AA Cars uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.

Add your postcode for better results
Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Peugeot 508 Reviews

Peugeot 508

Welcome to the Peugeot 508 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Peugeot 508 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£18,450 - £31,450
AA Cars Average
£11,326
MPG
43.4 - 78.5
CO2 (g/km)
95 - 154
Tax Band
A - G
Noise Level
70.0 - 74.0

Peugeot 508 | 508SW HDI 163 Allure

Added: 15th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1997cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

This is the comfiest, easiest car to drive i have ever owned.

The engine is powerful and repsonsive where it counts in day to day situations. The 50 to 70 response is impressive and it picks up well at motorway speeds in 6th gear. The only downfall is the power & torque curve is fairly narrow and it is possible to be caught out in an inappropriate gear at low speeds. it is very economical, easily achievinng 50 - 55mpg on a long journey. I regulary achieve 45 -47mpg around town and in stop start traffic. The 6 speed manual gearbox is perfectly weighted and has a pleasing action.

The comfort of the vehicle is another big plus, the cabin is quiet and the ride is smooth with little vibration thorugh the seats. This makes for stress free pleasant driving. The climate control is efficient and maintains temperature well. The heated seats also aid comfort on long journeys as the heat is not just confined to the seat base, but is also in the lumbar region of the backrest, which helps ease stiff muscles during long journeys. The cruise control is easy to use, and most commonly used infotainment controls are accessable from the steering wheel. Bluetooth conectivity for phones that is controlable from the steering wheel is truly handsfree.
The panoramic glass roof floods the cabin with natural light making the cabin feel more spacious.

The vehicle is also a capable and competant tow car, the factory fitted demountable tow bar is easy to use, although the 13 pin electric socket is mounted a little to high and far back under the bumper. The economy of the vehicle whilst towing a large caravan is impressive, achieving 30mpg on average. The torque of the engine means that proogress is maintained without resorting to many gearchanges. The integrated electrics show any faults on the driver information system meaning an annoying extra buzzer isn't required. The suspension of the vehicle is strong and the vehicle doesn't tend to feel choppy with a caravan in tow.

The dealer is friendly and has managed to schedule servicing around my requirements of a saturday. I have covered over 18,500 miles in the vehicle in 9 months, requiring one service (free as part of the vehicle sale).

Peugeot 508 | PEUGEOT 508 GT.

Added: 18th of November 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2013
  • 2200cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Having previously owned a 607 from new and covering 250,00 miles in it in five years I was disappointed when Peugeot decided to reduce the size of its flagship car. However, the performance of the 508 GT is very good, comfort is fine and all in all I am very pleased with it.Although smaller than the 607 it makes the most of the space it does have, though the boot is obviously not especially spacious. Nice touches are the massaging seat and automatic main beam dipping.
Negative points are minor but not having rear seats heated is just silly, as is the lack of boot electric closing on the saloon (especially when the estate version has it). The built in Sat Nav on the 2013 model does not include full post codes which nowadays is a tad disappointing, though not uncommon on European cars, I understand this has been rectified on later models..
The only real niggle I have had in 20,000 miles since buying the vehicle is the alarm was over sensitive, and was sounding off for no apparent reason. The local dealer in Kettering seem to have sorted it out under warranty with minimal fuss.
All in all a good value attractive saloon with a little extra performance, well done Peugeot.

Peugeot 508 | THE PEUGEOT 508SW

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

The Peugeot 508 is a worthy successor to the Peugeot 407,
having had a 407 for over six years, during which time we travelled over 80,000 miles.
The Peugeot 508 is a comfortable vehicle and it is of a high quality build. The diesel engine is well balanced, responsive and extremely quiet. The doors close with a solid and reassuring "clunk".
The integral Sat Nav is a very useful addition and it is easy to operate.
The instruments are all clear and well illuminated.
However, I would have preferred the electronic parking brake switch to be to the rear of the gear lever and not to the right of the steering wheel,
During the past 1,700 miles the average fuel consumption of over 51 MPG is considered to be excellent for a big estate.
Well done Peugeot.

Peugeot 508 | The good and the poor

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Since buying the Peugeot 508 I have been quite impressed with the cars performance for a 1.6 diesel given the size and weight if the car.

If I am a little careful, then I can get very good MPG, particulatly on mid to long journeys. Short and stop start trips can be a little worse on fuel, partly due I think to the weight of the car and getting it going.

