Examples: ford fiesta or mercedes c class diesel automatic

Peugeot 306 Reviews

Useful links:  4 Used Peugeot 306 in stock
Peugeot 306

Welcome to the Peugeot 306 review page, as you can see this page provides you with all our user generated reviews of Peugeot 306 cars. AA Cars provide our users with the best feedback on all car makes and models all across the uk to give you the best possible information, to help you make your decision when buying a new used car. We break each vehicle review down into five categories (preformance, running cost, comfort, reliability and space practicality) making it very easy to understand, giving you feedback directly form the vehicle owner. This provides you with all the information you need to make the decision of which car is perfect for you.

Write Review

Key Facts

New Price
-
AA Cars Average
£746
MPG
30.1 - 54.3
CO2 (g/km)
141 - 229
Tax Band
F - K
Noise Level
72.1 - 74.0

Peugeot 306 | Why an Automatic?

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1998
  • 1800cc
  • automatic
  • petrol
  • Saloon
  • 4

I bought this car second hand in 2009 and it has been as reliable as a second hand car can be! The original tyres were still on the car and it had less than 35,000 miles on the clock. I had to replace the tyres almost immediately, and within the first 6 months, the front discs and the front disc pad, and most of the exhaust pipe. Then the electrics started playing up and I had to get the drivers electric window mechanism replaced (don't use Europarts for this, they don't fit). Oh, and it failed a MOT as the suspension spring had a hairline crack in it, (don't use the dealers for this replacement, they charged me £440, and I could have had it dome for £160, with genuine parts).
I have now paid more for repairs than I originally paid for the car.
Why an automatic? Well I had to have an achilles tendon operation and I hoped that by having an automatic, I could still be mobile. Didn't need the operation in the end and now I am stuck with a sluggish, expensive to run, fairly comfortable car, and I can't afford to replace it.

Peugeot 306 | RUN ABOUT

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1999
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

bought the peugeot as a run about after my previous car failed. their reliability made me buy one and although i always wanted the hdi engine i could not turn down the offer of this one running a nasp dw8 engine.

i am a little unimpressed with its performance, although reliable and easily serviceable the fuel running costs are poor. it really does struggle on the hills which adds to the poor mpg, the motor is a little uncomfortable as well, comparable to an old van.

although i didnt expect a rocket the car is happiest doing 45-50 mph at around 2000 rpm where it might return a little on the fuel.

positive points include cheap parts that are easily available and its great for diy mechanics with its mechanical pump and bolt off parts, im also impressed with how quickly the heater warms up.

As a run about until i decide on my next car im quite happy overall, insurance is cheap and so is maintaining the car but ill definitely be looking for a 2.0 ltr common rail with turbo next time round!

Peugeot 306 | Peugeot 306 xnd manual

Added: 28th of February 2014
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1994
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Saloon
  • 5

I bought my 306 back in 1994 from my local Peugeot dealers, it was an ex demo car with about 1,300 miles on the clock. It's now done a little over 58,000 miles and has been so reliable one could almost call it boring. It's needed 2 batteries in it's 20 years of life with me, 2 sets of windscreen wipers,a new set of glow plugs, a full set of tyres,a set of brake shoes and pads plus a pair of front brake discs and a rear wheel bearing. I had the cam belt changed after about 12 years [48k miles] It's on the original exhaust system and I've only needed to replace one rear light bulb. I've owned a few different cars in my life and can say hand on heart this little pug is the best I've ever had. If the new model Peugeots, the 308 [or the 208] were as good I'd probably go and buy one but sad to say they are not so for now I'm sticking with it until either it dies of old age or I do.

Peugeot 306 | 306 xsi

Added: 14th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1998
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

This is a car that I have thoroughly enjoyed owning for many reasons, including performance, comfort and costs. Despite the disadvantages of owning an older car such as being slightly more costly to run and the costs of replacing various parts due to age it has been a fun car to own and drive. The extra power and options due to being a higher model xsi make it a great little car for its age. It is good through the gears, good acceleration and good to drive through out, handling very well and surprisingly economical if driven properly. French cars it seems tend to rust through their radiators after a certain time, which isn't overly cheap to replace on an a/c model. There have been various frustrating issues owning this car over the past 2 years but this is only to be expected and doesn't detract from the enjoyment of owning this car.

Peugeot 306 | Peugeot 309

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
3/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1992
  • 1100cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

It is indeed a 309, although not offered that option in the drop down menu, so picked 306 as maybe the closest successor.

Although it will be 21 years old next month, it has only clocked up 80,000 miles; furthermore, it spent its early years in the Birmingham area and only the last 5 years in the north of Scotland. Both factors have probably contributed to its longevity.
It is still used every day but starting to show its age. Until present mo major problems in passing the MoT.
Very economical (48 - 50 mpg). Maintenance is easy - plenty of room in the engine bay and reasonable ground clearance.
So far no problems with spare parts.

Peugeot 306 | Great car....

