Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Renault Grand Scenic Reviews

Renault Grand Scenic

Welcome to the Renault Grand Scenic review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Renault Grand Scenic cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£20,355 - £23,395
AA Cars Average
£5,929
MPG
32.8 - 68.9
CO2 (g/km)
105 - 205
Tax Band
B - K
Noise Level
69.2 - 73.9

Renault Grand Scenic | Bi-polar Scenic

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

After purchasing my first Renault in over 40 years of car ownership I was initially very impressed with the overall feel and performance of my Scenic. Having previously owned several Vauxhall Zafera's and numerous other makes and models of large family hatchbacks and MPV's the Scenic ticked all of the boxes for comfort, space and drivability. However there have been a couple of issues that have proved problematic. The first was that the main dealer from whom I bought my 2 year old car closed down 3 weeks after I picked up the car. This was a surprise as they had been trading for over 70 years! Fortunately the car was still under the manufacturers warranty but unfortunately the nearest Renault dealership is now 15 miles away. After about 6 weeks the car put up an intermittent 'low battery' warning on the digital dashboard display. I booked it in for a check and after 2 visits to the garage a new battery was fitted. The garage charged me for the battery but the diagnostic and fitting was under Renault warranty, (batteries apparently have a 2 year warranty on a new car but the replacement came with a 3 year warranty!!!) I contacted Renault UK and they have addressed this anomaly. The low battery message was back before I had driven the car 10 miles. A further 3 visits to the garage, getting on first name terms with members of Renault UK customer services and a total of 2 weeks using a loan car it was established that the battery low message was being sent by my mobile phone and had nothing to do with the working of the car its self. All of which was dealt with under warranty and in fairness was of only minor frustration and inconvenience to me. With this problem identified I was more confident with the car and it passed MOT number 1 without a problem. A month later the rear brakes started to grind and it required new pads (34000 miles on the clock). I don't have an issue with this as it is normal wear and tear but it does seem rather ironic that the car kept me fully informed about the battery health of my mobile phone but there is no sensor to detect low break pads. The car is running smoothly and I have had no further issues but I have had more car issues in the last 12 months than in the previous 12 years. It is unlikely that I will be looking to purchase another Scenic in the near or distant future.

Renault Grand Scenic | Grand Scenic 7 Seater

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Went from a hatchback to an MPV as we have three kids. It's pretty good. Lots of features you wouldn't realise were there until you own one. Proximity key card.... both for doors and ignition. Walk up open the doors, get in press start and go! (once the card is in the "zone", the doors will unlock and the ignition is unlocked). Stop engine, get out and grab all your bags/kids and walk away. The electric "Parking Brake" (ie hand brake) auto brakes, the doors lock automatically when you are out of the zone (but there is a flash and blip so you know it's worked!).
The "hand brake" automatically releases on pulling away from a stop. The doors can be set to lock automatically when pulling away. The head lights swivel to point more in the direction you are turning.... More useful then you'd imagine on dark windy country roads!
Oh and we got lucky at the car supermarket and got a good deal on the leather, 3d sound and sat nav along with double sun roof.
Just seems to be chock full of features to make family life easier... Carrier bag handles in the boot section. Extra 12V sockets for the back. Motorised driver seat with 3 positions memorisable.
Oh and the drive is good. Fair sized rear mirror view. Cruise control and speed limiter! Good MPG calculator.
Only downside is that the front roof stanchions/struts are pretty thick (guess that's why it has 5 star crash rating) but you do have to peer around them. in the last year, at least two ppl have been crossing a road at exactly the right speed to be masked by the roof support strut on the right. Going slowly, so once they appeared there was time to stop...
If this car got written off, I'd definitely get something with the same level of features/drive.

Renault Grand Scenic | My Grand Scenic

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1995cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

The vehicle is spacious, comfortable and has a flexible internal space. The rear passenger floor pan is completely flat with good leg-room and 3 removable seats, good for carrying large items, and 2 extra fold-up seats in the back. We find these a great help when grandchildren visit. The parking sensors are a great help.

