Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Rover 75 Reviews

Useful links:  25 Used Rover 75 in stock
Rover 75

Welcome to the Rover 75 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Rover 75 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£1,268
MPG
24.3 - 50.0
CO2 (g/km)
154 - 286
Tax Band
G - K
Noise Level
69.0 - 74.0

Rover 75 | Best I have owned.

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Having owned Ford, Honda, Nissan, Rover, Toyota, Vauxhall and Volkswagen cars over the last 44 years, I am fortunate to still drive the best of all of them. If it was still available to purchase new I would have replaced it by now, but because it is not, I am very happy to continue to run it until I have a problem. I purchased it new, it has never let me down and the only items that have been replaced are those that wear, tyres, wiper blades and so on. The 2 litre V6 engine is powerful and flexible with the only downside being high emissions, resulting in a high road tax. As it has been totally reliable it only visits a garage annually for an MoT and service. It is extremely comfortable and so easy to drive that long distances are not a problem, which cannot be said of some of my previous cars. I chose a saloon as they are quieter than a hatchback but I must admit the has been the odd occasion that the large rear door of a hatchback would have been handy. I have replaced my cars regularly in the past and the fact that I am still happy with this one having had it for 11 years, must indicate what a pleasure it is to own.

Rover 75 | A Well-specified Vehicle of Good Performance

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 2500cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I purchased the vehicle new, at an advantageous price.

In ten years of ownership, apart from a handful of occasions (a fuel tank issue, an instance of overheating which required the replacement of the radiator fan, and the failure of the heating/ air conditioning control unit)the car has performed very much to my expectations. It has shown good performance and has proved, for its age, economical (up to 38 mpg on a run, 25 mpg local) and well equipped.

Comfort is good (seating and suspension at least the equal of the Jaguar XF, for example); and somewhat restricted rear leg room not a problem for me, as I rarely have more than one passenger. Boot access and capacity fully satisfy my needs. Its comparatively compact size has also proved advantageous for parking and general manoeuvrability. And even after ten years, the vehicle's style has not dated.

Rover 75 | Rover 75 Club SE Tourer

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 4

Quite simply the best car I've ever owned. If Rover was still in business and producing them I'd buy another one. Long trips are really comfortable, and I speak as a sufferer from back problems. Fuel economy is mid 40s per gallon, which is very acceptable for such a large, and let's face it, old-fashioned (now) design. It may not be the sportiest model on the road, but it can still accelerate very well in 2nd and 3rd, and it cruises effortlessly with very little road noise. The only real downside is the £175 road tax. I have had the occasional large bill, but having clocked up 145,000+ miles it is only to be expected that some of the mechanical running gear needed replacing. The engine (BMW) still runs beautifully.

Rover 75 | My Old Rover 75

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1956cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I bought my Rover 75 Diesel new and used it for voluntary car driving for the ambulance service. I stopped two years ago and the car has now done 231500 miles. Its reliability and performance has been superb and its running costs modest for its size. It is now getting a bit long in the tooth and suspension is not what it used to be but I feel I have had real value from the car and will be sad when I have to part with it. My patients used to love travelling in it and often used to say I thought a Jaguar had come to take them to hospital. The only problems I encountered related to diesel pumps which had to be replaced together with refurbished injectors. So sad that Rover went the way it did with such a good car.

Rover 75 | Comfort on the cheap

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1997cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have owned my Rover 75 for the last 7 years and it is the most comfortable car I have had and has been a pleasure to drive. It still has a look of class about it and bearing in mind I only paid £5000 for it I believe it has been excellent value for money. It has only let me down once when the battery failed without warning. Apart from that it has been almost problem free and has passed its MOT each time without problem. It has been a fantastic car for the money I paid and knowing that I will never be able to repeat the excellent value for money intend to keep it until it becomes unreliable.

Rover 75 | Rover 75

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Purchased from new because the cost was extremely low, the Rover has needed a couple of fairly expensive repairs, mostly to BMW components.
Otherwise, it has performed extremely well, always starting first time and providing decent performance and good levels of comfort. I purchased it after driving Jaguar XJ6s as Company Cars, and don't feel that I have lost too much in the way of comfort.
The biggest problem has always been one of image (and, perhaps, reliability). I will be replacing it very soon for something younger and more credible but will be a little sad to lose it.

Rover 75 | Rover 75 cons. 2L diesel

Added: 19th of August 2014
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

The Rover 75 is one of the best kept secrets out there. As a secondhand car it is luxury at a give away price. There is no other car that can match it for luxury and armchair comfort. And all the best looking cars designed since are good looking only because they resemble the 75. My recommendation is that one search for a 2L Diesel conneisseur. Make sure you buy one that has had the clutch changed - both master and slave cyclinder and make sure it has service history. With a BMW engine it will last for 2-300 000 miles.

