Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Saab 9 5 Reviews

Useful links:  33 Used Saab 9 5 in stock
Saab 9 5

Welcome to the Saab 9 5 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Saab 9 5 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£3,768
MPG
24.8 - 53.3
CO2 (g/km)
139 - 271
Tax Band
E - M
Noise Level
69.0 - 75.0

Saab 9 5 | Rare but not totally extinct

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1999
  • 2962cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I own an "old" Saab 9-5 V6 Griffin Turbo which was a special edition and purchased second hand from a main dealer connected with the distributor SAAB UK . The original first owner requested additional extras on the car over and above those normally available. It was one of a try small group of cars originally but since the closure of Saab Sweeden it is now one of a very endangered species . It has given monumentally good service over the past eleven years that I have owned it and reliability has been first class. As for creature comforts the car has a reputation for one of the best seats of any manufacturer and the level of standard specification for the time was one of the best . It is a joy on any long journey as comfort level is very high and with a large engine manages to cruise easily at the statutory speed limit - and more if necessary.
Provided service is carried out on a regular basis and particular attention is taken to make sure that the drive belt is not allowed to wear the car has given and will (I hope) continue to give excellent service for some time to come. Parts thankfully remain relatively easy to get and there remain a core of workshops who have sufficient knowledge and expertise to deal with maintenance and service.
The models introduced just before the death of Saab had the potential to take on the best that Germany had to offer and there was enough design potential for the future to ensure that Saab could have been a long running equal to them . In the meantime those of us (whom Clarkson calls "Architects and Accountants in black polo shirts" ) who retain ownership of these rare machines just sit back and enjoy the privilege for as long as we are allowed to .

Saab 9 5 | Great Value Used estate

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

The Saab 95 2.2 TiD is a great value used estate car, these things go really cheap since the demise of Saab. This model does around 35-40 mpg for town use and up to 48 mpg on runs. Servicing is reasonable as well with the parts being readily available, even though the company no longer existing. I use a Saab specialist and whilst they're probably a bit more expensive than Halfords or Kwik Fit, they know their stuff and are cheaper than franchised dealers.

The seats are comfortable, there is plenty of room in the practical boot and storage areas and when cleaned inside and out it still looks the part. If they are well maintained the build quality means they should be good for 150k miles plus. Even more if its long runs.

I've had the usual issues with the EGR Valve clogging up (common on this engine) which sets off the Check Engine light (limp mode) and the Intercooler has split, research shows this can also be an issue where is bulges and splits along the bottom causing excess exhaust smoke, both can be fixed for £300-£400 pound each item (cheaper if you take the EGR off and clean it yourself). Other than that its just been a general service of about £250 a year.

If you can find a full service history, unmarked, well maintained and cared for model, like mine and stick to the older 2.2 diesel with its chain cam and simple well proved mechanics you'll have a reliable, trouble free workhorse.

Saab 9 5 | As good as the old Saab

Added: 16th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2298cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

I formerly drove Saab 900s and 9000s, and was warned off the newer models as being less well engineered and having poorer performance. Not a bit of it. This 9-5 Estate Aero HOT has proven itself an excellent replacement for my beloved 9000 Griffin, has covered plenty of miles since I bought it a year ago and done it in comfort. The performance is brilliant, though fuel consumption could be better. Maintenance costs are reasonable as long as you find a (non-dealership) Saab specialist, and overall I am very happy with this car. Also makes a great tow-car, and being front-wheel drive and Scandinavian, is happy in poor weather/road conditions and especially snow and ice. Onboard tech (I have the built-in SatNav, and maps are fairly out of date now) could be better, and getting bluetooth connectivity for phones/MP3 devices is proving a challenge, but as a car I can hardly fault it. Plenty of good second-hand ones out there, too, so go buy one!

Saab 9 5 | My Experience

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1956cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

My new model Saab95 is an excellent car, my experience strongly contradicting some of the early reports in certain car magazines an quality newspapers. Score of 3 stars in "running costs " section due to my expectation of better fuel figures. I have obtained 40.9 mpg overall average since new in Sept. 2010 over 43000 miles of mixed driving including regular short morning journeys to newsagent and bakery!

