Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Toyota AYGO Reviews

Toyota AYGO

Welcome to the Toyota AYGO review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Toyota AYGO cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£7,755 - £10,210
AA Cars Average
£6,364
MPG
61.4 - 68.9
CO2 (g/km)
99 - 109
Tax Band
A - B
Noise Level
69.0 - 72.0

Toyota AYGO | Aygo Go ... got it!

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2011
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I almost felt trepidation as I handed over the folding to the salesman. Our last car, a Fiat Stilo 1.2 three door had just put in an almost Olympic performance hitting 115k miles with the only replacements, a short connecting piece of exhaust at 85k and the original battery at 110k. Still had the original clutch and still started, first time every time, even on a -13C winters morning.... I digress. The Aygo has a lot to live up to as it's reputation as a super-duper city-car is unsurpassed, or at least it was when we bought it. It's surprisingly nippy and well behaved through tight bends as should be expected from a tiny, lightweight car, and the shopping for a family of four adults is not unduly restricted by boot space. Around 5 full carrier-bags of shopping can be accommodated and any extra large items like beers or large packs of crisps or toilet tissue can go on the back seats. With the seats down, it would be possible to transport a chest of drawers if it weren't for the silly shape of the boot opening. The rear doors don't open very wide either so this further restricts total luggage space. Tyre wear is excellent at 30k rear and 18k front. Strong air current from the fan and lots of heat from the heater for rapid winter de-misting, and the single wiper blade works a treat, but I would apply 'Rain-x' just in case it fails. The air-con is superb and soon triggers goose-bumps on the forearms on a hot summers day. The only bad point I can find is the fuel figures. The Stilo often returned 72mpg on the motorway at 60 - 70mph and gave roughly 45 - 48mpg around town. The Aygo is better around town returning 50 - 55mpg but on a motorway journey it's almost impossible to get the figures above 60mpg. I have a right foot like a feather duster and got an incredible 78.4mpg from the Stilo on a 170 mile run down the M1 to London, so I expected great things from the Aygo. We would have spent a fair bit on new parts for the Stilo as it aged but would have saved that in fuel economy, so the Aygo hasn't been a money saving choice I'm afraid. Apart from that it's a great little car, but Toyota do need to stop misleading potential buyers about the fuel economy.

Toyota AYGO | Just Superb... and FUN to drive

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

There's nothing I dislike about my Aygo+
I went for one with A/C and the "+" for the central locking, split rear seat and extra [side] airbags.
? I never feel fatigued after long journeys.
? There is ample room for me as a 6'2" driver - once in 5th gear I can stretch my left leg straight out.
? Passengers are amazed at the space.
? OK, I don't take rear passengers behind me, as I won't compromise my driving position in the interests of safety, but a tall, front passenger can still travel in comfort with an average-sized passenger behind.
? Drop one or both rear seats for a trip into the 4th dimension.
? My local Main Dealership is second to none : all is menu-priced so I go there, knowing what the cost will be.
? Prices for Servicing are extremely reasonable.
? The car is totally reliable : I never doubt that it'll start first time.
? Bought second-hand in 2011 from the local Dealership, it still looks after 6+ years on the road as if it has just come out of the showroom [after 51k miles, of which I've done 27k!]
? Love £20 road tax and low insurance. Should be £0 as it must surely cost more than 20 quid to do the auditing and paperwork!
? I'll trade it in for another in a couple of years, happy to keep the brand and model.

Toyota AYGO | Toyota Aygo

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have had an Aygo for almost 6 years from new and I find it extremely practical in a rural situation even though it is essentially a city car.My annual mileage is relatively low, around 6,000 and even though used on mostly short runs has returned 66 mpg over that time. OK , I drive like a Grandad nowadays,which I am ,but even on mixed motorway/trunk road driving at 50 -70 mph it still returns almost 60mpg.
Insurance on full NCB is £120 and Road Tax £20 so very cheap to run especially for an OAP.
Boot space is limited and therefore not a family car but adequate for my needs most of the time.
Handling is excellent on decent surfaces but can be a bit harsh over potholes.
The only problem so far has been the rear box on the exhaust when the inlet pipe broke and required welding but also resulted in a loose pipe inside the box which rattles.
At 30,000 mile a couple of tyres are near their limit. Not bad, shows what smooth driving can do.
In short, probably one of the cheapest cars on the road to run and while by no means luxurious is perfectly adequate for economical motoring. (Still miss my 1963 Lotus Cortina from 1966 though)

