Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Renault Laguna Reviews

Renault Laguna

Welcome to the Renault Laguna review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Renault Laguna cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£3,465
MPG
24.6 - 61.4
CO2 (g/km)
118 - 271
Tax Band
C - L
Noise Level
67.7 - 74.0

Renault Laguna | Renault Laguna

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1783cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

We have loved this car, also its colour, Ascot Green. It has been extremely reliable over the 12 years we've had it, since it was new. However, as it has aged a number of small things have broken, which have been annoying. The sunshade over the driver's seat, first of all, which cost £60 to replace, and which we would not replace again. The fan has broken three times, and we have replaced it each time until the last, and will not now replace it again. That has cost about £100 for parts and labour. It functions, but only at Maximum setting, which is very irritating (and noisy). The catch in the boot door also slips regularly, and gets completely jammed, also necessitating expensive bills, as the whole door has to be taken to bits to sort this out. The remote locking also goes from time to time. The temperature gauge has completely gone, and registers random numbers such as 60 degrees, or 48, whatever it feels like, it seems. The speedometer also jams from time to time. The cam position sensor has also stopped working several times, causing the car to stop altogether (as accelerator no longer has any effect) - this can be quite scary on a busy road.
However, these disadvantages are on the whole livable with, and now that the car is valued at only £50 (after being written off after a deer crashed into its side) we feel it gives us good value, as there is no problem with the general running of it - and no depreciation.
We are thinking of hanging on with this car for a bit longer and buying a new one next year.

Renault Laguna | Renault Laguna

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2003
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The car has served me well since new, but has some problems. It had to have some suspension bushes replaced quite early on, then at about 6 years a rear shock absorber leaked and needed replacing, at the same time the rear spring (on the same wheel - cause and effect?) broke. Both front door window mechanisms needed replacing at about 7-8 years, which I did myself.
The biggest problem suffered was the lambda sensor failing, which by the time it was discovered caused the catalytic converter to fail. This was the single biggest bill, at about 9 years old.
There has been an ongoing problem with the electrics, whereby at random intervals, random warning lights come on for no reason. These go out when the ignition is turned off, and do not come on again when the ignition is turned back on.
Overall I do like the car, but wish it had less niggles.

Renault Laguna | My Laguna

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Having purchased 2nd hand in Feb of 2013 I experienced no problems until October 2013.
Then it all went wrong at once....or so it seemed when it wouldn't work properly.
There were warning lights galore and the AA took me to a garage for the repair to be done.
Trouble with the modern electrics on cars is that they aren't necessarily a quick simple fix. 1 code could be a multitude of errors as I have found out.
4 miles after leaving the garage with new injectors the same fault developed, back to the garage, new alternator, same issues, new coils, same issues. The garage are having troubles locating the issue but are continuing to try....at HUGE expense :(
The car itself is fantastic in all other respects, economical, comfortable, all the modern gadgets you could want.
Overall a great car til it develops a problem.

Renault Laguna | Facelift laguna Estate

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Very comfortable with all the toys. Mine is the 2L 150bhp version and has done 84k miles and so far sweet as a nut. Fuel consumption is great for such a big car - I'm averaging 49Mpg- but it could do with more torque for my liking. My 90BHP 306 diesel has much more pull when moving off or rolling on the throttle, but the Laguna can fly if I let the revs rise.
Not as much space in the cabin as I expected. My previous Signum was definitely much better in that respect, though I am a big guy. Width is the issue more than anything else- (my right shoulder pressing on the door pillar) but I find that on a lot of modern cars with side airbags. Boot space is good and my 2 large dogs are quite happy even with the back seats in use.
Overall I am very pleased with it and would definitely buy another one.

Renault Laguna | My Laguna 2.2 Dci Initiale

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

This is the fourth Laguna I have purchased all from new.
I purchased this one to replace the one I wrote off in a head-on crash. 3 of us walked away whilst the van driver had to be cut out.
I have had major problems with the car 1 month out of warrantee in 2008. ABS pump, turbo oil leak (the one that can trash the engine) and rear suspension rebuild. Even though out of warrantee Renault paid 80% of the total cost of £3600.00.
Since then I have a few minor problems mainly due to wear and tear.
I find the car easy to drive and comfortable on long journeys. I am a white water kayaker and it takes all I can load into it and onto the roof with no problems.
On the downside it is not economical to run for short journeys but on long runs returns a fair fuel consumption.

Renault Laguna | Motorway cruiser

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2001
  • 1890cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Bought this in an unloved state, but mechanically sound.
Worked on a number of trivial comfort items (including driver's window, twice) and had turbo blow up a year after damaging in deep water.
Generally enjoyable car, great and comfortable for long runs. Tidy around town and country lanes, but excells at cruising. Added cruise control for pennies, now very happy with it.
Counting costs, spent about 1500 GBP over three years including initial repairs, new set of wheels, new turbo, two new tyres, and servicing for 20k miles.
And road tax at 135 GBP makes it doubly economical to run.
Very happy, and (against reputation) would buy another one.

Renault Laguna | renault laguna

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

i have had this car nearly 5 years and have had no problems with it other than having to replace the card key when lost.
it is a very comfortable car and very good on fuel. the on board computer is very good and i tend to drive with the mpg showing so that i can get the best possible mpg on all my journeys.
it has just the right amount of power for me and handles very well on all road types.
i have really enjoyed driving this car and would consider replacing it with the same newer model.
the leg room inside is ample, both front and rear. the boot space is surprisingly large. and it has a proper spare wheel!

overall i cant fault it.

