Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Renault Megane Reviews

Renault Megane

Welcome to the Renault Megane review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Renault Megane cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£16,300 - £22,000
AA Cars Average
£7,296
MPG
32.1 - 80.7
CO2 (g/km)
90 - 209
Tax Band
A - K
Noise Level
67.1 - 74.9

Renault Megane | Renault Megane Coupe pre-Oct 2002

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2002
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

The 2-door model is very comfortable for the two people in the front, and I particularly appreciate the heating system which is better than on my previous cars. When there are more than two of us, I discovered that friends have made excuses to give me a lift instead of the other way round since I got this cara, because there is not enough room for people to sit comfortably in the back. It is easy to park, and once I got used to the low position, very pleasant to drive. My dog likes it better than previous cars because she can see out more easily, and so can I, when reversing for instance. The radio is reliable and clear. The roof window is a great asset in such a small car, to regulate temperature and air. The major disadvantage is the fact that there is a boot, rather than a hatch, so it doesn't take much stuff, and doesn't take anything very big. The only way to take my old TV to the tip, for example, was to put it on the front seat. It also doesn't have a towbar or roofbars, so you can't solve it in those ways without greater expense. On the plus side, it's still very economical on fuel in spite of its age, and "nippy" yet the driving seat comes into its own for comfort on long journeys, including the meaningful headrest (that is to say, the headrest really does let your head rest on it, whereas most cars don't have one that can be adjusted to that position without you leaning back). The only thing that has unexpectedly gone wrong is the battery. It looks quite sleek - I get the impression that some people expect someone young and "cool" to emerge from it instead of a nondescript middle-aged lady. However, I am sleek at heart. This is probably not unique to Renault, but the electronic key was deactivated by a keyring torch I bought, that had a keyfinding "beep" on it. The Renault garage (luckily not too far away) had to reactivate it for me. That's about it.

Renault Megane | Good Little Runner, But an Awkward Beast!

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

My Renault Megane is very quick and exceptionally maneuverable. Upon first driving it I was impressed with how quick and full of energy it was. My father was also won over, by its performance and congratulated me on my research and choice.

Despite my initial indecision on whether I liked the look of the car, it's appeal grew on me and I was later to realise just how good the car was with respect to handling and safety.

In 2012 my father became very ill and was confined to bed at St Peters Hospital. Further to that issues at work were becoming increasingly difficult and I felt it was only a matter of time before I was dismissed.

One day I was called into the hospital to receive word that my father's condition had worsened and the doctors believed nothing more could be done for him. I was told that my father was dying.

Upon driving home my head was spinning with everything that was happening and for a brief moment my concentration slipped. I failed to notice the road I was driving on was undergoing resurfacing work and I suddenly found the car had lost grip and had begun to career off the road. In an instant I had to take back control of the car and save it from the scrap heap. I did so despite spinning 180 degrees in the attempt.

As a driver I was at fault, but I could not fault my car!

The only negative thing I can say about my car is that mechanics can't stand working on it! They swear and curse whenever they have to access a faulty part or change a light.

Renault Megane | Fuel miser

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 4

The car, a 2005 Renault Megane 1.5dci Sport Tourer, was an ex lease car when purchased, with over 100,000 miles on in 3 years. I have had all six MOT tests done, with the only faults found being being headlight alignment once and a faulty bulb once. The car has now covered 136,000 miles, and still gives 45 to 50 mpg normally, which is for generally short journeys, my annual milage being around 5,000 miles. On longer journeys, the best I have seen on the car computer has been 83mpg between Rochdale and York, using the M62 over the Pennines. 70+ mpg is not uncommon on motorways, generally at 60 to 70 mph.
The car is quite comfortable, whatever the distance, and is reasonably quiet. The longest journey has been around 250 miles to a holiday destination, local driving of around 100 miles, and returning a week later, no problems, and around 65 mpg.
Problems have however occurred. The air con is not functioning for the second time, the first time costing around £250 to repair. A spilt pipe in the engine compartment resulted in a cost of around £500. The window washer motor has been replaced, the back window washer having failed, and a rear electric window has failed.
Overall, the car has never broken down leaving me stranded, and for the milage has performed well enough for me to consider a newer version of the same model as a replacement, although my driving requirements may be better served by less economical petrol next time, as dpf units in diesels do not like low milage use.

