799cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Fast Comfortable Looks Good
Heavy on engine oil,apart from that no complaints

Toyota Celica | Toyota Celica

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 3

A good car. Only complaint is the gears are sometime stiff.

Toyota Celica | Celica

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1799cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

have had over 120000 miles of enjoyable motoring.

Toyota Celica | Toyota Celica

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2002
  • 1996cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Completely reliable and enjoyable to drive

Toyota Celica | Celica GT4 UK WRC 1994

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 1994
  • 1997cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Fast and fun but expensive to run!!

Toyota Celica | Celica

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2000
  • 1897cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

the best car I've owned.

Toyota Celica | GT4 4 wheel drive fast as you want it!

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1994
  • 1980cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Quick and quirky. Fun

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.