Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Toyota Auris Reviews

Toyota Auris

Welcome to the Toyota Auris review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Toyota Auris cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£3,715 - £22,065
AA Cars Average
£11,667
MPG
39.8 - 74.3
CO2 (g/km)
87 - 166
Tax Band
A - H
Noise Level
67.0 - 73.0

Toyota Auris | Toyota Auris T Spirit

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1598cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Bought vehicle at 37000 miles and have taken it up to 70000 miles in just over two years of ownership.

For such a large engine in a relatively small body size, the car isn't as quick to accelerate as you might expect - it's actually very sluggish. Had I realised this sooner, I probably could have saved tax costs by buying a smaller engined Auris, and probably wouldn't notice much difference!

My Auris doesn't achieve a particularly great MPG - on average 40 MPG is the best I can get, although I did achieve 45 MPG once, by driving at night on a near empty motorway at 55mph on cruise control, avoiding touching the brakes wherever possible.
Plugs and filters have all been replaced, but never can get the MPG any better than already stated.

Economy isn't helped much by poor gear ratios - at 70mph, the revs are close to 4000 in 5th gear - far higher than any other petrol car I have owned. I believe the newer models now come with a 6-speed box, probably for this reason.

Headroom is excellent, and even tall people like myself won't find their heads embedded in the roof lining - plenty of clearance there.
Also nice and roomy in the back, so tall passengers don't feel cramped.
Boot space is a bit limited though, but I guess that's the price that has to be paid for plenty of legroom in the back.

Rear brake calipers seem to be a problem - had to get the rear O/S replaced under the dealer warranty, and recently the N/S decided to seize up on me as well. It's not always obvious when driving, but the free play in the handbrake is very noticeable - if there's a lot of travel in your handbrake with no resistance, chances are you have a seized caliper.
Brake discs needed changing at 50000 miles, and were noticeably worn, not long after acquiring the vehicle at only 37000, but this wasn't covered by warranty so I changed them later at 50000 by which time they had become very thin.

Removing the rear light bulb clusters in order to replace a tail light bulb proved to be exceptionally difficult - this has always been relatively easy in all my previous vehicles.
You either need a lot of time and patience or a mechanic friend for this normally simple task!

Apart from the brake caliper issues, the Auris has been a reliable car and has never let me down. The engine has been faultless and the only thing that failed last MOT was a defective brake light bulb - not bad at all!

Toyota Auris | Good, but not as good as I'd hoped - the built in sat-nav is useless

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2016
  • 1800cc
  • automatic
  • hybrid
  • Estate
  • 5

After owning a Yaris Hybrid, I was keen to upsize to an estate car. However, the added weight and bulk reduce the fuel efficiency of the hybrid power train. Where the Yaris could average around 60mpg, the Auris is hitting more like 45-50mpg. The ride is comfortable with the suspension soaking up most of the deviations in the abysmal road surfaces that I have to traverse, although tyre roar can intrude into the cabin at higher speeds.

The interior is well spec'd although the velour of the steering wheel is not as hard wearing as it should be, and the heated seats are a joy in the winter. The overall interior experience is let down by the clunky and sometimes outdated head unit (produced by Panasonic I believe). There is no pinch to zoom mapping, and the address input is sluggish and frustrating. When navigating, the map display stays still and the 'marker' traces the road around roundabouts, which has resulted in numerous missed turns - whoever decided this was intuitive was obviously mistaken. The routes suggested also differ entirely from those suggested by both TomTom and Google Maps, usually adding unnecessary time to journeys.

Leg space in the front is good, however as a tall driver (6'4") moving the driver's seat all the way back results in next to no leg space in the rear, which is disappointing for a car of this size. The boot/load area could easily be reduced by several inches to add valuable space for rear passengers.

Overall, quite a good car - but for £30k it needs to be better than simply 'good'.

Toyota Auris | Toyota Auris

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I'm quite pleased with this car. I injured my left leg 3 years ago, and access was a problem on my then current car, a Rover 75. I initially changed it for a Toyota Corolla Verso, which gave me a higher position, but found it uneconomic to run. I also found that I was experiencing trouble with using the clutch. I tried several automatic versions of people carriers, then found the Auris, which looks like a normal saloon but somehow gives me a higher seating position for access. I like the manual option on the gearbox - there are paddles on the steering wheel for changing as well as the gear stick. The passenger space is well thought out and I am comfortable even in the back (although getting out is not so easy). Luggage space is good, and as an older driver I am quite satisfied with the performance. There is a sports option on the automatic change, but I have not experimented with this. We average just over 30 mpg around town, better on a run. A week's holiday in North Wales produced an average of 46 mpg over 1200 miles, which I thought reasonable, although compared with the Rover, which was a diesel and gave me well over 50 mpg and the extra power of a 2 litre engine, I felt a little better could be possible. I am told that automatics are not so economical, but this car definitely does better than the Corolla with the same engine size. The only problem I have had so far is that Halfords are totally unaware that this model has a rear wiper, and I had to go to a main dealer to obtain replacements.

