Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Suzuki Alto Reviews

Suzuki Alto

Welcome to the Suzuki Alto review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Suzuki Alto cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£7,199 - £10,349
AA Cars Average
£3,897
MPG
39.2 - 64.2
CO2 (g/km)
103 - 171
Tax Band
B - H
Noise Level
68.6 - 73.0

Suzuki Alto | Suzuk Alto

Added: 2nd of April 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2014
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is the first Suzuki I have ever owned and driven, the Alto. The catalogue says it does 67.5 m,p.g. but I have yet to check it out.

A nippy little car for the engine size and three cylinders and although it is was built for flitting around town, it is comfortable enough for long journies and it has four doors.

Instrument panel is very basic, but easy to use. Road holding feels good, but not tested in wet weather yet. Surprising to see a car of this class with fuel injection ABS, power steering, electric windows and airbags.

All in all, so far, this little car has all I need. Its economical use makes expensive servicing that bit more affordable and I am surprised there are not more of them on the road for people who need affordable transport.

My only regret is that I could not find or afford an automatic second hand model, because sooner or later, every maual model needs to have the added expense of a new clutch.

Suzuki Alto | Suzuki Alto 5 dr Auto

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 996cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought this car new for my wife as a replacement for a Suzuki Wagon R as the Wagon R is no longer made. Although only a 3 cylinder 996cc automatic it returns 50mpg and has sufficient power for our everyday needs. It is an excellent city car as it is very manoeuvrable and very easy to park. It can maintain 70mph on motorways and the handling & road-holding feels surprisingly competent. It is also surprisingly comfortable for such a small car and the seating can accommodate 4 adults. Boot-space is small but the rear seats fold flat to make extra space. Equipment for this top of the range model includes ABS, ASC, a full set of airbags and air-conditioning. One of the deciders was price - Suzuki were offering a VAT-free deal which knocked £1,500 off the new price. Road tax is £20 per annum and insurance is moderate. A good little car.

Suzuki Alto | Compact & Practical

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought this vehicle used a four years ago when my commute to work was 60 miles a day,I have done 50,00 miles with it on top of the 34,000 miles it had already done when I purchased it. other than routine servicing have only had to fit a clutch and handbrake cable plus a battery last winter.
It returns around 50 mpg, is only £30 a year road tax, and is quite happy to cruise on a motorway at 70 mph.
It is roomy and comfortable (I am 20 stone)and the only reason I will be getting rid of it next year is because my two children are now 10 & 12 years old and are complaining about the legroom in the rear.
It is bright red and has always made me smile when I drive it...why should Noddy have all the fun ??

Suzuki Alto | All you will ever need.

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2011
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

The alto is all you will ever need in a car if you have a low numbered family (no more than 4), there is no need to have anything bigger. It can seat 4 people and light luggage. The rear seats can fold to get any larger luggage in (if two are travelling) or I can get a cycle in the same space. The engine performance is sufficient these days unless you need to break the speed laws all the time, so is the handling. It can cruise at top end legal speeds, plus, on the motorway without any problems. No road tax and good MPG

The only problems are: The vanity mirror is on the (UK) drivers side but the driver would not need to use it and the UK roads take their toll on wear & tear to excess.

Suzuki Alto | wind screen reflections

Added: 9th of April 2015
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2015
  • 988cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Overall having had the car for less than a month I was reasonably pleased especially as there was no VAT.
However now the sun is out I am so irritated by the grey vinyl frontage being TOTALLY reflected in the windsreen as I drive along. No- the sun visor is no help ! I am a small person, being only 5'1'', maybe that is a reason being low down but I really think this is a big fault. Why did the makers not use a matt vinyl? This would have been less reflective-I would be interested to know does anyone else find this Fault [and it is a fault] annoying? Let me know if there is a remedy .I have asked Suzuki and I just got some surprise but no solution.

Suzuki Alto | Excellent Value Small car

Added: 16th of December 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

For those of us on a budget ( and who isn't with today's motoring costs)this car makes a lot of sense.I bought it new and have been well pleased so far.It has great fuel economy (74mph claimed but 60s realistic)cheap road tax2 0 pounds after free first year,low insurance.Surprisingly nippy in town and motorway,excellent brakes.
On the down side the gearbox is clunky but you get used to it,no car alarm fitted by Suzuki and reluctance from Car alarm companies to fit one(Mine was broken into after only 6000 miles)
Overall I enjoy driving it so far and would recommend it to others on a low income

Suzuki Alto | Super Suzuki!

