Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Saab 9 3 Reviews

Useful links:  211 Used Saab 9 3 in stock
Saab 9 3

Welcome to the Saab 9 3 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Saab 9 3 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£4,236
MPG
24.1 - 62.8
CO2 (g/km)
119 - 279
Tax Band
C - M
Noise Level
70.0 - 75.0

Saab 9 3 | My fabulous Saab

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1999
  • 16000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

(PS - I am doing this at work, so unable to check what the cc of the engine is - have estimated it, but it may be wrong!)
I bought my very beautiful convertible Saab (silver with black soft-top roof) nearly five years ago. It is second-hand and I traded in my older beloved Saab which had done over 200,000 miles (also second-hand) as it was starting to cost me more than it was worth. I had that one for 14 years and based on my experience with it, I bought the slightly newer Saab, whose beauty really appealed to me. I am not disappointed.
It was my first automatic car and I love it. I used to be unsure about automatics, but my experience with this one has been second-to-none. The leather seats are divine too, and have spoiled me for anything else! The only problem I have with the car, and that is because of the soft-top, is that it is difficult to reverse by looking out of the rear window. I have to use the side-mirrors. But the angle of the rear window is such that the roof can fold away in the boot. Despite only having two doors, the inside is spacious and very comfortable and has excellent head-room. The turning circle is very tight and the steering is steady. I like the Winter mode which seems to settle the car more securely on the road, and makes me feel safer if driving in snowy or icy conditions. It isn't the cheapest car to run, but I have an excellent garage that keeps it running smoothly.
I am desperately sorry that Saab is now out of production. I just hope I can continue to get enough spare parts when they are needed. I recently bought a new badge/decal for the bonnet as a present for the car. I felt it deserved it as it has taken me safely and comfortably and in great style around the country.

Saab 9 3 | Saab 9-3 1.9TDI (150) Sport

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 5

For its year it was somewhere between Ford/Vauxhall and BMW in terms of fit, finish and levels of equipment. Though in the last 5 years Ford/Vauxhall have both moved forward and the BMW 3-Series is still the well made mass produced car it always was - just look at how many there are on the road. In my experience, none of them can hold a candle to a Mercedes of the same size.

Handles pretty well. TDI (150) (Fiat/GM) engine has bags of torque and goes well if held in the torque band. It is a bit course when compared with later diesels - particularly the BMW 2.0.

Cabin is pleasant, though now looking very 'early 90's' and dated. The big downside is the noise level coming from a combination of front wheel road noise and a rough diesel engine. Saab have set the radio to increase its volume pretty substantially as the speed increases.

Running costs are low. It does about 50 mpg on the motorway and the engine, running gear and most of the electrics are Vauxhall, so cheap and readily available. The rear tyres last for ever (it still had the originals on at 70,000 miles)and the fronts about 25-30,000 miles.

Mine's got 110,000 mile on it, I've had it nearly four years and like it. Not as much as I liked my 180,000 mile Mercedes C240 - but then that only did 28 mpg on the motorway.

Saab 9 3 | Not bad at all

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2008
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

I bought my Saab 93 convertible when it was 18 months old and had 30,000 miles on the clock. It has now done just over 80,000 miles and seems good for quite a lot more. If you want a car that will beat a Porsche to 60mph or one that will take corners like a Caterham, this is not the car for you. However, it is far from sluggish and the handling is fine despite it being based on the old Vectra chassis. Servicing costs have been pretty reasonable, but I would like a car that can do better than 33 miles to the gallon. It's a comfortable car with leather bucket seats. I suffer from a bad back, but I am perfectly happy to drive the Saab relatively long distances. As regards reliability, I can't fault it because it hasn't let me down as yet. It's not the most practical of cars in terms of rear seat passenger space and you can't fold the rear seats down to create extra boot space, but then you don't buy a convertible coupe if these are your main considerations. Would I buy another Saab? Probably not, but this is mainly because they've stopped making them, the technology is rapidly being overtaken by others and getting spares might become an issue in the future.

Saab 9 3 | safe & reliable

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2008
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Had the car 2 years, I am the second owner, bought it for its performance, reliability and economy.
Had a new alternator fitted within 4 months of purchase, car had done 84000 miles, since then no other problems, regularly serviced at a SAAB specialist. fitted winter tyres November 2012 and runs ok in the snow and ice, put summer tyres back on it April 2013.
Performance, the car id the TTID 180bhp so quite adequate !
Running cost are not too bad and cheaper than my previous 2 cars, Jaguar & Audi.
comfort, sports suspension so can be a bit hard at times but generally ok
The interior can be a bit cramped in the rear, not really designed for 3 adults but can cope when needed, the back seats fold so I can put my mountain bike in the back if needed but then its only a 2 seater

overall very pleased with the car and would buy another if they were still in production