Toyota AYGO | Aygo

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I'm on my second Aygo and found them to be reliable and economical. General runabout mileage works out around 55 miles per gallon rising to about 60 miles per gallon on longer journeys, provided you can stick to around 55mph.
The 2 quibbles I have with the cars design are the glass hatchback which drops rainwater straight into the boot or rear tray when you lift it up to use the boot, secondly the front door post is so wide on the drivers side that you have to make sure to look both sides of it when pulling out of a junction or manoeuvring a right hand corner......it's wide enough to momentarily hide a van let alone a car!
A feature I do like is the darkened glass for the rear windows to make it more secure. The satnav that came with the car has been very reliable as have the CD player and radio. I find the seating comfortable and supportive on longer journeys. Despite my initial reservations about abs brakes I've had no problems even in last years horrible snow and ice provided you allow for longer braking times.

Toyota AYGO | Aygo Ice

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1000cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I purchased the Aygo because I needed an automatic car due to a problem with my left foot, but also wanted a car with a small engine as an economical runabout, commuting to and from work, shopping etc. Running costs have met with expectations. It has a good stereo with which I can use my iPod. It has air-conditioning and is as comfortable as it could possibly be given its size. I previously had a Terios and I feel as if I have more space when I am driving this car. In my previous car I felt as if my elbows were touching the person in the passenger seat. Obviously the boot is not very big. I can fit 2 large shopping carriers in there and my border collie is happy in there though I wouldn't want her to be in there for long journeys. I have yet to see a similar car which does the job as well as the Aygo.

Toyota AYGO | Aygo Black review

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 2

The Aygo is a small car with adequate space in front but is a little cramped in the back and has very little boot space. It is very economical to run with low VED tax and very good economy.
It's variable valve timing 3 cylinder engine gives lively performance at the upper end of the rev. range and it's ride being a bit firm allows quite sporty handling.
It has been totally reliable over the 4 years I have owned it.
Although it is at it's best for shorter journeys it has been used for long motorway journeys and has been acceptably comfortable.
Some cost-cutting measures seem very penny-pinching. There is no courtesy light switch on the passenger door and no boot light.

Toyota AYGO | Aygo compromise

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2011
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

After owning an Aygo Go for 2 years I note that the fuel economy is pretty useless for such a tiny car. Driven carefully only 50mpg urban but only 60mpg extra-urban. Comfort is surprisingly good, and the suspension is fairly firm until the dampers get thoroughly warm, and even then it's still a good firm ride. Great handling and decent lights. The door sill area gets filthy and requires extra cleaning over & above an attended car-wash. WEindow seals don't seal so can't clean the side windows by opening and closing the window. Uses hardly any oil and up to now has been 100% reliable. Four large adults really bog the car down with so little power on tap.

Toyota AYGO | great small car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2010
  • 980cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Fantastic fuel economy
Boot is good for small shopping trips but deep so lifting things out sometimes awkward
Low tax, only £ 20 a year and low insurance
Body work ok but too easy to move the rear bumper panels, they slot in and out regularly
Toyotas fixed price servicing means low running costs
There was no glove box cover, had to be purchased separately
mp3 player works well in the audio slot
There is a useful indentation in the front interior fascia that is good for the sat nav to be sited.
Automatic transmission can be changed to manual if needed
Acceleration reasonable for the size of engine .

Toyota AYGO | Toyota Aygo

Added: 16th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

£20 a year road tax, drop down back seats for carrying bulk items. Holds surprisingly large amounts of stuff although the boot itself is small and narrow and the parcel shelf gets in the way sometimes. Very basic model and I miss electric windows, automatic mirror adjustment, seat height adjustment etc. My model has rear sensors which is one of the main reasons I got it. I also got a smaller car as now retired and not doing the motorway mileage I was. A really good about town, short distances runabout and quite nippy . Low insurance and good running and servicing costs.

Toyota AYGO | AYGO review

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2012
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have had the AYGO for 18 months and am generally satisfied with it considering it is a small bottom range car.

It is surprisingly comfortable on long trips, has plenty of headroom, handles well, has a good gearbox and more of a kick than I would have expected from such a small engine.

My only criticism is regarding the 'slam shut' hatch that allows water to run into the body of the car when open during rain. This is very annoying considering I constantly need to move stuff in and out of the car.

