AA Cars uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.

Add your postcode for better results
Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Peugeot 308 Reviews

Peugeot 308

Welcome to the Peugeot 308 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Peugeot 308 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
£15,345 - £21,745
AA Cars Average
£10,253
MPG
34.4 - 74.3
CO2 (g/km)
98 - 194
Tax Band
A - J
Noise Level
69.8 - 75.0

Peugeot 308 | Peugeot 308SW

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

We bought the SW because of its load capacity and the ability to remove the 3 rear seats, thus creating huge space for our camping equipment. It has now done over 40k miles, including trips to 8 different countries and, so far, has proved a reliable and comfortable vehicle.

The fuel consumption is excellent. On a 170 mile return journey between Derby and Liverpool it often returns an indicated 60mpg. The on-board figures may not be deadly accurate of course, but there is no doubt that a consumption of between 50 and 60 mpg is quite normal.

Performance is no more and no less than one would expect from a 1600 diesel engine; it won't out-accelerate a Ferrari but, equally, it won't get left behind at traffic lights. Perfectly acceptable.

The huge glass roof is wonderful on a cold clear day, allowing sunlight into the cabin - a very pleasant experience.

Seats are firm but comfortable and have plenty of adjustment and there is plenty of legroom in the back. There are several different seat configurations, e.g. 2-seat, 3-seat, 4seat or 5-seat. It is possible to buy 2 additional seats to convert the car into a 7-seater. Obviously this would have a serious affect on it's luggage capacity.

Overall this is a car that we can thoroughly recommend to anyone needing a comfortable vehicle with lots of carrying capacity, but doesn't want a "proper" people-carrier.

Peugeot 308 | Peugeot 308 Estate - diesel

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I've had the car for 5 years. It has generally been most reliable except that after about 12 months it kept losing power and a warning appearing on the dashboard screen 'Anti Pollution' (or similar wording which I can't remember). after garage computer tests which failed to find the solution, my son acquired a small cheap diagnostic computer type tester which suggested it could be the fuel filter. He found it to be badly clogged up and replaced it. I have had no trouble since. I understand that it is desirable to replace the the fuel filter every 40000 miles. The service records issued with the vehicle showed that it had been replaced after 38000 miles. At the time of my troubles the car had only done 47000 miles which proved that the previous service invoice was false. I do not consider this to be the fault of Peugeot and would not hesitate to recommend a car from their range to others.

Peugeot 308 | Peugeot 308SW estate

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1560cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Purchased on 01/08/2013 new.
The 1560cc diesel engine is surprisingly lively considering the size of the car.Living in the Peak District most of our journeys are hilly ones and miles per gallon so far average mid to high 50's. On a run to the east coast and back the low 60's were achieved.
The interior is comfortable and spacious and the offset driving position appears to have been rectified.Seats are simple to fold making the already impressive boot cavernous.
Road holding is excellent, feedback reassuring and all-round vision excellent. The headlights are outstanding.
Heating, air-con and controls are well positioned and easy to use.
The only,slight,criticisms would be an irritating reflection of the top of the dashboard on the windscreen and the small wiper being on the drivers side although visibility is not really compromised.
Altogether an excellent vehicle.

Peugeot 308 | Good if you want a relaxed drive

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1997cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Convertible
  • 2

In Diesel format I have been averaging 52.2mpg over the last 9000 miles. Purchased from the main dealer where the car is maintained I have found it reliable and a highly suitable car, especially in the summer when the roof is down.
It sits well on the road, but is not what I would call a sports car. It happily runs on the motorway at 70mph. I am a lazy driver, tend not to race through the gearbox, but like to drive with a leisurely style. It will take 4 adults with ease but is perfect for two especially with the deflector.
Would I purchase another? Probably but it is an expensive Peugeot and I am not sure the extra is really worth it. I got quite a good deal when purchasing it at 3 years old with 30,000 on the clock.

Peugeot 308 | Peugeot 308

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

This is my 2nd Peugeot estate. Both have proved reliable, very economic to run & not too expensive to maintain. The 307 had more comfortable seats but they are both smooth to drive. It is a nice looking car with loads of space inside. The interior is well designed & has flixible seating making it easy to travel conveniently with people/dogs/luggage on board. The computer makes it easy to monitor fuel consumption & gives other useful information. Being able to alter the angle & distance of the steering wheel is great. My only real disappointment is a general one really - most cars at the moment seem to have smaller rear windows & therefor more blind spots & less vision especially when trying to negotiate tight spaces.

Peugeot 308 | PEUGEOT 308 Active

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Traded down from huge Ford estate to Peugeot 308 on retiring as no longer needed the large boot area for work "stuff" ,this is much more comfortable and much more economical (have kept records for last 4 years) average over this time around the 50mpg but if a lot of motorway /long distance mpg nearer the 65 mpg .Performance is quite acceptable even with 4 adults in . As 2 of us drive it need to adjust seat/mirror etc. which is very simple and easy .At 40,000 miles put on first change of tyres from original set .
Had no faults in this time 4+ years
Not quite so easy to reverse due to curve rear but have rear parking sensors which is a must in my opinion on this car

Peugeot 308 | Peugeot 308

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2012
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Performance with the 1.6hdi engine is very good with plenty of acceleration when needed. Economy is especially good averaging 58.8 mpg over the past 3000 miles and with £30 licence fee it is as economical as any car I have ever had. Comfort is OK as I have driven for long distances without a break with no problem. Road noise however is a bit loud especially if you have any of the rear seats folded or the passenger shelf off. The passenger space is adequate but the boot is a bit narrow as you cannot fit in a full set of golf clubs without folding the rear sear.
So far reliability has not been a problem but the car has only done 6000 miles.