Saab 9 3 | VFM 9-3

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Value for money, virtually flawless motoring ,vehicle for me. However you look at it the SAAB is a good buy if your top priority is not saving the planet. Reliable as all Swedish cars seem to be. Comfortable and safer than most mass market cars of it's age (mine's 10 years old), turbo makes for a rapid response when needed and the brakes have saved my neck at least once, you know the sort of moment when you wait for the impact and stop with a couple of yards to spare.
I guess the other safety features will also do their job if ever called upon, I always feel safe in this car as in all the other Saab's I have owned (900,9000,9-5 & 9-3), ok so the Toyota Supra was faster,the Focus more economical, the MGF more British and the Toyota MR2 more impractical but as an all rounder the SAAB romps home in first place. Wish I knew what could replace it !.

Saab 9 3 | Higher mileage SAAB 9-3

Added: 16th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

My Saab now has done 170k miles and has been in the family since new. In this time, apart from routine servicing every 12000 miles, it has only had the following parts fitted: New Rear Shocks, Crankshaft Sensor, Set of glow plugs, set of intercooler rubber pipes, one rear brake calliper and pads, injector run off pipes. It does 48-50 mpg if driven reasonably except when towing. tyres last 25-30k on the front, 60k on the rear (Michelin Primacy HP). Still drives well, though there are a few more rattles and the bearings in the heater fan squeal when the car changes attitude. Initially I thought that it was the turbo but it is definitely the heater as the noise disappears when the climate control is switched off. The interior has stood up well to wear and tear. Really it has been a fantastic car which may well last a few more years yet.

Saab 9 3 | Saab 2.8 V6 aero

Added: 31st of May 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2798cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

As a Saab fan, having owned a 9000CD and a 9-3 2.0 hot aero , i thought go all the way and get a 2.8 V6 aero on a 2005 plate.

first impressions , i 'm not a lover of the shape since the merger with Vauxhall, but thought i'll have a look and see whats it like .

After a couple of phone calls and a 450 mile round trip, struck a great deal and drove her home, steady 60-70 mile home on the motorway getting late 30's to 40 mpg which was nice .comfort was evident in the drive, put the pedal down and the power was there. everything working as it shold which was nice .

First time for me to own a Automatic , so it was pretty straight forward and the paddle shift system was a added bonus , all working nice and smoothly .

Overall all good, but early days yet .

Saab 9 3 | Our Third SAAB

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2001
  • 1985cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is our third SAAB and I tend to keep them until they are no longer reliable. Present car is still entirely reliable at 114,500 miles (though it has let me down once or twice in the past). It has more performance than I need and is the most polite car I have owned. It does, however, lack some desirable features that have been introduced in the last twelve years and its petrol consumption (especially for short journies) is poor.
It is such a pity that Saab is now defunct. But, if it was not defunct, my next car would probably not be a Saab since they have tended to get lower and sportier and my wife and I now need something easier to get into and out of - to step up to enter rather than slide in.

Saab 9 3 | Quality and style with reliability

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Convertible
  • 2

This car looks stunning in metallic ice blue with beige leather upholstery.

It has been totally reliable and oozes build quality.I purchased it new when Saab UK were handing out great bargain offers four years ago and have never regretted my decision.I hope to keep the car for many years yet.

It is economical to run delivering 41mpg and servicing by the local Saab specialist does not break the bank either.

It is cramped in the back for the occasional rear seat passenger but if I wanted a comfortable saloon I would have bought one.

It is such a shame that Saab went down the pan because they managed to deliver a very high quality product at a very reasonable price.

Saab 9 3 | Stylish, sporty, superb, Saab.

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 3

My Saab and I have a great relationship. I look after it, it rewards me tenfold. I maintain it with regular services even though my mechanic says it runs like a dream and needs fewer services per year than I organise for it, and in return it gives me great pleasure to drive, fabulous value for money and unbeatable reliability. Just walking toward my car gives me a feeling of extreme joy - it looks amazing - and when I have my roof down, anytime of day, anytime of season, anytime of year, I feel fantastic. Oh, and it gets me from A to B in extreme style. Did I mention that it runs like a dream, is incredibly reliable, and looks amazing? Nuff said then.

Saab 9 3 | saab 9-3 linear sport 1.9Tdi

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Overall a good reliable car. A comfortable drive on straight roads yet feels a bit uncertain when taking fast bends. Average 46MPG driving fast or up to 80+ on a long motorway run. Power steering can feel very stiff on cold mornings but does quickly loosen as you drive away.
As with all Saab's it is very quick to reach a high speed but still feels safe and comfortable. The boot is roomy and the rear seats are split 60/40 for when you need to carry something,although remember it is a saloon not a hatchback.
Loads of space for driver and passengers and well suited for short or long journeys. A good alternative to the BMW's and merc's you see everywhere.