Rover 75 | luxury

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1900cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

A low cost luxury car paid 1600 gbp taxed and tested and fully serviced .
Great allround car and fantasic on motoways ,plenty of refinments and can carry lots in the boot with no problems with performance .
I had no problems since i bought this car .
a lot of owners also agree when i talk to them and one regretted selling and going to Saab
Even James May agrees.

There are plenty of spares out there so no issues even new parts are available of the shelf

Rover 75 | Luxury on a budget

Added: 7th of July 2014
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1950cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Classy looking in Royal blue and shiny chrome. Bought for £3k over 4 years ago and only one coil spring and a window switch repair necessary. Cream leather provides touch of luxury inside together with polished wood and climate control. Auto provides over 42 mpg average and turbo gives excellent overtaking. Only downer is £265 road tax but with depreciation at less than £250 p.a. the overall motoring cost is peanuts. Regular servicing is rewarded.

Rover 75 | my best car yet

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I have owned several Rovers over the years and I am struggling to think of what I can replace this one with. It is something of a mystery to me why Rovers are not still in production as I would find it difficult to find fault with this vehicle. It has done several trips to the alps for ski trips and, as the driving is shared, generally does it non-stop. Comfort, reliablity and excellent fuel consumption, what more can you want.

Rover 75 | Rover 75

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 5

I have had this car for a few months now - comfort is superb - engine pulls like a train and apart from having to replace the ECU the car is great.

A warning to all - you must make sure your PLENUM drain area in which the ECU is sited is clear and free from blockage - it saves on a hefty garage bill.

Great car - and it still commands looks as it drives down the road

Rover 75 | Review of Rover 75 Estate

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1980cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 4

Has comfort and so far! reliability and all the features I need e.g towbar, Cruise-control, Radio / casette player AND 6 CD autochanger (I like my music!) Also comfortable, slightly "retro" dashboard.

Only thing missing on this car is a sunroof, but you dont get EVERYTHING for £1500 on a 102,000 mile undamaged vehicle from 2003! AND itsBritish Racing Green1

Rover 75 | Rover 75

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 2497cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

A very comfortable car to drive and to ride in. It is very reasonable to run , but I am a careful and gentle driver. There were some initial waterworks problems when I first had her, but I suspect that was a consequence of some ill-treatment before it came into my ownership. It was an expensive job to repair, but now she purrs along like a contented cat!!

Rover 75 | Rover 75

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

A good car - comfortable and reasonably large, but as unfortunately the manufacturer does not exist any more some spare parts are difficult to obtain but thankfully I have not had too many problems to date as the car is still very low mileage The model has good rust prevention but will say not as well built as earlier models such as the 800/820 series

Rover 75 | Rover75diesel

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2004
  • 1900cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 5

The rover75 diesel is a first class vehicle,the BMW Diesel engine will go on for many miles without problem,they are still fairly easy to obtain spares for and the cars themselves can be purchased at a very reasonable price,very comfortable but no good for the boy racer,mileage to gallon is fair all round,overall a very good,well priced motor

Rover 75 | my third Rover

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Having had a rover 105 which I took to Africa, it lasted for 5 years and then I sold it on, I had various other cars but went back to a rover 400 which went round the clock and replaced that with my current rover 75 Diesel. I does fantastic miles to the gallon, keeps going for ever and has quite a high degress of comfort.

Rover 75 | Lot of car for little money

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Whilst the Rover marque is no longer with us, I believe that the 75 still gives good value for money, especially the BMW powered CDTI model. The key to any cars reliability is regular maintenance & servicing.
If you want big car comfort for a bargain price, get a Rover 75 diesel with a good service history.

Rover 75 | Rover 75

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1900cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

A very comfortable and reliable car. The diesel automatic is thirstier by about 5 mpg than the manual (40 mpg as opposed to 45 mpg averaged. The level of refinement on the facelift model Connoisseur is lower than the pre-facelift model. Despite that I am happy with the car.

Rover 75 | Rover 75 1.8t

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1798cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Now 10 years old.
Very comfortable car
Minuses:-
Fuel system replaced after 3 years! Common fault.
Cylinder head gasket blew after 5 years with only 25,000 miles on the clock. Common fault.
Poor paint finish,scratches too easily.

Rover 75 | Rover 75

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

The Rover 75 is the most undervalued vehicle,it is extremley comforable,and with the traffic on todays roads is more than cabable.Maybe not to "Clarkson" standards,but who want to drive like that? not on todays roads.

Filter Rover 75 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.