Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Subaru Forester Reviews

Subaru Forester

Welcome to the Subaru Forester review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Subaru Forester cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£24,995 - £30,995
AA Cars Average
£17,176
MPG
25.7 - 47.9
CO2 (g/km)
155 - 261
Tax Band
G - M
Noise Level
67.7 - 72.5

Subaru Forester | 2004 Subaru Forester All Weather 4x4

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

If you are looking for a practical, go-anywhere, all purpose vehicle the Forester takes some beating. Servicing costs can be on the high side but replacement parts are rarely needed.
Fuel consumption is usually about 33 mpg, reasonable for the type of vehicle.

Ice and snow are no problem, it just keeps going. It's surprisingly relaxed and long-legged on the open road too. It's also a good load carrier and tow car. The All Weather version has cruise control, fog lamps and a really large sun roof- well worth the extra cost.

I've had the car from new. Replacement parts needed in 9 years and 50k miles are a new battery, new front disks, new disk pads, new set of tires and routine service parts. It's been very reliable, as was my previous Subaru, an L series estate.

Things I don't like- not a lot really, but I've never liked Subaru's insistence on frameless windows. This type of car demands something more robust. However, they have survived so far. It could do with a bit more acceleration but I guess that would result in less mpg, so I can live with that.

It's still in excellent condition and does everything I want it to do, so I'm not planning to replace it anytime soon.

Subaru Forester | Excellence

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

This is the third Diesel Forester following a previous petrol engined model.
All have been extremely reliable, excellent on fuel consumption; good at retaining tyre pressure and the only oil used has been at routine oil changes.
Speedometer is a little over generous, eg on previous car indicated 65 mph is an actual 60 mph.
Overall mpg over 11,000 miles about 53 with Cruise control set at actual 60 mph on long runs; main ly long runs but some short and some light towing.
Eccellent service from Subaru Garage.
No spares needed except rom those used at the services.
It has done all we have asked including getting us home up a 1 in 7 hill covered in snow to a depth of at least 3 inches.
Trade in value reasonable on all changes, although I benefitted at the last change because Garage was close to target.

Subaru Forester | Subaru Forester

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1997
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 4

I love this car, it is old, but has done just 100k registered 1997, because I live in a small, congested city it is awful as far as fuel consumption is concerned (now learnt my lesson use the bus), but once on a good run or motorway the consumption is much better, I think perhaps because it is a 4wd it will use more fuel, however it has got me out of more mud, fields and snow than I could shake a stick out. Been camping in it, I just love it, if I could afford to buy a new one I would, but a 64 year old pensioner I have to watch my pennies, so I am hanging to my "baby". Sssh - I am looking to get a rescue dog pretty soon, so want to hitch up my bike to the car and with the dog find some nice woods to cycle and walk the dog! And maybe some camping too! Who knows. Life is just a buzz - got to have some fun.

Subaru Forester | Forester 2.0i XT (2014)

Added: 21st of November 2014
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2014
  • 1998cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 4

This replaced a 2006 Forester XTEn and provides more space for rear seat passengers and luggage although I prefer the lower stance and smoother lines of the older model.
Fuel economy is much improved over the previous car (<30mpg versus <25mpg) - probably thanks to the smaller engine and Lineartronic gearbox instead of a 4-speed auto, however performance is similar.
The new car has much more interior gadgetry to get familiar with. The SatNav screen is too low and gets partially obscured by the driver's left arm which prevents its effective use as an indicator of upcoming corners & bends. The lack of an auto-dipping mirror is a bit of a retrograde step.
This car has all the attributes of a 'proper' SUV and sees a welcome return of the sort of performance for which Subaru has been well-known.

Subaru Forester | Subaru Forester XT 2.5 litre turbo

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1994
  • 2500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Good car. Very reliable. Would recommend to someone who needed the power and performance. The amount of miles and weatehr conditions I am now prepared to now drive in, makes it too expensive to run. Will be swapping for a smaller, more economical car in the spring. Will be choosing the product of a 'mass manufacturer' to ensure that after-market spares are available to keep down costs of maintenance and service. Also mpg and road tax makes a small car sufficient for my needs.

