Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Suzuki Grand Vitara Reviews

Suzuki Grand Vitara

Welcome to the Suzuki Grand Vitara review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Suzuki Grand Vitara cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£15,995 - £23,875
AA Cars Average
£10,034
MPG
23.5 - 42.8
CO2 (g/km)
179 - 285
Tax Band
I - L
Noise Level
70.0 - 74.0

Suzuki Grand Vitara | Grand Vitara 4X4

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 3

I chose this 4X4 as we have owned other Suzukis in the past and were impressed with their reliability. I also wanted a car which would perform safely during extreme weather conditions - snow and ice particularly - as where we live and where I work are both in hilly areas. I compromised on running costs and environmental improvements for safety and reliability.

You have to be aware that if this car ever does need a spare part, it will not be cheap or easy to get sometimes - other than from a Suzuki dealer - however, I have found that it does not need new parts very often and this car is now approaching its 5th year with me.

It feels solid and safe to drive in icy and snowy conditions, obviously driving with these conditions in mind, and has not let me down on my commute yet which is my main reason for having my car. However, we have used it on a couple of distance drives, and while it rather ate the petrol, it proved a comfortable car, adequately carrying required luggage.

Also, as it is a 4X4, as an owner you do not feel the need to keep it shiny and tidy inside and out. It is meant to be a workhorse of a car so it gets cleaned as little as possible - rainy days are usually enough and as for valeting - it has never been considered! Perhaps when I need to sell!!!

Suzuki Grand Vitara | Suzuki G.Vitara XL-7

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 2700cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Does what a large 4x4 should do (not such a 'soft-roader' as they have been labelled as).Not cheap to run, but you should expect that from a V6 2.7L engine. Very reliable, this is my 4th Grand Vitara and every one has passed every m.o.t. As they are no longer in production I'm already finding it hard to decide what to replace it with in 3 years time !! nothing else is rated as being half as reliable. Performance is what you would expect from a V6, even my wife can leave others standing at the lights (without even exceeding 2500 r.p.m.)and motorway cruising is a dream, if you don't watch the fuel guage too closely. If you tow a decent size caravan (twin axle), live or work in the countryside, especially in winter, why would you drive anything else ?

Suzuki Grand Vitara | Suzuki Fun

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2004
  • 1598cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Needed a 4x4 as live rurally and in winter local roads are ice-bound. Driveway is also on a 35 degree incline.

Although the car has functioned flawlessy (albeit low mileage) the failing of the radio unit and some engine bay/under body seam rusting is not so rewarding. Current mileage at <2k per anum.

Ride and general performance acceptable. Cabin is comfortable. Looks and main body retains finish.

VERY VERY disappointed that this model got reclassified into the larger 4x4 class and that road ax is £280 next year for a 36 mpg av 1598cc engine of modern day design and build.

Suzuki Grand Vitara | Little Diamond

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 3

Had the car for 3yrs and my daughter has had it before me.Runs perfect always passes mot with flying colours and not spent a penny on it only to replace tyres and bulbs.Brilliant in 4x4 when you need it.Can't understand why the government keep putting the taxes up on these vehicles to try and get them off the roads for greener so called vehicles when in bad wintery conditions they are the lifelines to the rural communities when nothing else can get there.

Suzuki Grand Vitara | Grand Vitara

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

A good old fashioned 4x4 with permanent 4 wheel drive that gives a suure-footed feel to the handling.

It's petrol so likes to drink (28mpg).

SZ5 spec gives leather and gas-discharge headlamps but only a cd radio with no mp3 input!

Plenty of legroom for 5 people and space for luggage behind.

It has a robust feeling inside and out.

Deals usually available new and cheap to buy 2nd hand.

Good for those who want a real off roader.

Suzuki Grand Vitara | suzuki grand vitara

Added: 9th of January 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 2736cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

I PURCHASED THIS VEHICLE ON THE 05 12 2015 FROM WILLIAMS MOTOR COMPANY . WE STAY IN SCOTLAND AND ONLY SEEN THIS VEHICLE ON THE WEBSITE. PHONED THE GARAGE AND THE MAN SAID YOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPOINTED WITH THIS VEHICLE AS IT IS IN FIRST CLASS ORDER. I HAD THE VEHICLE BROUGHT HOME AND WE ARE ABSOLUTELY DELIGHTED WITH IT . THE MAN AT THE GARAGE WAS TRUE TO HIS WORD. I WOULD NOT HESITATE IN USING OR RECOMENDING THIS GARAGE TO ANYONE I!ll BE BACK

Suzuki Grand Vitara | Suzuki Grand Vitara

Added: 19th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have had this vehicle for 2 years and I love the driving position and general visibility.
I hate the fuel economy 28-30 mpg irrespectiver of driving style.
The car has been ultra reliable to date , serviced every 12 months and passing 2 MOT's with no work necessary. It has never let me down.
I am thinking about an LPG conversion but the cost is a little high and I think I will lose some of the limited space in the rear.