Renault Megane | Looks great, that's about it.

Added: 15th of June 2014
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2005
  • 1995cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Bought a second hand ex lease 2005 Renault Megane 2.0 turbo diesel two years ago.

Before I owned this car, I knew nothing about mechanics, however, I now know how to keep a car going and learnt more about mechanics than I wanted to.

As luck of the draw would have it, within a week the key card failed, costing me £220 through a Renault dealer who could only supply it after 2 weeks! A few days after the car came back, I pulled up the handbrake and the plastic pin inside the aircraft style handbrake snapped. It took me 15 minutes to release the handbrake. When I went to the scrapyard, out of 10 renaults there, there was 1 left with the handbrake in, a common problem it seems.
This was only the start of the problems...

The drive however is great. The engine and steering are very responsive and because of the turbo, this is a very, very quick car. One thing I will say is that if the road is a bit bumpy and you take a corner a little fast, you will feel there is a little less control, not an issue as there is plenty but something that has to be mentioned. My other, heavier cars would force the car onto the road a bit more.

The amount of never ending problems that need attending to, has led me to say goodbye to the car and it will be on the scrapyard soon.

If you buy one second hand which needs some fixing, get a Haynes manual, you're going to need it!

Renault Megane | Renault's bad apple

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2007
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I inherited this car when my father passed away, it was only three and a half years old at the time. Since then both front door window winder motors (rusted) have had to be replaced separately (one with the door loom as well), the turbo inter-cooler and the air con supply pipe have also had to be replaced. Each of these at a local main dealer was in the region of £400 each. Admittedly Renault made a contribution after I complained each time to customer care but for a virtually new car this is not acceptable. Since then we have an intermittent fault with the reversing bleeper and bulbs blow in the dip lights regally (these are so difficult to replace that I have to drive 20 miles to the main dealer to fit) Last replacement bulb the car came back with the dip lights pointing at 45 degs down at the road making the car un-drivable at night. This was fixed by the dealer and after a dispute they agreed at no cost to me.
The car is a money pit and I will be replacing it in the near future. My father always bought Renault cars since he used to rally for the marque in the 50's in 750's and Douphine's but this one is either jinxed or badly designed. I suspect the latter as it is far too complicated! What ever happened to keep fit window winders?

Best wishes a future VW owner!

Renault Megane | Renault Megane Expression Dci

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1461cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I recently purchased this car, used from a local reputable dealer. I had previously owned a 03 reg diesel 1.9 Laguna which had completed 178,000 miles and started first time in all weather. That was good enough for me to be loyal to the brand.

The Megane has lovely styling although the wheels are steel and the wheel trims do look a little cheap. The car itself is surprising roomy for it's size and has a number of very handy storgae compartments. I find the drivers seat (cloth) a little uncomfortable on long journeys but I am a big fella. Cost of ownership is fantastic, £30 road tax and I am getting mileage returns of high 40's on my daily 60 mile commute and low 50's on motorway journeys.

The CD/radio has a very nice tone to it but the controls take a little getting used to - navigating round a CD containing a number of mp3 albums is not much fun.

I have not had any experience of winter driving yet but if the Laguna was anything to go by, there should be no problems.

I have "down sized" and miss some of my previous luxuries like heated leather seat, built-in sat nav etc but the Megane has style ,economy and I'm starting to love her - at the moment we're still flirting !

Renault Megane | Renault Megane Convertible 1.6 16v sports petrol

Added: 29th of January 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2002
  • 1598cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

I am very pleased with the car so far...does well on fuel averaging 39 to 41 mpg.

I have always had large estates for diesel economy, space and comfort but now my children are growing up I thought that I would change back to something a bit like I used to own pre children.

I am amazed at having full electrics, leather interior and electric roof.

The engine is easy to access for repairs and routine maintenance.

There is JUST enough room for 3 people (large adults). I was amazed at how much leg room I had with being so tall...The furthest Ive driven her in one stretch is just over 45 miles and I am not in any discomfort whatsoever.

The bonus to me was the amazing space in the boot ..Ive got a medium size suitcase in there together with two large pillows and two large quilts..I even managed to get an ironing board in the back of the interior....impressed.