Subaru Forester | FORESTER XT 2.0 TURBO AUTO

Added: 31st of December 2014
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

I felt compelled to write on here as I've owned loads of different vehicles and after having a forester before I had to buy another for the winter .. Mine drives superb and with heater & heated seats it's luxury in any cold snap .. Not superb on economy but what do you expect .. Great as a second car and I really do love it .. Starts on the button every time ..very useful
And I would recommend as long as it has been maintained

Subaru Forester | Forester 2.5XTEn

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 2457cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 4

Excellent performance which is very reassuring on single carriageway roads where there is often limited overtaking distance. The relatively high fuel consumption (<25mpg overall) is the penalty for performance. Rear seat space is a bit restricted and the car lacks some interior amenities that feature elsewhere.
I am finding it very difficult to find anything to replace it other than the latest Forester.

Subaru Forester | 2013 Subaru Forester

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

I own the entry level model of the 2013 Subaru Forester, and it's a completely different breed of car to the model it replaced.
It's got bags of space for four adults, including their luggage.
The ride is smooth and quiet, and it has lots of features you would expect to find on a far more expensive model.
Also, the fuel consumption for a 2 litre petrol automatic is really good.

Subaru Forester | Sub Forester

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 1996cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

This is a very comfy spacious car with superb reliability. the only shortfall, and it's not too bad, is the fuel consumption is a tad on the low side. I am hoping to replace this car with a newer model in the future as I simply love this car, and the brill wheel traction makes sure that I can get to work no matter what the weather

Subaru Forester | Subaru Forester

Added: 16th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2015
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

This is my second Forester. I had the previous one 12 years. Much larger than my previous model, but much more comfortable . Performance good, auto- gearbox excellent. Averaging 39.4 mpg. Very good in poor weather, snow and off road - mainly muddy tracks. Should be very reliable. A vehicle to keep for a long period!

Subaru Forester | Subaru Forester

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Great get you out of anything car. Do not dread snow and ice at all. This car is a star when it comes to these conditions.
Nice, smooth running car,and quite substantial. Not beautiful to look at, but hey, you can't have everything. It is a good honest car and I love it.
Down side is fuel costs and road tax.

Subaru Forester | Very reliable workhorse

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 4

Have had the Subaru Forester for ten years and it's never let me down, nor (due to permanent 4x4 and dual gear change) have I failed to get home (live high up near moors)despite ice and snow etc. Extremely useful for carrying loads. Not the most sophisticated or well equipped car but it's been great for us.

Subaru Forester | Subaru Forester

Added: 14th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Good fuel economy for the size. Practical layout and flexibility. Very comfortable on long journeys and performs well in bad wintry weather, and has a lovely large sunroof when the weather is good. I'm on my third Forester now and think it is still a very comfortable and practical vehicle in its class

Subaru Forester | Subaru Forester

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Very reliable, competent and versatile. Excellent in the snow and ice ( with the right tyres ). Have had Subarus for the last 20 years and never broken down. Normally car only visits garage for annual service.
Good roadholding , cornering etc, better than majority of 4 x 4s.

Subaru Forester | 5 Star car

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

My Subaru Forester is the best car I've owned in 15 years of motoring.
I own the entry model, and yet it has so many features of a car one would expect to be top of its range.
This is my second Subaru, and I will never be tempted to buy any other sort of car marque.

Subaru Forester | Subaru Forester

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1999cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Although the Forester is expensive to run (fuel and road tax costs, servicing and repairs) it is very comfortable and performs well in snow and ice, and for fishing trips where one often has to negotiate rough roads and tracks for access.

Subaru Forester | DEPENDABLE and SAFE

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Having driven this car from new for 11 years in a rural area of hills and bad winter weather, I can confidently say that it has performed well. However, it is showing it's age and I will have to change it soon, although reluctantly.

Subaru Forester | Subaru forester

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Underrated car in many aspects , does not receive the credit it is due mainly because the reliability is second to none , when you hear so many horror stories about other makes of car .

Subaru Forester | Subaru Forester

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1994cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Very comfortable and reliable car. Lots of useful features - AWD, Heated Seats, armrests, fog lights, cruise control and many more
One draw back is the very low petrol ie mpg

Subaru Forester | scooby

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1992
  • 1780cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

bought secondhand and been a good buy except expensive to have any work done especially if at an agency garage and disappointingly high fuel consumption

Filter Subaru Forester Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.