Toyota Auris | Auris TS Excell Hybrid

Added: 17th of February 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2014
  • 1598cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

My last three cars were Prius models. I have enjoyed the ease of driving the Hybrids. The economy was an incentive after the RAV 4 automatic I owned previously. HoweverI last year I decided to purchase the new Auris TS Excell just for a change of style. It was basically similar to Prius spec but the tourer styling made it stand out.

On the plus side. Apart from the benefits of the Hybrid technology and Toyota reliability it is fun to drive. It has a very spacious boot and the back seats easily fold down to increase carrying capacity. IIt also comes complete with reversing camera and both back and front parking sensors.

On the down side I miss the digital speed display with " Heads Up " capability of my last Prius. Also
the fuel consumption is definitely less at around 45 mpg on local roads ( 58 on motorway ) My last Prius was approximately 10 mpg better. Also " Park Assist " device was a non starter. Salesman unable to get it to work on demonstration. I decided that as I had 60 years experience of parking I would continue to do the parking myself !!!!

Toyota Auris | To dear by far

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2198cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I bought the Auris SR180 diesel which replaced my Avensis Tourer 1.8 petrol.
For: great looks, reasonably quick, extremely reliable.
Great kit: full body kit, keyless entry/push button stop start. Factory fitted Sunroof and Bluetooth.

Against: VERY expensive to run ( I DO NOT speed or drive like a maniac) my average mpg including town, country and motorway is around 34mpg. NOT good by any means AND diesel IS MORE EXPENSIVE THAN PETROL!. (The car has FULL Toyota service history).
Road noise is unbearable at 60-70mph, radio is tinny and generally poor. Conclusion: I could buy an S-Type diesel jaguar and have money in my pocket AND travel in style.
I have also driven the new Auris Hybrid which, in my opinion is one of a range of awful, dreary and boring cars that are currently available from Toyota (exception being the new Rav 4). Can I say I AM a big fan of Toyota but not of my Auris or their latest offerings. It seems the flair and excitement have disappeared from the Toyota designers minds (we don't all want a 2 seater ie G86).

Toyota Auris | Toyota Auris

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

We purchased the Auris from a local Toyota dealer we had used before and always had good service. That good service swayed our choice of vehicle and having looked at VW Golf, Kia's and MINI's we went back to Toyota.
The Auris is about the size of a Golf and after testing a 1300cc version, which I found 'gutless', we tried a two year old 1600cc. We had intended to buy new but were so impressed with the used one we bought it on the spot.
We have now run it for over two years and it has been 100% reliable. The petrol engine is free revving and very lively giving the car a decent turn of speed when needed. The six speed manual gearbox is light and positive when changing gear and the handling gives lots of confidence on the winding and narrow lanes near home. On longer trips the seats are comfortable and supportive and there is plenty of space for four adults to travel in comfort.
We average between 40-43mpg.

Overall we are very pleased both with the car and the dealership.

Toyota Auris | Auris 1.6 TS

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Overall, a superb car.
Baught it due to Toyota's legendary reliability staus and the Auris's safety rating(but I am also a Toyota fan; this is the 3rd Toyota I have owned).
Seats very comfortable but fabric does trap a lot of dog hairs!
Very well laid out interior with plenty of functional gadgets (bluetooth, climate control, multi-function steering wheel, USB port and so on).
Performance is OK - plenty of speed and acceleration for me, but some may find it a bit sluggish for a 1.6L engine.
Fuel economy is consistently over 40mpg for mixed driving which includes a lot of short journeys and town driving.
Driving it is very predictable - holds a straight line and corners well, brakes are extremely good.
As with most Toyotas, there is plenty of interior plastic but this holds up well and is easy to clean.

Toyota Auris | auris hybrid

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • hybrid
  • Hatchback
  • 5

i love this car and am surprised i don't see it more frequently praised as it has all the advantages of a prius without being such a large and ugly brute! The problem is that is just an ordinary hybrid with a very small battery and basically designed to use regenerative breaking and freewheeling to charge the battery - it needs a bigger battery and the ability to charge it by plugging in - like the prius plug in... When it has that capability it would be absolutely my perfect car - its pretty good now but that would really lift its rating not to mention practicality...

Toyota Auris | Auris hybrid

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2011
  • 1800cc
  • automatic
  • hybrid
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A very competent all round car. All the electric gismos - camera, navigation, automatic wipers, lights, keyless entry/ignition , make driving easier. Good road-holding. Not as large a car as the one I am used to, so seems a bit small for four adults, but good for just two. Drove faultlessly for 1000 miles over 2 days mostly on motorway. Seats not particularly comfortable for me after an hour. Can often achieve 60 mpg but generally over 50 mpg if you have variable speeds on a country road where there is less chance for regenerative charging.

