Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Suzuki Swift Reviews

Suzuki Swift

Welcome to the Suzuki Swift review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Suzuki Swift cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£10,779 - £14,709
AA Cars Average
£6,843
MPG
38.2 - 67.3
CO2 (g/km)
109 - 176
Tax Band
B - I
Noise Level
69.0 - 73.0

Suzuki Swift | Vastly Underrated Supermini...

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 993cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Whilst it's competitors constantly felt the need to chop and change, that the Suzuki Swift remained available in the UK for around 15 years in more or less the same form is testament to it's great design, still the basis of Pakistani and Chinese models in 2013!. A pretty shape with simple engineering and generous spec for the time combined with a roomy feel and miserly fuel economy to make a great car for city driving and short round trips.A shame Suzuki never really replaced it.

On the down side it lacks the required comfort for long trips, struggles on hills and lacks safety features, but driven carefully it's ideal for the first timer or low mileage driver who wants little more than a daily driver/shopping trolley without breaking the bank.

It's not fast, but light and nippy enough to stay out of trouble in the city (no power steering required)and comfortable on motorways. Low mileage examples are still plentiful, spares cheap. Deserves a cult following...

Suzuki Swift | Glad I bought it, despite a couple of niggles.

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Have had great fun owning my 2007 Swift Sport - it's got just the right power and it's a hoot to drive. Chuck it into any corner at any speed and it'll take it. I wouldn't have bought anything else.

I've had a couple of reliability-based niggles - one suddenly very flat battery, which I don't think is car specific, and one involving a supposedly 'dead' catalytic coverter after 60,000 miles. Fortunately, once back at the dealer I bought it from, they uncovered that it was a software glitch, fixed for £30. Can't speak more highly of the dealer.

I've had the fuel economy at around 38-39mpg, which would be helped so much by having a sixth gear. But all the same, the extra cost in petrol over, say, a 1.4 Polo/Fiesta is well worth it for the fun you'll have.

Overall, if you have a chance to buy it, go buy it!

Suzuki Swift | Great urban car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2007
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

If you live in the city this is a car for you. Small and compact it can nip around built up areas with ease. The 1.5 litre model has good power to weight ratio which in turn makes breaking effortless. It is a small car but can still fit 4 people in no problem. The boot however is quite small so if you need a car for luggage or a pram perhaps then this is not for you. I get around 140 miles out of it when putting in £20 petrol at 1.27p/litre which is not bad at all. All in this is a fab car.

Suzuki Swift | Experience

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 5

Very pleased with buying a new model. I am comfortable in it. I also find it helps older relatives to enter the vehicle easily. The system audio is now out dated no blue tooth or MP3 player. I am happy with the look and relaiabilty. My main dealer is expensive for MOT's etc. I have gone to a local garage. And find the advise more proactive. You will need a new tyre in 2 months time you will need this on your nxt service. I would recommend for a first time buyer.

Suzuki Swift | would recommend for big smiles

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

not had the car long enough to give a full review so my comments are only based on my initial impression.
at 6ft 3 and large frame suprised at how comfortable to drive the car is. on regular 300mile round trips no aches, handling is excellent (ex karter) torqey engine make the twisty bits fun, economy is a vast improvement on my old car.
wife has a new polo but reckons the swift knocks spots off it in every department .the boots not massive but who cares

Suzuki Swift | great little car

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1242cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I downsized from a BMW 7 series to the Suzuki with a small amount of trepedation. However, I was pleasantly surprised with it. The car is great to drive, economical to run and has enough space inside for my needs. One drawback is that the demister isn't very efficient and quite often the only way to clear the screen is to put the air conditioning on - not much fun in the middle of winter.

Suzuki Swift | Suzuki Swift

Added: 17th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Went from 1800cc Ford Mondeo to this Suzuki Swift when I was made redundant and went self-employed and needed to get a car that was better on fuel.
The car will cruise on the motorway at 70-80 mph and returns 40-odd mpg.
It's roomy enough and has the feel of a bigger car on the inside despite its outward appearance.
I'd recommend it to anyone who prefers big cars but has to downsize.