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2007
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Although family is grown and moved to own properties the estate is still used for the "Dad, help need to shift a sofa" type of calls! Very spacious and additionally the option of the 6th and 7th seats and ability to move or remove all the rear seats is a big asset.
Car has proven very reliable, so far nothing but routine service and have had it 5 years now.
I would not hesitate to buy another Peugeot. The 2 litre diesel is the first Diesel I have had and proved far more powerful (nippy)coupled with the 6 speed gearbox than I anticipated. It is a pleasure to drive

Peugeot 306 | Peugeot 306

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1994
  • 1995cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

A thoroughly reliable little car which, for its age is reasonably economical returning 45 mpg overall seemingly regardless of how I drive it. It has now completed over 100,000 miles and still runs perfectly (although the engine sounds a bit rattly). It rarely needs any oil between annual services (although my annual mileage is only about 6000)and has never needed any attention other than routine servicing and cam belt replacement. It has been in our family since new but was passed on to me about 10 years ago.

Peugeot 306 | ? erm? My car?

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
2/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
2/5
  • 1996
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 2

Reliable. Nice little work horse. Have helped move two people and their contents to new homes, although it took a few extra trips (being a hatchback and having to fold down the seats.) Only drive if you enjoy the feel of the road and don't want to fall steeply into middle age and poss sleep at the wheel with more up to date cars. reminiscent of driving a 70's MG (feeling the bumps in the road). Being a '96 model.., = hardly any power in 2nd gear. Going into third, I feel that's what 2nd was like when new! :(

Peugeot 306 | Excellent car

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

I've owned a Peugeot 306 HDi Estate for 8 years. I bought it at 5 years old having done ~40K miles. It's used mostly as a builders van and does about 10K miles per year. It is serviced every year and has been almost completely reliable. The only exception is needing a new battery last winter and a broken auxiliary belt, which was my fault as it had been noisy for a while. It's currently done 114K miles and has always sailed through it's MOT with very little work.

Peugeot 306 | My Peugeot

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1997
  • 1600cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

I have had this car since new, firstly as a company car which I then bought when I retired and it was 4 years old. It has been serviced regularly by Peugeot with little problems and has only been off the road twice in its life. I have been very pleased with it. I do little mileage now, but it is generally reliable and I will be sad to change it, but when it has an expensive repair job, then I think that that will be the time.

Peugeot 306 | Peugot 306 Convertible

Added: 15th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 2003
  • 1587cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Convertible
  • 3

Ive had 3 4x4s in the last 15yrs so this is a complete change for me and has taken a bit of time to get used to i.e. lower body, lower tyres. But all in all I am enjoying it, especially as weve had a good summer so have had the roof down! I am a girl so will probably give a female account but the fuel is relatively affordable and lasts accordingly. Had a couple of things to do and the parts seem reasonable also.

Peugeot 306 | Peugot 306

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1996
  • 1905cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I have found the car very reliable and an easy drive over the few years I have had it. It is economical for its engine size and does better on long journeys. It doesn't use much oil or water I have had it serviced regularly. But I now want a small more eco friendly as it is diesel which is also quite expensive to buy now, but I still get good mileage. But the Road tax is also expensive now

Peugeot 306 | My little Pug

Added: 15th of November 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
3/5
  • 1999
  • 1796cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Having had in excess of 15 cars through my time as a driver, I can safely say this is one of the better ones. Starts on the button every time, and have plenty of potential under the bonnet. An old car it may be, but at least I don't have the worry of a product recall ;)!

Peugeot 306 | My Car

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
3/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 1800cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Estate
  • 5

It is reliable and performs well. It is amazing how much it will carry, and it still has a good level of acceleration when fully loaded.
I love my car, I have driven it for over 13 years and she is still going strong.

Peugeot 306 | Peugeot 306

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 2000
  • 1998cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 4

I have owned this car for 9 yrs. Very pleased with it. Does everything I need it to do. Have traveled back & forth to Manchester often, a round trip of 520 mls. Comfortable, economical.

Peugeot 306 | Nice car grown too old

Added: 12th of October 2013
Performance
4/5
Running Costs
2/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
2/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1999
  • 1400cc
  • manual
  • petrol
  • Hatchback
  • 5

The Peugeot 306 suits us well for size, features and so on. Used to be fantastic, now it's started picking up the unpredictable minor faults that annoy.

Peugeot 306 | peugeot 306 estate

Added: 13th of October 2013
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
3/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1996
  • 1795cc
  • manual
  • electric
  • Estate
  • 4

This is a good car. It has enough space for what I need, is reasonably economical and is reliable if a bit heavy to drive.

Peugeot 306 | peugeot 306 diesel

Added: 11th of October 2016
Performance
3/5
Running Costs
5/5
Comfort
4/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1996
  • 1905cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 6

performance adequate, longevity+reliability+economy brilliant, ride good!

Peugeot 306 | Good Runaround

Added: 18th of November 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
2/5
Reliability
4/5
Space Practicality
4/5
  • 1998
  • 2000cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Hatchback
  • 5

Very economical, reliable only downside not very comfortable

Peugeot 306 | Diesel 306

Added: 11th of October 2013
Performance
5/5
Running Costs
4/5
Comfort
5/5
Reliability
5/5
Space Practicality
5/5
  • 1998
  • 1900cc
  • manual
  • diesel
  • Estate
  • 5

Fantastic car brilliant mpg - in 50's and so reliable

AA Cars site uses cookies. If you use our site, we'll assume you are happy with this.