Overall (hatch excluded) - a good little runaround.

Toyota AYGO | What a fantastic little beauty!

Added: 20th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Nippy, responsive, manoeuvrable, economical, totally reliable, quiet, bags of legroom for tall driver and front passenger [rarely transport a rear passenger, but "four up" has been perfectly do-able [as long as the rear two aren't >1m80/6ft!
Love that the air-con doesn't reduce performance unduly, and certainly doesn't affect mpg - forget that old myth!
Superb service from local Main Dealer [I'd abandoned MDs with former cars - Ford/Mitsubishi] : nothing exorbitant in service-costs with Toyota and the Aygo.

Toyota AYGO | Some unexpected costs

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2007
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

We bought this Aygo new in 2007 expecting the running costs to be really low and reliability to match.

I've had a few unexpected 'breakages' along the way, all outside warranty.
The clutch plate fell apart.
An airbag ECU failed.
New brake discs needed at 20 000 miles.
The radio/CD unit often misbehaves and won't change station or volume.

Other than that, we have enjoyed this car. It is fun to drive, it's fairly good on petrol. I can't help wondering what will break next.

Toyota AYGO | My car

Added: 16th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I found my car cheap to run. I mainly use it for local journeys which makes it the perfect small car. Although small it can comfortably seat 4 adults with plenty of leg space. Being 5 doors it makes it easy to get in and out. It does have a small boot but the fact the back seats go down makes it easier to get larger items in. I do struggle with the lockable petrol cap....although a minor criticism it can be awkward if I can't unlock it when filling up with petrol.....

Toyota AYGO | More expensive to run than I thought!

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I figured that buying a new Toyota Aygo would really help with running costs, but I was wrong.
In the 6 years (37000 miles)since we bought it there have been some pretty unexpected costs.

Failure of an airbag ECU module - cost £430
Failure of the clutch plate (not the linings) £330
Badly warped brake discs - £120

This set plus normal tyres and brake pads have wound up with our new car, being much more expensive that I originally thought!

Toyota AYGO | Recommended

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Have nothing bad to say about my Toyota Ago.Nippy little car for size of engine, running costs are the lowest I've ever had, it is 100% reliable and when the back seats are down I could get a baby elephant in there. I never have to worry about anything, just enjoy the drive! I have found all sorts of Toyotas very reliable (even pick ups and vans) and probably because I am under 5'find all the pedal/gear/steering wheel ratios just right for me.

Toyota AYGO | Toyota "old" Aygo

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2014
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have had 2 Aygos and have found both to be very reliable, cheap to run and to perform well for their engine size. Boot space and rear passenger space are smallish but front seats are spacious and comfortable. The built-in satnav and radio-cd player also allows hands-free mobile phone use and also allows an iPod to be connected. The "old" Aygo is a good small car which is ideal for local use but can undertake long journeys if required.

Toyota AYGO | LOVE MY CAR

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

I changed my car to save money ,less road tax ,less insurance and less fuel needed. It is nippy when overtaking is needed ,easy to park , it has tinted rear windows which help cut out glare and a nice looking car. I have had passengers in the back and all have said it is comfortable with good leg room for moderate journey lengths.Toyota give 5yrs warenty another good reason for buying I thought . All in all a great small car .

Toyota AYGO | Toyota Aygo

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2008
  • 9999cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Great little car to run around in.
Looks good. 5 doors suprises everyone!
Tardis-like leg room in the back. More room than expected.
Good to drive..
Lacks power on big hills.
Basic, no fiddly techno bits to play with.
Could make the interior more robust, trim a bit flimsy and cardboard-like.
Only just fits my weekly shop into boot - depth of boot to hatch door sometimes makes picking up heavy items difficult.

Toyota AYGO | Brilliant Car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

My Toyota is really brilliant, used as second car for going to wok and as a runabout extremly good on fuel an very reliable,also very "nippy" only one quibble is the exterior mirrors could be covex for better vision you can easily miss cars in the blind spots.
this has to be one of the best small cars on the road.

Toyota AYGO | The Red Aygo

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Cheap to run, zero road tax, does everything that I want it to do. Will take 4 people and luggage when going on holiday. Can get all our camping gear in it or 12 crates of beer or 12 bags of manure. In general a nice economical and reliable car.

The only drawback is that it lacks a bit of acceleration.

Filter Toyota AYGO Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.