Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Skoda Yeti Reviews

Skoda Yeti

Welcome to the Skoda Yeti review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Skoda Yeti cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£15,235 - £26,410
AA Cars Average
£12,616
MPG
35.3 - 61.4
CO2 (g/km)
119 - 189
Tax Band
C - J
Noise Level
70.0 - 74.0

Skoda Yeti | A good car with some problems

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1968cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

I bought the 4x4 Yeti 4 years ago to help me get around in winter, and it has proved very useful - much better in winter on rural snow-covered roads. I would have preferred it to have larger tyres rather than the semi low profile ones, which are not very practical on our pot-hole ridden roads, but probably appeal more to the city-dweller who fancies having a 4x4.

I get about 43 miles per gallon on average, but I do mainly short journeys. Economy is better on longer journeys.

The car has been back to the dealer several times in the warranty period with warning lights coming on, and it usually takes them two or three days to fix a problem, though I can normally have the car back at the end of each day and return it to them the next morning. This has been very inconvenient. I paid for extended warranty because of these problems, and then an airbag warning light came on. This turned out to be a broken wire which they did fix in one day but it wasn't covered by the extended warranty and cost me over £100. It has since been back with one other problem that was covered by warranty, but took them 2 days to fix.

There have been some intermittent electrical problems. A couple of times I have parked it and on returning to it a couple of hours later I've found all the windows open. Once I used the satnav to get me to an unfamiliar destination, and when I was ready to go home, the whole radio unit and satnav were inoperable, but everything worked again the next morning. Sometimes the cooling fan stays on for several minutes after turning the engine off, but it is always on cold days after a short journey. It has never happened on hot days or after a lot of driving.

The problems have been irritating but it is a good car to drive.

Skoda Yeti | skoda yeti 1.2 TSI

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

Downsized from a Honda CRV 2.0 Exec to the Yeti 11 months ago. Can honestly say that all the reviews in the motoring press are correct, especially the capability of the 1.2 litre engine matched to 2wd - surprisingly nimble and adequately punchy. Compared to the Honda the fuel economy and VED are significantly improved. The cabin space is obviously smaller the Honda but more than adequate for the 2 of us ( I am 6 ft 1 and tip the scales at 16stone 8 lbs and find the seats generous, supportive and comfortable with more than adequate leg room) and frequently grand children. Great flexibility in arrangement of seating / cargo space as rear seats offer 35/ 30/ 35 split and can be tilted forward to create a flat load space - haven't tried removing rear seats to increase size of flat load area- understand this is a bit awkward . Rear seat backs can be individually raked and seat squabs slide to provide a good range of adjustment to aid comfort for rear seat passengers.
The ride is not quite as refined as the Honda but certainly more than adequate. The roof rails make it easy and economical to add extra load carrying capacity. My only real complaint is the lack of a spare tyre - only a reinflation kit is provided which has already proved an expensive option after suffering an irreparable. Overall, very happy with our choice and would certainly considered another Yeti to replace this one in due course

Skoda Yeti | Skoda Yeti. What a car!!!!

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1968cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have had my Yeti now for 18 months.
I chose a model with a high specification including massive opening sunroof and sat nav.
The car brings a smile to my face every time I get into it for the following reasons:-
The seating position is great;
It does everything I ask of it effortlessly and without fuss;
It corners as though it is on rails;
stops on a sixpence;
is easy to park;
The sat nav even says please!
The back seats take out easily for loading more stuff in the back or if 2 people are going on a long journey and you wish to save weight;
At night the lights are fantastic, the cornering lights really do help;
The DSG and cruise control are brilliant, gear changing is not felt and cruise can be adjusted on the stalk.

Two tiny gripes only....the leather could be of a better quality....I drive quite lightly but stuggle to get over 43mpg overall.

I can recommend this brilliant car to anyone

Skoda Yeti | Skoda Yeti

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2015
  • 1998cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 4

Excellent comfortable high up driving position and seats at "bum" height, ideal for access by "mature" driver and passengers. Tendency to minor engine electrical faults and Add Blue requirement a bit of a pain, particularly relative frequency of top ups. (mainly used on country roads and farm, rather than motorways.) Manufacturer's mudguard flaps quite inadequate for country roads. D.I.Y. extensions have helped but should not have been necessary! Survived last winter's floods but had to remember to switch from automatic to manual 1st / 2nd gears to avoid stalling in flood water. Over all very satisfied with Yeti. Previous 15 years drove Subaru Foresters but found Subaru too expensive to run and maintain but they were great!

Skoda Yeti | Possibly the best car I've ownef

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2016
  • 1197cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

I'd wanted a Yeti for a long time but didn't think I'd be able to afford one. Used values are high and I hadn't considered buying new. Thanks to 0% finance and an accomodating dealer, I now have a 1.2 TSI SE on the drive and I'm not disappointed. Although the design is quite long in the tooth now, the Yeti is as as comfortable and practical as ever. Driver and passenger space is good, and although the boot could be bigger, the load space with the seats down is vast. The Yeti is fun to drive too, with plenty of torque from the turbocharged petrol unit and excellent handling thanks to independent rear suspension. It's one of only a handful of cars I've owned that I look forward to driving.

Skoda Yeti | Yeti: abominable? No, man!