Suzuki Swift | Suzuki Swift

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Good little car very ecconomicla and easy on upkeep.
Although good space on the back seats, there is very little boot space and this is an issue wth shopping, etc.
Also the passenger seat chair creates a blind spot for the driver.
I changed to this to save on costsd as I have a long commute and it is very easy to drive and park.

Suzuki Swift | Nice car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Can run on the motor way for 250 milesapprox at a cost of £25. Its quite a comfortable car that feels bigger than what a small car should. It does have a small boot area but its acceptable for general shopping. The car is generally a good all round car and i would recommend to anybody looking looki g for a suzuki.

Suzuki Swift | Suzuki swift

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Had since 2009, not let me down so far. The only complaint I have is, until you get used to it, it tends to stall easily when starting. In the old days we would have said a spark plug problem. Overall it is very reliable and although I don't like driving in the snow, it does hold the road well in icy conditions

Suzuki Swift | Suzy Q the 1.2

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The 1.3 has a little more acceleration when pulling away but the 1.2 is great on the open road and economical on fuel. I would move back up an engine size in future as the 1.2 Swift isn't great on hills or overtaking on an incline. For urban use though it's great and stylish.

Suzuki Swift | SUZUKI SWIFT

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 13250cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A GOOD FAMILY CAR WITH A GOOD TURN OF SPEED,VERY RELIABLE AND CHEAP TO RUN,LOOKS A BIT DIFFERENT TO THE AVERAGE HATCHBACK. IT'S A BIT OF A HARD RIDE DUE TO IT'S SPORTY NATURE.NOT MUCH ROOM IN THE BOOT BUT WITH THE REAR SEATS FOLDED YOU CAN CARRY PRETTY MUCH ANYTHING.

Suzuki Swift | A Swift Review

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Suzuki Swift is an aesthetically pleasing and enjoyable car to drive. Built by the Japanese it is typically reliable and easy to manoeuver. The only negative point is it's fuel efficiency, which in today's world, makes a huge difference. Fantastic car otherwise.

Suzuki Swift | LOVE MY SWIFT

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

BOUGHT MY FIRST SWIFT BRAND NEW IN 2001, Y REG. KEPT IT UNTIL 2013. RETIRED SO DID NOT SEE THE POINT IN OWNING TWO CARS SO SOLD "Y" SWIFT BECAUSE I ALREADY OWNED "59" REG SWIFT. NO PROBLEMS, EVER, JUST NEW BATTERY, TYRES, EXHAUST, ON OLD MODEL OF COURSE.

Suzuki Swift | Suzuki Swift DDis

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is the second one of these cars I have had. I kept the last one for nearly five years because it was such a good little car. Although slightly pricey they are worth every penny and I think you would struggle to find a better super mini.

Suzuki Swift | Suzukui Swift

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Bought new in 2008, fun to drive with good road handling. Small but suits my life style. Can be noisy inside particularly on motorways. Will definitely buy another unless I win the Lottery in which case it will be an Aston Martin DB9!

Suzuki Swift | reliable, practical and cheap to buy but petrol hungry and uncomfortable

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

not as good on petrol consumption as a small car should be and rather uncomfortable, too hard a ride for todays badly kept roads. But extremely reliable and practical. Very good value to purchase, a practical car.

Suzuki Swift | Practical

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Folding rear seats make this a very practical car. shame that newer versions did away with them. Good economy 46 average. fun drive and coped well with 4 adults on the steep hills and minor roads of Exmoor.

Suzuki Swift | suzuki swift

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1250cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Overall a very good package, quiet , very economical, low tax bracket , comfortable, smart interior only negative is hard plastics, looks smart , a lot of car for reasonable money and reliable too.

Suzuki Swift | Suziki Swift

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

I have had my car for 6 years and have been very pleased with it's reliability, low running costs and the cost of insurance and tax.
I have always had it regularly serviced and maintained.

Filter Suzuki Swift Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.