Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Rover 45 Reviews

Useful links:  4 Used Rover 45 in stock
Rover 45

Welcome to the Rover 45 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Rover 45 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£1,374
MPG
30.0 - 52.7
CO2 (g/km)
150 - 224
Tax Band
F - K
Noise Level
72.0 - 74.0

Rover 45 | Cheadle cars

Added: 22nd of May 2014
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Hi

Excellent garage, very professional prepared to answer any questions directly and with working knowledge of the car. The answers were 100% accurate.

Amazing car, checked it over before sale then drove it across the peak district home which would have shown any immediate problems, and there weren't any.

Really comfortable drive. Excellent condition and nice colour.

The garage replaced cam belt and water pump as there was no record of this having been carried out.

So nice to be back in a Rover after so many years.

This garage was not local to me. However, people who were local were coming back for second cars. There is no better recommendation I can give.

Rover 45 | Love my car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2001
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Don't care what anyone says about old Rovers - I've had two and will buy another, when this one packs up!For an old car it's quiet(people with newer cars have commented on this) comfortable, easy to drive, big boot and very good acceleration. As for parts - no problem if you go to the right garage.

The only downside is it's quite low, so I have to be careful in floodwater, which can annoy people driving behind me! Also, for the same reason, it wouldn't be good for people with mobility problems.

Of course, as with all second hand cars you have to have an expert with you to check it out. My garage man is great for this.

Rover 45 | Rover 45

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Best car I have ever owned. As long as you keep an eye on coolant level you won't have problems with head gaskets. I know that these run with minimal coolant and once you lose some coolant, problems can occur, but most problems are due to neglect i.e. not bothering to check levels and poor maintenance.This car is eleven years old still on its original clutch and exhaust. 40mpg no corrosion and easily sits at 70mph on motorway. Easy to work on and parts easy to obtain. It's cheap motoring.Ride and road holding excellent.

Rover 45 | A modern classic

Added: 15th of October 2014
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I bought my 45 5 years ago on eBay for £500 and I must say it was a real bargain, reliable comfortable, cheap to run.
In the 5 years I have had it I have only needed to change the battery, brake pads and tyres!
Sailed through every mot and still runs beautifully, 195,000 miles on the clock and still feels like a new car!

Would buy one brand new tomorrow if they were still in production.

Highly recommended.

Rover 45 | Rover approaching retirement

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1796cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I've had my rover since new and it's 10 years old. It is a comfortable car to drive and reasonably cheap to maintain. The biggest downside is failure of the cylinder head gasket. This seems to happen every 60,000 miles or so. It has recently gone again and I don't think it is worth repairing.

I've enjoyed driving it, but I will never buy another rover again.

Rover 45 | Rover 45

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

My Rover 45(2003) has been a very reliable car although one fairly expensive repair has been required. In general I have been very happy with the vehicle but feel that a slightly stronger body steel would have been helpful in fending off car park dents. I was very disappointed to see the demise of MG/Rover and miss the marque very much.

Rover 45 | Rover 45 saloon

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2001
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

The car is of excellent pedigree, being initially based on a Honda Civic, all the "bugs" have been ironed out long ago, if you do not mind not having a current registration / model car its a good investment, would buy one new today if I could. Only bug bare is the air bag light which comes on intermittently due to a poor contact

Rover 45 | just cos its a rover?

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

its got 5 gears its got a leather interior , 6 track cd ,air conditioning , it gets me from a to b and i think its a belting car , still looks good and i think there are too many snobby people out there who look down their nose at rover drivers , but look how may rovers are on the road . bleeding loads . i rest my case

Rover 45 | ROVER 45

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 5

BOUGHT 3 YEARS AGO AS A STOP GAP. TOTALLY RELIABLE EVEN THOUGH 12 YEARS OLD. STARTS IN ALL TYPES OF WEATHER, HAS NEVER LET ME DOWN.PLENTY OF SPACE FOR 4 PASSENGERS. BODYWORK SHOWS NO SIGNS OF CORROSION.NO MAJOR EXPENSES UNTIL LAST MONTH. HOPE TO KEEP IT FOR A FURTHER 2 YEARS, GOD WILLING.

Rover 45 | Rover 2003

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This car performs well but is a replacement for a 2002 model wuich suffered a conrod failure on no. 1 cylinder followed by a fire which made it a write off after 1800 miles. I used my professional knowledge to present the case and eventually received the 2003 model free of charge.

Rover 45 | Made in England

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Best car I have had in thirty years. Reliable comfortable. If they were made in London they would still be making them today. 300 miles a week and eats motorways. Good in the ice and superb mpg. A credit to Longbridge.

Rover 45 | Does what is says on the tin!

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Rover 45 converted to run on LPG, very cheap to run, very reliable, very cheap for parts.

Just gone through 117k miles and still doing 200 miles a day.

Shame they are not still building them!

Rover 45 | Going strong

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Despite its numerous years of service and over 135,000 miles my car preforms well and I feel confident driving it. When it is time to let it go I will be sad.

Rover 45 | Cracking car

Added: 19th of November 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Reliable to a fault. Good road holding. Plenty of space inside. Does not rust. Could do with a little more hp for a 1.8. Lovely car.

Rover 45 | Rover 45

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1389cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Has been a reliable vehicle and has needed very little cost in maintenance during the 13 years i have had this vehicle

Rover 45 | ROVER 45

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Rover 45 is a reliable, practical, good looking vehicle.

Rover 45 | my rover

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

its a comfortable nice little cae to run and drive.

Rover 45 | Rover 45 td

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Reliable safe comfortable

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.