Peugeot 308 | Diminishing estates

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

The 308 SW continues to be an excellent estate car and will take what I need i.e. my model railways to exhibitions. It is getting older > 100,000 miles and I was thinking of changing it BUT all the current estate cars seem to be modified hatchbacks - the back seats do not fold down flat and the rear ends slope down so that there is not enough headroom to load. I would not therefore be able to transport my model railways in their cradles as I can with the 308SW and some of the older estates viz 406 SW. When will manufacturers produce proper estates rather than glorified hatchbacks?

Peugeot 308 | Long journeys

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I do a lot of miles in the year as my children all live at least 3.5 hours away from me and it is the only way I will keep up with the progress of my grandchildren. My Peugeot is an extremely comfortable car for me to drive and for my husband to fall asleep in! It has never let me down and the only reason I would part with it is because I don't like driving a car with high mileage. As a retired lady of mature years I need to feel confident that the car won't break down, and the chance of that grows with the number of miles on the clock.

Peugeot 308 | 308 mk2 estate stop start

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2015
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I have owned this Allure model for 2 months bought nearly new, I'm impressed with the mileage on long trips achieved 65mpg(trip computer) on mainly motorway route. getting above 55 around town. The stop start system and electric handbrake have taken a little getting used to. The comfort and support from the seats is great and can fit 2 adults and a baby car seat in the back snugly. Not as roomy for hauling stuff as the 307SW as that had a taller roof and boxier shape. The LED front headlamps are excellent - happy so far

Peugeot 308 | My Peugeot

Added: 16th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1598cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

My requirement is for a reasonably comfortable car for social and leisure uses and occasional holidays. I do not exceed 8,000 miles per annum. The Peugeot 308 meets my requirements but I would ideally like better fuel consumption figures. I have had no trouble whatever with the car to date and it has done a number of lengthy motorway journeys satisfactorily. It would also be good if Peugeot could get the C02 figures down in their next version. Otherwise I can recommend.

Peugeot 308 | Peugeot 308 sport

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

From my own experience, this has been a fantastic car. He was 2 years old when I first got him. He's very comfortable and easy to drive. A very 'feel safe' car. Altho...he's not very economical ranging from 30 to 37 mpg...and costing around £75 to fill the tank from scratch. Bearing this in mind, I would buy the sports model every time...the alloys could have a little more detail to them but the bodywork looks great!!!

Peugeot 308 | Peugeot 308

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1600cc
  • automatic
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The car performs well and is very practical.

It is let down by lots of small issues:
1 - low speed function of transmission
2 - poor coverage of the windscreen wipers
3 - no Bluetooth
4 - no multi-CD player
5 - no automatic headlights
6 - no automatic wipers
7 - no climate control
8 - no alloy wheels

It is a Motability car that was selected in a hurry due to having just moved from the Isle of Man.

Peugeot 308 | The wows and joys.

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2008
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Unfortunately i have had a number of problems with this car
from the depolution system warning regularly coming on to problems with the catalyctic converter(replaced),oil pump needing replacing and two sets front brake plates.The car is comfortable to drive even on long distances.It is reasonably fuel efficient for its class and i must admit i have still enjoyed driving it even with all the problems.

Peugeot 308 | keep em coming

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

it does appear that if a manufacturer sticks with a basic good model and just updates and modernises as it goes , we do not have to go through the test trial business of being the first to use them , ( guinea pigs ) , after the 306 the 307 was nearly rubbish , but with common sense the 308 put all those failures right again , not a perfect example but close .

Peugeot 308 | Peugeot, as always!

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2013
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

This car was sold me at an amazing bargain price, by a trusted dealer over many years, as a replacement for a write-off of my former 2007 Peugeot 307 SW, and I am very happy with it, although it feels and seems to operate differently (heavier, and therefore safer[?] and VTi transmission). Should do me till I stop driving in a few years, I hope.

Peugeot 308 | Peugeot 308 petrol hatchback

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I have owned the car for a year and it has been reliable, the only problem being a jammed bonnet cable which was sorted under guarantee. I get about 43/44 mpg which is much as I expected. I find it quite noisy, a sporty exhaust and tyre drumming. But it is comfortable and good for long drives. It has cruise control which I use quite a lot.

Peugeot 308 | My Peugeot 308

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

My Peugeot 308 is my second Peugeot car, and I love it! I travel many miles to golf courses, and I can easily get 3 people, including myself, plus all the necessary golf kit, trolleys etc, without any problem. We travel in comfort, with confidence in the reliability of the car, and cost effective.

Peugeot 308 | Peugeot 308

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2010
  • 1300cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Exactly what I bought it for: practical for the grandchildren etc, comfy for long journeys, but it's got a good turn of speed.

Criticisms:
- shape of car means cornering needs particular care in wet weather
- some blind spots in the visibility caused by L
& R door struts

anon.

Peugeot 308 | very good

Added: 12th of October 2016
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 2009
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

For a mid range vehicle I have found this car to be very good, on long journeys I have achieved , 55 miles per gallon, it is good on acceleration is reasonably comfortable and very responsive to its controls. All in all a satisfactory vehicle.

Filter Peugeot 308 Reviews

Related links