Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Peugeot 407 Reviews

Peugeot 407

Welcome to the Peugeot 407 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Peugeot 407 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£2,505
MPG
27.7 - 57.6
CO2 (g/km)
129 - 242
Tax Band
D - L
Noise Level
72.0 - 75.0

Peugeot 407 | Let down by details

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I have owned my Peugeot 407 1900 cc diesel estate for over 6 years, having bought it nearly new. It is roomy, comfortable, well-appointed since it has the highest specification of any car I have owned, a bit sluggish, but in many respects a desirable vehicle. But over the years it has been regularly let down by what appears to be a Peugeot ailment - build quality. Warning lights and sensors have regularly malfunctioned and needed expensive attention - they say that modern cars are overstuffed with technology and are starting to become less reliable as a consequence, and this certainly seems to be the case with my 407. Also, the steering and suspension don't like the less-than-pristine road surfaces in East Anglia and several components have had to be repeatedly replaced, again expensively, even though the mileage is very low for the car's age. I suspect these elements harbour a design weakness. In all these respects the 407 compares unfavourably with the Peugeot 405 and 406 which I owned previously. In sum, it is potentially an excellent car spoiled by lack of attention to assembly detail. It hasn't been manufactured for a couple of years now, and I would advise anyone considering buying one to inspect it with a fine-tooth comb first. On the other hand they may be getting a bargain, because prices are low, and the diesel engine in the larger Peugeots is legendary for durability. But I'm afraid that on the strength of my overall experience with this car, it will be the last of my six Peugeots.

Peugeot 407 | Later models better.

Added: 23rd of February 2015
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I've had two of these, an early 2005 plate and a '08 plate, both 2.0 HDI 136BHP.
Had more problems with the '05 car so got rid of that at 136k. Problems were numerous. ABS warnings that turned out to be a faulty brake light switch, random, intermittant, engine warnings that turned into a permanent engine warning light. Worse problem was the hydraulic steering which ended up with a reconditioned steering rack and a new steering pump.
Dual mass flywheel also went so got rid.

The 08 car has been faultless so far. Now on 150k and drives like new.

Peugeot 407 | Peugeot 407

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 5

I bought my car eight years ago as a demonstrator. Throughout this time I have had very few problems with it. A number of ABS/ESP sensors have had to be replaced over the last few years, but with these exceptions, very few parts have had to be replaced. It is a very practical car since, although a saloon, the rear seats can be folded flat allowing quite large items to be transported.
For the size of the car it is economical, averaging almost 40 mpg.
It handles and stops very well, and is also very comfortable.

Peugeot 407 | 407 - 1.6 HDI Review

Added: 24th of August 2015
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

I bought this car 2 hand five years ago with 30000 miles on the clock and the only money spent on it after puting extra 50000 miles, was on tyres servicing and one rear bearing wheel. I could'nt be happier cheap to run, buy very comfortable and spacious in comparation with other''s makers. I would recommend the 407 or the 508 to enyone who want cheap car with same or superior specs and reability of the big expensive names......

Peugeot 407 | Peugeot 407SW

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I have really enjoyed this model for the last 130K miles - sadly she is starting to have niggly problems. I suppose at 170K miles I have not done bad - sadly when I did have problems and took it to my main dealer (who have been looking after the car for years) Peugeot UK seem to have given up supporting this model and repairs seemed to take forever to fix. The only upside was the brand new loan car for four weeks!

Peugeot 407 | Fifth peugeot

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Third large Peugeot, 405,406 very happy with running costs but repairs and replacements in general expensive.
Tried hatchback between 406 & 407 (307 I think) didn't like it for comfort although much easier for loading boot.
After having numerous makes of cars from Alfa Romeo to various Far East and British models with over 50 years driving, before staying with Peugeot.

Peugeot 407 | Peugeot 407 Coupe 163

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2010
  • 1996cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Coupe
  • 2

A very comfortable long distance cruser regularly exceeding 50mpg, helped by the 6 speed gearbox. I've covered 85,000 miles in just over 2 years with my only expense being routine servicing and tyres. The 163bhp HDi engine is powerful and smooth with excellent torque making for a relaxed drive. Road holding is excellent for a big car, with very little body roll.

Peugeot 407 | Poor suspension design

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2006
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 2

Had to replace front suspension ball joints after only 15000 miles & likely to have to replace them again in the coming months at 30000 miles. Also having intermittent issues with ABS fault & sidelight warning (bulb working). Otherwise comfortable, fast & good boot space & specifications. A little thirsty at 29-33mpg.

Peugeot 407 | Peugeot for comfort

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I have driven this car for past 6yrs and could only critise one main point this being the strut from roof to body work creates a blind spot on both sides for front viewing, other than that I could not complain. Have always been very satisfied with Peugeots this being my fourth model , always been very reliable.

Peugeot 407 | Peugeot 407

Added: 20th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

This is the third Peugeot I've had and all three have given me trouble free motoring. Until my retirement I was travelling c40,00 miles per year. You can't do that in an uncomfortable car. With an average fuel consumption of 50 MPG, it was very economical.

Peugeot 407 | Nice One

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

A good car, my second of this model. Great to drive, good visibility. The Porsche 6-speed auto box is a delight round town and on journeys home and abroad. Road Tax is high £250 p.a. but getting 37.1 m.p.g. average fuel consumption.

Peugeot 407 | Title

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 4

This is my second 407 estate and it fully meets my requirements and has performed as expected in all respects. At times i have been surprised just how good it has been! The main dealer has been very good as well.

Peugeot 407 | Excellent car good all around

Added: 17th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 2200cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Coupe
  • 3

You will not regret purchasing this reliable car but beware of the fuel consumption

Peugeot 407 | peugeot 407sw

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1997cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

reliable,comfortable,spacious,and urban driving
44.5 mpg cant complain.

Peugeot 407 | 407 review

Added: 28th of August 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2006
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 5

Best saloon car there is much better than the likes of insignia

Peugeot 407 | peugeot 407sw

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2008
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

reliable,comfortable, town driving 44mph.

Peugeot 407 | towing car.

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2005
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Good practacal car for towing my caravan.

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.