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have found this car very good. I am on my own but sometimes take passengers and I find it a bit underpowered and I am very careful not to overestimate its performance. Having only 4 seat belts is bit of a nuisance, but I realise that it is only a small car. Apart from that I really enjoy this car and have been very pleased with it. It is economical and on a motorway drive it is really quick and easy to drive. It is nippy in town and comfortable too.

Suzuki Alto | A ok car

Added: 27th of July 2015
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2013
  • 999cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Alto is a cheap run around small town car..doestn't like hills though.and here in Wales there are many..fuel consumption good about 57miles to the gallon..£30 road tax..the boot is very small but back seats fold down to accommodate the larger article..bodywork easily dented by just pressing into it..and front driving seat will not go up to where i felt comfortable so had to put a cushion behind me..not over the moon with this car but it goes.

Suzuki Alto | Suzuki Alto SZ4

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 987cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This has been a great wee car.
The last car I had was Vauxhall Astra diesel it was quite a good car but the Suzy is if anything cheaper to run and more fun to drive.
Equipped with everything you would expect in bigger cars EBD, Tracking control, power steering and adjustable steering column and drivers seat hight etc.
It is also a good vehicle for carrying loads .
With the back seats down it's amazing how big the load space is.

Suzuki Alto | Alto Experience

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 999cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 5

I bought the Alto as an economical runabout and have been very impressed by the vehicle, Road Tax is zero and even on short fuel consumption is low.

The interior space with the 5 doors and ability to fold down the rear seat backrest is excellent,

Reliability has been faultless and there is even a spare wheel in case of a puncture @ 5999 on the road with a 3 year warranty I am surprised there are not more on the road.

Suzuki Alto | Suzuki Alto

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

The Suzuki Alto is a small, practical car.
Very low running costs, excellent fuel consumption.
Comfortable, including on longer journeys. My passengers have commented that they are surprised how much room they have in the back, and that they are comfortable.
It handles well and I love driving my Alto.
. I am very glad I purchased it.

Suzuki Alto | My Alto

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2011
  • 996cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Although I only cover a low mileage I have always found my Alto reliable. Whilst as a senior citizen I am finding the increased insurance rates are annoying, the overall running expenses are otherwise acceptable. The 996cc engine gives me all the power I need and more.

Suzuki Alto | Great little car

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 999cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Great car if you don't put speed at the top of your list really good on fuel consumption and zero road tax plus very low cost to insure it just lacks character otherwise its a good car for local to medium journeys

Suzuki Alto | Watch out!

Added: 30th of April 2015
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2012
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Yes the Suzuki is great to run. But mine is two different colours and Suzuki will not do anything about it! If buying a white car check it out of the show room to make sure it is one colour!

Suzuki Alto | My Alto

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Everything about my Suzuki Alto has been excellent. It is nine years old and is as economical as when I bought it. I would recommend it to anyone. I only wish it were electric.

Suzuki Alto | my alto

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2013
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

car is very nippy and reliable but the boot is quite small and does not hold a large suitcase. speedo/odometer is also small, previous car had a much larger and noticeable one.

Suzuki Alto | Suzuki Alto

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2005
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Good, reliable little car. Ideal for running around town. Easy to park and enough room for shopping. Rather constricted for longer journeys.

Suzuki Alto | MY CAR

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 999cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I LIKE THE CAR IT IS JUST THE RIGHT SIZE FOR ME AS I DO NOT DO A LOT OF MILEAGE SINCE I RETIRED THIS IS THE REASON FOR A SMALLER CAR.

Suzuki Alto | Practical

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 996cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Don't give a damn about speed, I just want a reliable mode of transport that doesn't cost much to run, and the Alto fits the bill.

Suzuki Alto | littlecar

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1986
  • 900cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I call it my dodgem car. It gets into tine spaces, but what I love most about it is that it has FOUR doors!

Filter Suzuki Alto Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.