The biggest niggle I have with the car is a very poorly designed boot lid. If there has been any rain, the as soon as you open the boot, the rainwate pours into the boot.
On the whole a nice, comfortable good sized and to-date, reliable car.

This is my third Peugeot and on balance I would buy another, but maybe it will be time to try something else next time around.

Peugeot 508 | Good with a few niggles

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

The Peugeot 508SW is a comfortable and economical car in 1600 diesel guise. Just a couple of niggles, mainly around windscreen wipers: automatic wipers are a pain, the driver is best placed to decide if the windscreen wipers need to be used, not some sensor that always switches them on at top speed thus wearing out the blades. This also means the 508 doesn't a have the ability to swish the blades at a flick of the stalk as it turns on the automatic function. Also, it would helpful if the rear tailgate wiper came on if the wipers are on and you engage rear gear. My old base Citroen did, so why not a higher model Peugeot.....
Rant over!

Peugeot 508 | Very Pleased

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1999cc
  • semi-automatic
  • hybrid
  • Estate
  • 5

Driving into central London each day from Buckinghamshire I was looking for a hybrid car. Living on the edge of town on a hill off a hill, I was looking for a car with 4 x 4 capability. I settled on the 508 SW RXH and have been very pleased with its performance, economy and luxury. If and when the snow comes I will discover how good its 4 x 4 abilities are. I used snow chains to get around in my previous car, I am hoping that I won't need them with my new car.

Peugeot 508 | Living with a Peugeot 508 Estate

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

In the 3 years I have owned and driven this car I have been completely satisfied with it in every area. It`s comfort.economy and practicality - carrying everything from dogs to the mass of kit needed for my boat - have been extremely impressive. When I first saw the size of the engine I thought it must be a mistake but performance and economy from such a relatively small engine have been most impressive. It is also a goodlooking vehicle.

Peugeot 508 | Peugeot 508

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Big improvement on 407. More space, more responsive Diesel engine, more mpg. But lights don't operate automatically and wing mirrors do not fold in. However, electronic gadgetry is much improved and built in satnav very useful, though being French it doesn't cope well with postcodes.

Peugeot 508 | peugeot 508 sw estate 163 active

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Great car average 700 miles to a tank fuel. Very quiet plenty power when towing. 6 speed gear box lets car cruise at under 2000 rev. very smooth runner. loocks great and it has cruise control. which is amazing. panoramic roof and plenty space

Peugeot 508 | peugeot 508

Added: 30th of April 2015
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Very good looking car good on fuel very good to drive big boot easy get five people in no trouble very comfortable round town and long journeys very smooth though gears and just the power you need

Peugeot 508 | Peugeot 508

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 1560cc
  • semi-automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I bought this car after owning previous models eg: 309 406 x2 407 x 2 and 508 they have all been very reliable that is why I have bought that make of car plus I also like the styling.

Peugeot 508 | New User

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 1996cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Only had the car 6 weeks. So far I am delighted with it. I enjoy driving it, it's very economical and it has space to carry all the things I need. Also it's very comfortable.

Peugeot 508 | Peugeot 508SW diesel

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 4

First experience of a diesel and I would never go back to petrol. Fantastic combination of power when needed, smooth drive and fuel economy. Very comfortable yet affordable.

Peugeot 508 | my 508 sw

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Suspension very hard giving a shuddering ride. No storage for driver.reliable economic with a nice big boot. Boot removable cover gives problems with opening and closing.

Peugeot 508 | My Peugeot

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Great car very economical £75 to fill from warning fuel getting to low get around 700 miles more if driving at 72 on long motorway journeys

Peugeot 508 | Great Car

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2015
  • 2195cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Factor in all the 'free' extras, the wonderful ride and the cost. The SW GT-line variant of this model is a great car to own.

Peugeot 508 | my car review

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 4

very comfortable,easy to drive,only difficulty isthat it is large when having to park in supermarket car parks

Peugeot 508 | Peugeot fan for 50 years

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

a sunroof would be good addition for when parked - otherwise an Excellent car - suits me and dogs perfectly.

Peugeot 508 | Peugeot 508

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2012
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

very nice car - comfortable, spacious, well equipped. Good responsive engine - a pleasure to drive

Peugeot 508 | Peugeot 508 Allure HDi 140

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2011
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

Powerful, comfortable, economical, good-looking car with many attractive features.

Filter Peugeot 508 Reviews

Related links