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1798cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

In nearly two decades of car ownership, I don't think I have ever had a vehicle quite as accomplished an all-rounder as the Yeti. Some cars do one thing exceptionally well but are severely compromised elsewhere. Other cars are reasonable at many things but not outstanding in any way, so are dull. The Yeti has good-to-excellent performance in most areas (except for how much my particular petrol engine costs to run) and is outstanding in several specific ones as well. If it was another foot longer and so able to fit a small sofa in the back, it would pretty much be perfect.

Skoda Yeti | My Car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

When deciding to purchase a new car the models that were considered were:- Freelander (too costly and expensive to run,plus a bad experience with a previous Discovery) Kia Sportage (Salesman couldn't be bothered), Ford Kuga (too much shiny plastic) and the Skoda Yeti. (Having experienced differing degrees of interest from sales people, plus all current write-ups we felt the Yeti suited our purpose concerning size, economy and general good build quality. Only criticism lack of a spare wheel but a total pleasure to drive.

Skoda Yeti | My YETI

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

Having waited 7 months for my Yeti to be delivered, I have found it easy and comfortable to drive, and relatively economic when compared to an original freelander.(my previous vehicle)
I have a proper spare tyre so load space is compromised to some extent
I took delivery in July 2011 and have had one service on the vehicle, I just wait for it to tell me when it needs one.
I will be looking closely at the replacement yeti when it comes into production so that I can replace this one with the new model

Skoda Yeti | Engine Failure

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have been very pleased with the Yeti as a day to day car for a busy family. It is good to drive and copes well with both local and longer journeys. I chose the petrol option which is slightly thirsty.
My main problem however was the need to replace the engine at 50,000 miles, the timing chain jumped and caused valves to hit the pistons. The car was just out of warranty, Skoda did adventually contribute 80% of the cost of the replacement engine and the dealer were extremely helpful.

Skoda Yeti | Skoda Owner??

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 4

I used to think god I'd never own one of them.
Then whilst looking for another car to replace ours we had a test drive in a yeti.
What a change of mind, Comparing with other cars I've owned the only one that was as comfy as this was the Discovery But of coarse this was a lot cheaper, Cheaper to run, No constant 4 wheel drive so the tires last longer.
Overall I would certainly recommend skoda to anyone.
My son also bought a Fabia 2 1.4 Diesel.
Just as economical as yeti.

Skoda Yeti | SKODA YETI

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

The quality of build is superb, what you get is reliable german engineering at Czechoslovakian prices.

It is a versatile, comfortable work horse with oodles of space that you would quite willingly drive to a posh function or take out into the fields to round up the sheep and long distance journeys can be a pleasure.

Economical to run and when supported by a Skoda main dealer a long and happy relationship can be expected

Skoda Yeti | All good but...

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

My Skoda Yeti is as good as most reviews say it is except
1)Rather heavy on fuel
2) DREADFUL paintwork.One thin layer does not permit polishing out scratches which occur driving a 4x4 in the countryside.My complaint went all the way to the Czech Republic and the reply was-that's normal.Good job the helicopter Jeremy Clarkson landed on the roof of a Yeti didn't scratch it.

Skoda Yeti | Skoda Yeti Monte Carlo

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2015
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have owned this car from new.It is the second Yeti I have owned.
I can honestly say it is simply the best car I have ever owned and I would not swop it for anything else.It is economical for its type regularly retuning 50 mpg.It is fun to drive,comfortable and reliable.The running cost are not expensive compared to other cars I have owned.
I recommend this car.

Skoda Yeti | Love it!

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1200cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Highly practical. Easy to remove all rear seats and has ability to take very large loads. This is the 2nd one I've had. Earlier DSG auto box had issues but this has been addressed and it's a joy to drive. Responsive and economical. Good motorway vehicle too. I really wouldn't consider a larger engine than the 1200 unless you need 4x4

Skoda Yeti | The Best Car I've Ever Owned!

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1200cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

The Skoda Yeti is hard to beat for the price. The engine whilst small is powerful and flexible albeit sluggish at times due to a degree of turbo-lag. The car has masses of room and although the rear seats are heavy to shift they are removable. Overall, a well put together car which is a pleasure to drive.

Skoda Yeti | Skoda Yeti 4x4

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • 4x4
  • 5

I have found this to be a well-constructed and versatile vehicle. I am delighted with it and would not hesitate to buy another in the future. It is the second Skoda I have owned. Both were purchased nearly new from the local main agent who has proved to be both helpful and efficient.

Skoda Yeti | Yeti brief

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1995cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

A well made, well constructed car, very reliable and economic to run at over 50 mpg. The car holds the road well in all conditions and is very confortable although the ride might be too firm for some.
Overall the Yeti is excellent value for money and also holds its value well.

Skoda Yeti | Perfect

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • 4x4
  • 5

My previous car (a Toyota Rav 4) did everything moderately well and lasted me ten years. My replacement also does everything I ask of it but the difference is that the Yeti does everything brilliantly and is cheaper to run, fun to drive and such good value for money.

Skoda Yeti | Best car I have owned.

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1197cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 4

Extremely happy with my Yeti,comfortable, good vision, ease of getting in and out. Running cots to date OK. Have recommened it to several folk locally and believe their has been an increase on owners in the Faversham ( Kent)area as a result. My partner also owns one.

Skoda Yeti | Skoda Yeti

Added: 17th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is the only new car I have ever bought so far and I have not been disappointed. The performance is lively for its size and the handling and comfort are good. Fuel consumption is good, particularly on motorways achieving upper 40's. I would definitely buy another

Filter Skoda Yeti Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.