Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Renault Scenic Reviews

Renault Scenic

Welcome to the Renault Scenic review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Renault Scenic cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£17,155 - £23,395
AA Cars Average
£5,681
MPG
29.7 - 68.9
CO2 (g/km)
105 - 224
Tax Band
B - K
Noise Level
69.6 - 74.9

Renault Scenic | My Renault Scenic

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I bought the car second hand and was not particularly looking for this make and model of car. It was just what came along!

I have been really surprised how good it is to handle. It is a good town car, easy to park and negotiate narrow spaces. However, it comes into its own when touring. With its 6 forward gears it performs brilliantly on the motorway. Being higher up than most cars with the massive front windscreen and side windows, it is truly scenic and is great to drive through picturesque countryside.

The information on the dash board is very clear and easily read. You can change the speed from MPH to Kilometres for continental driving, so that you are not peering at a speedometer trying to work it out.

The seats are very comfortable and adjust easily. I do not have young children, but the rear seats with the hidden drawers and compartments plus the let down airline style trays must be a joy for kids to keep their possessions, with the little adjustable mirror for the parents in the front to keep an eye on them

Renault Scenic | Spacious MPV

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I love this Renault scenic. Loads of leg space especially for rear passengers. We are both tall and need lots of leg room for front and rear seat passengers - brilliant. Big boot space and easy to fold rear seats making boot even bigger. Seats easily taken out if required even more space. Under floor secret spaces for packing away shopping. Under front seat drawers useful. Nice high seats making getting in and out easy - I hate the low drop of many other saloons. Also love the flat floor between left and right hand sides - means extra comfort for rear passengers. Reliability - excellent - had it serviced as per recommendations and has proved to be a real pal. Now in its 8th year with 87,000 on clock - runs sweetly. I would not change it until necessary, and will choose the same model next time. Space, economy, reliability, comfort - it has it all. Any downers? Narrow middle rear seat, difficult to view front windscreen from rear seats (travel sickness?).

Renault Scenic | My 05 Renault Scenic MkII Maxim

Added: 20th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1899cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought it brand new in 2005 after an awful lot of contemplation as I intended to keep it a long time, which I have (it is now 8.5 years old with 81,000 miles on it)
I needed a car with lots of headroom as I am very tall, one that had a good seating position as I have back problems and one that I could afford! (I got 0% finance over 4 years!)
I have had it serviced regularly (but not by the local Renault garage as they are way too dear!) and it has been well looked after.
The only major problems with it were a hole in an aircon pipe after 3 years, a hole in a diesel pipe after 6years and a blown EGR pipe after 7 years, otherwise only what I would consider normal expenses associated with keeping it going.
It has acres of space inside and when the rear seats are removed you can fit nearly anything in it!
It still drives very well, is still very comfortable and altogether it was a very good purchase but I now need an automatic so I am sad to say it will be going!

Renault Scenic | We love our ancient, reliable, uncomplaining workhorse

Added: 15th of December 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Our 'luxury' Scenic has just passed 100,000 miles and is still going strong. It's the 3rd car in our stable and mostly used as a van to transport scenery and equipment for our local drama society/schools/community groups with the 3 back seats removed. Our children have left home/have their own cars but before the exodus of kids it was brilliant for packing to go on holiday. It tows a small dinghy. It's quiet, easy to drive and park, economical. Yes, the bodywork is 15 years old so it is a little damp in heavy rain from the front sunroof, but it dries out in the summer. It's had various suspension issues but it's because parts wore out which is fair enough. We may need to finally say goodbye to our workhorse next year with retirement looming but it will be hard! Can't imagine another car giving so many years uncomplaining and reliable service.

Renault Scenic | Brilliant family car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Although it is getting on in years now, I've had this car 8 years and thoroughly enjoyed driving it with no major breakdowns.
It has a brilliant driving position giving good all round visibility. The boot is very generous and the suede effect seats are comfortable. All rear seats fold forward to give even more boot space. The three seats can be split individually. This particular model is the 'Fidji' and has many storage compartments within the car. The engine, although a little sluggish sometimes, is very quiet especially at idling speed. It has 2 position steering wheel, electric windows front and rear, electric mirror adjustment, air con (with option to utilise this in a stowage compartment as a cool box!)
Although car tax is expensive because of the age of the car, I would not change it for a newer model for all the reasons listed.