Saab 9 3 | SAAB 2.2 93SE Diesel

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

At an average of 48MPG I am quite happy with economy aspect of this large engined car that has a lively performance. On the comfort side the suspension is a bit on the hard side, but this is compensated by exellent road holding.The bodywork is still corrosion free and the paintwork is still nice and shiny.I use proper diesel (not supermarket rubbish) I find this gives an extra 8 to 10 MPG,the engine is smoother and quieter and more responsive.The Air Conditioning and auxiliary heater can cope with any conditions all year round. This vehicle will probably last longer than me.(It is properly serviced by a SAAB garage).

Saab 9 3 | Saab 93 Coupe

Added: 13th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 19000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Brilliant car-Now over 170,000 miles and just running in- no MOT failures in the 16+ years I have owned her! Starts first time even in minus temperatures. Commuter fuel consumption ok , open road still 45 mpg+, very economical. Comfortable to drive-great acceleration, handling, responsive and spacious for adult passengers. Specialist parts can still be sourced and general maintenance such as fuel/ air/ pollen filters readily accessible. Headlight bulbs tricky to replace due to angle of spring holding them in place. Generally great for the 'hands on' driver to maintain but easy for your local garage too.

Saab 9 3 | Old but Good

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Fantastic car as were all the other SAAB's I have owned, Toyota came close but not on practicality (Supra and MR2). Only fault is fuel consumption round town at around 25 mpg, good as soon as you get out of town though so I'll stick with it. Have owned several SAAB's including 900, 9000, 95 and now 93. Had a radiator leak on the 900 and rubber bushes replaced on the 93. One breakdown across five cars which was a wheel sensor on the ABS shutting down the traction control.
Thank you SAAB for many thousands of trouble free miles and wasted breakdown memberships......what do I buy now?.

Saab 9 3 | Will be sadly missed - SAAB

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

On my second Saab in the last 6 years, both from new, I have greatly enjoyed both the ownership and driving experience. My current twin turbo model is a pleasure to drive and, with a reasonably light right foot, returns good milege figures per gallon. Almost all who have travelled in them commented positively on the comfort and level of spec in the car. Other than tyres and regular servicing, I have experienced no mechanical repair issues with either car. All that despite General Motors involvement and their attempts to destroy Saab's individualit!

Saab 9 3 | Saab 9-3 Aero

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have owned this car for nearly 7 years and have fitted an alternator, crankshaft position sensor and 2 rear brake calipers. Not a lot of repairs on a 13 year old car with 220,794 miles on the clock. It is comfortable, powerful (at 210 BHP) and extremely well equipped, with everything working. If, when the time comes, I can find another Saab which is not too far into the GM period and with fewer miles, I will definitely buy again. With the passing of Saab so ended one of the best all round car manufacturers in the world.

Saab 9 3 | I love my Saab!

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

That may sound old fashioned these days but the comfort and reliability of my trusty 9.3 is second to none. Yes I wish it did more miles to the gallon but I feel comfortable, safe and relaxed when I'm driving it and that counts for a lot.

There is plenty of room in the estate part for my two dogs and plenty of room for me and three passengers in the main body. I bought it second hand two years ago and have had very few issues with it. I would definitely consider another Saab when time comes to change it.

Saab 9 3 | love it

Added: 4th of November 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1985cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Convertible
  • 2

I love this car , it was a toss up between this or a Bmw325 csi , this won hands down on space ,safety, looks , comfort and price , not a car i'd have thought of owning to be honest ,how ever ive past a few on the roads and they've always looked nice , I passed Andrews and this was in the showroom window, I drove home looked it up, arranged a test drve and the rest is history , I traded in a jaguar x 3ltr auto a lovely car and a car id alays want from been a child , but this really seems to beat the jaguar

Saab 9 3 | Saab 9-3 1.8T

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Good solid reliable car with usual features such as air-con, electric windows, trip computer, part leather/cloth seats, 6-speaker audio system, cruise control, led strip side lights, keyless central locking, split hinged rear seats. Good looks. Fuel consumption figure approx 34mpg around town (poor compared to previous car - Rover 75 1.8 petrol saloon which managed over 40-41mpg for same journeys and load)
Switches and handbrake all feel cheap and not in such good positions as other cars.

Saab 9 3 | Saab Sportswagon 1.8t

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Excellent car. Low mileage 1 owner bought from Schoneville Saab, Glasgow. Car has a full Saab service history, which is crucial. This is my 5th Saab. Previous one was a 9-5 1.9 TiD. Car was fine when I was doing the mileage to justify a diesel engine. When this decreased started to get problems with the DPF and ECR valve, due to lack of regeneration opporunity.

The car I have now is the best Saab I have owned. Such a pity these are no longer available, last model being built in 2011.

Filter Saab 9 3 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.