Renault Laguna | Renault Laguna.

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Pleasant to drive under normal conditions, demisting of windscreen on frosty mornings is not good, slow to get engine temperature up to warm the interior.

Will get up to 55 mpg on motorway @70 mph when using cruise control, and over 60 mpg @ 60 mph.

Very comfortable ride, good seats, good leg and head room for driver. ( I am 6'6" so I know.)

Have had and still have trouble with electronics giving trouble, warning lights coming on for no reason, refusing to start for no reason. Have to pay to get them cancelled and some time later it all starts again.

Good space inside as already mentioned good size boot,

Renault Laguna | My rather ancient car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1997
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

In all the years that I have driven our 1997 Renault Laguna it has been almost entirely trouble-free. It gets through the MOT with few, if any, repairs needed (nothing at all for the last couple of years). It's probably relatively expensive on fuel but as my mileage is not very high this is not a problem. It's got a wide and high wheelbase which lets me drive easily over all the many road bumps around London, a large boot which is often stuffed to capacity and a nice sunshine roof. I really don't want to replace it!

Renault Laguna | Renault Laguna

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have owned this car since it was 20 months old and driven it 80,000 miles. I have it properly services and have to date not had to spend any money on additional breakdown costs. My only concern with diesel cars is that if there is a problem with the fuel supply system the replacement cost will be more that the car is worth. This happened with a previous Peugeot 607 which I wrote off at 6 years old as the replacement cost of the high pressure fuel pump was going to cost over £2500 for a reconditioned unit.

Renault Laguna | Comfortable but!!!!

Added: 17th of April 2014
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Have had the vehicle from new and have had nothing but niggling little problems. Although a comfortable car it is very unreliable as has had continual small problems. It has several faults now although not to make it unroadworthy but no dealer is interested in taking it in part exchange for a new car so will keep it until it falls to pieces and then send to the scrap yard where it belongs. No wonder Renault no longer sells the Laguna in the U.K. as nobody wants to buy one!!!

Renault Laguna | Renault 1.9DCi

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The above car is the best one I have had. I bought it in 2009 and has cost little in upkeep until this summer when the passenger side front electric window packed up. Unfortunately the drive and linkage mechanism are all in one on these cars and £180 later I was not best pleased.

MPH is good at 46.3 over all types of driving.

A very comfortable car to drive.

Unfortunately Renault have stopped making the Laguna for the British market.

Renault Laguna | Renault.

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
1/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2002
  • 1899cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Have had two Renaults now. Never again.
Constant problems with them.
Renault Do not care.
Dealers unable to deal with some problems straight away or correctly so costs more money. Have to bye two parts for some things when only one has gone wrong,a waste of resources and money.
To much reliance on computer fault finding which actually does not always get to the problem, but you have to pay for this.
Its French industrial espionage.

Renault Laguna | A Brill Car

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

i was looking for a car that was reliable, comfortable for long journeys and economical but also reasonably powerful for overtaking, then i took a Renault Laguna 1.5 DCi for a test drive and was amazed by its performance and comfort so i bought the car and have been very happy with it since.
it is very good on fuel especially on long journeys and road tax is only £105 per year, I would recommend this car to anyone.

Renault Laguna | laguna

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 4

large comfy car, but creaks and squeaks. Noisy diesel engine,rough sounding, gearbox a bit argumentative. Keycard key and keycard reader is a fault waiting to happen. This car is ok on the motorway , but not a pleasure on city streets. Drove Vauxhalls thro company for 15 years .Liked the cars , but will go back to Japanese on my next car.Had incredibly reliable Mazda and Toyotas.

Renault Laguna | i KNOW IT IS FRENCH BUT

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2004
  • 2198cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I know it is a french car but mine is good well maintained and looked after reliable and comfortable economical and everything works as it should ok servicing is a little bit more because of the price of the parts It is cheap to ensure even my 19 year can drive it (£500 a year fully comp 2 years no claim bonus if she had one cheaper than her old 1.4 polo same year)

Renault Laguna | A Good Buy

Added: 20th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1870cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have had my car from new, and have now clocked up almost 160,000 miles.

During the time I have had my car, apart from regular maintenance and a new battery and tyres, I have been completely satisfied with its reliability and economy.

It still turns in around 35 mpg around town and 50+ mpg on a longer journey.

I remain very satisfied indeed with my car.

Renault Laguna | Ultra Reliable!!

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Drive a Laguna as a Company car for over 7 years. Never had any trouble, breakdowns or gliches (probably get one next week now!)

Wouldn't be ideal as a family car as the boot is limited in space & it lacks leg room in the back. Company car fantastic!

No allegiance to any make or model of car but can only comment as I find things

Renault Laguna | A Pleasure to Drive

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Laguna has been reliable and very comfortable. The performance is good and the Diesel engine makes like of hills and is very quiet. Much superior to some petrol cars that I have driven during the same period. It is sad that Renault has discontinued the Laguna as it will be difficult going to another make for a replacement.

Renault Laguna | Renault Laguna W reg

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

A car built for comfort which is a high priority for us as my wife has arthritis.

also we take cottage holidays which involve long motorway journeys.

Reliability was an issue when I first got the car, but many bits have been replaced by my local garage and this is no longer an issue.

Filter Renault Laguna Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.