My friend rates my car more highly than his E class Mercedes and I agree. The "pet " of the car magazines, 5 series BMW , not even close!!!

Magazine reviewers have given Saab 95 a low score for handling yet rating 5 series highly. I don't understand this and can only conclude that these reviewers must be poor drivers !

I'm hoping Saab can return to the market as a manufacturer sooner rather than later, in which case, my future car might be a new model 93 and not a nearly new VII series Golf 2.0 GTD ot GTI.

Saab 9 5 | SAAB 9.5 Estate

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1900cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I need a car that can carry plenty of luggage, as I am a SCUBA diver and need to transport significant amounts of kit in addition to normal luggage. My SAAB 9.5 Estate does this with ease. Since changing from the 2.3t to the 1.9Tdi I have noticed the much improved fuel consumption (43 - 46 mpg on trips) with no discernable loss of power or the ability to safely and securely cruise long distances at the locally permitted maximum speed limits. The car has proved extremely comfortable for long distance trips, including long distance UK trips and longer trips around Europe. I would certsinly buy another if SAAB was still in existance and will now keep this car much longer than I might have because I am not sure what could replace it and be as good.

Saab 9 5 | Saab 9-5 Aero

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2290cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

This car is one of the best I have ever owned. I bought it 2nd hand with low mileage on the clock at a bargain price since the demise of Saab. It is my first automatic and the gear change is smooth and direct. Performance is mind blowing above 40mph but sluggish below this speed. The economy around town is poor but can average 34mpg on a motorway drive at cruise control 70mph.
The interior is top quality and luxurious. The exterior unfortunately shows the influence of General Motors and feels slightly less rigid than previous Saabs I have owned but is still of a high standard.
Overall the car feels solid, safe and easy to drive.
Very sad that Saab are no longer manufacturing as this is the end of a spectacular era.

Saab 9 5 | SAAB 9.5 VECTOR SPORT ESTATE

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2300cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

I'VE NOW HAD THE CAR FOR FIVE YEARS AND HAVE FOUND IT TO BE REASONABLY RELIABLE & EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE
MY ONLY PROBLEMS ARE WITH TIRES I GET THROUGH (TWO A YEAR ON THE FRONT) AND THE RUNNING COSTS - 25MPG AROUND TOWN & 32/35MPG ON A RUN. STILL IT IS A 2.3 TURBO PETROL AND I SAVED TWO OR THREE THOUSAND OVER THE DEISEL EQUIVALENT WHEN I BOUGHT IT.
IT'S GETTING OLD NOW (115,000) AND I AM STARTING TO HAVE A FEW PROBLEMS WITH ELECTRICS E.G. ALARM SYSTEM. STILL HAVING PUT 6500 ON IT IN THE FOUR YEARS I'VE HAD IT, IT DOESN'T OWE ME A LOT.
IT'S A SHAME SAAB ARE NO LONGER ABOUT AS THIS IS MY FOURTH AND I THINK THEY BUILT GOOD CARS

Saab 9 5 | Saab - Sweden or G M?

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1999
  • 1988cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 4

The 9-5 is a 2nd car to my Saab 9-3, 55 reg. As such is more practical due to the estate feature. Some of the G M aspects of the 9-3 emphasises the 'old' Saab attitude to quality, thus the 9-5, with it still bearing much of the pre G M quality and comfort despite its age, remains a desirable car for my kind of use, mainly rural driving on some B & C class roads,occasional A & no motorways.I do not have any concerns about spares which are readily available and seem set to remain so for some time. (The 9-3 is more a main road car with its firm handling)

Saab 9 5 | Saab 9-5 3.0 TiD 2002

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 3000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

42-43 mpg combined cycle over period of 15k miles. Superb comfort, performance and safety. Purchased with FSH at 102k miles, cambelt replaced at manufacturer's recommended mileage at 106k together with new EGR valve. FSH since purchased and still going strong passed 121k miles. Easy on the tyres (Avon ZV5). Just keep watchful eye on oil level every month and top up if necessary. Big shame Saab shut down and stopped producing/developing this specific engine/model (D308L engine).