It will never be a MPV nor estate, but it makes up for in style and has relatively low running costs. No increase in my fully comprehensive insurance and it is £15.75 a month for RFL the same as my last large diesel.

Cant wait for summer to get that roof down...a lot of car for such little money!!

Renault Megane | NOT A SPORTS CAR

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Lovely car but here comes the buts first , when the roof is down you see little sunlight as the window screen front which is shaped half over you blocks the sun unlike more sporty models but you do feel safe , petrol wise as long as you don't go over 50mph you will keep the petrol gage down to a steady 43 miles per gallon.
It handles well in snow although the anti-lock breaks kick in not instantly , power steering quite good although I find it a little heavy .
If you want a steady first time convertible which aren't too expensive I would recommend this because I do feel very safe in this car but leg room for passengers is not too good the boot space is limited when the roof is down so I throw everything on the back seat which is difficult to retrieve because the head rests being in the way , trying to clean the glass roof inside where the back headrests are is impossible and difficult to get the head rests out in fact I haven't achieved that yet but these are only girly petty things , all in all a reliable car never let me down yet ( fingers crossed ) would I buy again , NO only because it feels a lot bigger than it is , not as streamline as other convertibles.

Renault Megane | Motoring on a budget

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 4

My car was purchased when it was almost 3 years old with 114,000 miles on the clock. An ex lease car, it was obviously a reliable motor to have done that mileage, and so it has proven, although my mileage is at a much lower rate. The car has hit 136,000 miles now, some 5 years later. One problem with a split pipe has resulted in a £500 bill, and the air con isn't working, but the car has not broken down and left me stranded during my ownership. Fuel economy has normally averaged high 40's to low 50's during town driving, but has been in the 70's on longer trips with motorway driving, with a best of 82 mpg. on a trip from Rochdale to York, crossing the Pennines on the M62 on a warm sunny day. Comfort and space has proved to be fine, with the longest trip covering around 240 miles in around 6 hours, with 2 adults, one 6 year old child, and luggage for a weeks holiday. To summarise, the simple question to answer is would I buy the same model again? - Yes I would certainly consider it.

Renault Megane | Megane 1.5dci

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1461cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Yes I know it's a Renault and they break occasionally, but the Magane dci is quite pleasant to live with. With 100 bhp the performance is adequate, it is comfortable on long journeys with ample space for passengers and luggage, air-con and all the toys add to the comfort of journeys. Running costs are reasonable with £35 a year road tax and 70 mpg. Although things like ball joints, brakes and suspension parts fail more often than other makes of car, this Megane has so far not broken down at the side of the road. We have had the car for over two years now and it has covered 150,000 miles in total and still runs fine. If only Renault would fit Japanese quality suspension components it would be far more reliable, although springs breaking could be largely due to the amount the roads are breaking up. I am not a lover of Renaults but I have to admit that this car is practical, suits our needs and is easy to live with, and if it does breakdown, well I am a member of the AA.

Renault Megane | Excellent fun & cheap to run

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2002
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Owned this since 2002 bought from Renault as usedas a demonstrator.

Achieves about 50 mpg on long motorway runs at motorway speeds.

Extremely comfortable.

So far ultra reliable. Fingers crossed for the future.

Poor turning circle.

Excellent performance and stopping power.

Unforgiving of indecision or driving errors, lift off at the wrong time going round a bend it will try and kill you!

The same traits can be used to advantage in manouvering at speed - will take sharp bends very cleanly, providing you balance the car properly.

Excellent seats for comfortable long distance driving.

Low seating position - excellent for cornering in absolute comfort.

Rear seats are fairly pointless for any human body.

Boot surprisingly spacious.

Excellent air conditioning.

Heat reflective windscreen great in summer.

Affordable insurance and maintenance.

Renault Megane | Renault Megane Coupe

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2011
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Coupe
  • 3

Excellent fuel economy but passengers have complained about it being an uncomfortable ride.
Built in sat nav is bit temperamental and sometimes doesn't know when you have reached your destination to clear that route even if you physically try to delete it.
Hand brake is in an annoying position as you almost have to touch your front seat passenger to use it.
Servicing is every 18,000 miles which helps keeps running costs down.
Car is on personal contract hire which finishes in January 2014 so will soon need to make decisions about what next but have been pleased with this car overall and the previous Renault I had prior to this one, both owned from new, so will start with looking at what Renault have to offer, contract or to purchase.

