Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

SEAT Leon Reviews

SEAT Leon

Welcome to the SEAT Leon review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of SEAT Leon cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£15,370 - £22,635
AA Cars Average
£13,649
MPG
31.7 - 74.3
CO2 (g/km)
99 - 214
Tax Band
A - K
Noise Level
67.0 - 74.0

SEAT Leon | Subtle SEAT

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I now drive my second SEAT Leon and have been pleased with both. My current car is a diesel with a "go-faster stripe" which returns reasonable mpg but has a very hard ride. It is described as a "sports suspension" which ensures that I feel every bump in the road. The performance is exciting and the road handling is very good but, had I realised, before I bought it, how "firm" the ride would be I might have chosen a different model. I drive only about 7000 miles a year but have (so far) suffered no problems with the diesel particulate filter which can trouble low annual mileage diesels, so I understand. I have the car serviced at the local Main Dealer and, while each service is a bit more expensive than a local garage might be, I find the car very reliable - I have nevr (again, so far) needed to return to the garage for a defect to be rectified. I would chose another SEAT when this one needs changing but probably a smaller model than the Leon; as I get older I find I no longer need a "boy-racer" car!

SEAT Leon | Seat Leon

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

A good basic no nonsense model. Well thought out in many practical ways eg changing a lightbulb is so straight forward and can be done very easily. There are many touches like this that make ownnership trouble free. Performance is moderate, but adequate for taking the family out, when the boy racer in me is held in check. Only really negative thing is that there are not enough spaces in the cabin for holding all those bits and bobs that we seem to accumulate today.
The car has suffered from rainwater ingress that seems to be a fault on these models. Rain finds its way in through the door seals behind the door cards. It took me the best part of a day to take off all the door cards and re-seal the plastic inner covers.
However, I would recommend this model as a good family car.

SEAT Leon | Would recommend a Leon...

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I love my Leon and it's one of my favourite cars so far.
If I'm being picky it could do with a little more power especially up hill and a more instant response on acceleration (this may be because it's not new?). This being said it does have a sporty feel about it, handles well and is a really nice car to drive.
As with many cars, there are not enough adjustments for the drivers seat so I tend to end up slightly too close to or too far away from the pedals for comfort.
Due to the slope at the back this can effect what large things you can fit in the boot. However, for the size of car it has decent space and a good sized boot and I prefer a car to look good and be fairly practical rather then be completely practical but loose the looks.

SEAT Leon | Seat Leon

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Seat Leon (02 reg) has been a good car generally. It has been excellent to drive and generally very reliable.

However there has been a downside and to me a big one, and this is Seat customer service. My car had a known issue with leaky door seals, which I found out about when my doors leaked. Seat denied this was a common problem and refused to assist. There were many customers on the web with this same problem. Even if Seat had not wanted to pay for a check on door seals, they should have let customers know this is a potential problem so they could watch out for it and not discover it only when the carpets were sodden. This was very disappointing, and would make me think twice before buying another Seat.

SEAT Leon | Car made for a woman

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1950cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

The SEAT Leon hatchback (older style)has safety features that come in very handy if you are a woman driver; eg: the remote locking system works only at fairly close range and will lock again if the driver's door is not opened within a given time limit; there is a choice for opening either the driver's door only or all doors; after starting the journey, all doors lock automatically and cannot be opened from outside, or by children playing with the handles inside.
On the whole, this car is a very likeable vehicle, but could be improved by clearing the windscreen more promptly of condensation, getting the heating going sooner, and preventing water to lie at the driver's side door frame after heavy rain.

SEAT Leon | Seat Leon Ecomotive Cupra SE

Added: 19th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A very nice car. This is my 2nd Mark 2 Leon. The 1.2 TSI engine is quite powerful. On a par with my previous 1.6 litre vehicle. The stop start system is very good too. The 6 speed gearbox is very smooth and reduces revs very well. It can do 40mph in 6th gear on the flat thereby giving quite good fuel consumption. Road fund tax is only £35 pa. Insurance is similar to that for my previous car but road tax is much lower. It is a very comfortable car good adjustment and support from the seats. The inbuilt info systems are very good too. Blue tooth, sat nav, DigitalDAB radio and CD. The automatic lights are very efficient too. Road holding and suspension are very good not too soft not too hard.

SEAT Leon | OK but not for long distance driving

Added: 21st of December 2012
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 16000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I decided to go for a Leon Ecomotive because the CO2 emissions on this were amazing, and I'd been clocked twice driving through London's congestion charge zone (without knowing) and received a fine for the privilege!

If you drive up and down the country or clock up a lot of miles thi car really isn't for you, it's not the most comfortable motorway driving car, but this is only a small flaw.

