Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Peugeot 406 Reviews

Useful links:  8 Used Peugeot 406 in stock
Peugeot 406

Welcome to the Peugeot 406 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Peugeot 406 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£1,424
MPG
27.2 - 51.4
CO2 (g/km)
147 - 248
Tax Band
F - K
Noise Level
71.0 - 74.0

Peugeot 406 | Great for getting around

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1999
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 4

I've had this Peugeot 406 estate for about 3 yrs, bought 2nd hand with 118,00 miles on the clock. Not the most comfortable of rides but has good fuel ecomonmy (45 mpg on average), large enough space to carry everything I need to put in it and parts are not too dear especially 2nd hand, as there is a breakers for Peugeot local to me.

It cruises at 70 (and I confess a bit more at times) with little effort and motorway driving is a breeze, although I do wish this model had a cruise control. It has the usual complement of electrics, mirrors, windows, fog lights, map reading light, Cd/radio. You can switch off the passenger air bag, why you'd want to, unless your always on your own in the car. It has a good heater, which was a bit naff on my previous car (97 Mondeo estate) and Air Con which I rarely use.

I've had no problem with rust, just a bit coming through now around the wheel arches. I do have it regularly serviced and get the service book stamped, it has a full service history, so hopefully most problems are sorted before they happen. The only major thing that has happened was the anti brake locking mechanism went on the offside side front wheel. Other than that I would buy this car again, if only they still made it.

Peugeot 406 | Peugeot 406 estate diesel

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

My wife and I each have an 18year old Peugeot 405 diesel estate [though mine is a turbo] - not possible to review here - each used for the daily commute. I am a gardener, my car gets pretty grubby as a result. The 406 is the "posh" car for going out with other people, for long trips or holidays. My 405 will not travel for more than about 45 minutes without overheating, but is still useful, and still surprisingly fast, despite appalling abuse. The 406 is the executive version with leather seats. By comparison with the 405 it is fast, smooth, quiet, has a better sound system, and is altogether a nicer experience. We have had no problems with it, but it doesn't get much use. My 405 will not last much longer, already costs more to repair each year than to buy a replacement, which will be another 406. I like what I know....

Peugeot 406 | Good workhorse

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1999
  • 1984cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 4

Getting on a bit now but never let me down. It does have a full service history. Body work still sound and no rust even though it's left parked on the street. Had it 3 years now and only 2 problems one was with the airflow monitor which came up on the dash but has not affected performance and once with the driver's side electric window controls, both items replaced and no more problems. Cruises at 80 (motorway) effortlessly and acceleration is very good and fuel consumption is excellent (diesel, giving 50+ mpg on longer journeys). Good space inside and with a full size spare.

All in all I'd buy a newer version of my current vehicle when it does eventually give up the ghost.

Peugeot 406 | Peugeot 406 HDi Estate

Added: 19th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2001
  • 2197cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Basically a very good vehicle, well built and reliable.
The most dissapointing aspects of the car:-

1) The warning lights on the dashboard, some of which come on without warning, and when investigated prove to have no reason to have come on (ie. no fault). Talking to our local garage they suggest this is a very common fault on these cars!
2) The cost of the exhaust particulate filter, and related regeneration fluid -- Outrageous!

I have owned 4 previous Peugeots Estate cars, all very good cars, but the dissapointing issues mentioned above make this current vehicle the least good Peugeot I have owned, despite the fact that in theory it should be the best.

Peugeot 406 | OUR BABY!

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1997
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 5

OUR 406 EXEC HAS BEEN IN OUR FAMILY FOR 15 YEARS AND WE LOVE HER. SHE WAS NEARLY NEW WHEN WE BOUGHT HER AND SHE HAS BEEN THROUGH THICK AND THIN WITH US.

WHEN SHE HAS BROKEN DOWN IT HAS ONLY BEEN WITH WEAR AND TEAR PROBLEMS AND WE HAVE USUALLY BEEN ABLE TO REPAIR HER OURSELVES.

WE WOULD DEFINITELY BUY ANOTHER ONE GIVEN THE OPTION AGAIN

LOADS OF SPACE, ACCELERATION WHEN YOU NEED IT LOVELY SMOOTH RIDE AND COMFORTABLE SEATS. MEMORY FRONT SEATS SO NO HAVING TO TRY AND FIND YOUR POSITION. ALSO HEATED FRONT SEATS SO NO COLD BOTTOMS!

JUST CHANGED THE HAND BRAKE CABLE - FIRST TIME AFTER 166+ THOUSAND MILES

Peugeot 406 | Great for space,costly on fuel

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1998
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

I have owned a 406 Estate for 5 years. The ride and comfort are excellent with plenty of room for passengers and storage plus the dogs travel in the boot.

It has smooth gear changes and it has never broken down. However there always seems to be an advisory on the MOT. I have it serviced annually despite driving less than 4000 miles a year.

The only downside is the running cost of a 2L auto and it's handling in icy conditions. It's a heavy car and will slide about on ice.

Recently I had it broken in to and as the locks are no longer made by Peugeot they were unable to be replaced.

Peugeot 406 | Old is Gold!

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1999
  • 1997cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I bought this car from a friend in Oct 2007. It had already done over 125000 miles but as I was buying it from someone I knew well I had no qualms!

I have never regretted buying it...
Apart from the occasional wear & tear associated with a car of it's age and mileage, I've not had any problems whatsoever!