Saab 9 5 | Saab 9-5 HOT Aero

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2290cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

A superbly built machine whose performance is quite spectacular. Reliable, comfortable and solidly built giving the occupants a safe feeling.

A poor fuel economy around town is the only let down. Motorway cruising at 70mph is very economical and long journeys do not leave you feeling tired.

The many gadgets are standard on the HOT Aero model and are easy to use.

I regularly turn heads when I enter car parks as its artic silver colour is stunning.

Saab 9 5 | Specifications

Added: 11th of September 2014
Performance
1/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
1/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
1/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Dealer advertised car as excellent body work, body work had small dents. One Front light casing all cloudy due to water getting inside. Tyres front would need replacing. Car pulled to the right badly when driven. Car hadn't been test drove before viewing by garage, no pre delivery inspection. Roller bar would also need replacing at some point. Car should never have been advertised until these faults had been rectified.

Saab 9 5 | I love my Saab

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1990cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 4

I came from a Volvo to my Saab, and they are very similar. The Saab does seem to have that bit more space and is slightly more comfortable. It has proved to be very reliable, 60K on the clock, but has just had it's first "failure", the drivers window has ceased to operate! I'm a bit disappointed about that as the Saab name relates to quality and for the window to fail seems no very good on a nine year old car of this quality!

Saab 9 5 | An excellent car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2300cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have had my Saab 95 Aero for 5 years and it has had no major faults it is extremely comfortable with all the extras one could need .First class performance, a bit heavy on fuel circa 26mpg and the road fund tax is high at £460. but as I am retired and only do 5000 miles a year it is not worth changing as it would cost circa &35000 to get anything like. I expect to keep it for at least the next 5 years.

Saab 9 5 | SAAB Spares

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

The SAAB car (any model) is no longer made. SAAB spares are still available but special to SAAB spares may take time (8 months plus) to arrive. My car is 9 years old and has only done 64,000 miles so no need under normal conditions to change. However, any failure could have the car off the road for many months. Hence, changing my car is becoming more of a necessity rather than whim.

Saab 9 5 | Solid Performer

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

My Saab 9-5 Aero is fast, comfortable, solid and safe. It has done 100,000 miles and only broken down once when a bit dropped off the throttle body. It does about 34mpg on motorways but only about 25mpg in town. Emissions are high compared with more modern vehicles. It is a shame they are not made any more. It has more character than many present day cars.

Saab 9 5 | SAAB 9-5 1.9tid Vector Sport Estate

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1950cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I've owned this car from new and covered 63,000 miles including 7,500 towing a caravan. It has been a reliable and comfortable car returning 42 mpg running solo on mixed roads. The only problems I've had are with the exhaust gas recirculation valve and particulate filter with which the engine is burdened in order to meet lower pollution requirements.

Saab 9 5 | Saab speedster and great Skoda

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2300cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Driven Saabs for about 30 years and sad they are no more. Had current car for 9 years and love it for its looks, reliability and sheer driving enjoyment. Would consider one of the last 9-5s if I could find an Aero! My other car is a new Skoda superb elegance estate and it is a fabulous car. Highly recommended. Extremely spacious and a joy to drive.

Saab 9 5 | Saab 9-5 1.9TiD vector sport

Added: 23rd of December 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1900cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Owned my saab for a year now. It had 100,000 miles on the clock when purchased but has not had a thing wrong with it. The drive is comfortable and the performance is good. Boots massive and there's loads of room in the back seats. Only downside is the running costs. £285 a year tax and only gets 27mpg around town. Achieves 44mpg on motorways though.

Saab 9 5 | SAAB 9-5

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Saab is no longer made and car is 9 years old (65k miles only). Hence, SAAB special to type items are hard to buy. As car has only 65k miles, I would normally expect to keep car for several more years but my car could be off road for many months waiting on spares. Hence, I am likely to trade car for another make at first sensible opportunity.

Saab 9 5 | My Lovely Saab

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1900cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Sadly it will become untenable to continue with my SAAB. I have tried out other cars but the comfort level never holds up. So I will run it as long as it is possible and not too expensive to maintain. It could be that insurance could become a problem at some time in the future I have heard from my insurance company.

Filter Saab 9 5 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.