It's great for town driving (or pottering about London) and is very economical, I would recommend this for anybody who wants a small, sleek, stylish car but wouldn't recommend it to anybody who is over 6' 4'' or anybody who driving a lot of miles for a living.

SEAT Leon | Leon is good

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought my Seat Leon new in 2005 and it has been all I wanted. It's never broken down and is comfortable to drive. It has a decent amount of torque (1.9TD) and is reasonably spacious. It gives me about 53mpg, with a mix of city and motorway driving. I've recently discovered that it can accommodate a baby along with all the associated detritus, but if we have another, we'll need a larger car. Small issues: the speakers tend to buzz a bit and the heating system is all or nothing, despite the dial suggesting that you can select a temperature. Overall though, I'd buy another one. And it's better value than a Golf or an A3 for essentially the same car.

SEAT Leon | seat leon 1.9 tdi 2004

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Having had this as an ex demo, have now completed over 150k miles and only now is the transmission starting to whine. Have had no trouble at all with the car )except leaky windows which apparently s a known issue - so water in foot well). Very reliable and have since got another seat altea (bought new now 4 years old and worse on petrol than me leon!)
Found main seat dealership not that helpful / pricey always had it serviced by local garage and been a fantastic car - still doing 10k miles every quarter with no issues.

SEAT Leon | better than a golf

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1399cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

How did VAG let SEAT provide such a good spec car well below the price of the golf. 140bhp and only £30 tax per year.
Great performance just had to get use to all the additional gadgets including sat nav which is all included as well as the daylight lights etc.
A bit of road noise which may reduce when I have done more miles but at an average of 50mpg you cannot go wrong. It persuaded me to go back to VAG after a disastrous spell with a Golf a few year ago.

SEAT Leon | Seat Leon

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I drive the ecomotive Leon and although it has a great little engine which is fairly economical, the overal build quality of the car isn't as good as many other models.

The car does have a lot of internal space and no road tax is a big bonus.

Overal would I buy another SEAT? I'm not too sure and will depend on finances. I would prefer to buy another Audi but as the engines are much the same, the SEAT does offer much better value for money.

SEAT Leon | Seat Leon FR

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A VW Golf GTI in a totally different and more attractive body. Fast,comfortable,reliable and economical. A faultless piece of engineering with all the extras one could wish for as standard, unlike the majority of other manufacturers where you have to pay for all the 'Add Ons'. This is my second FR in the last five years. Extremely pleased with all aspects of the vehicle.

SEAT Leon | Lovely Leon

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have had this car since summer 2009 and it has never given me any problems at all. I do get it services by a SEAT Dealer (which is probably more expensive than necessary) but it seems to pay off as I get adequate performance and fuel economy. My car is is the FR marque with its "Sports Suspension" which means it is a very hard ride, hnce the lower Comfort score above.

SEAT Leon | The Car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Quite pleased with the Seat, good on long journeys; very economical to run with good fuel consumption, even around town. Does not like early starts on cold frosty mornings - often the condensation inside the car will freeze if the temperatures are low enough, so you have to use the air-con to disperse it. Generally a good car though.

SEAT Leon | smashing new Leon

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1359cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

What have VAG by giving SEAT such a great car. 1.4 turbo petrol engine that gives great mpg and fast response and all for £30. per year tax.

Buying the equivalent in the VW golf would cost more!

The tech package is great once you get used to it all. Perhaps too many gadgets but gets the mind going.

SEAT Leon | Seat Leon

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Great car - very reliable. Only had one major repair needed. Done 120,000 miles - a lot on the motorway.
Isn't too thirsty on the petrol and has good performance.
Big boot
Not a big car but can get 4 passengers in ok when needed.
Have really enjoyed owning and driving it.

SEAT Leon | Seat Cupra

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought this vehicle as I wanted a reliable and sporty vehicle. It does everything I want and feels very safe to drive. I would recommend this vehicle to those who want something fun to drive. It can be a little thirsty on fuel, but it also depends on your driving style!

SEAT Leon | All rounder

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A very suitable sized car for a couple and then to allow to carry further family members as required.A frisky,sporty hatchback with good style and comfort with reasonable economy in today's high motoring costs. Looks good and drives well with in line running costs.

SEAT Leon | Great sporty little hatch

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I love it, it's a great sporty little hatchback with plenty of leg and luggage room and typically good VW/Audi/SEAT reliability.
Running costs are nice and low, with cheap insurance and tax.
Would certainly recommend to others.

SEAT Leon | Who needs a Golf?

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I downsized from a 2litre diesel Passat and was concerned that the performance of a 1.2TSi might be a bit if a comedown. Wrong! Performance is more than adequate and equipment levels are fine. The new model looks even better.

Filter SEAT Leon Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.