My usage is less than average but having recently changed jobs I have started to use it to commute, every day.

I simply cannot afford to replace it and it's worth a hell of a lot more to me than the 'book' value.

Peugeot 406 | Peugeot 406 saloon

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1997
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

With 156,000 miles on the clock my 406 is still smooth and comfortable to drive. The clutch is original, never had to touch the gearbox or engine and only the odd suspension component and wheel bearing have been replaced. The bodywork still shines and there is no rust.
Peugeot electrics are not quite up to the same standard. The speedometer and rev counter packed up and I disconnected the security unit after that failed.
So I've had 10 years of fairly trouble-free motoring and I'm really not sure what to replace it with.

Peugeot 406 | My 406 HDi

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2003
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I love my 406, it goes and handles well, plenty of space for people and stuff, pulls caravan OK and I get about 40mpg mixed town and open road.
Get some nice equipment too, digital air con, lights come on when its dark and wipers wipe by themselves when it rains.
It has a nice dark cosy feel inside too.
Only complaint is gearing a bit 'tall' could do with the gears perhaps closer together and a 6th gear. (think they done this in 407 etc).
Been reliable, only had wear items at garage always passed MOT.

Peugeot 406 | Peugeot 406,first registered 1999

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1999
  • 1997cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Having purchased this vehicle two and a half years ago I have found it to be highly reliable, comfortable and economical to run considering the current high price of diesel.
The only reason I would consider changing it would be if I had to incur an excessively high maintenance/repair charge due to its age in order to maintain its safety for the M.O.T. test. In such an eventuality I would probably look for another Peugeot, but probably a smaller hatchback to improve luggage space and economy.

Peugeot 406 | Old diesel Peugeots.

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1998
  • 1905cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

My car, an aging Peugeot 406 turbo diesel, has to be on of the most comfortable, reliable and economical cars I've owned. I have had no expenses apart from the usual - fuel, insurance, tyres and an exahust.
It has now done over 150,000 miles and keeps going ever onwards, and as I do my own regular servicing, I don't expect any problems - even the bodywork, apart from some touched in chips around the front, is still in showroom condition.
Not bad for a 15 year old ex-company car!

Peugeot 406 | A very practical car

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 1997cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 4

Low running cost is one of the main reasons for owning this car. It is comfortable, a roomy interior with well laid out controls. On nights out with the boys I am usually chosen as the designated driver and easily fit five guys without complaints.
Very low maintenance costs, it recently passed its' MOT without a problem and I haven't spent a penny on repairs all year. The diesel engine is quiet and very economical returning better than 43mpg.

Peugeot 406 | Peugeot 406 Estate

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 1996cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Ex lease car. Not the liveliest car I've ever owned but has proved to be the most reliable, comfortable and practical for my needs. It has never let me down over eight years and 100k miles. Bodywork remains sound and is in very good condition despite lack of regular cleaning. Sadly it will have to be replaced in the next 12 months and am currently at a loss as to what the replacement vehicle will be as this model is no longer produced.

Peugeot 406 | Peugeot 406 Diesel Estate

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Purchased used 7 years ago to replace my 16 year old 405. Not the liveliest car I've owned but over 90k miles has proved to be an extremely reliable and practical car. Apart from servicing and normal wear items unplanned maintenance items and labour have been under £1k. No apparent rust. Little niggling faults are starting to occur which will probably mean disposal in the near future. Sadly this model is no longer manufactured.

Peugeot 406 | Peugot 406

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Mine is an old car now, with 85,000 on the clock. On long runs it is comfortable and returns up to 36 mpg. Naturally on local cold start journeys the mpg drops to 20-25. This is not important as my mileage per year is only about 4-5000 on this car.
I've thought of replacing it with a 407 - also a well-used car, but the reduced carrying capacity leads me to postpone.

Peugeot 406 | best car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2004
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Best car for me.really suits.my lifestyle. Holds loads of goods I transfer between properties and is large enough to hold.my dog's pen, bed etc as well ss my clothes. Up to now, the car has been reliable, comfortable and economical The turbo feature makes me feel safe as I can normally get out of dangerous situations caused by inconsiderate drivers.

Peugeot 406 | Peugeot 406 estate

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2002
  • 2000cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Perfect for carrying surfboards, bikes and pretty much anything else, but still comfortable and easy to drive (Executive model). The engine runs fine after 130,000 but the electrics are all over the place, doors sometimes lock themselves, stereo on the blink, built in Sat Nav unreliable.

Very sluggish uphills.

Peugeot 406 | My Car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1998
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I bought this car because it had low mileage and full service history. It is very nippy, comfortable and very stable on the road, reliable and good MPG. I have had many similar cars during my many years of driving and have never been more pleased with any other car I have owned.

Peugeot 406 | Workhorse

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I've had this car for 6years and she had high mileage when I got her. I have been all over the place Europe, Scotland, back and forth from London to Norfolk and she just keeps going. A great car to move house in several times. Comfortable to drive and be a passenger in.

Peugeot 406 | Peugeot 406

Added: 16th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1997
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

Owned for 8 years. Apart from routine maintenance costs, only outlay has been for tyres, brakes and exhaust system. Has never let me down and has covered over 200k miles. Load space is massive when rear seats are folded down. Has been a great family car.

Filter Peugeot 406 Reviews

Related links

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.