Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Renault Clio Reviews

Renault Clio

Welcome to the Renault Clio review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Renault Clio cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£10,650 - £16,000
AA Cars Average
£6,841
MPG
23.7 - 78.4
CO2 (g/km)
94 - 285
Tax Band
A - M
Noise Level
67.8 - 75.0

Renault Clio | Reliable & hardworking

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

My 2007 Clio III Dynamique S has been such an easy car to own and drive. In 6 years it has done over 100,000 miles and apart from the 70k cambelt replacement, which was a bit of en eye watering bill, has been very cheap to maintain and service.
It has spent a lot of time being driven more like a Land Rover than a hatchback, and has put up well with being used and abused on country lanes and dirt tracks. Everybody who is a passenger in it, including some elderley relatives, finds it very comfortable and it's certainly easy to drive on 300+ mile journeys. It has even survived one side of it being dropped off a foot high concrete ledge in a farmyard when it slid after being parked on sheet ice! Whilst I don't advise trying this on a regular basis, the only issue it left was the damaged door sill ruined the front passenger side jacking point - but when I say it's survived some abuse it really has!

The only thing that I have encountered with this particular model which has made me give it a star less for practicality, is that when coming up with the 's' version, Reanult put wider alloys on without changing anything else within the wheel area. Subsequently, when on full lock, the edge of the tyre rubs the inside of the wheel arch which can cause slightly uneven wear. But then again, I did chose the 's' for it's slightly more sporty look so can't really have it both ways.

I am only considering changing this car because of it's mileage, and am very reluctant to do so. The only cars currently under consideration are either things which are significantly larger than a hathback (i.e. an actual land rover!), or the gorgeous looking new Clio. This has been such a good car to own that changing it is very easy to put off.

Renault Clio | Practical mode of transport

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1451cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Bought it last year, to replace a 7year old petrol Vauxhall agila, and it has proved to be good for my use including volunteer transport for a community group attached to my church. I can get a folded wheelchair and walking frame in.

On Holiday will cruise the french road returning nearly 70mpg, in holiday mode, cruise contol being useful there, in this country the speed limiter is most used as dorset police seem to be paranoid over speeding!

I can carry my 5" gauge steam locos in the boot and when towing my 4" traction engine on its trailer will maintain speed limit.

The vehicle has had no problem apart from a leaking door seel which was eventually traced, fixed by the main agent.

Overall I am pleased with the reliability, and its satnav.
My wife finds the ride comfortable the seats are OK

Renault Clio | Power Loss

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1149cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Prior to purchasing this car on a 4 yr lease in Apr 2012, I had a Renault 1.6 Clio Dynamique Diesel. I have had 3 Clio's and a Megane prior to this.

Having used the car on a visit to Minehead and the surrounding area shortly after purchase, I found the car to have a lack of power in acceleration/overtaking and climbing steep gradients, more downshifting through the gears. It had been a step too far.

Having retired in Aug 2011, I felt that I did not need to travel too far, apart from the annual visit to see relations in Scotland, and the step down from 1.6 - 1.2 just proved the point when travelling on motorways and some inclined A roads.

Apart from this running costs/comfort/reliability/space and practicality are in keeping with the Renault Brand.

Renault Clio | 2005 Clio

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

It's not a bad little car. It drives nicely and it's economical and for a couple, plenty big enough most of the time (you can pack quite a lot in the boot and with the back seat down there's considerable extra luggage space).

The electrics let it down - In the less than 3 years that I've owned it, I've had 3 electrical issues (one of them expensive)and it's still a pretty low mileage car (less than 40k on the clock).

It's pretty comfortable on long journeys for a small car and the air con is surprisingly efficient.

Would I buy one again? No, simply because of the reliability of the electrics (an issue family members have also had with other Renault models). Otherwise, yes.

Renault Clio | Clio Williams

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1993
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Lovely car; comfortable like a big car, but performance of a true hot hatch. Handling to match, and really reliable.
Owned since new, regualrly used all the power, and have had no breakdowns or major failures. Now due a mid-life update at approx 100k miles, so will clean all through, replace all discs, and carry out deep service of hydraulic fluids, gearbox oils, etc.
Great thing is it's based on a shopping trolley, so most bits are cheap as chips, and only occasional bits stand out.
If you can get your hands on one, I would throughly recommend it. (Rumour has it the 172 Sport has the same handling and more power; I need to test drive to compare)

Renault Clio | Carry on Clio

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2008
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I liked this car from the moment I test-drove it. The gears are particularly comfortable to use, and the automatic lights and windscreen wipers are helpful. The seating front and back is comfortable, and the adjustability for height of the driver's seat is particularly welcome. I would appreciate a more spacious boot and a simpler way to access the spare tyre ? even the garage found it difficult. It also seems ? and this might be true of other makes and models ? that the paint is extremely thin and the slightest touch by someone else's door, for example, causes a scratch. In other respects, it is a delight.

Renault Clio | Sold a pup??

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

On my third Clio - love them but this one, although bought at a garage has so far had more than it's share of troubles - nothing major (unless you count the fact that the oil sump was "welded" and will need replaced.I put it in for service a couple of months after I got it and quite a few things came up - am working though getting these fixed so perhaps this one will be 5 star like my previous Clios -Thoroughly recommend them for being economical to run and my previous one was fantastic in the ice and snow we had two winters ago - never let me down. I am hoping this one will do the same.............

Renault Clio | My Clio

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2002
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Despite being old I have found my clio to be very reliable and fitted with lots of little extra's that seem fairly standard to the clio but not to cars built in the UK.