As a front-wheel drive six gear automatic diesel it achieves about 39mpg over-all, given a mix of local driving and occasional longer journeys. Mileage is about 14000 a year and it is serviced at the nearest Renault main dealer at the recommended frequency.

It is a long wheel-base vehicle and requires substantial tyres which last about 25000 miles at the front, 35000 at the rear.

It has a power-operated clear sunroof which is not laminated like a windscreen and did in fact smash after being struck by a large stone.

We like it and intend to keep it for as long as it is practical for us to do so.

Renault Grand Scenic | Grand scenic oasis

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

This model is a well kept secret. The technology used is amazing. Keyless entry and door lock from any door or even the boot without having to touch a key. Also stopping and starting the car. Electronic self releasing handbrake. Airline tables on rear of front seats. Built in sun visors for children/ passengers in the rear. Double panoramic sunroof. Hard wearing beautiful comfortable interior. Practical and economical. We have owned and still own two for a total of approx 10 yrs now. This was very advanced at time of purchase and is still not common. Which have these cars poor reliability at the time but I used my own judgment based on what I saw with build quality etc and was right. I had problems with air con on one of the two cars. That was it. No other problems at all other than an occasional lightbulb. Excellent.

Renault Grand Scenic | Practicality

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I find this car very comfortable to drive and the position of the drivers seat is slightly higher than a standard car which suits me. The fact the seats drop down in the back to form a large open space is very important as I find myself frequently moving large items which I can do without having to hire another veichle or asking for assistance.
The dash layout I find attractive and the space with four people in the car is good. Even with a fifth person in the back seat it appears less cramped than most saloons.
Fuel consumption around the local area is decent at around 42mpg and about 47mpg on long journey's. Not what is say in the handbook but it is 7 years old now so to be expected.

Renault Grand Scenic | Overall experience Grand scenic

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Renault Grand Scenic is an excellent car for large familes and long journeys for comfort and storage space inside. When extra back seats are raised the boot space is restricted to a narrow boot gap for small bags only (not easy for suitcases).
As the vehicle becomes older fuel economy is not very good as an new model but very reliable in winter conditions.
Scenic is fitted with hill assist and is a excellent aid to move off steep hills without rolling back.
As car becomes older the only electrical problems are heater matrix starts to breakdown with fan speed becoming intermittent from one speed to fourth speed.
Overall a good car for large famlies and very reliant.

Renault Grand Scenic | Don't buy one!

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
1/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1870cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

When I bought this car it was a year old and I believed it would meet my needs - lots of space for people and luggage - I have sons, grandchildren, and we all enjoy Festivals and camping. In that respect, it's a good car - lots of space, carries a load well and, if necessary, can convert to a 7-seater (but only if those passengers have very short legs). However, it's main drawback is the horrendous cost of servicing, repairs, etc. I really feel I've been ripped off over the years by the Renault dealerships!
I wouldn't recommend it to anyone else and I'm planning to get rid of it before it needs yet another super-expensive repair or service!

Renault Grand Scenic | scenic 2 review

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1461cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

I have owned this car from new and during that 6.5 years have covered 112000 miles. The car has been comfortable, very practical and reliable with very few faults so far. Generally it has been serviced at a main dealer. It is surprisingly good to drive and can corner with confidence. The radio is not great, losing channels at times, also the ventilation system could be more efficient (can tend to steam up if several people in the car) but overall it is hard to find fault. Other reviews I have read would suggest this type is unreliable, so maybe I have been lucky. In my experience it is one of the best cars I have owned.

Renault Grand Scenic | Grand scenic automatic

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1998cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Have owned vehicle for 7 years , only drive approx 2000 miles per annum so can only comment as a low mileage user. Only problems I have had is with the tyre pressure sensors which are fitted to individual wheels and the air con. Apart from that the car has been comfortable, spacious and reliable, as have all the Renaults I have previously owned. Very good family vehicle with large boot and lots of storage. I wish the car did more miles to the gallon , I average about 24-25 due to auto gearbox. Eventually I would like to buy a new one which I believe is more eco friendly and more economical.

