Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Rover 25 Reviews

Useful links:  13 Used Rover 25 in stock
Rover 25

Welcome to the Rover 25 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Rover 25 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£995
MPG
34.3 - 53.8
CO2 (g/km)
150 - 196
Tax Band
F - J
Noise Level
70.0 - 74.0

Rover 25 | Rover 25 Impression

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

Bought this car 4.5 years ago from a Peugeot garage. It was low mileage & only one previous owner and had a 3 year warranty. It has been very reliable, and only once let me down when there was a problem with the ignition key barrel which was sorted by a local vehicle key company. It is economical to run and to service, can take 4 passengers, has plenty of room in the boot, which is extended by removing the rear seat back and tipping the squab, and goes as fast as I want to go! After having it serviced under warranty at the Peugeot garage, I moved to the former Rover dealer which still has Rover-trained mechanics, and pay monthly for an annual service and MOT, which is a good deal.
My only quibble with it is that is doesn't have grab handles or coat hooks. According to published used car sale prices it is worth virtually nothing now, so I shall keep it until it collapses. It is my 5th Rover, and most have been very reliable and easy to fix in spite of Peugeot & Nissan main dealers trying to convince me that parts are not available because Rovers are no longer made! Have they seen the number still on the road, not just here but abroad as well?

Rover 25 | Underated

Added: 15th of February 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1396cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Very under rated and get a huge amount of negative press largely as a result of head gasket problems on the Rover K series engine. However if you buy one where you know it has a full and excellent service history or one where the head gasket has been replaced with a multi-core gasket by a rover specialist (many claim it is no different than replacing a head gasket on any car .... if you are offered a car by such an idiot, walk away as it is extremely unlikely to have been done correctly. In any event if you keep an eye on your cooling system, deal with any leaks however small immediately and service the car in accordance with manufacturers schedule (although personally I would recommend reducing service intervals to every 12k rather than 15k or 12 months whichever comes first)replace timing belt every 6 years or 60,000miles along with the tensioner and water pump... you should have very few issues.
The plus side to the negative press ... it keeps buying prices low, so if residual value is not an issue for you... buy one !!!

Rover 25 | Rover iXL 1.6 Auto.

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

My previous car was a Peugeot 205 1.9 GTI, which I had for 11 years.....I loved that car. But due to my disabilities, I needed an auto. The Rover will never have the 'umph', or be a 'Driver's car', like the 'Pug'. But, I am not disappointed. What I lose in 'Driving', I gain in comfort & ease of use! I gained about 5 MPG & everything works! I was throwing too much money at the 205 & I needed a car that I just put petrol in! I got this in the 25. I think I paid a little 'Over the odds'(1K - 2003), but in the long run, it will save me money! For it's purpose. I give this car 8/10. It is not a 'chick magnet'. It is not that quick. But, it is 100% functional for a petrol, cheap,automatic car! Martyn.

Rover 25 | My Rover 25

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1396cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I purchased my Rover 25 in 2005 (New) and have absolutely loved it. Unfortunately when it comes to buying another new car I will not be able to obtain another Rover 25 as they are no longer made.

I have found it to be comfortable even for longer journeys, cost effective and very reliable.

I have had my car serviced annually by the Rover Dealer I purchased it from and indeed they have carried out any maintenance that has been necessary.

I look forward to a few more years with my Rover 25 and will be in a predicament to find a car as good when I have to replace it.

Rover 25 | Not Finished Yet

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2002
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Rover 25 is no longer manufactured. Mine has covered about 59,000 miles in the eleven years that I have owned it from new - i.e. about half the mileage that might usually be expected. It still works, although it is now showing its age a little. It has needed a new gear box and water pump recently, one new wheel (to replace the victim of a Northamptonshire pothole), and one new set of tyres. Spares seem not to be too difficult to come by. It starts and runs reliably in all conditions. It should last another year or so.

Rover 25 | Rover 25 very reliable & cheap to run

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

We changed our car to this one from a Rover Kensington about 7 years ago, partly because it had a larger boot to take my mother's wheelchair. It is very economical to run, the large boot with fold down back seats makes it useful for so many jobs. The size is good for parking, all round visibility is clear and (fingers crossed) it never seems to need many repairs.Plenty of room in the back seat for 3 average sized people with more leg room than a lot of cars.

Rover 25 | Old Reliable

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1395cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I know they don't make them anymore but its a shame as this is the second Rover I have owned and they hold the road brilliantly and the engines will run forever. My first Rover only gave up due to a rust problem otherwise she would still be running. My Rover 25 is cute and comfortable, sticks to the road and corners smoothly. She is safe, economic & reliable. She may be small but there is lots of room and a big boot, very practical. I love her.

Rover 25 | Reliable Rover

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Although this car is now 10 years old, it is still under 40,000 miles. It is a little heavier on petrol than I would like. (I had a Citroen AX for 10 years before this so the comparison is noticeable.)
Unfortunately had to spend about £500 on cylinder head gasket earlier this year.
I can't fault the Rover 25 for reliability for it's age and value for money when purchased.

Rover 25 | Comfy, economic and reliable Rover

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

We've had our Rover 25 for 8 years and not had any problems with it. It's economical on fuel and tyres, roomy in the car and the boot. Very useful when moving furniture etc as the back seat folds down to make it as roomy as an estate car. We've been amazed at what will fit in there when needed.
So far (fingers crossed) it's never let us down.

Rover 25 | Reliable Rover

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Although my car is 10 years old it is extremely reliable. I have had to spend approx £500 this year on a cylinder head gasket, but it came on gradually and gave me time to plan the repair, so didn't leave me suddenly stranded. I only do a low mileage (total now only 34,700). It also passed the MOT without needing any work.

Rover 25 | ROVER 25

Added: 20th of June 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

had mine for 4 years but have needed a lot of work done since: head gasket; clutch; engine block; starter motor; so have forked out more money than it initially cost. However, a handsome car with plenty of space, but even with all the work done, I dont get a lot of mpg from it.
Will keep for another year or so.

Rover 25 | Long in the Tooth, but works

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2002
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Rover 25s are no longer manufactured, but there appear to be sufficient spares around to keep them going. The only major problem that I have had with mine was the need to change the gearbox at about 58000 miles. I am hoping to keep the car going for another year or so.

Rover 25 | My Rover

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have found this car ideal for my needs, mostly short trips with a monthly motorway journey and a couple of U.K. holidays.
I have it serviced regularly and it has rarely let me down.
I would certainly consider another Rover.

Rover 25 | Rover 25 Impression 2004

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A recently acquired second hand model with low mileage, I am very pleased with it so far though I find changing gear is not as easy as with my previous and earlier Rover models.

Rover 25 | my old rover

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

bought it simply because right price at right time, somewhat lacking in power that said its never let me down and is comfortable enough.

Rover 25 | IJ Rover 25

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2001
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Needs servicing of brakes and tyres.
Driver's seat release mechanism requires fixing and rear screen washer is blocked.

Rover 25 | rover

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1250cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Had this car for many years, serviced regularly and has never in all that time broken down or caused me any problems.

Rover 25 | good all round

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1398cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

people knock the old rovers but I've now had 5 and have always found the a good solid all round car

Rover 25 | ROVER 25

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
1/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2002
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

A VERY RELIABLE AND SMART LOOKING CAR BUT THE SEATS ARE VERY UNCOMFORTABLE- NO SUPPORT AND TOO LOW

Rover 25 | My view

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2000
  • 1798cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Reasonably reliable but not very good MPG. But I only do apprx 2800miles pa

Filter Rover 25 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.