Suzuki Grand Vitara | my grand vitara

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Bought new in 2007,only covered 20.000 miles and just changed the front tyres.Not the best on fuel 27.6 miles per gallon on average.Never had the car back to the dealers for any faults.The car looks superb and the bodywork is as good as new,the interior is fantastic with most of the mod cons.The only fault with the car is a buffeting noise when the rear windows are open.All in all I cant fault the big Suzuki.

Suzuki Grand Vitara | Suzuki Grand Vitara

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Now has 53,000 miles and 10 years old most people would want to change for a newer model - I don't, this car suits me to a tee and there is nothing that I can find that I would want to replace it with. It is great for on road and even better off road, it goes where heavier more powerful vehicles get stuck. Great seating position and very comfortable and for a 4 x 4 reasonably economical

Suzuki Grand Vitara | Rugged 4x4

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

An honest 4x4 that has permanent 4 wheel drive to keep you going when the weather bites.
SZ5 spec gives leather HID lights, climate and sunroof but no mp3 connector.

It likes a drink at 30mpg avereage and takes £280 to tax but it is easier if you buy it knowing this.

The ride is a bit bouncy but potholes are easily tackled.

Suzuki Grand Vitara | Suzuki Grand Vitara

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 3

I bought my car new and it was very much cheaper than the opposition. But it has been almost totally reliable, is compact for parking, sturdily built, and I use it a lot for off-road work. Snow and ice are no problem in winter, the low ratio gearbox is invaluable, and it can go to places that very few other vehicles can.

Suzuki Grand Vitara | all round visibility

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2008
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 3

I love my car even though it is expensive to run. I live in a very rural area and it is very reliable in poor weather conditions.
The only feature I dislike is the lack of visibility for parking or maneuvering because the pillars are too wide and take up too much space. There are `blind` spots because of this.

Suzuki Grand Vitara | susuki grand vitara

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 3

Reaslly nice car. I feel totally secure whilst driving in todays helter skelter traffic.Particularly here in Middlesbrough where there seems to be no speed limits or if there are they are totally ignored.Visibility is excellent and driving position very good and extremely comfortable.

Suzuki Grand Vitara | best car i have owned

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 2488cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

the susuki grand vitara is the most reliable car i have ever own. very comfortable to drive and reliable. the only negative things that i can say about the car is the fuel consumption being quite heavy and the cost of parts w
hen things do go wrong

Suzuki Grand Vitara | Suzuki Grand Vitara

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2400cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Comfortable ride. Mod cons. Good for light to moderate off road work. Was great in the snow last year even though it was an automatic which had worried me when I bought it but confident in its performance in adverse conditions now.

Suzuki Grand Vitara | JUST OK.

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
1/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

NOT THE MOST COMFORTABLE RIDE BEING VERY HARD, HAS HAD RATTLING NOISES WITH SUSPENSION SINCE NEW AND VARIOUS PARTS OF THE EXHAUST SYSTEM FALL OF FROM TIME TO TIME. A BIT UNDER POWERED AND THIRSTY FOR PETROL. WOULD NOT HAVE ANOTHER.

Suzuki Grand Vitara | Suzuki Vitara

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Main issue with the Grand Vitara is the running cost. The car I currently have is my 4th Vitara. The fuel consumption is appalling but its efficiency in bad weather in the Lake District where I live is excellent.

Suzuki Grand Vitara | My car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 3

My car is coming up to ten years old I have had it from new, it has been the most reliable car I have had. I am 59 years of age and have been driving since I was 17.

Suzuki Grand Vitara | Suzuki Vitara

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2000
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Bought this car 3 years ago not very comfortable and not cheap to run but will go anywhere 4 wheel drive and very reliable passed every M.o.t

Suzuki Grand Vitara | suzuki gv 1.9ddis

Added: 26th of May 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Nice spacious,true off roader,my ideal car,good on fuel,easy to handle. Very happy

Filter Suzuki Grand Vitara Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.