Renault Megane | Very good family car

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

+ - Lovely car to drive, easy steering and very smooth. Would recommend the engine size as just right for the size of car.
Plenty of room in the boot for shopping etc. Also the back seats go down for carrying bigger items.
- - Erratic electrics. When weather goes cold the wiper blades have a mind of their own, as well as the boot.
If there are tall people who drive or sit in the passenger seats then there is no leg room for passengers in the back.

Despite this I would recommend a Renault Megane as excellent family car. Vehicle is very safe has child locks and anti roll bars in the event of an accident. The seat belts are also compatible for use with baby car seats and child seats.

Renault Megane | My Renault Car

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1490cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

On the whole I have been very happy with my Megane.
However, when I was buying it, I was rather disappointed to find that, at the time of purchase, I had to have a built-in satnav, whether I wanted one or not. while to buy a Megane with "climate control" (which I really wanted) as opposed to just an on/off air conditioner, I had to buy a more expensive model which also had an engine which turned on and off when the car is stationary (which I didn't want).
Apart from that grumble, I would like to report that my megane has been very reliable, has fast acceleration, drives economically, and is a pleasure to drive.

Renault Megane | Renault Megane

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Overall I preferred my old megane - old S reg. The new one is not as economical as I thought it would be. There are a few annoying rattles which were never solved in the warranty period. Reversing is not easy as the rear window configuration gives poor visibility. It is noisier than my old diesel Clio. The rear seat head rests are not comfy. The automatic lights irritate me.

On the plus side, it's reliable, zippy, is a good drive, with good manoeuvrability and relatively good handling in snow. The front seats are comfortable - radio and heating both work well. I still like its shape and styling.

Renault Megane | Great Car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Just purchased this car and so far I am very happy. Tax is £30 a year and around town I am getting 52 mpg. It has all the mod cons I need, folding mirrors, push button start, keyless entry, full panoramic sunroof, air con, 6 disk cd multi changer, auto headlights and wipers.
The storage is amazing, little cubby holes everywhere. I sat in my mates 58 focus and the only storage he has is 2 narrow door pockets and the smallest glove box I have see.

Overall you get a lot of car for little money. This is my 4th Renault and I have to say I have been happy with all 4 of them.

Renault Megane | Renault Megane

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I like the rear end of this car. Most car rear ends are ugly. Regretfully few people agree with me!
It goes well, I get 45mpg or 9.5 miles/litre on the motorway going at no more than 70mph unless the conditions warrant it (everybody else doing the same thing and bunching starts to happen - then I go up to 75-80mph or drop back to 60 or so).
A transmission whine has developed which is a bit of a concern as the car has only done 60000 miles or so.
In my last Renault - a Laguna 1997 reg, I did n 210000 miles!

Renault Megane | Renault Megane Coupe Cabriolet

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 2

Very comfortable, great to drive and has been good so far. Not practical if you want to take more than two people any distance and hopeless as it only seats 4 and not 5 people, which we find means we take two cars instead of one on some occasions. Had to replace the back window motor recently, it is tiny but cost us a fortune to replace the motor, whereas the larger front window motor is a quarter of the price to replace. We can't see why that should be. Overall we love the car though.

Renault Megane | Better performance and fuel economy would be welcomed

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought this vehicle second-hand 2 1/2 years ago, and I have generally been well pleased with it, although I would hope a later model would have slightly sharper performance and better economy. Front seat comfort is excellent, but leg room in the back is a little cramped. Ratios in the six-speed gearbox are well chosen, and handling is very good. This is the Tom-Tom version with all the electronic knobs and whistles, all of which are useful. I would definitely have another one.

Renault Megane | Renault Megane Dynamique

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A model no longer available but coming with satnav, parking sensors front and rear and cruise control as standard plus many other features. It has been a comfortable, reliable car though not light on fuel. Servicing is every 18000 miles and taking advantage of the Renault monthly service debit avoids any concerns about large servicing bills.

A good looking car with its performance ideal for a middle aged to elder family man e.g. carries three grand children in the back.

Filter Renault Megane Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.