Toyota Auris | Totaly Relaxing Car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1800cc
  • automatic
  • hybrid
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is the 4th Toyota car I have had (in fact the last 4), As with the previous 3 I am expecting little to no expense on repairs. My previous car which I had for 7 years was the Prius, this Auris is essentially that Prius repackaged. As with the Prius it is an amazingly relaxing car to drive, still fresh after a drive from my home on the South Coast to the Lake District. My normal daily journeys are short town only trips, the MPG is averaging between 56 to 58. Solid, well built, I can find no faults at all, an excellent all round car.

Toyota Auris | I love this car

Added: 13th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have two Japanese cars, switched from German. The German ones may be nicer to look at and Nicer inside but the Japanese ones are cheaper to buy and to maintain to fix if they ever go wrong which is RARE. It is so much more cost effective to maintain my Japaneses cars and far less call outs to the AA. Love the hatchback it can be a comfy car for passengers and also do the DIY and dump runs with ease. May look like an old mans car but goes round corners like a go cart and is very nippy. I will never go back to German cars again.

Toyota Auris | OLD FRIEND

Added: 13th of May 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1598cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Bought used from dealer have owned for eight years best car I have ever owned maybe not the best to drive found it to be very reliable car only problems have been catalytic converter not so fun was quoted ridiculous price to replace but got used one fitted by friend cheaply, also leaking water into boot from tail lights or boot vents in the last spells of rain and flooding still to rectify. The Auris is look apon as being lackluster these cars need to be revved harder if you want to accelerate fast.

Toyota Auris | Toyota Auris Hybrid

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1800cc
  • automatic
  • hybrid
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have had this car for just over 5 weeks and am most pleased with it. The ratings above are obviously based on limited mileage but do cover a week driving around Cornwall as well as a run up the A303/M3 to Surrey.

The car is comfortable, quiet and markedly responsive on the steering. The weather conditions for much of my driving to date have not been ideal and yet I have still averaged just under 60 mpg. I would certainly recommend the car to others.

Toyota Auris | No major faults

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1800cc
  • automatic
  • hybrid
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I'd recommend this car for driving around town and shorter journeys. Achieving 55-60 mpg which is less than the manufacturer states but I still think is ok for the type of driving. Interior space slightly compromised by batteries - we have 1 baby and manage but would struggle with 2. Pleasant car to drive but compared to my previous car (golf) less of a solid feel and slightly less comfy seats. Would definitely consider a hybrid Toyota again.

Toyota Auris | A safe bet......

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought this car for Toyota's famed reliability and it has served me well. Inspite of 2 recalls both of which were handled well - quickly and without much trouble. I have it serviced anually and it "does what it says on the tin". Fuel consumption is good. Althoughit is safe and reliable, it is also dull and boring and does not make my heart sing.....and I still hanker for the increased visibility, comfort and protection of previous 4X4s.

Toyota Auris | Return to Toyota

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I had a Corolla for many years (which was one of the best cars I'd ever owned), but wasn't keen on the Auris as a replacement. The recent restyling of the Auris made me look again... and I love it! I picked up my brand new Auris on 1st September and haven't stopped smiling since. It's comfortable, reliable, stylish, economical, practical and packed with features. I don't think I'll be moving away from Toyota again in a hurry.

Toyota Auris | Hybrids are the future

Added: 14th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2012
  • 1400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I never thought I would want an automatic, but this has made driving so much more relaxing. The car is a pleasure to drive regardless of road conditions. The main gripe I have is boot space - when we pack up to go on holiday, it really isn't big enough for a self-catering break. Not being able to put a tow bar on the car is also annoying - we would like to carry bikes and have a small trailer that can't be attached.

Toyota Auris | Economical family car

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1333cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The 1333cc engine is small for this group of cars but 6 gears provide plenty of performance and good economy. Drives comfortably on motorways, trunk roads and around town. Well made and reliable. Sufficient space for 3 persons in back with plenty of head and knee room and for 3 suitcases or bags in boot. 10,000 miles between servicing and parts readily available. Very pleased with this car.

Toyota Auris | Toyota Auris

Added: 16th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1392cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A sound reliable vehicle with good features and good fuel costs.Very reliable I have had the vehicle for 3 years and no problems ! service always completed at main dealers which are not to over the top prices.
Comfortable ride with good boot space.
Only issue is abit sluggish when you want to go faster,but catches upon eventually.
All in order a good sound vehicle

Toyota Auris | Toyota Auris

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Having owned a Toyota Auris for over 6 years, I can honestly say that it has been problem free. It starts and runs as well as when I bought from new, the bodywork and paintwork still look fresh, I haven't even had to change a bulb.

I would certainly recommend Toyota for quality and reliability.

Filter Toyota Auris Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.