Unfortunately the sunroof isn't water tight and although OK in the summer months (even in heavy rainfall) it causes condensation and ice to form inside the car during the winter. This is the only reason that i am considering changing it.

I would be happy to purchase another clio but hope to find a Toyota Yaris for my next car (within the next 12 months). I also prefer a car with 4 doors.

Renault Clio | RENAULT CLIO 1.4 - 1993

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1993
  • 1390cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I bought the car in 2002 from a relative who had put only 23000 miles on it in 9 years. It is a sensible, practical car for urban driving, which comprises about 70% of my mileage and at least 90% of my trips, as well as moderate-length country/motorway trips.

It has been generally reliable, but when repairs are required, parts are extremely expensive. I would prefer a more 'green' vehicle, but I do not like throwing away serviceable cars, so I'm going to run this one until it is uneconomic to repair and then buy a second hand hybrid vehicle.

Renault Clio | Renault Clio

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I am extremely satisfied with my Renault Clio. Smooth can comfortable drive. Very reliable. Economic on fuel useage.

The only negatives - my car hasn't got electric front windows (my choice at the time of purchase). When looking over right shoulder to check cars behind me, vision slightly obscured due to the fact that my car is three doors. (centre post quite thick). Just means you have to double check before pulling out.

Would I recommend the Renault Clio - I certainly do and will be purchasing another when I come to change my car.

Renault Clio | Quite happy..

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is the second Renault I have owned, the first was a Scenic and lasted us for over ten years and we used it for everything from camping trips to long distance holidays abroad without any major problems at all. I was not worried in the least about purchasing another Renault but this time went for a smaller more practical car as the kids have all grown up and left home. The Clio is fine and comfortable for town and distance driving and quite reasonable on fuel in all conditions, also cheaper on tax and insurance so quite happy all round.

Renault Clio | Old Clio is still going!

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 1999
  • 1390cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I have owned my T reg Clio for over 11 years and it has been the best car I've ever had. I know Renaults are sometimes looked down upon for having dodgey electrics, but this car really has been great. There is a tiny patch of rust on the driver's side door, but other than that the bodywork is excellent. This car has given me very little grief over the past 11 years and I am proud of it. So people who mock these cars and then get into their conked out Alfa Romeo's can read this and weep!

Renault Clio | Convenient, pleasant small car

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

For such a small car, its road-holding and reliability are outstanding, making long-distance driving enjoyable and safe. Acceleration is not its strongest point, but it travels smoothly and well at 70 mph. With its quite roomy boot and the ease of folding the back seat forward to make more room, it is a generally pleasant and convenient all-purpose vehicle. Servicing is not too expensive, and there are plenty of Renault garages, both in Britain and in continental Europe.

Renault Clio | Up-grade Clio

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 900cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The latest Clio model is a marked step up in quality than it's predessor. The economic 3 cylinder engine is a marvel.
More torque, greater acceleration, more economical to run,
£30 road tax. This is an ideal run about around town, yet has the poke to hold it'd own on todays motorways.
Standard equipment is what you would expect on premium brands. The only downside is no CD player, perhaps I am a
little old fashioned. Overall an excellent package.

Renault Clio | Love my Clio

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is my second Clio, the new model which recently came on the market. My driving is mainly around town with the occasional longer drive of up to 60 miles. My Clio suits my needs, it is very comfortable and I feel safe in it. I also drive my grandchildren around in it and the 5-door model makes for easy access to the baby seat in the back. I have had four Renault cars, and my experience has always been that I have had very reliable cars.

Renault Clio | Nice little car

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 1200cc
  • semi-automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 3

Had a few problems with starting which is apparently quite common, it was the crankshaft sensor and appears to be fixed now.

A good size small car. With the three door, getting in to the back can be a bit of a struggle. Drives nice, but not a quick pick up. I like the semi-auto gearbox. I'm only 4'10" and this is the best car I've driven that suits my short, little legs, I can see over the steering wheel too which is always a bonus!

Renault Clio | So far so good

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2013
  • 1500cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I've only had the car for 3 months but am really enjoying driving it. I am really pleased with the mpg and how the cost of my daily commute (50 miles round trip) has reduced. Still getting used to the technology as my last car was over 10 years old but finding it very easy and comfortable.
Build quality seems good and it is certainly a sleek shape.

Only problem is a blind spot when reversing - at end of rear passenger window

Renault Clio | Town and country suiitable

Added: 16th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2004
  • 1496cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

We have owned this car since 2007, it is not really built for comfort or space and although economical on long runs, the lack of space and comfort becomes tedious. However short runs and around town and normal short commutes are where it is worth its weight.
It has been very reliable since we have owned it never really letting us down at all. Maintenance costs are reasonable and over all it has served our needs well....

Renault Clio | Renault Clio Expression

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2002
  • 1200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have driven Renault Clio's since their launch.

Faulty sun roof
Suspension problems
Renault servicing very expensive/

Was perfect size but now swamped by larger cars and commercial vehicles. However I do not like the trend to larger and larger
cars and certainly do not like the new Clio.

In view of this If I buy a new car it is likely to be one of the smaller non-European produced cars.

Renault Clio | Renault Clio 3

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1457cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 3

I have had the car for 10 months and travelled approximately 9,000 miles. I am very pleased with the car both in terms of performance and economy. The best mpg I have managed on one journey is 73. The overall average is 64. The only aspect of the car that I can find fault with is the position of the interior door handles, which are too near the front of the door. Other than that 10 out of 10.

Filter Renault Clio Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.