Renault Grand Scenic | Grand Scenic

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

This car is every thing we hoped it would be, its a dream to drive, comfort is excellent. On long journeys no back ache, seats very supportive. The seven seats have been excellent with the grand children, and the extra seat belts anchor the dogs when we have them in the car. Holidays are no problem because the large boot area carrys all we need.
It is easy to park and all round vision is excellent. We had several snagging points but Renault have been very helpful and always sorted the problem. Would love to have an up to date new one, who knows perhaps one day we will

Renault Grand Scenic | Make sure you're on good terms with your mechanic.

Added: 17th of October 2016
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Don't get seduced by the tables and cubby holes. Whilst they look to be a very practical family vehicle, you'll discover just how fragile the interior is when you install children in the back. Oh, and they're not the most reliable of things. We had ours for eleven years from new and many, many times wondered if we were certifiably mad for continuing to maintain and repair it when yet another electrical system failed. Now replaced with a Mazda 5 which has all the charm and reliability of a domestic fridge. Very pleased with it so far.

Renault Grand Scenic | Renault Scenic

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Bought from new and am the only owner. This car is extremely spacious for a family but once the children are over 12 the rear seats aren't very practicle. We average 45 miles to the gallon and have driven somewhere in the region of 185,000 miles.
The service period is short at 9,000 miles, but we have always adhered to it. When things go wrong they do seem expensive but overall I've been pleased with the car.
Had two previous Scenics before having the Grand Scenic too!

Renault Grand Scenic | 2012 Grand Scenic

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

This car meets all the requirements of a 4 person family with 2 dogs, the inside has enough space to allow all 5 seats to be erect whilst containing the dogs in their own crates.

Separate interchangeable seats mean easy adaption for storage of large items.

The boot seats are of high standard, not a flimsy bit of plywood.

Added extras include cruise control, built in sat nav.

Down side:
Storage compartments not as big as the 06 standard Scenic

Renault Grand Scenic | Showing its age.

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1996cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

My car is almost 10 years old now and things are starting to go wrong on a monthly basis... electric windows, air con, boot struts... I could go on.
Still, it works for me as I have three children who need car seats and I can fit them all in the middle row and they can have a friend each too.
The bigger engine which makes the car good to drive does make it expensive to run.
I'd buy another but try to change it before it gets old.

Renault Grand Scenic | Grand Scenic.

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

A very roomy, comfortable family car which can be converted quickly to give ample space to carry large items. The rear seats can be tilted, moved forward or even removed completely. There are also two extra seats in the boot which allows seven passengers to travel. It's not the faster car for acceleration but the sixth forward gear plus the cruise control make motorway driving very relaxing.

Renault Grand Scenic | Renault Scenic grande

Added: 16th of September 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1460cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I selected this car to accommodate a wheelchair without having to fold it down into small pieces. The boot has lots of room and there is no lip on it saving my back! The doors to the passenger seats are nice and wide with no lips on the floor , so has easy access. The bonus is it drives beautifully, is very economical on town and country roads and the parking assist is magic.

Renault Grand Scenic | Good choice

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Very happy with our Grand Scenic - our 3rd Renault - previous Savanna and Scenic. Comfortable, versatile and nice to drive. Only criticism is the high cost of replacing the low profile tyres. Wheels look good but not the best choice for a family estate of this type.

Renault Grand Scenic | Renault dealers

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1398cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

A great car but will be trading it in soon despite the fact this is my third one of this type it will not be replaced by the latest model as my nearest dealer / repair / service garage is 30+ miles away and I live in a city of 300,000+ people. Get a life Renault !!

Renault Grand Scenic | Renault Grand Scenic

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • People Carrier
  • 5

60 plate, good car for space and seats, has had too many faults in first 3 years with water coming into floor space, fuel injectors falling off and electronic handbrake Control unit all needing to be repaired. Done on warranty, but annoying.

Renault Grand Scenic | Great family car

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • People Carrier
  • 5

Great car for family. Having the extra seats readily available in the boot is very useful. Great space in the boot for holidays. Concerned at first about the engine size, but the turbo kicks in and there are no issues, even when fully loaded.

Filter Renault Grand Scenic Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.