Renault Scenic | Renault Scenic 2Ltr dCi

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This vehicle was purchased to replace 2 other vehicles; a jaguar X-Type and a L/R Freelander. Its purpose was to provide cheaper motoring yet still give a comfortable and economical ride. This it does with aplomb. Not able to provide the same space as the Jaguar estate, it still is a very capable load-lugger and very adequately serves my 'heavy haulage' needs. Where the vehicle shines is in long distance journeys where it has been able to alter my driving style to one of a more relaxed nature. I am now more content to arrive with a high MPG reading on the digital dash panel than I am to arrive in the shortest time possible. Having now got used to the digital speedometer, it is very difficult to justify, even to oneself, exceeding any speed limit by 'just a few MPH.

Renault Scenic | my renault problems

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

although I haven't had a problem with the running of the car, it has never broken down.The catch for the boot broke and is expensive to replace. I have seen others with the same problem.My main gripe is with aftercare. We had a problem with a warning light when the car was new and under warranty but the renault garage where unwilling to remedy it. Even writing to renault I was just told it was up to the dealer how they dealt with it. It was never resolved and has now cost me a substantial amount to repair as the MOT regs have now changed. The warning light made it fail.It also takes on water in heavy rain a then drip feeds it into the passenger foot well (again other renault owners have had the same)

Renault Scenic | Renault Scenic

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 4

This car is perfect for my family, it is reliable and very economical, and great for local use and the occasional long distance travel. The height of the car makes it easy for my wife to use as she has hip and knee problems and struggles in lower cars.
If I take the rear seats out, the car almost converts into a small van and is ideal for moving bulky items.
The car will do 54 MPG on the motorway ay motorway speeds, and even town driving will still give 47 MPG
The cost of spare parts is high, and, as with most cars working on the engine isn't very easy which does annoy me, as I used to love doing all the servicing myself. It is now impassable to whip the engine out in under a couple of hours!

Renault Scenic | So reliable!

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 5

I bought my Renault Scenic brand new in 2005 and every year for the last three or four years I have talked about getting rid of it and buying another new car. However, it has been so reliable and still looks so smart (and costs hardly anything in repairs) that I can't bring myself to do it.
The trade-in value now is so ridiculously low (offered £1200 by the Renault dealer in July 2013 when looking at buying a new Captur)that it has been kept for another year and is still doing a great job.
To be fair, I have always had it serviced by the main dealer and have done fairly light mileage, so maybe my experience is not typical but I would happily recommend this car to anyone.

Renault Scenic | Renault Megan Scenic Oasis

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2006
  • 15980cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

My running costs are high and also due to the design of the engine, when it needs maintenance, eg, timing belt replacement the whole engine needs to be removed from the vehicle.
Personally the car was a gift from my parents, they purchased second hand, as my previous car had done its work and needed replacing and for health issues also.
In hindsight, I actually need the Grande model to have the space required for day to day use.
Two advantages that I like about it are the multichanger cd unit and the panoramic roof which lets plenty of light into the vehicle.
If I was looking for a replacement vehicle, the next vehicle of choice would not be Renault.

Renault Scenic | Great when working..

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Great little car when working.
Plent of space, comfortable, and feels futuristic (keyless, push start, automatic brake, automatic lights, automatic wipers etc etc).
Pretty good economy on the small diesel engine too.
Only issues being if it breaks down......
Electrical issues cause costly repair trying to determine where the wiring is playing up. Difficulties even towing for example (electronic handbrake means electronic issues cause you unable to release it). Etc.

As mentioned thus, when running it's great - spacious, comfortable, economical.

But when something goes wrong, there's no cheap fix to resolve due to complexity of electrics!

Renault Scenic | Living with a Renault Scenic

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

I`ve owned this car since it was 3 months old,it`s been reliable except for a hydraulic part that selects the gears,it was replaced a year ago at a cost of £600 and been trouble free since,I find it good to drive and comfortable on any journey,its spacious for all occupants with plenty of room for luggage,the rear seats slide fore and aft,tip or remove giving a van-like area for bulky items,so its a very versatile vehicle,running costs are reasonable,although road tax is steep at £250,locally,I can usually get around the 33-35 MPG mark,and on a good run 40 plus MPG,drawbacks?I`ve driven cars with better auto boxes.

