Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Renault Modus Reviews

Renault Modus

Welcome to the Renault Modus review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Renault Modus cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£2,739
MPG
36.7 - 68.9
CO2 (g/km)
107 - 185
Tax Band
B - I
Noise Level
65.9 - 73.1

Renault Modus | Modus Hatch

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1598cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

This is one of the earlier models with an 05 registration, now done 33500 miles and costs excluding depreciation approximately 40p per mile to run including tax insurance etc. Overall mpg is 37.6.

We have a few minor knocks on it from careless people bashing their doors on to ours in car parks. It is serviced regularly by Wokingham Motors who are splendid in keeping time, quality and advising costs.

I have had Renaults since 1970 and this is one of the best cars ever owned. With all the safety items, cornering lights, tyre pressure information systems, a boot shute allow access to the boot in tight spaces, this makes the idea shopping or commuting car, yet is superb for touring and longer drives.

Sadly Renault have dropped the model in favour of green hybrid or electric cars - they will not be getting any more orders from me as there are too many restrictions for those specifications. I will be sad when it comes due to replace.

Renault Modus | Not really a yoghourt pot...!

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

We chose this car after having hired one for 2 weeks in France - there the Modus coped with all sorts of driving absolutely brilliantly. It is not sporty but can accelerate with some oomph when necessary and is fun to drive. It does about 62 mpg standardly and is very versatile as far as use is concerned. 4 stars for comfort - although a 5 seater, the centre rear seat is not really adult sized, but otherwise is very comfortable on long journeys.
Our French son-in-law calls it the yoghourt pot - but I like yoghourt!

Renault Modus | MODUS REVIEW

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

mY MAIN COMPLAINT ABOUT THIS CAR IS THE LACK OF BOOT SPACE.
If I WAS THINKING OF ANOTHER mODUS IT WOULD HAVE TO BE THE LONGER WHEELBASE ONE.
IT IS A PAIN TO DO ANYTHING UNDER THE BONNET, LIGHT BULB CHANGING IS A NIGHTMARE.(A GARAGE JOB).
FUEL ENCONOMY IS NOT BAD, 37 TO 42 AROUND TOWN, 45 ON A LONG RUN.
I HAVE HAD MORE COMFORTABLE RENAULTS BUT COMFORT IS NOT BAD.
TYRES PRICES ARE A NIGHTMARE, £75 TO £135 PER TYRE.
THE HIGHER RIDE IS GREAT (compared to a Clio).

Renault Modus | Great little car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Practical, versatile, fuel efficient. A few minor niggles but overall the interior is well-designed and you can fit a surprising amount of stuff in the boot which is useful when you have kids at uni.
The low rating for performance is because the engine is tuned for economy not performance, which is one of the main reasons why I bought this car. With my driving style and types of journeys I get better than 70 mpg without any effort.

Renault Modus | Renault Modus

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The car was purchased because of the higher seating as my wife has "leg problems" and access is much easier. Since then I have been surprised at the excellence of this small car. The rear seat being movable to give either luxury space for two with a small boot, or seating for three with a larger boot, is very handy at various times. Good 40 miles + per gallon so, all-in-all, a very good reliable car.

Renault Modus | 05 Modus

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1598cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 4

Good car for family use, shopping,safety and reliable.

Spares, like any car tend to be expensive.

Running cost excluding depreciation but including all legal costs,mot etc works out at about 31p per mile

No local garage, so maintained at Wokingham Motors who have a permit to service Renault - superb team there.

Renault Modus | best for bad backs and tall peole

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

odd colour, odd shape, but I don't care. Its nippy, relyable. For years I had such a bad back that driving was near impossible for me (i am also 6ft) this is the most compfortable car I've ever driven in its price bracket. the only car more compfortable was an automatic Jeep in the USA which was 7 times more expensive.

Renault Modus | Maintenance

Added: 19th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

In general I like the car and it has cut down on my fuel costs for getting to work. However parts and servicing are expensive with little option for doing minor things myself such as changing bulbs etc as they are difficult to install.

Renault Modus | My Modus

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1390cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Seven years of happy motoring after a shaky start ( gear box had to be replaced in the first year). Excellent visibility, very comfortable very quiet motor. Petrol consumption not so good in town but excellent on longer runs.

Renault Modus | Servicing.

Added: 19th of November 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2004
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Everything fine with this little car until you need to replace headlamp bulbs - the front end has to be removed-cost me £70 - bulb blew within 2weeks so had to negotiate with garage to replace at their cost.

Renault Modus | Love my car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is the second Renault Modus I've owned from new - really pleased with it in all aspects, especially the driving postion and height. Will struggle to find a suitable replacement when I come to change it.

Renault Modus | Great little runner

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Very happy with my Modus. I don't do a lot of mileage so couldn't say how reliable it would be if used more. Nice and compact but with additional head room - both my sons are 6'5" so this was important.

Renault Modus | Grand Modus

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1490cc
  • semi-automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A good all round car for those of us who do not need to burn away at the lights. Excellent fuel economy, with a surprising amount of room that allows the carriage of large unwieldy items and equipment.

Renault Modus | Like the Curate's egg

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Comfortable, easy for elderly or disabled people to get in or out, boot takes wheel-chair. Very heavy on fuel, repairs very expensive.

Renault Modus | Grand Modus not included in list

Added: 19th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1500cc
  • semi-automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Car has done everything needed of it.
It is versatile. Ecconomic (58 mpg on this weekends ron of 400 miles) and confortable.

Renault Modus | Grand Modus

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1498cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The car has proved very reliable and excellent in terms of mpg and overall running costs.

Renault Modus | modus

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 5

quite roomy and reliable

would recommend

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.