Renault Scenic | Bad experience with Renault

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I bought this car when our first grandchild was born because it scored well on NCAPs. It is comfortable to drive and relatively cheap to un. However, the electrical system is very poor and I have had a lot of problems because of it. These include the car not starting, the doors not opening and the automatic lights and windscreen wipers not operating automatically. When I have contacted Renault about these problems, I have been very dissatisfied with their response. The impression given is that they do not care about after sales service. I would not buy another Scenic or indeed another Renault vehicle.

Renault Scenic | Renault Scenic

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 4

I purchased this car which was the demo car at the local garage. I felt that I made a good deal when part exchanging my old car, and even received a car with a better spec, than the one that I had tested!! The car has been very reliable, no problems at all. Although it is not the quickest car, it has very good fuel consumption, usually 50mpg on a run, and 40-45 with mixed driving. The car is very comfortable, and has excellent entry and exit due to the higher position of the seats. For a medium size car, it is very roomy (my passengers tell me), and has numerous places within the car for storage.

Renault Scenic | Running an older car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

This car is consitantly reliable. With help from my local garage we have kept this car on the road without interval by basic servicing and repairs at MOT time. It is heavy on brakes and needs parts replaced bi-annually. Bodywork is very well protected against corrosion and the interior is hard wearing. Interior comfort is good, visibility excellent. MPG around town is above 30mpg and fully laden on a long run can achieve almost 40mpg. Parts availability is good. There are still a number of well looked after, low mileage, 1 owner examples out there and you could get a decent car for under £1000.

Renault Scenic | Renault Scenic

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

For me the best car in its class. I like to be high up when I drive. Helps with back problems. Very reliable. Comfort good although the center consul arm rest should be standard NOT a £500 option. A Renault dealer is far too dear for servicing use a small independent. Had a Grand now own the slightly smaller scenic no difference to drive. Scenic averages 32 mpg with lots of very short journeys, have had 48 on a motorway drive. Never buy new much to expensive for me but drops a lot in price after the first 3 years. Loads of carrying space and versatile.

Renault Scenic | Thanks Renault..

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1985cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

look I dont have time to spill my guts... but I have had 9 Renaults in 14 years and I love them for comfort and FUN to drive.. and all the little storage compartments... the 120hp engine on a 1.9 DCI is very powerful when you most need it.. and great on Economy, I average 48 MPG comfortably.. just a bit too overcomplicated and designed electronically... too many weak links to go wrong... otherwise a Joy to own and Drive.. water leak issues... poor insulation against water.. but as long as it drives, I feel proud to be seen in it..

Renault Scenic | Renault Scenic 1.6 petrol automatic

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

I bought the car second hand in 2009. By then it had done 21000 miles. Looks good. Spacious inside. Good seat arrangements. Very good luggage space.Expensive to maintain and service. Quite heavy on petrol (I'm getting 35.6mpg.) Clumsy for parking - has very wide turning circle and awkward to change position parking, especially reverse into a parking space at Tesco! Visibility over the bonnet and through rear window are not good.A niggle with the particular model I own is the auto door locks.They are very temperamental.

Renault Scenic | Great Renault Scenic

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I'm very happy most of the time with my Scenic. It's performance is excellent and fuel consumption pretty good. It's been reliable after some initial serious faults were rectified - the only more recent serious problem was from dirty diesel from a certain supermarket chain, though they did eventually own up and pay up for the garage bills. At 6 years old the car has a few rattles, but not sufficient to make me change it yet. It's done 85,000 miles and certainly looks good to go over 100,000 before I change it.

Renault Scenic | Oh no Renault!

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

All electric windows fail - £2k
Small electrical fire in door panel - Churchill refuse to cover as it is a "manufacturer's fault".
Dashboard electronics fail and unit has to be replaced.
Engine management system always throwing out warnings.

Renault electrics are not fit for purpose.

Having said that their customer service has been proactive through a decent dealer - Rogate Garage - and generous.

Anchor Renault at Liphook is the opposite - poor service and overcharging to the point of dishonesty.

Filter Renault Scenic Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.